Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These fact sheets for consumers provide information on a variety of oral health topics. Topics include dental benefit coverage, dental caries, fluoride, general anesthesia and oral sedation, gum disease, mouthguards, nutrition, oral cancer, oral piercing, pregnancy, sealants, smokeless tobacco, and xylitol. The fact sheets are available in English, Chinese, Hmong, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: California Dental Association, 1201 K Street, 14th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cda.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This series of cards provides oral health messages for health professionals to share with clients and their families. Each card addresses a specific population (pregnant women, infants, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, adults, and older adults) and is accompanied by a brochure listing messages and resources. The cards and brochures are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to promote health equity in the community. Topics include education programs and policies, culturally competent health care, and housing programs and policies. Presentation and promotional materials are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Low income groups, After school programs, Child development centers, Community based programs, Community development, Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Education, Educational attainment, Equal opportunities, Financial support, Health care delivery, Health education, Health promotion, Housing, Kindergarten, Patient education materials, Public policy, Recruitment, Research, Retention, School based clinics, Training, Translation, Work force

Annotation: These resources are designed to assist oral health professionals and teachers in educating students about good oral hygiene habits and the importance of oral health and oral health care. Contents include videos, games and quizzes, and activity sheets. Lesson plans for students in preschool through eighth grade with materials to support the lesson plans, information about careers in dentistry, and sample presentations are also included. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Curricula, Dental care, Educational materials, Materials for children, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource for pregnant women provides information about drinking alcohol during pregnancy and the risk of fetal alcohol syndrome disorders (FASDs). Topics include some of the behavioral and intellectual disabilities of people with FASDs, what women can do to help themselves stop drinking alcohol, and related organizational resources.

Contact: American College of Nurse-Midwives, 8403 Colesville Road, Suite 1550, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-1800 Secondary Telephone: (888) MID-WIFE (643-9433) Fax: (240) 485-1818 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.midwife.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Pregnant women, Prevention, Substance use

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers presents information on school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs). Topics include what dental sealants are, what SBSPs are, evidence showing that the SBSPs work, and recommendations for SBSPs. Links to resources such as national reports, fact sheets, best practices, and research papers are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Oral health, School age children, School health programs

Annotation: This supplemental toolkit provides information and guidance for healthcare professionals who want to provide evidence-based interventions and treatment for tobacco cessation to pregnant and postpartum populations. The toolkit is designed to work in conjunction with Dimensions: Tobacco free toolkit for healthcare providers, which contains information about assessment, skill building, and interventions to provide support and resources around tobacco cessation.

Contact: University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus , Behavioral Health and Wellness Program , Medical School , 1784 Racine Street, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (303) 724-3713 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: www.bhwellness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Postpartum care, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This brochure is designed to educate parents and other caregivers about oral hygiene and oral care for infants and young children. Topics include toothbrushing, eating healthy foods, and getting oral health care. Additional topics include the importance of primary teeth, tips to help parents keep their own mouths healthy, and finding a dentist. The brochure is written in simple language and is available in English, German, and Spanish. A trifold brochure in English and in Spanish is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Caregivers, Child health, Early childhood development, Educational materials, Health education, Non English language materials, Oral health, Parents, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource provides general information for service providers, educators, allies, and community members who seek to support the health and well-being of children and youth who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex, and/or two-spirit (LGBTQI2-S) and their families.

Contact: Technical Assistance Partnership for Child and Family Mental Health, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-6827 Fax: (202) 403-5007 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tapartnership.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Children, Cultural competence, Educational materials, Families, Homosexuality, Sexuality, Social support, Systems of care, Youth

Annotation: This series of three quizzes for caregivers and educators, oral health professionals, and other health professionals offers an interactive way to increase awareness about oral health topics during meetings. Each quiz is available in a question-and-answer format and a questions-only format. Users can customize the quizzes by eliminating some questions. An administrator’s guide is also available.

• Quizzes
• Administrator's Guide

Keywords: Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Educational materials, Health, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to teach students in kindergarten through third grade about oral health. Contents include videos and corresponding lesson plan activity sheets. Topics include tooth basics, cavities, plaque, visiting the dentist, and the relationship between healthy mouths and healthy bodies. The curriculum also includes live performances in schools and at community events.

Contact: Delta Dental Plans Association, 1515 West 22nd Street, Suite 450, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Multimedia, Oral health, School age children, School health education

Annotation: This toolkit, which is geared toward public health professionals, offers tips for effectively delivering messages about birth defects to a variety of audiences, including state and local public and environmental health professionals, decision makers, and the interested public. The toolkit can be used to help meet the communication goals set by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Environmental Public Health Tracking Network. Topics include goals and guiding principles, environmental public health before and after tracking, the Environmental Public Health Tracking Network: a timeline, key messages and talking points, facts, a sample article, and social media examples.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Congenital abnormalities, Educational materials, Mass Media, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public heath

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about how to implement and sustain an oral health program in a rural community. The toolkit is composed of seven modules: (1) introduction, (2) program models, (3) implementation, (4) planning for sustainability, (5) evaluating rural oral health programs, (6) disseminating oral health program results, and (7) examples of existing oral health programs in rural communities. Resources for use in developing a program are included.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials , Health programs, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Rural health, Rural population

Annotation: This web page provides information, including the importance of regular oral hygiene and dental visits, for good oral health. The web page is available in English and in Spanish. [Note: Contains dated information on using fluoridated toothpaste.]

Contact: American Academy of Family Physicians, P.O. Box 11210, Shawnee Mission, KS 66207-1210, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-2237 Fax: (913) 906-6075 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aafp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Health promotion, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: These resources feature pictures and speakers’ notes to help pediatricians counsel clients about oral health and fluoride varnish. The resources include a flip chart and a reference guide in English and Spanish, as well as a presentation. Topics include primary teeth, early childhood caries, feeding, nonnutritive sucking, fluoride modalities, toothbrushing, and flossing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (866) 843-2271 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx $54.95, nonmembers; $43.95 for members; plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-824-8.

Keywords: Child health, Dental hygiene, Early childhood caries, Educational materials, Fluorides, Oral health, Parent education, Patient education, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This pamphlet for parents and other caregivers addresses oral health in infants and young children. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, oral hygiene, and the first dental visit. The pamphlet also describes how tooth decay occurs and what parents and other caregivers can do to prevent it. Color photographs and contact information for state and local referral services in California are also included. [Note: Contains dated information on using fluoridated toothpaste.]

Contact: California Department of Health Care Services, Child Health and Disability Prevention Program, CA Web Site: http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/chdp/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Text Version

Keywords: California, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Infants, Oral health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This pamphlet for parents and other caregivers addresses the importance of taking infants and young children to a dentist for regular visits. Topics include when to take a child to a dentist, why children need regular dental visits, and tips for visiting the dentist. Information on finding a dentist, including state and local referral services in California, is included.

Contact: California Department of Health Care Services, Child Health and Disability Prevention Program, CA Web Site: http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/chdp/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Text Version

Keywords: California, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Oral health, Preventive health services, Referrals, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit provides training curricula, programs, and resources to support training to help families, health professionals, child care providers, and others learn about sudden infant death risk reduction, bereavement services, and culturally competent services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Resources for professionals, SIDS, Safety, Training

Annotation: This peer-reviewed set of pediatric-focused curricular recommendations is a reference tool developed to aid in disaster education and training for health professionals. The tool is intended for educators, program directors, and curriculum developers to use in planning education and training on pediatric issues in disaster health for a wide range of health professionals. The resource is organized according to four phases of disaster response: mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery. The recommendations weave these competencies and critical topics within a framework of an adapted model for disaster response.

Contact: National Center for Disaster Medicine and Public Health, University of the Health Sciences, 11300 Rockville Pike, Suite 1000, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 833-4444 Fax: (240) 833-4435 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ncdmph.usuhs.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Competency based education, Curricula, Disaster planning, Educational materials, Emergencies, Training materials

Annotation: This website presents the Circle of Life multimedia program, a curriculum intended for American Indian/Alaska Native middle school students that is based on the medicine wheel, a teaching symbol about mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional wellness. This holistic health promotion model is meant to help students learn about making healthy choices to prevent disease such as HIV/AIDS. The curriculum is divided into seven chapter sessions that are 20-25 minutes each and is presented in a modular form that can be broken up or used in sequence either in or outside the classroom. Teacher notes and an accessible version of the curriculum are also available on the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• User's Guide

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alaska natives, American Indians, Child health, Curricula, Educational materials, HIV, Middle school students, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases