Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This 5-piece resource kit is intended for employers, human resource managers, expectant and new parents, and health professionals interested in encouraging businesses and public agencies to establish, maintain, and expand lactation support programs for their employees. The five components include 1) a business case for breastfeeding; 2) easy steps to supporting breastfeeding employees; 3) a toolkit with resources for building a lactation support program; 4) an employees guide to breastfeeding and working; and 5) an outreach marketing guide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Costs, Economics, Family support programs, Infant health, Policy development, Women', Working mothers, Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: This paper reviews a body of literature that discusses early childhood related policy implications of the economic and business theories of human capital and monetary payoffs from early childhood investments. These theories focus more on investment and prevention than on treatment. In evaluating and summarizing the literature, the paper extracts recommendations for policy-makers, service providers, and the public concerning the orientation of early childhood care investments and how these investments correlate to taxpayer savings, health outcomes, and quality of life.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Cost effectiveness, Economics, Prevention services, Programs, Public policy, Young children

Annotation: This issue paper examines two programs for which long-term, randomized control experimental evaluations have shown notable, statistically significant, effects on ultimate educational attainment and these large-scale programs could be expected to recover a substantial fraction of their costs within 75 years. Programs examined include the Abecedarian Project and the Mother-Child Home Program. Contents of the paper include program costs and impacts, the model in words, assumptions and results and conclusions. The appendix provides information on the mathematical specification of the model, including the production functions, population, capital accumulation, and fiscal effects. References conclude the paper

Contact: Partnership for America's Economic Success, 1025 F Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.PartnershipforSuccess.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Economics, Program descriptions, Program evaluations, Social programs, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This report provides new estimates of the job creation and earning creation effects of three early child development programs: the Abecedarian Program, the Nurse-Family Partnership Program, and the Parch-Child Home Program. Contents include a summary of individual program effects on state economic development; a review of national economic development benefits; program interaction benefits; measuring economic development benefits; program descriptions, estimates, and results; implication of accuracy issues for research and program implementation; and conclusions. The appendices provide information on methodologies for estimating the effects of (1) business subsides, (2) universal preschool, and (3) the methodology and additional results for the new program simulations completed for this paper; alternative assumptions about discount rates, and differences in assumptions between papers. Reference are provided and figures and tables provide additional data.

Contact: Partnership for America's Economic Success, 1025 F Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.PartnershipforSuccess.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Economics, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Social programs, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This report is an economic analysis that tests the relative effectiivess of child safety seats, lap and shoulder seatbelts, and lap belts in preventing injuries among motor-vehicle passengers ages 2-6. The report, which includes an abstract, introduces the issue and discusses methods and data, summary statistics, and estimating the relative effects of child safety seats and seatbelts. Conclusions are offered, and references are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Car seats, Child safety, Economics, Motor vehicle crashes, Seat belts, Young children

Annotation: This report is an economic analysis of the effect of teenage childbearing on the adults' outcomes of a sample of women who gave birth, miscarried, or had an abortion as teenagers. The report, which includes an abstract, introduces the issue and discusses the methods and data used, the question of whether miscarriages are random, various types of estimates, multiple teen pregnancies, results of multiple pregnancies, and extensions. Conclusions are offered. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Childbirth, Economics, Miscarriage

Annotation: This report examines trends in labor force involvement, household structure, and some activities that may complicate the efforts of parents with young children to balance work and family life. It considers whether employer policies mitigate or exacerbate these difficulties and provides comparisons between U.S. policies and those of other industrialized countries, and it speculates on some possible sources and effects of the differences. Additional topics include changes in labor supply, time investments, employer benefits, family leave policies, maternal employment and child care. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures grouped together at the end of the report. The report also includes a reference list.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Child care, Employer benefits, Employer initiatives, Families, Family economics, Family leave, Family support, Work family issues, Working mothers, Working parents, Young children

Annotation: This report presents a summary of the papers and discussions presented at the Economics of Obesity workshop held in April 2003. The workshop was jointly hosted by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Economic Research Service and the University of Chicago's Irving B. Harris Graduate School of Public Policy Studies and the George J. Stigler Center for the Study of the Economy and the State. Topics included the role of technological change in explaining both the long- and the short-term trends in obesity, the role of maternal employment in child obesity, the impact of obesity on wages and health insurance, behavioral economics as applied to obesity, and the challenges in measuring energy intakes and physical activity. Policy implications and future directions for obesity research were also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website. Document Number: E-FAN-04-004.

• PDF

Keywords: Calories, Children, Economics, Employment, Health insurance, Obesity, Physical activity, Public policy, Research, Salaries, Technology, Trends, Working mothers

Annotation: This report focuses on answering questions about (1) who low-income fathers are, (2) what their level of involvement with their families and children is, and (3) how and why involvement changes over time. The report, which includes an executive summary, is divided into the following chapters: (1) the study of fathers and newborns, (2) fathers' involvement with their children through the first year of life, (3) how fathers interact with their 6- and 14-month-old children, (4) factors associated with fathers' involvement with their children, and (5) summary, program recommendations, and next steps. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. Two appendices include analyses of father-child interactions at 6 and 14 months and lessons for data collection.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Early Head Start, Families, Family economics, Father child relations, Fathers, Head Start, Low income groups, Newborn infants, Parent participation, Research

Annotation: This book analyzes the effects being uninsured can have on the health, finances, and general well-being of the family. It also examines the health of uninsured children and pregnant women to see whether they also receive less care and suffer worse health outcomes than those who are insured. Chapter topics include a discussion of what constitutes a family; how families obtain health insurance; how insurance transitions over the family life cycle; financial characteristics and behavior of uninsured families; family well-being and health insurance coverage and health-related outcomes for children, pregnant women, and newborns. The appendices include: (1) a conceptual framework for evaluating the consequences of uninsurance for families; (2) an overview of public health insurance programs; and (3) a review of research on access, utilization, and outcomes for children, pregnant women, and infants. An executive summary, conclusion section, and references are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-08518-7.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Families, Family characteristics, Family economics, Health insurance, Health insurance programs, Infants, Pregnant women, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This book is intended as both a how-to-do-it text and a desktop reference. Chapter 2 and the glossary of statistical terms provide information on understanding and using statistics. The book shows how to effectively search the Internet and professional online services for needed numbers. It discusses where and how to start searching, important systems and sources, and how to evaluate data for reliability. Chapters 5 through 18 discuss how to find statistics on demographics and population; industry, market, and general business; finance and economics; health and medicine; science, agriculture, and the environment; history; public opinion and trends; politics and government; sports, entertainment, and the arts; the law and crime; international issues; technology; education; and transportation.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0910965250.

Keywords: Art, Business, Crime, Demography, Economics, Education, Environment, Government, Health, History, Industry, Internet, Medicine, Political processes, Public opinion, Sports, Statistics, Technology, Transportation, Vital statistics

Annotation: This report for policymakers and the media offers an account of the daily struggles of America's homeless children and their families and offers solutions, both short- and long-term. The report is divided into three parts. Part one address the effects of homelessness on children's physical and mental health, their families, and their struggle with school. Part two concentrates on the impact on society of large numbers of homeless children and families and the trend towards an increase in those numbers. Part three offers recommendations for immediate action in the areas of health, hunger, mental health, educational and vocational support, family separation, and violence prevention. Long-term recommendations discuss the need to develop an adequate supply of decent affordable housing and maximizing poor families' economic resources. The report concludes with endnotes, further readings, and appendices offering research methodology used and information about the Better Homes Fund.

Contact: Better Homes Fund, 181 Wells Avenue, Newton, MA 02459, Telephone: (617) 964-3834 Fax: (617) 244-1758 Web Site: http://www.tbhf.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-9672165-0-8.

• Fact Sheet/summary

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child health, Economic factors, Family economics, Homelessness, Housing, Hunger, Violence

Annotation: This is a summary of a paper written to highlight policy and program areas needing to be addressed to ensure the continuous improvement of health care and services related to perinatal and women's health over the coming decade. The paper discusses population growth and composition by race and ethnicity of women, their educational attainment, employment, reproduction, family composition, household economic status, financial access to health care, and the caregiving role of women. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Academic achievement, Access to health care, Employment, Family characteristics, Family economics, Policy development, Population dynamics, Program development, Reproduction, Women, Women', s health

Annotation: This chart book is intended to document current differences in well-being by race and Hispanic origin and to describe how such differences have evolved over the past several decades. The book is designed to educate Americans about the facts surrounding the issue of race in America. The charts show key indicators of well-being in seven broad categories: population, education, labor markets, economic status, health, crime and criminal justice, and housing and neighborhoods. This information is provided to be used as a benchmark for measuring future progress and can highlight priority areas for reducing disparities in well-being across racial and ethnic groups. The indicators in the charts were selected on the basis of their importance for economic well-being, as well as the quality and availability of data. The appendix indicates how to access additional information on these topics from federal government agencies.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-049616-0.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Bibliographies, Crime, Economics, Education, Health status, Housing, Minority groups, Population dynamics, Race, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, United States, World Wide Web

Annotation: This document is the first in a series developed by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau Division of Science, Education, and Analysis to help maternal and child health (MCH) professionals understand and use economic analysis. The report is intended to explain how economic analysis can help MCH decision-makers be better program designers and managers. Specifically, the report should help readers identify the types of economic analysis that they need to use to address specific problems or situations, to read and understand the economic information presented in the public health literature, and to evaluate economic analyses commissioned by MCH agencies. The document provides a basic introduction to economic analysis, describes key challenges in conducting economic analysis, provides an overview of the process, and presents a number of issues to consider when reading reports of economic analysis or when conducting such an analysis.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center, Altarum Institute, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 842-2000 Fax: (202) 728-9469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov/researchdata/mchirc Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Economics, MCH programs, Management, Maternal health, Public health

Annotation: This report contains estimates on the costs of raising children; it includes estimates for traditional husband-wife and single-parent families. It is based on data derived from the 1990-1992 Consumer Expenditure Survey and other surveys, updated to the current year using the Consumer Price Index. It includes a discussion of the data and the methodology used to calculate the costs of child rearing as presented here. Estimates are presented by age of child, family income, and region of residence; categories of expenditures include housing, food, transportation, clothing, health care, child care and education, and miscellaneous. Earlier editions of this report have been called "USDA Estimates of the Cost of Raising a Child."

Contact: U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 1034, Alexandria, VA 22302-1594, Telephone: (703) 305-7600 Fax: (703) 305-3300 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cnpp.usda.gov Available from the website.

• All Editions

Keywords: Child rearing, Family economics, Parents, Single parents, Statistics

Annotation: This report presents the results of a survey taken of 2,000 families with children under three to determine how the health care system can help them insure the health and development of their children. The introduction describes the purpose and methodology of the survey, and presents and discusses the findings on these topics: early hospital discharge patterns, the promotion of breast feeding, the provision of information regarding early childhood development, parents' access to pediatric information and services, stress factors affecting child rearing, the role of parental emotional and mental health, financial pressures, and the parents' preparedness for parenting. Appendices provide profiles of selected parents; and survey charts, highlights, and data tables.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Contact Phone: (212) 535-0400 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child rearing, Early childhood development, Family characteristics, Family economics, Financial support, Knowledge level, Length of stay, Parenting skills, Parents, Physician parent relations, Statistics, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This book uses four fictional scenarios to demonstrate some of the difficulties adolescent parents may encounter managing their family finances. Each scenario assumes the characters have limited incomes, and the book makes its points by having the reader maintain the character's checkbook in each scenario. The book explores the costs associated with caring for children when family finances are limited; it emphasizes the need for adolescents to make realistic life choices including delaying parenthood until they are financially prepared.

Contact: Morning Glory Press, 6595 San Haroldo Way, Buena Park, CA 90620-3748, Telephone: (888) 612-8254 Fax: (888) 327-4362 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.morningglorypress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-885356-12-9.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Educational materials, Family economics, Fiction, Low income groups, Single mothers

Annotation: This dictionary defines terminology used by professionals working within the health care system in the United States. The entries include nonclinical terms which have been derived from the fields of medicine, public health, health law, economics, and government. Cross-references between terms build relationships between topics; some terms are clarified by the inclusion of statistical graphs. The dictionary includes a bibliography and index.

Contact: Facts on File, Inc., 132 West 31st Street, 17th Floor , New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (800) 322-8755 Fax: (800) 678-3633 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.factsonfile.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8160-3210-6.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Economics, Government, Health services, Medical terminology, Public health services, Statistics

Annotation: This statistical summary presents data that reflect the condition of women, their lives, and their opportunities throughout the world. The preface describes the intent, methodology, and organization of the volume, and provides information on its use. It includes published and non-published data from governmental and non-governmental sources. The individual tables provide source information; a complete list of sources consulted is also included, and detailed indexes are provided. The range of topics covered are: attitudes and opinions; business and economics; crime, law enforcement, and legal justice; domestic life; education; health and medical care; income, spending, and wealth; labor, employment, and occupations; the military; population and vital statistics; public life; religion; sexuality; and sports and recreation.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8872-3.

Keywords: Attitudes, Business, Careers, Costs, Crime, Criminal justice system, Data, Demographics, Economic factors, Education, Employment, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Government, Health, Health services, International data, Labor, Law enforcement, Military, Political systems, Religion, Sex role, Sexuality, Sports, Vital statistics, Women, Women', s rights