Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief highlights state-level data by race and ethnicity about differential access to Head Start preschool, Early Head Start, and Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG)-funded child care. Contents include background on eligibility and funding of Head Start and CCDBG, racial and ethnic diversity of young children, and young children in poverty; data on the percentage of eligible children served by program, race/ethnicity, and state; and potential policy implications and data gaps.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Child care, Child development, Early Head Start, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Ethnic groups, Federal programs, Head Start, Infants, Low income groups, Service delivery, Statistics, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This document describes a framework for developing a comprehensive and equitable system to address barriers to student learning and teaching. The framework comprises student and learning supports within the context of a continuum of interconnected subsystems that promote healthy development and prevent problems, intervene early, and treat severe and chronic problems. Contents include how organizational and operational infrastructures can be reworked to enable the development, implementation, and sustainability of the approach.

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Barriers, Child development, Collaboration, Early intervention, Equal opportunities, Health promotion, Interdisciplinary approach, Learning, Organizational change, Policy development, Program improvement, Program planning, Resource allocation, School districts, Service integration, Standards, Students, Systems development, Teaching

Annotation: This document provides guidance for clinics and schools on the roles and responsibilities of medical providers and educational professionals in identifying and treating developmental and social-emotional concerns in young children from birth to age 5. Topics include communicating with families; referring for educational and medical evaluation; sharing evaluation results, including information about confidentiality and consent; and shared care planning. A link to a map of trained mental health professionals and a graphic showing a communication feedback loop are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups Program, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Web Site: https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/childrenyouth/ctc/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Clinics, Communication, Confidentiality, Early childhood, Early intervention, Emotional development, Family support, Legal issues, Mental health, Parent consent, Planning, Psychosocial development, Referrals, Role, School districts, Schools, Screening, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of centers and programs connected with schools to document the role of school-based health centers (SBHCs) in meeting the health care needs of children and adolescents. The report describes the funding sources that support the SBHCs, policies, and characteristics of schools where SBHCs are located. The analysis and data presented in the report include SBHCs that pro- vide primary care. Topics include growth; access; comprehensive care, including behavioral health and oral health care; adolescent care; health system partnerships; sustainability; and accountability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Data, Early intervention, Mental health services, National surveys, Oral health, Participation, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reproductive health, School based clinics

Annotation: This policy statement sets a vision and provides recommendations to states, local educational agencies, schools, and public and private early childhood programs for increasing the inclusion of infants, toddlers, and preschool children with disabilities in high-quality early childhood programs. Contents include information about the scientific base for the benefits of inclusion, the legal foundation for inclusion, challenges to inclusion in early childhood programs, partnering to build a nationwide culture of inclusion, and recommendations for state action.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• Policy Statement
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Federal initiatives, Inclusion, Inclusive schools, Infants, Learning, Legal responsibility, Policy development, Program development, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Schools, Young children

Annotation: This handout provides information about the potentially harmful effects of chewing betel nut, including increased risk for cancer and gum disease. The handout addresses risk associated with combining betel nut and tobacco and risks for chewing betel nut for pregnant women and children. The handout also includes information about the importance of talking with a doctor and dentist about betel nut use and early cancer detection and provides phone numbers for information about oral health care in North Carolina. The handout is available in English, Burmese, and Karen.

Contact: Orange County Health Department, P.O. Box 8181, Hillsborough, NC 27278, Telephone: (919) 732-8181 Contact Phone: (919) 245-2387 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.orangecountync.gov/204/Health-Department Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cancer, Children, Early intervention, Gingivitis, Non English language materials, North Carolina, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Substance use, Tobacco use

Annotation: This annual report, required by public law, describes progress and expenditures made in autism spectrum disorder (ASD)-related research and services activities across the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the U.S. Department of Education, the U.S. Department of Defense, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the National Science Foundation. Topics include progress and expenditures; prevalence of ASD; average age of diagnosis; average age for intervention; average time between screening, diagnosis, and intervention; effectiveness and outcomes of interventions; and adult services and supports. The appendices contain a list of acronyms, a summary of the previous report, and related publications.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20201, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://iacc.hhs.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS 14-8012.

• PDF
• Previous Reports

Keywords: Autism, Costs, Early intervention, Family support services, Federal legislation, Interagency cooperation, Prevalence, Research, Screening, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This website describes a federal coordinated effort to encourage healthy child development,universal developmental and behavioral screening for children, and support for the families and providers who care for them. Contents include information about the importance of developmental and behavioral screening, the Compendium of Screening Measures for Young Children, and a list of accompanying guides tailored for use by early care and education providers, early intervention service and early childhood special education providers, families, primary care providers, communities, child welfare, home visitors, behavioral health providers, and housing and homeless shelter providers. Resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Early intervention services, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Infant development, Infants, Measures, Spanish language materials, Young children

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Link
• Report Only

Keywords: Analysis, Child maltreatment, Early childhood education, Evaluation, Home visiting, Injury prevention, Intervention, Models, Safety, Young children

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child maltreatment, Comparative analysis, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Early intervention programs, Home visiting, Prevention programs, Young children

Annotation: This document provides guidance for programs on collecting and using data when implementing the Pyramid Model, a framework for promoting the social and emotional competence of all young children including children who have persistent challenging behavior. Contents include a list of tools that can be used to ensure implementation and intervention fidelity and to determine the supports needed by professionals, children, and families. The document briefly describes each tool and provides the measurement form or information for accessing the tool.

Contact: Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children, Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, University of South Florida, 13301 North Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, MHC2-1134, Tampa, FL 33612-3807, Telephone: (813) 974-9803 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.challengingbehavior.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Competence, Data analysis, Data collection, Decision making, Early intervention, Emotional development, Measures, Psychosocial development, Social behavior, Young children

Annotation: This document provides a guide and suggested resources for statewide implementation of the Pyramid Model for Promoting Social Emotional Competence in Infants and Young Children. The document outlines key components of the model in the context of implementation stages (planning and installation, implementation, and scale-up and sustainability). Components include the state leadership team, master cadre for professional development, demonstration sites, behavior specialists, data and evaluation systems, and state benchmarks of quality. The document also describes measures and evaluation procedures that are tailored to the model. An accompanying document provides descriptions of the tools and how to use them.

Contact: Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children, Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, University of South Florida, 13301 North Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, MHC2-1134, Tampa, FL 33612-3807, Telephone: (813) 974-9803 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.challengingbehavior.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Competence, Early intervention, Emotional development, Model programs, Psychosocial development, Service delivery systems, Social behavior, Statewide planning, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This annual report lists scientific advances that represent significant progress in the field of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) research. Contents include short, plain language synopses of the top research breakthroughs selected by the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee (IACC) from a pool of peer-reviewed articles nominated by members. The articles are grouped according to the questions of the IACC Strategic Plan for ASD Research. Citations of the articles selected, as well as a complete listing of those nominated, are included at the end of the document. Topics include the causes of autism and potential risk factors, clues that could lead to earlier diagnosis, and promising early intervention strategies. The advances also address the prevalence of ASD both in the United States and internationally, as well as the service needs of people with ASD across the lifespan.

Contact: Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee, National Institute of Mental Health, Office of Autism Research Coordination, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 6182A, Bethesda, MD 20892, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://iacc.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Early intervention, Federal initiatives, Interagency cooperation, Life course, Prevalence, Program coordination, Research, Risk factors

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines state and safety net provider policies and practices that support early entry into prenatal care using the patient-centered medical home (PCMH) as a conceptual framework. It is one in a series of fact sheets that showcase state policies and programs in four states -- California, Illinois, Massachusetts, and Washington -- that support improvement in early entry into prenatal care.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Fact Sheet Series Overview

Keywords: California, Community health centers, Early intervention, Illinois, Massachusetts, Medical home, Perinatal services, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Public policy, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This action plan is based on epidemiology, evidence, and global and country learning, setting a framework to end preventable newborn deaths and stillbirths by 2035. Topics include information on existing commitments, rights, and the current situation; effective interventions for improving the health of newborns across the continuum of care; vision and goals; strategic objectives and principles; impact framework, coverage targets, measures of success, milestones, and core indicators; research priorities and coordination; and actions by constituency. A summary of the action plan process is included. The executive summary is available in English, French, and Spanish.

Contact: Partnership for Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health, World Health Organization, 20 avenue Appia, CH-1211, Geneva, Switzerland Telephone: +41 22 791 2595 Fax: +41 22 791 5854 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/pmnch/en Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Community action, Early intervention, Fetal death, Health objectives, International health, Models, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Primary prevention

Annotation: This 1-hour, 4-module course for early care and education providers describes tools and best practices for monitoring development of children and talking about it with parents. Topics include the provider's important role in monitoring children's development, why understanding developmental milestones is important and how to recognize them, understanding what developmental monitoring is, and how to help families when there are concerns about development. Checklists and other resources are included. Continuing education credit is available.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Communication, Continuing education, Early education, Early intervention, Infants, Training, Young children

Annotation: This resource outlines a plan for improving access to comprehensive, coordinated health care and related services for children, youth, and adults with autism spectrum disorder and related developmental disabilities in Georgia. The plan addresses the following ten areas of activity: early identification and screening; referral and diagnosis; medical, behavioral health, and dental services; family support; early intervention and preschool services; elementary and secondary education; community services and supports; transition from youth to adult systems; adult services and supports; and emergency preparedness and first responders. For each area, the report provides a definition, quality indicators (problem statements and data drivers), and recommendations (objectives). The report also describes foundational supports considered in developing the recommendations including work force, awareness, informational resources, finances, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Center for Leadership in Disability, 75 Piedmont Avenue, Suite 514, Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 413-1281 Fax: (404) 413-1012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://disability.publichealth.gsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Autism, Community based services, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disaster planning, Early intervention, Educational objectives, Family centered care, Family support services, Financial planning, Georgia, Health care delivery, Life course, Policy development, Program coordination, Referrals, Screening, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Transition planning, Work force

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on the efforts of 211 L.A. County's Developmental Screening and Care Coordination Program, which works to encourage partnerships between health professionals and community organizations to identify children at risk for developmental delays. The brief provides information about the program and about the importance of identifying developmental delays early. A personal story about a parent and child who received help from the program is also included.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child development, Children with developmental disabilities, Collaboration, Community programs, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Health services, Infant development, Infants, Infants with developmental disabilities, Screening, Diagnosis, Treatment, Service coordination, Young children

Annotation: This review assesses the comparative effectiveness of psychological and pharmacological interventions for infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 14 exposed to maltreatment in addressing child well-being outcomes (mental and behavioral health; caregiver-child relationship; cognitive, language, and physical development; and school-based functioning) and child welfare outcomes (safety, placement stability, and permanency). The review also assesses the comparative effectiveness of interventions with (1) different treatment characteristics, (2) for child and caregiver subgroups, and (3) for engaging and retaining children and caregivers in treatment. In addition, the review assesses harms associated with interventions for this population.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 13-EHC002-EF.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child development, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Intervention, Language development, Maltreated children, Mental health, Parent child relations, Physical development, Safety, School failure, School readiness, Treatment

Annotation: This report describes research to identify systemic challenges to ensuring children's access to mental health care common among many states and points to examples of success. The report discusses the past 20 years in children's mental health, policies and programs that support children's mental health, key findings, and how to improve access to care.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Early intervention, Financing, Health insurance, Legislation, Mental health services, Prevention, Programs, Public policy, Research, State programs