Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This tool is designed to assist child protection, mental health, or juvenile court systems in communicating more effectively with one another on behalf of families that are experiencing domestic violence and child maltreatment and are involved in multiple systems. The tool includes the following categories: (1) system interaction, (2) practice implications, (3) data, (4) resources, (5) emerging issues, and (6) community strengths and challenges. Resources for more information are provided.

Contact: National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, University of Nevada, P.O. Box 8970, Reno, NV 89507, Telephone: (775) 784-6012 Fax: (775) 784-6628 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncjfcj.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child protective services, Collaboration, Collaboration, Communication, Domestic violence, Families, Juvenile courts, Maltreated children, Mental health, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This manual provides guidance for a statewide network of neighborhood-based community centers and caring family professionals serving Connecticut's first-time parents. The program addresses the challenges they face and works to identify those at risk of harming their children and reducing the incidence and severity of abuse and neglect. Topics include issues in becoming parents and issues addressing poverty, social isolation, mental health, substance abuse, and domestic violence. Contents of the manual are divided into four sections. Section one describes the Nurturing Families Network (NFN) and research and evaluation. Section two provides detail on the NFN program development and implementation; staffing requirements; job descriptions; professional development and training; clinical supervisions; and programs in nurturing connections, home visiting, and the nurturing parents group. The third section discusses working with agencies that mandate services, such as the Department of Children and Families. The final section provides documentation tools and contact information for resources throughout Connecticut.

Contact: Children's Trust Fund, 410 Capitol Avenue, Third Floor, Hartford, CT 06106, Telephone: (860) 418-8765 Fax: (860) 418-8780 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/ctf/site/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Community programs, Connecticut, Domestic violence, Family centered services, Family support, Manuals, Prevention programs, Professional training, Program descriptions, Training materials

Annotation: This paper focuses on key findings from the Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study, a decade-long, ongoing study designed to examine the childhood origins of many health and social problems. The paper describes the study design and discusses the interrelatedness of ACEs. Types of ACEs discussed include abuse, neglect, household dysfunction, and battered mother. The relationship of ACE scores to alcohol consumption, risk factors for HIV and AIDS, smoking and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; depression and suicide attempts; worker performance; and health care costs. Implications are discussed. References are included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the paper.The paper includes one appendix: a detailed list of health and social problems shown to have a graded relationship with ACE scores.

Contact: National Association for Children of Alcoholics, 11426 Rockville Pike, Suite 301, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 468-0985 Secondary Telephone: (888) 554-COAS Fax: (301) 468-0987 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nacoa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Children, Costs, Domestic violence, Drug abuse, Emotional abuse, HIV, Health, High risk children, High risk families, Lung diseases, Physical abuse, Smoking: Depression, Substance abuse, Suicide

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program, located in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, during the period August 1, 1999, to February 28, 2005. The purpose of the project was to identify and intervene early with at-risk families to address and prevent situations of abuse, illiteracy, and ill health or malnutrition. Report sections include (1) purpose of project and relationship to Socal Security Administration (SSA) Title V maternal and child health programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) type and amount of resources needed to replicate. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child abuse, Domestic violence, Families, Final reports, Health, High risk groups, Malnutrition, Pennsylvania, Poverty, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This training tool is designed to enhance oral health professionals' response to domestic violence. Topics include clinical signs of domestic violence, routine assessment, documentation and intervention, and action steps. Contents include a fact sheet, a national resource list, and a pocket card with assessment tips. Summaries on JCAHO standard PC.3.10, mandatory reporting, and privacy issues with corresponding web links for more information are also provided.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Case assessment, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Domestic violence, Facial injuries, Head injuries, Intervention, Laws, Neck injuries, Oral health, Professional ethics

Annotation: This paper focuses on municipal leaders' role in strengthening American's families. Part 1 of the paper discusses how mayors, city council members, and other key city leaders can help mobilize, organize, and lead family-strengthening efforts focused on local families and the neighborhoods in which they live. Part 2 offers a set of strategies for launching and sustaining efforts to strengthen families. Part 3 looks more closely at some specific things city leaders can do to help create important connections for families. The paper contains a wide range of practical ideas for how municipal action can strengthen families.

Contact: National League of Cities, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 550, Washington, DC 20004-1763, Telephone: (877) 827-2385 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.nlc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, City government, Communities, Community programs, Domestic violence, Early childhood development, Education, Employment programs, Families, Family support, Health, Housing, Local government, Neighborhoods, Nutrition, Safety, School age child care

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Developing a System of Care to Address Family Violence During or Around the Time of Pregnancy in Multnomal County Program during the period June 1, 2002, through May 31, 2005. This demonstration project was developed to strengthen the Multnomah County Health Department's maternal and child health system of care for women who are experiencing family violence in order to (1) reduce the incidence of family violence in Oregon's Healthy Start catchment area; (2) identify preconceptional, pregnant, and postpartum women who are experiencing family violence; and (3) increase the capacity of health care staff to effectively provide appropriate information, referrals, and direct linkages to interventions that are age, linguistically, and culturally appropriate to the two local populations. Report sections include (1) purpose of project and relationship to Social Security Administration Title V maternal and child health programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) type and amount of support needed to replicate. The report includes four appendices: (1) an improving the response to partner violence presentation, (2) a home violence screening questionnaire, (3) an improving response to partner violence health care resources manual, and (4) example material for family safety first education packets. A CD-ROM is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Domestic violence, Final reports, Health care systems, Healthy Start, Intervention, Low income groups, Oregon, Pregnancy, Prevention, Referral

Annotation: This book describes community efforts to reduce violence in Boston that led to a dramatic decrease in youth violence in the city. The book is divided into four main sections: (1) the problem, (2) issues and solutions, (3) what happened in Boston, and (4) lessons learned. Topics include the epidemic of violence; child and youth involvement in violence and criminal activity in Boston; understanding issues and risk factors that lead to youth violence such as poverty, domestic violence, and the prevalence of guns; promoting positive role models, healthy and safe communities, and pro-social behaviors; and the importance of commitment by the community and its resources. The book also includes endnotes, suggestions for further reading, and and index.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-6980-X.

Keywords: Adolescent death, Adolescent mortality, Case studies, Community programs, Domestic violence, Massachusetts, Model programs, Socioeconomic factors, Violence prevention, Youth services

Annotation: The guidelines offered here provide recommendations on how screening for domestic violence victimization, and assessment, documentation, intervention, and referrals should occur in multiple settings, and in various professional disciplines. Part one reviews current findings regarding the prevalence and health impact of domestic violence, presents a rationale for regular and routine screening and response, and underscores the importance of culturally competent practice in addressing domestic violence. Part two outlines the recommendations for screening and response. Part three offers continuous quality improvement goals to help monitor the impact and implementation of abuse identification and response protocols. Extensive appendices include guides, questions, and other tools to assist in screening in health care settings.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Children, Domestic violence, Families, Health personnel, Parents, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This report summarizes recent research about the extent to which depression, domestic violence, and substance abuse co-occur among low-income families and about the combined effect of these problems on children. The report describes the scope of the problem, effects on parenting and children's development, interventions that help children and parents, projects that provide work supports, research implications, and policy implications. The report also offers a conclusion. The report concludes with a list of endnotes.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Comorbidity, Depression, Domestic violence, Families, Family support, Intervention, Parenting, Parents, Public policy, Research, Substance abuse: Low income groups

Annotation: This report, which is intended for service providers and counselors working with adolescents and college students, victim and women's advocacy groups, and researchers, summarizes two studies that used different methodologies and samples to determine the extent to which physical and sexual abuse as a child or adolescent contributes to later abuse. The report discusses the two studies' methodologies, findings, and limitations. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. References are included.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 197019.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child sexual abuse, Domestic violence, Research, Sexual abuse, Women

Annotation: This report describes the training programs and assessment and treatment tools that health professionals, social workers, and facilities and their staff can use to provide better care for victims of domestic violence. The report provides background information and information about the impact of Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality research as well as about ongoing research. A conclusion, resources for more information, and references are included. Much of the information in the report is presented in tables.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 04-0055.

• Link

Keywords: Domestic violence, Health care, Professional training, Research, Women

Annotation: This handbook provides information about programs and systems that are using community mobilization strategies to prevent and reduce family violence. The handbook is intended for anyone wishing to initiate or expand family violence prevention work, including agencies addressing family and community health, community development groups, and grassroots leaders. The handbook offers strategies for organizing at the community level and provides advice culled from the experiences of site leaders and other seasoned organizers. Information is provided on getting started, strategies for effective engagement, advice on funding a project, and information on measuring a project's effectiveness. Five appendices include a list of featured organizations, tips for advocates, the Greenbook Initiative Neighbor to Neighbor Project survey, the Asian Women's Shelter Focus Goup protocol, and information about working with the media. A resource directory is also included.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communities, Community agencies, Community programs, Domestic violence, Family support programs, Family violence, Financing, Prevention, Women

Annotation: This paper summarizes efforts to understand and help develop responses to the particular challenges and barriers faced by Spanish-speaking Latina survivors of domestic violence and by organizations that seek to provide prevention and intervention services for them and their families. It describes the challenges and barriers; summarizes literature reviews, surveys, and focus groups; and provides preliminary guidelines for the development of Spanish-language materials that respond to the expressed needs of Latina survivors and service providers. The paper includes three appendices: (1) additional means used to document the need for materials and services, (2) reviewed cultural competency materials, and (3) partial listing of Spanish-language resources. Future plans and endnotes are also included.

Contact: National Latino Alliance for the Elimination of Domestic Violence, P.O. Box 2787, Albuquerque, NM 87532, Telephone: (505) 753-3334 Fax: (505) 753-3337 Web Site: http://www.dvalianza.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Domestic violence, Guidelines, Hispanic Americans, Language barriers, Literature reviews, Manuals, Spanish language materials, Survivors, Women

Annotation: The purpose of this guide is to provide community clinics serving diverse populations with processes to develop, refine, and increase assistance for clients experiencing domestic violence during pregnancy and postpartum. The guide (1) identifies strengths and barriers in the current clinic procedures in relation to the population served, (2) provides processes to assess and plan targeted activities that will increase safety and culturally relevant interventions, and (3) provides sample tools and materials that can be adapted for use. The guide is meant to enable clinics to assess their current practices in relation to pregnant and postpartum women experiencing domestic violence, establish a long-term targeted plan to increase culturally relevant practices, and evaluate progress. The guide is divided into the following main sections: (1) assessment and targeted plan, (2) training, (3) protocols and tools consistency, and (4) references. An executive summary is included, as well as six appendices: (1) assessment form and question guide, (2) targeted plan and suggested activities, (3) fact sheets for health professionas, (4) client and community education, (5) sample protocols and tools, and (6) resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, P.O. Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3502 Fax: (360) 236-2323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: CD-ROMS, Culturally competent services, Domestic violence, Education, Intervention, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Protocols, Safety, Training

Annotation: This primer discusses the problem of substance use, including alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs, in women and girls in Minnesota, especially during pregnancy; and describes how community education can address this problem, with information about specific groups including African Americans, American Indians, Latinos, and college students. The majority of the primer lists and describes resources in a wide variety of formats tohelp understand and educate others about these problems. Formats include printed materials, videos, Internet resources, resource centers, and services. Addresses of vendors are included. The primer includes eight appendices covering topics such as selecting information, community prevention strategies, recognizing and treating alcohol abuse and addiction, and a calendar of health observances.

Contact: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 38460 Lincoln Trail, Box 549, North Branch, MN 55056, Telephone: (651) 674-4085 Secondary Telephone: (877) 935-4426 Fax: (651) 277-4085 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emprc.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Addiction, Adolescent females, Alcohol consumption behaviors, Bibliographies, Cigarette smoking, Communities, Depression, Directories, Domestic violence, Mental health, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public health, Risk factors, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: This report is intended to (1) offer communities a guiding framework to develop interventions and measure progress as they seek to improve their responses to families experiencing domestic violence and child maltreatment and (2) present leaders of communities and institutions with a context-setting tool to develop public policy aimed at keeping families safe and stable. Chapter 1 articulates an overall principle of safety, well-being, and stability for all victims of family violence and the need to hold batterers accountable. Chapter 2 develops a series of principles to guide communities. Chapters 3, 4, and 5 focus on specific recommendations for the child protection systems, the network of domestic violence service providers, and the juvenile or other trial courts with jurisdiction over child maltreatment cases. The report also contains endnotes.

Contact: National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, University of Nevada, P.O. Box 8970, Reno, NV 89507, Telephone: (775) 784-6012 Fax: (775) 784-6628 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncjfcj.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Child abuse, Child safety, Community based services, Crisis intervention, Domestic violence, Family support services, Public policy, Violence prevention

Annotation: This paper uses state-level data constructed from the Current Population Survey matched onto the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study, a birth cohort study of approximately 5, 000 children, including 3, 700 children born to unmarried parents, to address the question of how child support enforcement policies relate to domestic violence. The paper includes a theoretical model of how child support enforcement influences cohabitation, marriage, child support orders, and violence. The data used is described, and results are presented.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child support, Children, Data, Domestic violence, Families, Low income groups, Marriage, Models, Research, Single parents

Annotation: This document focuses on the importance of protecting the health of women, children, and families by helping them move out of poverty. It calls on Congress to adopt the following proposals in the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families reauthorization: (1) increase funding for child care, (2) help parents care for children with special health care needs, (3) provide transitional medical assistance, (4) lift restrictions on legal immigrants, (5) prevent domestic violence, (6) expand definition of work, (7) include all families, such as children living with grandparents or other relatives, (8) build strong youth, (9) stop the "super waiver, " and (10) strengthen abstinence education.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescents, Child care, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Domestic violence, Families, Federal programs, Financing, Immigrants, Parents, Poverty, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, Welfare reform, Women', s health

Annotation: This brief presents information on many types of violence (including the most common forms of violence, the least common forms of violence, and other types of violence) that affect children's lives, as well as critical intersections of violence and age, gender, and race and ethnicity. The brief considers the need to collect other types of information to help monitor and track violence in the lives of America's children and adolescents. The brief also offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the brief. The brief concludes with a list of data sources for figures, and endnotes.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-932359-06-X.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Domestic violence, Ethnic factors, Fighting, Gun violence, Infants, Media violence, Racial factors, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Suicide, Violence, Violence prevention, Weapons