Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes the oral health forum held on July 20, 2004, in Washington, DC, to discuss oral health priorities for children enrolled in Early Head Start and Head Start. Topics include a review of the previous leadership summit held in 2003, steps in promoting education and prevention, increasing coverage and access, enhancing the dental work force, and improving the quality of data and surveillance. Contents of the report also include a financial overview, the forum agenda, a proposed research abstract, and the participant list. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Conferences, District of Columbia, Early Head Start, Head Start, Health education, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program Descriptions, Young children

Annotation: This report addresses unique aspects of the District of Columbia Oral Health Initiative, a program that provides comprehensive oral health services for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) in two public schools. Topics include treatment guidelines for oral health services for children with special health care needs, Medicaid coverage for services and school-based health centers, managed care and examples of different reimbursement systems for CSHCN, and Medicaid coverage of special services. Three appendices provide case study information on programs in New Mexico and New York.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, District of Columbia, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, School based clinics

Annotation: This report focuses on the DC CAN (Control Asthma Now) Project, a project dedicated to developing a viable, comprehensive, community-based, consumer-centered strategic approach to address the District of Columbia's asthma epidemic, improve health outcomes, and reduce the burden of asthma in the District. The report, which includes an executive summary and a key findings section, is divided into three main chapters: (1) behavioral risk factor surveillance system, (2) asthma hospital discharge data, and (3) asthma mortality rates. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report also includes sections on conclusions, future plans for partnerships and research, and references.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5925 Fax: (202) 535-1710 Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/page/community-health-administration

Keywords: Asthma, Behavior, Community based services, Community programs, District of Columbia, Hospital discharge data, Local initiatives, Mortality rates, Population surveillance, Risk factors

Annotation: This report describes the components of the DC Children and Youth Investment Partnership. The report discusses three components of the partnership: (1) the creation and development of the Children and Youth Interagency Action Team, which is the partnership's steering committee; (2) the creation and development of the DC Children and Youth Investment Trust Corporation (Trust); and (3) the expansion of the Aftercare program. Also discussed are the partnership's funding constraints, its plans for the future, a summary of findings, and specific challenges that have been identified. Appendices include charts illustrating the partnership's organization; funders and providers of the out-of-school time programs; the various categories of Trust grantees; the youth investment model; a description of Trust supported programs; and partnership involvement. The report concludes with references.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Community programs, District of Columbia, High risk groups, Out of school youth, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, Youth services

Annotation: This application for federal assistance and annual report are for the District of Columbia Department of Health, which maintains a citywide system of family-centered, culturally competent, comprehensive quality health care and related services for women of childbearing age, mothers, infants, and children and adolescents, including children with special health care needs. The report is divided into the following sections: (1) common requirements for application and annual report, (2) requirements for the annual report, (3) requirements for the application, (4) requirements for the annual plan, and (5) supporting documents.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dchealth.dc.gov/

Keywords: Applications, Adolescent health, Annual reports, Block grants, Child health, Children with special health care needs, District of Columbia, Federal grants, Health care services, Infants, Maternal health services

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program from 1997 to 2002 in Wards 5 and 6 in the District of Columbia to establish an infant mortality reduction program. Report contents include a description of the service initiation; care coordination and case management; service accomplishments; mentoring received from the demonstration project; a description of the consortium; a review of the impact of the program; and other program components such as management and governance, sustainability, local government rule, and the local evaluation. Additional sections of the report describe the fetal and infant mortality review and project data. Attachments to the report include an organizational chart illustrating the Maternal and Family Health Administration in the District of Columbia Department of Health and a chart providing data on services provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dchealth.dc.gov/

Keywords: : Healthy Start, District of Columbia, Final reports, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Program descriptions

Annotation: This report highlights some health indicators, primarily for adults in the Washington, DC, area. The report presents data for nine individual jurisdictions and for the region as a whole, to create a regional snapshot of the area so that health officials, policymakers, community groups, and the public can start to answer the question: "How 'healthy' is the Washington area from a health promotion and disease prevention perspective?" Topics are physical activity, overweight and obesity, tobacco use, substance abuse, sexual behavior, mental health, injury and violence, environmental quality, immunization and infectious diseases, and access to health care.

Contact: Metropolitan Washington Public Health Assessment Center, George Washington University, School of Public Health and Health Services, Ross Hall, Suite 120, 2300 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-9916 Fax: (202) 994-0082 Web Site: http://www.gwumc.edu/spphs/mwphac/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Communities, Data, Disease prevention, District of Columbia, Health, Health promotion, Maryland, Virginia

Annotation: This document sets broad goals to improve the health of all District residents by 2010. It was developed in accord with the federal Healthy People 2010 framework with input from local citizens and community agencies. The plan's sections provide objectives in these areas: promoting healthy behaviors; promoting healthy and safe communities; improving access to quality health care services; and preventing and reducing diseases and disorders. The plan includes a focus on eliminating health disparities among racial and ethnic minority populations. Data are presented in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dchealth.dc.gov/

• Executive Summary

Keywords: Disease prevention, District of Columbia, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health statistics, Healthy People 2010, Minority groups

Annotation: This report discusses the fiscal year budget for the District of Columbia, emphasizing the funding available for programs to benefit children, youth, and families. The report begins with background information including a historical timeline on the budget process. It explains how to advocate for children, youth, and families. Subsequent chapters provide detailed information on programs and budget in the following areas: welfare and other government benefit programs, child welfare, early childhood development, juvenile delinquency and crime prevention, homelessness, recreation, maternal and child health, mental health, the Children and Youth Investment Fund, and the Tobacco Settlement Trust Fund. A glossary, a list of city government officials and agencies, and a list of other important addresses and phone numbers are included at the end.

Contact: DC Action for Children, 1616 P Street, N.W., Suite 420, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 234-9404 Fax: (202) 234-9108 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dcactionforchildren.org/ Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Budgets, Budgets, Child health, Child welfare, Children, City agencies, District of Columbia, Early childhood development, Families, Homelessness, Juvenile delinquency, Maternal health, Mental health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Recreation, Tobacco, Welfare programs, Youth

Annotation: This annual fact book provides data regarding the condition of children in Washington, DC. Data reported include general population trends; economic security; family attachment and community support; homeless children and families; child health; safety and personal security; education; and children with special health care needs. Ward (local)-level data are provided for several of the indicators. The 1998 fact book also includes youth risk behavior data. The 1999 fact book adds data on the percentage of children, ages 19-35 months who completed the standard immunization series on schedule. Extensive figures, tables, and maps illustrate statistics throughout each fact book. A companion poster is included with the 2002 fact book to make readily accessible key indicators from 8 main sections including 31 indicators of child well-being in the District of Columbia.

Contact: D. C. Children's Trust Fund, 1200 G Street, N. W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 434-8780 Fax: (202) 434-8781 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dcctf.org Available from the website.

• 2010 Edition

Keywords: Child health, Child safety, Children, Children with special health care needs, District of Columbia, Economic factors, Educational factors, Family characteristics, Health statistics, Population dynamics, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: This directory lists organizations that offer services for children and families in the District of Columbia. Organizations are listed in nine categories: (1) advocacy, (2) community development, (3) District of Columbia Government, (4) education, (5) health care, (6) religious, (7) resource center, (8) social services and (9) other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Advocacy, City government, Community development, Directories, District of Columbia, Education, Family resource centers, Family support services, Health services, Religious organizations, Resource materials, Social services

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy Seminar about public and low-income housing in the District of Columbia. It discusses the importance of adequate housing, housing improvement stakeholders, resident involvement and responsibility, national and local models, limitations and challenges, and policy considerations. Appendices include a glossary of terms, an overview of the DC Housing Authority, the Renaissance Village covenant, and national and district resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: District of Columbia, Families, Housing, Individual responsibility, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Model programs, National programs, Public housing

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy seminar on family involvement in before- and after-school care programs for youth in the District of Columbia. It examines the existing facts and demographics in the District of Columbia, cites national family involvement statistics, and discusses research and theory. It also reviews practical considerations and models of family involvement. Appendices include lists of District and national resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: After school programs, District of Columbia, Families, Family child care, Latchkey children, Model programs, School age child care, Working parents

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy Seminar on school-based mental health services. It discusses the costs of failing to detect and treat mental illness, factors to consider in program implementation, and several model programs which may assist District of Columbia officials and service providers if they choose to create additional school based programs. Appendices list local and national resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Adolescent health services, Child health services, District of Columbia, Mental health services, Model programs, Reports, School based clinics, School health services

Annotation: This report provides background information on the issues addressed by the DC Family Policy Seminar held on February 12, 1998. The report examines the shortage of qualified foster care available in Washington, DC, local initiatives, and initiatives from other parts of the country to alleviate the problem. Appendices include a brief history of the LaShawn receivership of the DC foster care system, a glossary, and lists of resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Child care, Child welfare, District of Columbia, Foster care, Foster children, Foster parents

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy Seminar on using education vouchers in the District of Columbia schools. It includes a District community and school system profile, voucher proposals, advantages and disadvantages of vouchers, case studies of vouchers in other settings, other educational change efforts in the District, and policy considerations. Appendices list local and national resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Case studies, District of Columbia, Educational change, Government financing, Policy analysis, Private sector, Public schools

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy Seminar about peer education for all age groups. The report is divided into sections on the theoretical background of peer education, national and local models, research findings on the advantages and limitations of peer education, and policy recommendations. Appendices include components of promising peer-led sexual health programs and national and local resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: District of Columbia, Intervention, Model programs, Peer education, Policy analysis, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, Social problems

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in March 1997 that focused on child care issues in the District of Columbia and aimed to provide research and program intervention on how businesses may assist in solving the current child care crisis. Volume 1 (written by Helena Wallin and edited by Donna Ruane Morrison and Shelley Stark) provides an introduction and background of the increased need for affordable quality care in the nation and in the District, presents research concerning the effects of family-friendly employee benefits on employer's bottom line, highlights innovative family-friendly business practices, and links the federal government's current role in encouraging employer response to this issue. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Business, Child care, District of Columbia, Employee assistance programs, Employer initiatives, Family support

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in October 1997 that focused on the ways service providers can meet the needs of immigrant families in the District of Columbia. The goals of the seminar were to bring different points of view to the table and to discuss tools needed to serve families through information dissemination, education, and outreach. The seminar emphasized the importance of recognizing cultural diversity, the need for a coordinated response to the needs of immigrant families, and the need for appropriate outreach efforts to overcome such barriers to access as language and culture. Also included are a bibliography of works cited, a glossary, a directory of agencies and organizations in the District of Columbia that offer various services to immigrants, and a directory of national resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Cultural barriers, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, District of Columbia, Immigrants, Nonprofit organizations, Social services, Welfare reform, Welfare services

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in May 1997 which focused on prevention of juvenile crime in the District of Columbia and provided research and program information on crime prevention strategies. The seminar organizers wanted to encourage collaboration among nonprofit organizations, government, community members, and families in order to curb juvenile crime rates in the District of Columbia. This report provides an overview of the problem of juvenile crime locally and nationally, presents research concerning the risk factors associated with juvenile crime, discusses innovative youth crime prevention models, and highlights current prevention programs in the District of Columbia. Appendices give a list of national resources, and District resources. Also included is a bibliography of works cited. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Adolescents, Community based services, Crime prevention, District of Columbia, Juvenile delinquents, Prevention programs