Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information on the link between poor oral health and chronic disease and on efforts of the National Association of Chronic Disease directors (NACDD) to develop a national framework for medical-dental integration (MDI) and discusses NACDD's work with five states (Colorado, Connecticut, North Dakota, South Carolina, and Virginia) on projects whose purpose was to document successful approaches for increasing the effectiveness of state oral health and chronic disease collaborations with dental clinics and community providers to screen for chronic conditions such as hypertension, pre-diabetes, and diabetes. Each project is discussed, along oral health outcomes for each state and future directions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Connecticut, Diabetes, Hypertension, North Dakota, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, South Carolina, State programs, Virginia

Annotation: This roadmap presents goals and action steps to promote the ability of health professionals working in the areas of primary care, mental health, behavioral health, emergency care, sexual/reproductive health, and dentistry to serve people with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities (IDD) equitably and effectively. Topics include the need for a national strategy to improve health care for people with IDD, initiatives to improve training for health professionals, building the roadmap, building consensus, priority action steps, and accrediting bodies for health care facilities.

Contact: Institute for Exceptional Care, 1717 K Street, N.S., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 843-9260 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ie-care.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This website describes a project that was developed from stakeholder concerns about the fragility of stable and adequate housing for families of children with chronic and complex conditions raised at the 2019 Levi Symposium hosted at the Berman Institute. The project is ongoing.

Contact: Johns Hopkins, Berman Institute of Bioethics , Deering Hal , 1809 Ashland Avenue, Baltimore , MD 20205, Telephone: (410) 614-5550 E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Financial barriers, Housing, Physical disabilities, State initiatives

Annotation: This annual report commissioned by Delta Dental provides data on and an analysis of oral health and overall health behaviors among adults and children across the United States. The report also discusses consumers’ understanding of the link between oral health and chronic conditions, the connection between oral hygiene and mental health, and the benefits of receiving preventive oral health care. Also addressed are adults' adherence to preventive oral health behaviors, trends in preventive oral health care visits, and dental insurance coverage among adults.

Contact: Delta Dental Plans Association, 1515 West 22nd Street, Suite 450, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data, Health care utilization, Mental health, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This report assesses access to and use of oral health care among people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) in Tennessee. It synthesizes data from multiple sources to evaluate the readiness of the state’s oral-health-care infrastructure to address the needs of people with IDD in the state. The report introduces the issue and provides analyses of overall health outcomes, oral health outcomes, and wait times for oral health care for people with IDD in the state. Recommendations for improving access to oral health care for this population are included.

Contact: American Institute of Dental Public Health, 401 William Street, #5560, River Forest, IL 60305, Telephone: (210) 876-6943 Web Site: https://aidph.org/ Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Oral health, Special health care needs, State information, Statistical data, Tennessee

Annotation: This report provides information on a study of oral health professionals conducted to explore factors and policy incentives that influence their decisions on treating people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and on participating in government programs that provide oral health care coverage for this population. Topics includes research questions, input from the population, input from health professionals, demonstrating a return on investment, and promising practices.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Oral health, Public policy, Research, Special health care needs

Annotation: This profile provides information on state Medicaid dental programs. For each state, the following topics are discussed: category of care provided (e.g., diagnostic, exam, screen, preventive, restorative); diagnostic code; description of category; whether adults over age 21, adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and pregnant women are covered; adult fees; whether the category is part of the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program; and EPSDT rates for pregnant women.

Contact: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 4411 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., #104, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (202) 855-3993 Fax: (202) 248-2315 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaiddental.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Reimbursement, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report presents recommendations to strengthen the primary care workforce for young adults with medical complexity (YAMC) by promoting and increasing the supply of well-prepared adult primary care physicians for YAMC transitioning to adult care. Included is an overview of the YAMC population and the current care landscape, including health workforce and financing consideration. The recommendations were developed by a national advisory committee established by the National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health/Got Transition and the George Washington University Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity.

Contact: George Washington University , Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity , 2175 K Street, NW, Suite 250, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-3423 Web Site: https://www.gwhwi.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Primary care, Professional education, Professional training, Program improvement, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This report provides information from the Annual State of Oral Health Equity in America (SOHEA) survey conducted by the CareQuest Institute. Topics include dental visits—past and planned, oral health and oral problems, impacts of oral health problems, protective factors, oral hygiene practices, and barriers to care—disabilities and discrimination. For each topic, statistical information is presented in text and figures.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Disabilities, Oral health, Oral health equity, Oral hygiene, Surveys

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the effects of reinstating Hawai'i's adult Medicaid dental benefits in 2022. Statistics are presented on the number of Hawai'i Medicaid beneficiaries with no diagnostic, preventive, or dental coverage and who visited the emergency department (ED) with a dental-related diagnosis between 2016 and 2020, the total cost of ED visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period, and the percentage of ER visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period who were Medicaid beneficiaries. Also provided are estimated savings from reinstating the benefits as well as information about the association between poor oral health and several chronic conditions and other negative health outcomes. [Produced by District of Columbia Department of Health]

Contact: Hawaii Public Health Institute, 707 Richards Street, Suite 300, Honolulu, HI 96813, Telephone: (808) 591-6508 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hiphi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency room data, Hawaii, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This report examines racial and ethnic inequities in children's access to developmental services through California's Department of Developmental Services (DDS). It quantifies and evaluates inequities in service access and expenditures and examines the effectiveness of the set of measures developed by DDS to monitor and prevent inequities related to race, culture, and primary language spoken. A summary of findings is provided along with recommendations for legislative improvements that could help eliminate disparities to services for children with developmental disabilities in the state of California.

Contact: Public Counsel , 610 South Ardmore Avenue , Los Angeles, CA 90005, Telephone: (213) 385-2977 Fax: (213) 385-9089 Web Site: https://publiccounsel.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children with developmental disabilities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Racial factors, State legislation

Annotation: This report describes Improving Care Coordination and Health Outcomes for Diabetic Patients Through Medical and Dental Integration, a program run by CommUnityCare (CUC). The program’s purpose is to increase access to oral health care and general health care for people with diabetes to help improve chronic disease outcomes. It discusses how the program started, what happens during a patient visit, what CUC learned while launching the program, and plans for the future. Data showing the increase in the percentage of patients with diabetes who received care as well as of those who had a current A1c test are included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Oral health, Service integration, State programs, Texas

Annotation: This report addresses questions on whether the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services should require state Medicaid agencies to implement Medicaid reimbursement and payment policies that promote access to oral health care for adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD) and on whether doing so could be cost-effective. The report discusses barriers to accessing oral health care for adults with I/DD, Medicaid’s role in making oral health care accessible for them, an analysis of state Medicaid oral health dental coverage, Medicaid reimbursement rates, receipt of oral health care among this population, opportunities for change, and areas for future research.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Research, Special health care needs

Annotation: These presentations are designed for caregivers of people with disabilities or older adults. The goal of the presentations is to increase caregivers’ ability to work with people with a broad range of support needs, as well as to make caregivers feel more confident about doing so. The presentations explain how to help support a daily oral care routine for a family member or client. Translations of original English material are available in Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Tagalog. The presentations are written in simple language.

Contact: Pacific Center for Equity in Oral Health Care, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, University of the Pacific, 155 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dental.pacific.edu/dental/faculty-and-research/research-facilities/pc#:~:text=The%20Pacific%20Center%20for%20Equity,access%20to%20oral%20health%20care.

• Requires Registration For An Account

Keywords: Caregivers, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities in Missouri. Topics include oral hygiene, dental sealants, treated and untreated tooth decay, treatment urgency, and history of rampant tooth decay. Information about survey participants’ ages, genders, races, and ethnicities, as related to these topics, is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Missouri, Oral health, State surveys, Treatment

Annotation: This website provides a platform for the aging and disability communities to post information and resources about the home and community-based services (HCBS) settings rule and steps each state is making to comply with the rule. Contents include resources, dates and deadlines, documents, news, and other information organized by state. Additional contents include official resources and information from the federal government about the HCBS rule including guidance and a settings requirements and compliance toolkit.

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Compliance, Disabilities, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Information sources, Medicaid, Networking, Public private partnerships, Transition planning

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that Ohioans understand the relationship between oral and systemic health. It discusses the association between periodontal disease and systemic conditions and the relationship between oral health and health care expenditures. Challenges related to oral health care that skilled nursing facilities face are also addressed.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Ohio, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Prevention, Skilled nursing facilities, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report discusses the "Learn the Signs. Act Early" (LTSAE) state systems grant program's impact on improving early identification and intervention for children with Autism Spectrum Disorder and developmental disabilities. It examines three key impact areas: 1) engaging stakeholders and strengthening partnerships across 29 states, 2) training and raising awareness among key stakeholders in 28 states, and 3) developing statewide systems improvements. The document provides detailed case studies from multiple states, including Virginia's success in developing diagnostic teams, Mississippi's statewide coordination efforts, and Massachusetts' multilingual outreach program. While states faced challenges like budget constraints and system coordination, the grant program successfully built state capacity for early identification and service coordination through formalized developmental monitoring, stakeholder engagement, and increased awareness among caregivers and providers.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, State grants, Autism, Developmental screening, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention

Annotation: This transcript documents a coffee talk discussion hosted by AMCHP's State Public Health Autism Resource Center, featuring speakers Lydia X. Z. Brown and Dr. Jessica Horvath Williams discussing the intersections of disability, race, and gender oppression. The speakers explore how ableism operates as a foundational system of oppression that intersects with and reinforces other forms of marginalization, particularly focusing on how disability is used to dehumanize various marginalized groups. They delve into complex topics including respectability politics, privilege, guilt, and the responsibilities of those with relative privilege in advocacy spaces. The discussion emphasizes the importance of understanding how environmental racism and systemic oppression create and exacerbate disability in marginalized communities, while also addressing how to navigate spaces and conversations about marginalization when one holds both privileged and marginalized identities, concluding with guidance on appropriate ways to redirect opportunities to more representative voices within affected communities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Race, Gender, Autism, Developmental disabilities,

Annotation: this resource presents disparities resource guides that provide rationales to address disparities in IDD services and supports experienced by individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, offer key definitions and conceptual frameworks for addressing disparities in IDD services and supports, including the role of cultural and linguistic competence, and provide a checklist as a structure to spur dialogue and self-examination, engage stakeholders, and plan individually and collaboratively across AIDD-funded programs to address disparities in IDD services and supports within the state or territory. Video narratives are included. The resource is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child development services, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Multimedia, Spanish language materials