Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website provides a Virginia state atlas with links to home visiting programs in all five of the state's regions. Users can select from an alphabetical list of counties and independent cities within the Commonwealth of Virginia to obtain contact information. The website also provides access to web-based training modules for home visitors and supervisors; links to state and national programs and resources; and announcements about new regulations, guidelines, and materials for use with families participating in home visiting programs.

Contact: Virginia Home Visiting Consortium, James Madison University, The Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services, Harrisonburg, VA , Telephone: (540) 568-5251 Fax: (540) 568-6409 E-mail: homevisitingconsortium.jmu.edu Web Site: http://www.homevisitingva.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: County programs, Directories, Home visiting, State programs, Virginia

Annotation: This directory for health professionals serving expectant and new mothers provides breastfeeding resources such as classes, books, videos, state laws, professional services, insurance information, and websites. The directory also provides tools and guidelines that health professionals can turn to for easy access to information on managing common breastfeeding problems. It includes the Rhode Island Breastfeeding Coalition's position paper on breastfeeding, information on the Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative sponsored by the World Health Organization (WHO), and the United Nation''s Children's Fund (UNICEF), and statistics on breastfeeding in Rhode Island from the 2010 CDC Breastfeeding Report Card. Individual sections cover prenatal and postnatal support, local and national resources, clinical information and resources, and breastfeeding tools and guidelines.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consultation, Directories, Educational materials, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Lactation specialists, Nutrition services, Resource materials, Rhode Island, State programs, WIC Program

Annotation: The Promising Practices in Maternal & Child Health (MCH) Program is dedicated to facilitating program replication and new collaborations between health plans and other MCH stakeholders, especially those working in communities and in the public sector. This web site provides a searchable database for promising practices programs funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, fact sheets, and MCH searchable databases resources from other groups, such as the National Association of County and City Health Officials Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health Toolkit; the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs' Innovation Station; and CityMatCH's Life Course Toolbox. The full web site also includes information on news, research, publications, conferences and webinars, awards, grants, and links to relevant topics in MCH, prevention, and wellness.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Databases, Directories, MCH programs, Maternal health, Model programs, Program descriptions

Annotation: This report describes Rural Health Outreach Demonstration Grant projects throughout the states and the U.S. Territories of Palau and the Virgin Islands. The core requirement for all demonstration projects was the formation of a consortium by three or more local institutions to address the problems of local health care and health education. Approximately two-thirds of the projects were aimed at women, children, or adolescents. Rural minorities were the target of approximately half the projects. The demonstration projects offered a variety of services in a variety of settings, including local health departments, tribal organizations, community and migrant-worker health centers, mental health organizations, community action agencies, universities, and emergency service organizations. Entries are arranged alphabetically by state and include contact information; the nature of health care in the area served; the participating organizations; and the challenges, achievements, and failures of the projects.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

• 2007-2010 Edition
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health services, Allied health occupations, Child health services, Community health services, Demonstration programs, Directories, Health programs, Health services, Maternal health services, Minority health, Outreach, Rural health

Annotation: This directory provides a short description of the Rural Services Outreach Grant Program and the types of projects that are funded under it. The directory lists currently funded projects alphabetically by state and city. Each listing includes the grantee organization's name and address, the contact person including their phone number, a brief description of the services delivered through the project, and the population that is served.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Directories, Federal grants, Grants management, Outreach, Rural health

Annotation: This guide provides resources to assist those who are working with pregnant and postpartum women who need assistance in making informed infant feeding choices and who can benefit from breastfeeding services and support. The guide includes statements on the benefits of breastfeeding; examples of breastfeeding initiatives; and contact information for La Leche League leaders, lactation consultants, and Massachusetts WIC program breastfeeding coordinators. It also lists organizations that supply educational materials for parents, childcare providers; sources for breastfeeding promotion materials; and suppliers of breast pumps and breastfeeding equipment. Other resources include guidelines on pumping and storing milk; information on medications and breastfeeding; lists of state and local breastfeeding support organizations, sources of breastfeeding literature; and courses, training, and continuing education opportunities. Patient rights under the Family and Medical Leave Act and the breastfeeding sections of the Massachusetts Hospital Licensure Regulations are included in the appendices. i

Contact: Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition, 254 Conant Road , Weston, MA 02493, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.massbfc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consultation, Directories, Educational materials, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Lactation specialists, Massachusetts, Nutrition services, Resource materials, State programs, WIC Program

Annotation: This directory, which is intended as a reference tool for programs and agencies serving the health care needs of homeless people in the United States, is meant to foster collaboration and communication among those working in this field. The directory provides current (as of September 2001) contact information and project descriptions for 138 health care for the homeless (HCH) grantees, 10 homeless children's program grantees, over 300 subcontractors, and 70 government and private agencies. It also includes information on outreach and primary health services for homeless children, a summary of HCH projects, and references. At the end of the directory is an additions and corrections form and an order form.

Keywords: Directories, Directories, Federal grants, Government programs, Health programs, Homeless persons, Outreach, Program descriptions

Annotation: This directory is intended for use by health professionals, program administrators, educators, policymakers, and others in promoting health through community-based research and other partnerships strategies. It includes information on grants, training programs, and fellowships for community-based participatory research (CBPR). It also outlines public and private funding agencies that have recently funded CBPR and about agencies that have active "requests for proposals" and "program announcements" for grants that either explicitly fund CBPR or could fund CBPR. The directory includes descriptions, deadlines, contact information, examples of CBPR projects, and an annotated list of funding resource Web sites. The directory is intended for use by health professionals, program administrators, educators, policymakers, and others in promoting health through community-based research and other partnerships strategies. Each entry provides details on the name of the program, funding agency, funding announcement Web site, summary, research agenda, and restrictions/requirements.

Contact: Community-Campus Partnerships for Health, University of Washington, Box 354809, Seattle, WA 98195-4809, Telephone: (206) 666-3406 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccph.info Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Community participation, Directories, Financing, Research

Annotation: This primer discusses the problem of substance use, including alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs, in women and girls in Minnesota, especially during pregnancy; and describes how community education can address this problem, with information about specific groups including African Americans, American Indians, Latinos, and college students. The majority of the primer lists and describes resources in a wide variety of formats tohelp understand and educate others about these problems. Formats include printed materials, videos, Internet resources, resource centers, and services. Addresses of vendors are included. The primer includes eight appendices covering topics such as selecting information, community prevention strategies, recognizing and treating alcohol abuse and addiction, and a calendar of health observances.

Contact: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 38460 Lincoln Trail, Box 549, North Branch, MN 55056, Telephone: (651) 674-4085 Secondary Telephone: (877) 935-4426 Fax: (651) 277-4085 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emprc.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Addiction, Adolescent females, Alcohol consumption behaviors, Bibliographies, Cigarette smoking, Communities, Depression, Directories, Domestic violence, Mental health, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public health, Risk factors, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: This report describes seven lessons learned about doing the work of philanthropy; provides an update on activities related to the foundation's four goals (access, chronic health conditions, health and well-being, and substance abuse); lists current grants and contracts in each goal area; provides a selected bibliography of materials published by grantees; gives the foundation's financial statements and secretary's report; lists officers and staff; provides a directory of national program offices and resource centers; gives grant application guidelines; lists publications available from the foundation; and describes the work of the foundation's grant results reporting unit.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Directories, Foundations, Grants, Health programs, Philanthropy

Annotation: This directory contains approximately 300 discretionary projects addressing the early childhood provisions of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. The directory was compiled from the following four volumes published by the ERIC/OSEP Special Project: (1) research, innovation, and evolution, (2) personnel preparation, (3) technical assistance, dissemination, parent training information, and state improvement, and (4) technology and media services. It was published annually from 2001 to 2006.

Contact: Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, Campus Box 8040, UNC-CH, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8040, Telephone: (919) 962-2001 Secondary Telephone: (919) 843-3269 Fax: 919.966.7463 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ectacenter.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Directories, Disabilities, Evaluation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Information dissemination, Multimedia, Parents, Personnel, Research, Technical assistance, Technology, Training

Annotation: This directory was compiled to assist school-based/school-linked oral health programs in identifying other programs, organizations, and services that share a common goal of improving the oral health of California's children. Directory listings include the program or organization description, contact information, audiences served, and, if available, a Web site address.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Children, Directories, Families, Oral health, Parents, Program descriptions

Annotation: This directory lists organizations that offer services for children and families in the District of Columbia. Organizations are listed in nine categories: (1) advocacy, (2) community development, (3) District of Columbia Government, (4) education, (5) health care, (6) religious, (7) resource center, (8) social services and (9) other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Advocacy, City government, Community development, Directories, District of Columbia, Education, Family resource centers, Family support services, Health services, Religious organizations, Resource materials, Social services

Annotation: This directory provides a description of each U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau supported managed care project or activity that were active in 1998 and 1999 and Bureau staff contact information for each listing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Secondary Telephone: (833)852-6262 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available at no charge.

Keywords: Directories, Federal MCH programs, Government financing, Managed care, Maternal and Child Health Bureau

Annotation: This annotated listing of federal domestic assistance programs is drawn from the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. It is organized by kind of program: maternal and child health programs of significant investments ( one billion or more, or managed by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau); health care; populations (age, diagnosis related, homeless, Native Americans, refugees and migrants); community development; and training and infrastructure (research and technical assistance). Each entry includes information about objectives of the program, types of assistance, and obligations (budgeted amounts). An alphabetical index of program names is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Age groups, American Indians, Community development, Diagnosis related groups, Directories, Environment, Federal MCH programs, Federal aid, Health services, Intervention, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: This directory is designed to provide practical information to help readers use and make sense of government publications and information, including databases, audiovisual materials, archival collection and other primary resources. Topics covered include the Government Printing Office, depository libraries, bibliographies and indexes, scientific information, patents, trademarks and copyrights, legislative information sources, regulations, executive branch and judicial sources, statistics, nonprint and primary resources, overcoming barriers to access by using documents reference sources, and foreign and international documents.

Keywords: Directories, Federal government, Government information, Government publications, Information services

Annotation: This is a comprehensive directory of Healthy Start mentoring sites, replication sites, and planning grant sites. For each site the address, phone number, fax number, e-mail address(es), key personnel and contacts, and branches are listed as applicable. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• November 1998
• June 1998

Keywords: Directories, Healthy Start

Annotation: This guide is designed to promote the exchange of information that will help children and their families learn healthy eating habits with a lifetime of benefits. The guide is designed to assist providers of nutrition services to children ages 2 to 6 years and their families. The guide has two sections. The first section contains materials developed since 1995, organized into these categories: activities for children; bibliographies and catalogs; books; curricula, manuals and modules; guidelines; pamphlets and brochures; reports; resource packets; and videotapes. The second section lists federal agencies, federally supported projects, professional organizations, and voluntary organizations that may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bibliographies, Brochures, Catalogs, Child nutrition, Curricula, Directories, Guidelines, Manuals, Pamphlets, Reports, Resource centers, Videotapes

Annotation: This pocket guide is intended to give readers direct access to the cases on which the monograph, Medicine and Public Health: The Power of Collaboration, is based. Available in print form and as an interactive, searchable database on the World Wide Web, this pocket guide is structured so that users can identify collaborations that share one or more characteristics of interest and network with the people involved. Each case is described in a brief narrative abstract, which includes a contact person or literature citation. In addition, the cases are indexed according to the multidimensional framework developed in the book upon which this is based. The print version of this guide organizes the case abstracts geographically, listing all cases that correspond to each index term at the end of the book. The Internet version has special features that allow users to search the database through multiple index terms simultaneously, to search the text of the case abstracts, to connect to relevant parts of the monograph, and to engage in on-line networking. Both versions provide readers with instructions for submitting new cases of collaboration for addition to the database.

Contact: New York Academy of Medicine, 1216 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10029, Telephone: (212) 822-7200 Fax: (212) 722-7650 Web Site: http://www.nyam.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-924143-08-8.

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Collaboration, Directories, Directories, Medicine, Public health, World Wide Web

Annotation: This is a comprehensive directory of Healthy Start mentoring and replication sites. For each site the address, phone number, fax number, e-mail address(es), key personnel and contacts, and branches are listed as applicable. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Directories, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Prevention programs