Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 35 (35 total).

Hansen B. 1997. The dictionary of multimedia terms and acronyms. Wilsonville, OR: Franklin, Beedle and Associates, 343 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary, aimed at programmers, graphic artists, writers, video and audio workers, network managers and all other computer users, defines words associated with interactive digital media. The terms apply to: audio, graphics, hardware, software, networking, human factors, telecommunications, and video processing, and include acronyms. There are many tables. Appendices include a list of DOS commands, a basic tutorial on HTML, copyright issues, international standards, and a reference list.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com $16.95 plus $3.75 shipping and handling for the first book and $3.25 for each additional book; prepaid orders or credit card orders accepted. Document Number: ISBN 1-887902-14-7 .

Keywords: Computers, Dictionaries

National Rural Health Association. 1997. Rural health dictionary of terms, acronyms and organizations. Kansas City, MO: National Rural Health Association, 68 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary defines terms, acronyms, and organizations relevant to the field of rural health. It was funded by the Office of Rural Health Policy, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Rural health

Family Voices. 1996. Alphabet soup: Health care definitions for children with special health needs. Voices. 2 pp. November-December 1996,

Annotation: This issue of this newsletter provides definitions for terms that families of children with special health needs should know as they provide care for their children in the continually changing health care systems. The newsletter is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Dictionaries, Health services, Spanish language materials

Freudenheim E. 1996. Healthspeak: A complete dictionary of America's health care system. New York, NY: Facts on File, 310 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary defines terminology used by professionals working within the health care system in the United States. The entries include nonclinical terms which have been derived from the fields of medicine, public health, health law, economics, and government. Cross-references between terms build relationships between topics; some terms are clarified by the inclusion of statistical graphs. The dictionary includes a bibliography and index.

Contact: Facts on File, Inc., 132 West 31st Street, 17th Floor , New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (800) 322-8755 Fax: (800) 678-3633 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.factsonfile.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8160-3210-6.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Economics, Government, Health services, Medical terminology, Public health services, Statistics

Burchfield RW., ed. 1996. The new Fowler's modern English usage. (3rd ed.). New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 864 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary of modern English usage provides guidance to grammar, syntax, style, and choice of words.

Contact: Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (800) 451-7556 Secondary Telephone: (212)726-6000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oup.com/us $25.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-198-691-26-2.

Keywords: Dictionaries, English language

Campbell JB, Campbell JM, Sennett CO, ed. 1995. Mosby's survival guide to medical abbreviations and acronyms, prefixes and suffixes, symbols, Greek alphabet. St. Louis, MO: Mosby , 590 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary provides definitions for medical abbreviations and symbols and the full version of acronyms. They are listed alphabetically in three sections: abbreviations and acronyms, prefixes and suffixes, and symbols. It ends with a section on the Greek alphabet and an appendix with an addendum including abbreviations and acronyms discovered after the book went to press, many related to managed health care. A section on amino acid notation and a list of Roman numerals are included.

Keywords: Acronyms, Dictionaries, Medical terminology

Texas Hospital Association. 1994. In other words: A glossary of managed health care terminology. Austin, TX: Texas Hospital Association, 79 pp.

Annotation: This glossary provides health care professionals definitions of concepts used in health care delivery and financing as the idea of managed care evolves. It provides an alphabetical list of the terms with definitions and a separate listing of acronyms and abbreviations which lead to the full form of the term.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Managed care

Evans N. 1994. The A-to-Z of pregnancy and childbirth: A concise encyclopedia. Alameda, CA: Hunter House, 336 pp.

Annotation: This book for the consumer is presented in a dictionary format providing information on a variety of topics in pregnancy and childbirth. Entries are listed in alphabetical order, and have concise explanations. A short bibliography lists other general publications on women's health, pregnancy, and childbirth. Organizations and hotlines are listed for a few areas of women's health including childbirth education, DES, endometriosis, and breast cancer. A fold out, month-by-month chart of fetal and maternal development is also included.

Contact: Hunter House, P.O. Box 2914, Alameda, CA 94501, Telephone: (510) 865-5282 Secondary Telephone: (800) 266-5592 Fax: (510) 865-4295 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hunterhouse.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-89793-129-7.

Keywords: Childbirth, Contraception, Dictionaries, Fertility, Pregnancy, Women

O'Leary MR. 1994. Lexikon: Dictionary of health care terms, organizations, and acronyms for the era of reform. Oakbrook Terrace, IL: Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, 829 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary lists terminology, organizations, and acronyms that are related to the field of health care. It defines each entry, and it includes concise explanations and examples to provide a context for professionals working within the field. The dictionary also includes a number of new terms that have derived from the reform of the health care system.

Contact: Joint Commission, One Renaissance Boulevard, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181, Telephone: (630) 792-5800 Fax: (630) 792-5005 Web Site: http://www.jointcommission.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-86688-375-4.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Health services, Organizations

U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention. 1993. Prevention primer: An encyclopedia of alcohol, tobacco, and other drug prevention terms. Rockville, MD: U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, 135 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary provides a history of prevention efforts promoting healthy behavior with regard to alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs; it includes overviews of the issues, principles, and approaches to prevention. It organizes entries alphabetically according to broad topics such population groups, specific types of substances, and methods of promoting prevention. Each entry includes bibliographical references to other resources.

Keywords: Alcohol, Dictionaries, Drugs, Health promotion, Prevention, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco

Vogt WP. 1993. Dictionary of statistics and methodology: A nontechnical guide for the social sciences. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 253 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary gives nontechnical definitions of statistical and methodological terms used in the social sciences and related fields. It includes some nonstatistical terms, such as Boolean algebra, cybernetics, ethology, and computer terminology, that may occur in statistical articles.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $22.95, paper; $49.95, cloth; plus $2.00 shipping and handling; prepayment required for orders under $25.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5277-5, paper; 0-8039-5276-7, cloth.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Social sciences, Statistics

Scriven M. 1991. Evaluation thesaurus. (4th ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 391 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary deals with the broad range of subtopics covered by evaluation: product evaluation, personnel evaluation, program evaluation, policy evaluation, and proposal and performance evaluation. It provides an introductory essay that defines the field and defines over 150, 000 concepts. The book is also available in MS-DOS and Macintosh versions.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $25.00 plus shipping and handling. Computer version $12.95 alone, $10.00 when ordered with book. Prepayment required for orders under $25.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-4363-4.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Evaluation

U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Health and the Environment. 1976. A discursive dictionary of health care. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 182 pp. (Committee print; 94th Congress, 2nd session)

Annotation: This dictionary gives unofficial definitions of the most common terms used in the debate on national health insurance. Entries highlight variations in definitions used by various sources, and compares and contrasts usage of related terms. It is illustrated by occasional line drawings and includes a list of abbreviations and acronyms and a brief biography of Andreas Vesalius of Brussels from whose anatomical drawings of 1543 the line drawings are taken.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

Keywords: Acronyms, Dictionaries, Health care, Health insurance

Williams EB. 1963. Diccionario del idioma espanol. (Rev. ed.). New York, NY: Pocket Books, 532 pp.

Smith AK. 1948. A glossary of certain child-welfare terms in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 115 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 271)
« Previous Page    

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.