Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information on the oral health of children in Rhode Island. Data and analysis are based on results fromf a 2021–2022 statewide oral health basic screening survey and from 2019–2020 and 2022–2022 statewide oral health surveys of children in kindergarten and third grade enrolled in Rhode Island’s public elementary schools, both conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health’s Oral Health Program. The report describes survey methods and presents results. Other topics include oral health outcomes (tooth decay, untreated decay, dental sealants among children in third grade, rampant decay, and early or urgent oral health care), the impact of race/ethnicity and socioeconomic status on oral health, and a comparison of results to results from a 2013–2014 survey on children in third grade.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Racial factors, Rhode Island, School age children, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services' Section (OHS) to prevent and control oral disease through organized community efforts. The report introduces the issues; lists oral health services OHS provides, the number of people served, and the number of services provided; and describes the state's Nurse's Fluoride Varnish Program and School Based Dental Prevention Program. Also discussed are public health dental clinics in the state, the School Dental Transport program that transports children from schools to dental clinics, the Adult Dental Funding Program, and how OHS disseminates oral health information.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Data, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Public health, School health, School-age children, State information, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the Connecticut Department of Health's Office of Oral Health. It provides an overview of the office and discusses its vision, oral disease prevention, school-based dental sealant programs, community water fluoridation (CWF), oral health surveillance, and medical-dental integration in the state. Statistical information on the percentage of students in third grade with dental sealants, adult dental visits, and amount saved as a result of CWF and dental sealant placement is provided.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Connecticut, Costs, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs, School health services, State agencies, State programs

Annotation: This form is intended for parents to fill out before taking their child to a dental visit, and for an oral health professional to complete during the visit. The section for parents to complete provides space to insert the child's name, address, name of school or child care facility, grade, and other related information. The section for an oral health professional to complete includes space to insert information about the child's oral health status, dental insurance status, and what type of care, if any, is needed. The form is available in Amharic, Chinese, English, French, Korean, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dchealth.dc.gov/ Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, District of Columbia, Forms, Non English language materials, Oral health, Referrals, State information, Treatment

Annotation: This screening form, which is intended for school health programs, can be used to record children’s oral health status and treatment needs. Space is provided to enter the school district number; the school name; and each child’s name, classroom, and grade. In addition, there is space to note whether each child has treated and/or untreated tooth decay or other oral health problems, has dental sealants and/or needs sealants, and needs an oral exam and/or urgent treatment.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Oral Health, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 296-5116 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/619/Oral-Health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental sealants, Forms, Health screening, Oral health, School health, Tooth decay, Treatment

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs

Annotation: This template can be used to develop a permission slip to obtain consent from parents for their child to receive dental sealants as well as other related preventive oral health services from a school-based dental sealant program. The template can be customized with the program name and other information. Space to provide additional information that parents would like the program to know is included. The permission slip template is available in Arabic, Burmese, English, Hmong, and Spanish.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/

• Link

Keywords: Consent, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, School health services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report offers information about school dental sealant programs, including school-based, school-linked, and hybrid programs. It includes background information; a rationale for sealant programs; guidelines, recommendations, and evidence reviews to support the establishment of school-based programs; considerations to take into account when implementing school-based programs; and state practice examples illustrating strategies and interventions for school-based programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Oral health, School age children, School health

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about the use of dental sealants to prevent tooth decay. It includes information about the advantages of sealants, whether certain types of sealants are more effective than others, cost savings from sealant application, practice standards for sealant application, and the efficacy of sealants.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care costs, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of the three oral health care measures in the 2022 Core Set of Children’s Health Care Quality Measures for Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (Child Core Set) and highlights differences in the measure specifications. The three measures are sealant receipt on permanent first molars; oral evaluation, dental services; and topical fluoride for children. Links to resources to help states calculate the dental and oral health services measures for Child Core Set reporting are included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health services, Medicaid, Oral health, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a study to inform policy decisions to improve access to and use of oral health care in Arkansas and to establish baseline measures for coverage and use indicators. Topics include data sources, key findings, study demographics and dental insurance coverage profile, use of care, fluoride varnish applications, dental sealant applications, use of oral health care in medical care settings, hospital emergency department use among uninsured individuals, population-to-active-dentist ratio profile, tooth-extraction-related opioid-prescribing profile, and future research.

Contact: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 300 (Victory Building), Little Rock, AR 72201, Telephone: (501) 526-2244 Web Site: https://achi.net/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arkansas, Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report presents data tables and figures based on findings from the Alabama Smiles 2020–2022 oral health survey of kindergarten and third-grade children in Alabama. The report provides definitions of terms, an explanation of sampling and data analysis, and quick facts. Tables and figures include data about children with tooth decay experience and untreated decay, demographic characteristics of participating children, their oral health status, the percentage with dental sealants, the percentage needing early or urgent oral health care, the percentage with treated tooth decay, and trends over time.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, School-age children, State information, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This data brief presents information on the prevalence of tooth decay in the primary and permanent teeth of kindergarten and third grade children in Alabama compared to the general U.S. population screened between 2011 and 2016 as part of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey. Topics include prevalence of decay experience and untreated decay, prevalence of dental sealants, and oral health disparities. Data sources and methods are discussed, and definitions of terms are provided.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, Oral health equity, School-age children, State information, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This resource guide provides an overview of the use and application of dental sealants. The first section features descriptions of and links to materials on policy, professional education, tools, training, public education, and state and local programs. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, and resource centers that may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Dental sealants, Directories, Disease prevention, Oral health, Resource materials

Annotation: This report provides information about the Missouri Oral Health Preventive Services Program (PSP). It discusses why oral health is important and covers the following topics as they relate to PSP participants: demographics, oral hygiene, dental sealants, treatment of tooth decay, treatment urgency, caries incidence, early childhood caries incidence, and white spot lesion incidence.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Missouri, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Statistical data, Treatment

Annotation: This report provides information about I-Smile, a preventive school-based dental program that focuses on improving the oral health of Iowa’s students. The report describes the program; the services it offers, which include oral health screenings, risk assessments, dental sealant and fluoride varnish application, and classroom and individual oral health education; student and school participation in the program; and program impact.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Program Website

Keywords: , Dental sealants, Fluoride, Iowa, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, State programs

Annotation: This report is a compilation of regulations, guidance, and practice tips related to infection control for oral health professionals working in health care settings, including school sealant programs, during the COVID-19 pandemic. The report is divided into two sections: a practical checklist and a resources and tools section. Section 1 selected topics include policies and procedures; oral health team preparation and screening; equipment and supplies; adjusting cleaning areas; and heating, ventilation, and air conditioning. Section 2 selected topics include patient arrival for appointment, personal protective equipment for the clinical team, and patient discharge.

Contact: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, One Glenlake Parkway, NE, Suite 1200, Atlanta, GA 30328, Telephone: (410) 571-0003 Secondary Telephone: (800) 298-6727 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.osap.org Available from the website.

• Requires Account Sign-in

Keywords: , Dental Sealants, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, School health programs, Virus diseases

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that policymakers in the state make informed oral health policy decisions. It discusses three policy opportunities: increasing the state budget for expanding school-based dental sealant programs, strengthening Ohio’s safety net oral health system in the state budget, and preserving dentistry in telehealth services that Medicaid authorized during the COVID-19 pandemic to promote access to oral health care.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Budgets, Dental sealants, Ohio, Oral health, School health, Statewide planning, Telemedicine

Annotation: This report presents results from the 2018–2019 California Third Grade Smile Survey. The report provides background on tooth decay in children in California and presents key findings related to tooth decay experience, untreated decay, and dental sealant prevalence; disparities in tooth decay and untreated tooth decay, and dental sealant prevalence by race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status; and regional variations in children's oral health across the state. Strategies for improving children's health as delineated in California's 2018–2028 oral health plan are discussed, along with methodology and limitations. Definitions of terms are included.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic factors, Socioeconomic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about an evaluation of the North Dakota Department of Health, Oral Health Program’s school-based dental sealant program, SEAL!ND, which has been providing oral health screenings, dental sealant and fluoride varnish applications, education, and referrals for students throughout North Dakota since 2012. The report covers the following topics: evaluation; clinical reach and dental referrals; participating school personnel perceptions of SEAL!ND; and reach of the related program, Ronald McDonald Care Mobile in partnership with Bridging the Dental Gap, which offers access to oral health care at additional schools in the state.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, North Dakota, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State programs