Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief provides a national summary of selected oral health care quality measures for children developed by the Dental Quality Alliance (DQA) and displayed in DQA's State Oral Healthcare Quality Dashboard. The brief offers information on the following selected measures: Oral Evaluation, Dental Services (by or under the supervision of a dentist); Topical Fluoride for Children; and Sealant Receipt on Permanent First Molars. Data is presented on these three measures for the period 2016–2020.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Medical evaluation, Oral health

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the State of Oral Health Equity in America 2024 Survey, a nationally representative survey of over 9,000 adults’ attitudes, experiences, and behaviors related to oral health. Information is included about dental visits in the past year by home-ownership status, planned dental visits in the coming year by income level, emergency department visits for oral health care by educational attainment, having a dental home by health insurance status, self-rated oral health by sexual orientation, importance attached to cultural humility in oral health care by race, and importance attached to diversity in oral health care by income level.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior, Cultural competence, Dental care, Educational attainment, Emergency medical services, Health equity, Health insurance, Income factors, Oral health, Sexual identity, Surveys

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of state-level policies that can support community-level actions to help ensure that communities have access to comprehensive oral health care, as well as federal policies that support the availability of minimally invasive care (MIC). State-level policy considerations discussed include maximizing Medicaid coverage for MIC (coverage of fluoride treatments, reimbursement for teledentistry, and risk management and individualized care); improving private coverage of MIC; and workforce considerations. Federal-level policy considerations discussed include mandatory Medicaid adult benefits, federal standardization of essential health benefits, and comprehensive Medicare dental benefits.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health, Dental insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Oral health, Public policy

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about the Pediatric Medical Home Pilot Project, the goal of which was to integrate silver diamine fluoride (SDF) application into primary pediatric care as a strategy to reduce the incidence of early childhood caries. The toolkit discusses how to integrate SDF application into pediatric care in Vermont. It presents a case for using SDF to treat early childhood caries, explains what SDF is, and provides guidelines for integrating SDF into practice. Information about the development of the toolkit is included.

Contact: Dartmouth Health Center for Advancing Rural Health Equity, Web Site: https://www.dartmouth-health.org/carhe Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Oral health, Pediatrics, Prevention, Primay care, Silver diamine fluoride, State programs, Treatment, Vermont

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about why it is important for children and adolescents to have good oral health to succeed in school. It provides information about the impact of tooth decay on school attendance, the number of children and adolescents who missed at least one school day due to oral health problems in the past year, and the cost to school districts of students missing school days. Information on how parents can help ensure that their child has a healthy mouth and teeth and is successful in school is also presented.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent health, Costs, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of steps parents can take to prevent tooth decay in their children, including brushing with fluoride toothpaste, other ways to use fluoride and fluoride supplements, giving children healthy food and drinks, dental checkups, and sealants. A companion resource on adult tooth and gum care is also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Oral health, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet presents questions to help parents determine whether their child is at high risk for tooth decay and provides suggestions for treating tooth decay in the child. It also offers tips for parents to prevent tooth decay in their child, including brushing with fluoridated toothpaste, not putting the child to bed with any food or drinks other than water, making sure the child drinks fluoridated water, limiting sugary foods and drinks, giving the child only water to drink between meals, and scheduling regular dental visits beginning at age 1.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Infant health, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Young children

Annotation: This guide describes strategies that community health centers can use to implement in-house dental-assistant-training programs. The guide presents background information and discusses things to consider when planning a training program, including evaluating the need for a program,engaging key stakeholders, selecting leaders, developing a budget,selecting trainers, establishing trainee requirements and recruitment strategies, and other considerations. The guide also includes a readiness assessment and examples of organizations that have established dental assistant career ladders.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Careers, Community health centers, Dental assistants, Oral health, Training: Program planning

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on careers in dentistry. It discusses the following types of oral health professionals: allied dental educator, dental assistant, dental laboratory technician, dental hygienist, and dentist. For each, a description of what the oral health professional does and their average salary is presented.

Contact: Realityworks, 2709 Mondovi Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701, Telephone: (800) 830-1416 Secondary Telephone: (715) 830-2040 Web Site: https://www.realityworks.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Careers, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentistry, Dentists, Dentists, Health educators, Laboratories, Medical technicians, Oral health, Salaries

Annotation: This form allows parents to share information on their child with the child’s oral health professional. Topics include concerns about the child’s oral health, whether the child has a dentist, the last dental visit, and oral health care received in the past year. The form also includes questions on whether the child goes to bed with a drink other than water, what the child usually drinks, whether the family drinks water with fluoride, frequency of parents brushing the child’s teeth, whether the child’s toothpaste contains fluoride, and how many sugary snacks or drinks the child consumes per day. The form is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Forms, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This manual focuses on diagnostics, preventives, and therapeutics that can be used to help prevent tooth decay. Topics include tips on differentiating between active and arrested carious lesions; assessing lesion activity; applying fluoride varnish, 10 percent povidone-iodine, self-assembling peptide, silver diamine fluoride, and glass ionomer cement sealants or fillings; and performing Silver-Modified Restorative Treatment (SMART) and the Hall technique for placing stainless steel crowns.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental health, Dental health care, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Oral health, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This report provides data for Rhode Island public middle and high school students (grades 6–12) on self-reported oral health concerns and receipt of dental care. Data is from the 2021 Rhode Island Youth Risk Behavior Survey. Survey questions are presented. Topics include students who teeth or mouth has been sore once or more during the past 12 months, students who were self-conscious or embarrassed because of their teeth or mouth during the past 12 months, and students who visited a dentist during the past 12 months. Results are stratified by sex, age group, race/ethnicity, and current tobacco use.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Data, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State information, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides information about efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services' Section (OHS) to prevent and control oral disease through organized community efforts. The report introduces the issues; lists oral health services OHS provides, the number of people served, and the number of services provided; and describes the state's Nurse's Fluoride Varnish Program and School Based Dental Prevention Program. Also discussed are public health dental clinics in the state, the School Dental Transport program that transports children from schools to dental clinics, the Adult Dental Funding Program, and how OHS disseminates oral health information.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Data, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Public health, School health, School-age children, State information, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This report provides an evaluation of the Utah Oral Health Program, Adolescent Oral Health Campaign for 2022–2023. Goals of the campaign were to increase adolescents' use of the oral health care system; increase the proportion of adolescents from families with low incomes who had a preventive dental visit; reduce the proportion of adolescents with active, untreated tooth decay; and reduce adolescents' use of smokeless tobacco products. The report provides an overview of the program and describes evaluation methods, presents key findings and outcomes, presents post-test questions measuring adolescents' intent and post-test qualitative questions, and discusses evaluation limitations.

Contact: Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, Multi-Agency State Office Building, 195 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, Telephone: (801) 201-9462 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.utah.gov/oral-health-program/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Smokeless tobacco, State programs, Utah

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the Connecticut Department of Health's Office of Oral Health. It provides an overview of the office and discusses its vision, oral disease prevention, school-based dental sealant programs, community water fluoridation (CWF), oral health surveillance, and medical-dental integration in the state. Statistical information on the percentage of students in third grade with dental sealants, adult dental visits, and amount saved as a result of CWF and dental sealant placement is provided.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Connecticut, Costs, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs, School health services, State agencies, State programs

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the effects of reinstating Hawai'i's adult Medicaid dental benefits in 2022. Statistics are presented on the number of Hawai'i Medicaid beneficiaries with no diagnostic, preventive, or dental coverage and who visited the emergency department (ED) with a dental-related diagnosis between 2016 and 2020, the total cost of ED visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period, and the percentage of ER visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period who were Medicaid beneficiaries. Also provided are estimated savings from reinstating the benefits as well as information about the association between poor oral health and several chronic conditions and other negative health outcomes. [Produced by District of Columbia Department of Health]

Contact: Hawaii Public Health Institute, 707 Richards Street, Suite 300, Honolulu, HI 96813, Telephone: (808) 591-6508 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hiphi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency room data, Hawaii, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This tip sheet outlines strategies for health professionals in planning, developing, and implementing state and local efforts to ensure access to oral health care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Topics include working with parents and other caregivers to provide oral hygiene care, work force issues, health care financing, the importance of dental and medical homes, and a review of state and local programs addressing these issues. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Health care systems, Oral health

Annotation: This guide provides an overview of the topic and features descriptions of and links to materials on data and surveillance, policy, professional education and training, public education, and state and local programs. The resource guide also includes descriptions of organizations that can provide additional support for activities that promote the availability of high-quality oral health care for young children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Health promotion, Oral health, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Young children