Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides a vision for integrated early childhood (EC) data and explains how states can use integrated data to inform decisions. The report also covers key considerations when integrating and linking EC data based on best practices from the field and lessons learned from eight states that are actively engaged in developing integrated EC data systems. Details about the eight profiled states (Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Utah), federal resources to support data integration, data privacy laws and regulations, and data sharing opportunities are included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Decision making, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Integrated information systems, Interagency cooperation, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Public policy, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This document provides recommendations for state departments of education related to developing their Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) implementation plan. Contents includ recommendations in the areas of accountability, standards and assessments, universal design for learning and teacher qualifications. Links to additional resources are included.

Contact: National Down Syndrome Congress, , 1370 Center Drive, Suite 102, Atlanta, GA 30338, Telephone: (770) 604-9500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-NDSC Fax: (770) 604-9898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ndsccenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Advocacy, Assessments, Decision making, Educational reform, Learning, Special education, Standards, Statewide planning, Teaching

Annotation: This list is intended to spur conversations between oral health professionals and their patients about how to choose the most appropriate care based on a patient’s specific situation. Contents include information about when procedures may be appropriate, as well as the methodology used to develop the list. Topics include the benefit of fluoride-containing toothpaste for infants and children, applying dental sealants to minimize the need for restorative care later, informed consent best practice, managing temporomandibular joint disorders, and criteria for replacing restorations.

Contact: ABIM Foundation, 510 Walnut Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19106, Web Site: http://www.abimfoundation.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communication, Decision making, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Family centered care, Fluorides, Infants, Informed consent, Oral health, Preventive health services

Annotation: This document describes a set of process and outcome metrics related to promoting equity through health impact assessment (HIA). The metrics emphasize community empowerment through the practice of HIA as a key process for advancing equity. Each metric is accompanied by an identified data source that includes how the process of the HIA engaged and built capacity of communities to increase their influence over decisions within the HIA and in other venues.

Contact: Society of Practitioners of Health Impact Assessment, 304 12th Street, Suite 2B, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 452-9442, ext. 115 Web Site: https://sophia.wildapricot.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Community action, Decision making, Evaluation, Health disparities, Health planning, Measures, Outcome and process assessment

Annotation: This report looks at how well the health insurance marketplace, composed of the federally-facilitated marketplace (Healthcare.gov) and 14 state-run marketplaces, is providing consumers with key information about available health plans. The report also assesses tools and promising practices that marketplace websites are employing to enhance the consumer browsing experience and to support informed decision-making.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1725 Eye St. NW, Suite 950, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 986-2600 Fax: (202) 986-2539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/ Available from the website.

• 2018
• 2016

Keywords: Consumer education, Consumer protection, Consumers, Decision making, Federal health insurance programs, Health insurance

Annotation: This course for promotores de salud (community health workers) comprises four units about understanding healthy choices, helping people make healthy choices, understanding community change, and helping people make community change. The course can by used by individuals or by groups of individuals. Contents include a video introduction; quizzes; stories; examples; and handouts that summarize each unit including key points, definitions, and questions to consider and discuss. Users can choose to answer the questions at the end of each unit and print a certificate of completion or receive a certificate by email. The units can be completed in sequence or in any order and in whole or in part. The course is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Community health workers, Decision making, Health behavior, Hispanic Americans, Social change, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: This checklist for youth and young adults, including those with disabilities and chronic health conditions, from ages 12-30, provides information and resources about health insurance coverage, self-care, health care transition, decision-making, and career planning and management. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Decision making, Guidelines, Health insurance, Life skills, School to work transition, Special health care services, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This document summarizes presentations and discussions of a public workshop on health literacy, new technology, and health. Topics include health literacy and the use of technology to inform health decision making, sharing health information via technology, or examples of health literacy best practices as they apply to the use of technology for health decisions.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-37690-7.

• Link

Keywords: Decision making, Health literacy, Information dissemination, Model programs, Technology

Annotation: This toolkit is an organized set of field-tested tools designed to support planning for a public health surveillance program that will rely on data from electronic health record (EHR) systems. It is organized based on public health informatics principles and methods and includes seven sections. Contents include an introduction to the purpose and tools for each step; guides that provide information to help prepare for team meetings and worksheets to facilitate planning team meetings, input, and documentation; and recommended readings for the planning coordinator and team members. Topics include making the value case, clarifying legal and policy issues, forming partnerships, analyzing clinical data and workflow, analyzing technical options, implementing data exchange, and optimizing data quality and use.

Contact: Public Health Informatics Institute, 325 Swanton Way, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (866) 815-9704 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phii.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data analysis, Data sources, Decision making, Group processes, Medical records, Methods, Online systems, Population surveillance, Program planning, Teamwork

Annotation: These resources draw from the first nationally representative survey of individual state health agency workers about work force development priorities, the workplace environment, and key national initiatives. Topics include systems thinking; communicating persuasively; and change management, flexibility, and adaptability. Contents include key survey findings, access to the data and a journal supplement, an infographic, and additional resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link
• 2017 Survey Findings

Keywords: Attitudes, Communication skills, Decision making skills, Environmental influences, Measures, National surveys, Organizational change, Problem solving, Professional development, State health agencies, Transitions, Work force, Workplace

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to assist families in developing the skills necessary to successfully partner and engage in all levels of public advocacy on behalf of children with special health care needs. Topics include the history and purpose of advocacy; systems, laws, and entitlements; enhancing communication; developing and presenting stories to others; participating on decision-making bodies; and connecting with local change makers. Contents include an introduction, presentation slides and handouts (including pre-training slides and handouts), and materials for training-related activities.

Contact: Family Voices of California, 1663 Mission Street, 7th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 282-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familyvoicesofca.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Children, Collaboration, Communication skills, Curricula, Decision making, Families, Leadership, Public private partnerships, Resource materials, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This document provides guidance for caseworkers, foster parents, and other caregivers on supporting children and adolescents who have experienced trauma and are working to improve their mental health. Topics include understanding trauma and behavioral/mental health of youth, understanding different treatment options, seeking help for youth, and monitoring treatment and supporting progress. Tips for using the guide with youth are included.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Caregivers, Case management, Child mental health, Confidentiality, Decision making, Foster care, Foster children, Health literacy, Mental health services, Patient rights

Annotation: This resource provides guidance to organizations on becoming a Medicaid provider of family and youth peer support. The resource focuses primarily on organizations operated by parents and caregivers of children, youth, and young adults affected by serious emotional, behavioral, and mental health challenges. Examples from three states (Arizona, Maryland, and Rhode Island) illustrate key aspects of the decision and process in becoming a Medicaid provider. Topics include the potential impact on the organization's mission, funding, service delivery environment, and advocacy role; how the structure and requirements of a state's Medicaid program may impact the delivery of services; working with state and local governments and provider systems; staffing considerations; and billing and rate-setting processes.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Decision making, Emotional disorders, Family support services, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Mental health, Public private partnerships, State programs, Young adults

Annotation: This document provides guidance for programs on collecting and using data when implementing the Pyramid Model, a framework for promoting the social and emotional competence of all young children including children who have persistent challenging behavior. Contents include a list of tools that can be used to ensure implementation and intervention fidelity and to determine the supports needed by professionals, children, and families. The document briefly describes each tool and provides the measurement form or information for accessing the tool.

Contact: Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children, Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, University of South Florida, 13301 North Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, MHC2-1134, Tampa, FL 33612-3807, Telephone: (813) 974-9803 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.challengingbehavior.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Competence, Data analysis, Data collection, Decision making, Early intervention, Emotional development, Measures, Psychosocial development, Social behavior, Young children

Annotation: This brief is designed to help policymakers and program administrators make decisions about funding services and programs in maternal and child health (MCH). Contents include current, high-quality resources about cost effectiveness analysis and cost-benefit analysis in MCH. In addition, the brief provides links to discussions of effective programs and evidence-based practices that achieve health and wellness goals but that are not analyzed in terms of costs for the benefits achieved. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost benefit analysis, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Decision making, Financing, MCH programs, Model programs, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This resource describes a tool to help pediatricians and other health professionals improve family-centeredness of their care. The quality measurement questionnaire comprises 24 validated questions on topics such as decision-making interactions, family support, community services, and cultural competence. The resource includes information about using the Family-Centered Care Assessment (FCCA) for families, health care providers, and researchers; a FCCA fact sheet and project timeline; and links to a self-assessment tool and user guide for families and providers. Additional resources on family-centered care are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Family / Professional Partnerships, Family Voices, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.W., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: https://familyvoices.org/lfpp/f2fs/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Assessment, Cultural competence, Decision making, Family centered care, Family support services, Measures, Pediatric care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs

Annotation: This document provides information for policymakers and advocates on using statistical data to illustrate issues of coverage and financing of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) to inform effective decision making. Topics include types of data, sources of data, and tips for using and different data types and sources. The document also outlines steps for collecting and communicating data and family stories. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Children, Communication, Data sources, Decision making, Financing, Health insurance, Program improvement, Special health care services, Statistical data, Youth

Annotation: This guide is designed to help policymakers with varying levels of experience understand and use comparative effectiveness research (CER) and patient-centered outcomes research (PCOR). Contents include a legend to orient those new to CER and PCOR and steps for using this research in state policymaking. Topics include identifying when CER and PCOR can inform policymaking, finding research and other relevant resources, evaluating the evidence, using the evidence to design program or policy, communicating and disseminating the decision, and monitoring and evaluating new research as it becomes available. Case studies and sample applications for each step are included. The appendices contain additional sources of research, guides, and tools; a list of suggested reading on CER, PCOR, and evidence-based decision-making; and an overview on conducting a systematic review.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Decision making, Policy development, Program development, Public policy, Research methodology, Research reviews, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This report examines community health needs assessments and implementation strategies of tax-exempt hospitals with a focus on how community has been defined; how community stakeholders have been engaged in assessment, planning, and implementation; how priorities have been set; and the content and geographic focus of implementation strategies.

Contact: National Network of Public Health Institutes, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite 1200, New Orleans, LA 70112, Telephone: (888)996-6744 Secondary Telephone: (504)301-9820 Fax: (504) 301-9820 Web Site: http://www.nnphi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Community participation, Decision making, Hospitals, Information systems, Needs assessment, Program improvement, Public health, Regional planning

Annotation: This article, the second in a series on evidence-based dentistry (EBD), describes how to frame questions that support the search for evidence to inform clinical decision-making. The article also identifies EBD resources and how to search for relevant evidence by translating questions into effective search terms.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparison groups, Decision making, Literature reviews, Oral health, Research methodology