Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (73 total).

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Nutrient Data Laboratory. 2016. USDA food composition databases (rev.). Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, multiple items. (Released September 2015; slightly revised May 2016. (JMB))

Annotation: This website allows users to search U.S. Department of Agriculture food-composition databases, including the National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference and the Branded Food Products Database. Users can search the databases by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for food items. Users can also generate lists of foods sorted by nutrient content. In addition, data from the Special Interest Databases are shown, along with the corresponding food items from the National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Jamie L. Whitten Building, Room 302A, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-3656 Fax: (202) 720-5427 Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Federal programs, Food additives, Nutrients, Nutrition

Oklahoma State Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Service. 2016. Oral health during pregnancy. PRAMS Brief 7(3):1-2, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief is one issue in the PRAMS Brief series. It reviews Oklahoma 2012–2013 PRAMS data used to assess pregnant women’s access to and use of oral health care and their oral-health-related behaviors. The brief reports that increasing awareness about the importance of oral health care during pregnancy and improving oral health care access and use are key to improving women’s overall health.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, 1000 N.E. 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117, Telephone: (405) 271-5600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0203 Web Site: https://www.ok.gov/health Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Data sources, Health behavior, Health care utilization, Oklahoma, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Women', s health

Trust for America's Health. 2015-. State of childhood obesity. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, annual.

Annotation: This resource provides information about obesity among young children, adolescents, and adults in the United States. Contents include obesity rates and trends by age, household income, and race and ethnicity; policy analysis; state briefs; fast facts; and other resources. Topics include the relationship between weight and diabetes, hypertension, and physical inactivity; the health care costs of obesity; food insecurity, food deserts, and healthy weights; and socioeconomics and obesity.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Barriers, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Data sources, Financing, Health status, Low income groups, Nutrition, Obesity, Policy development, Schools, Socioeconomic factors, State programs, Trends, Young children

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Public Health Professionals Gateway. 2015. Community health assessment and health improvement planning. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, multiple items.

Annotation: This website is designed to help state, tribal, local, and territorial (STLT) health departments as they develop community health assessments (CHAs) and health improvement plans (HIPs), whether for accreditation preparation, nonprofit hospital collaboration, or other reasons. Contents include a description of CHAs and HIPs and their benefits; requirements and mandates; models, frameworks, and tools; data sources and community-level indicators; information and experiences from state, tribal, and local jurisdictions; and links to national organizations that support community health assessment and health improvement planning.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Benchmarking, Data sources, Needs assessment, Program improvement, Program planning, Public health, Quality assurance

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, and the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors. 2015. Chronic disease indicators. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 v.

Annotation: This resource for public health professionals and policymakers comprises a set of chronic disease indicators (CDI) developed by consensus among the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, and the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors. Users can view all indicators for one location or for all locations available, a report that contains all indicators for the location(s) of choice, and an indicator definition. A data portal is also available where users can create a filtered CDI dataset, customize visualizations, download CDI data, and more.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data sources, Geographic regions

Health Resources and Services Administration. 2015. Area health resources files. Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, multiple items.

Annotation: This family of health data resource products is drawn from a county-level database assembled annually from over 50 sources. It includes (1) databases that can be downloaded; (2) comparison tools that enable local health planners, administrators, and researchers to compare a county's or state's available health resources and health status indicators to those available from other counties or states based on selected criteria; and (3) a mapping tool that enables users to prepare maps that compare the availability of health professionals as well as environmental factors impacting health at the county and state levels. Data categories include health care professions (including dentists and other oral health professionals); hospitals and health care facilities; and census, population data, and environment. Selected national and state data not available for smaller geographic areas are included.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Health facilities, Health professions, Health status, Hospitals

University of Washington, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation. 2015. Global Burden of Disease (GBD). Seattle, WA: University of Washington, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource provides information and resources on the Global Burden of Diseases, Injuries, and Risk Factors Study (GBD), an effort to measure epidemiological levels and trends worldwide. Contents include data, data visualizations, publications, videos, news and events, and training.

Contact: University of Washington, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, 2301 Fifth Avenue, Suite 600, Seattle, WA 98121, Telephone: (206) 897-2800 Fax: (206) 897-2899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthmetricsandevaluation.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Data sources, Epidemiology, Injuries, International health, Measures, Multimedia, Research, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Training, Trends

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2015. Federal funding profiles. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 1 v.

Annotation: This web map contains selected federal public health funding data for the United States and U.S. territories. The tool allows users to access data for fiscal year 2014, and information related to the activities of public health agencies around the country.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Federal programs, Financing, Public health agencies

Public Health Informatics Institute. 2015. Toolkit for planning an EHR-based surveillance program. Decatur, GA: Public Health Informatics Institute, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit is an organized set of field-tested tools designed to support planning for a public health surveillance program that will rely on data from electronic health record (EHR) systems. It is organized based on public health informatics principles and methods and includes seven sections. Contents include an introduction to the purpose and tools for each step; guides that provide information to help prepare for team meetings and worksheets to facilitate planning team meetings, input, and documentation; and recommended readings for the planning coordinator and team members. Topics include making the value case, clarifying legal and policy issues, forming partnerships, analyzing clinical data and workflow, analyzing technical options, implementing data exchange, and optimizing data quality and use.

Contact: Public Health Informatics Institute, 325 Swanton Way, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (866) 815-9704 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phii.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data analysis, Data sources, Decision making, Group processes, Medical records, Methods, Online systems, Population surveillance, Program planning, Teamwork

Juliano C, ed. 2015. Big cities health inventory. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, Big Cities Health Coalition, 129 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of the health of people living in dense, urban areas in the United States, how successfully they are addressing key health problems, and the challenges they face. Contents include information about the selection of cities and indicators, key themes, data limitations, city-by-city tables, case studies, and recommendations.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Cities, Data sources, Health status, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Public health infrastructure, Systems development

Dental Quality Alliance. 2015. Environmental scan: Practice based measures. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 26 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes results from an environmental scan to identify existing oral health performance and quality-measure concepts for both the pediatric and the adult populations. Contents include information about the background, methods, and results of the scan and a discussion of data sources and developing quality measures using administrative claims data vs. patient record data. A table of quality measures identified through the scan is also provided.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Claims, Data sources, Measures, Medical records, Oral health, Oral health care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Third party payers

Dental Quality Alliance. 2015. Dental Quality Alliance: Starter set measure annual review–Final report from the Maintenance and Development Committee for public commenting. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 17 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes outcomes of an annual review of a set of measures targeting the goal of addressing prevention and disease management for dental caries in children. Topics include utilization, cost, and quality of dental services for children enrolled in public and private insurance programs. Contents include information about the purpose of the review and the review process. including information about elevated risk, data-quality concerns, continuous enrollment, dental sealants for children ages 6–9, and issues and updates related to coding.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinical coding, Children, Costs, Data collection, Data sources, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease management, Disease prevention, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Measures, Oral health, Oral health care, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, Risk assessment

National Collaborative on Education and Health Working Group on Chronic Absenteeism. 2015. Addressing the health-related reasons of chronic absenteeism. Chicago, IL: Healthy Schools Campaign, 6 items.

Annotation: This toolkit focuses on preparing educators -- particularly school district decision makers -- with knowledge and practical guidance for creating meaningful change to address health-related chronic absenteeism. Topics include understanding student health needs, addressing the health-related reasons students are absent, building effective partnerships to support student health, and building capacity. A case study on partnering to ensure students have access to school health services is included.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Community action, Data sources, Environmental influences, Health status, Learning, Needs assessment, Organizational change, Policy development, Program planning, Public private partnerships, School attendance, School districts, Students, Sustainability

National Center on Program Management and Fiscal Operations. 2014-. Data in Head Start and Early Head Start: Digging into data. Washington, DC: Office of Head Start, 1 v.

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2014. Life course indicators online tool. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource presents a standardized set of indicators that can be applied to measure progress using the life course approach to improve maternal and child health. The set of life course indicators is organized by category, data source, and domain. For each indicator, the resource includes details such as a brief description, numerator, denominator, data source, similar measures in other indicator sets, and national comparison data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Life course, MCH programs, Measures, Program improvement, Social indicators

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2014. Healthy People 2020 leading health indicators: Progress update. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes progress toward achieving national health objective targets for 26 leading health indicators (LHIs). Contents include the number and percentage of LHIs meeting or exceeding their Healthy People 2020 targets, and those that are improving, showing little or no detectable change, or getting worse. Topics include access to health services; clinical preventive services; environmental quality; injury and violence; maternal, infant, and child health; mental health; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; oral health; reproductive and sexual health; social determinants; substance abuse; and tobacco. Information about the data sources is included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Health objectives, Healthy People 2020, National initiatives, Progress reports

Institute of Medicine, Committee on the Recommended Social and Behavioral Domains and Measures for Electronic Health Records. 2014. Capturing social and behavioral domains in electronic health records: Phase 1. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 130 pp.

Catalyst Center. 2014. Dancing with data: Using data to support your message (rev.). Boston, MA: Catalyst Center, 10 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information for policymakers and advocates on using statistical data to illustrate issues of coverage and financing of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) to inform effective decision making. Topics include types of data, sources of data, and tips for using and different data types and sources. The document also outlines steps for collecting and communicating data and family stories. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Communication, Data sources, Decision making, Financing, Health insurance, Program improvement, Special health care services, Statistical data, Youth

Reynolds JC, Kuthy RA, Pooley MJ, Kelly MC, McKernan SC. 2014. Dental hygiene workforce in Iowa: Snapshot and recommendations for a workforce monitoring system. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa, Public Policy Center, 46 pp.

Annotation: This report contains a compilation and synthesis of existing data sources on dental hygienists in Iowa. Contents include key findings and data source background and methodology. Topics include demographics and distribution; education programs; practice information; attitudes about past, present, and future employment; wages and benefits; labor market factors; and public health supervision. Policy recommendations are provided.

Contact: University of Iowa, Center for Social Science Innovation, 605 E. Jefferson Street, Social Sciences Research Building, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: (319) 335-6801 Web Site: https://cssi.research.uiowa.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Data sources, Dental hygienists, Iowa, Policy development, State surveys, Trends, Work force

Michigan Department of Community Health. [2013]. Oral health surveillance plan 2013 to 2018. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Community Health, 17 pp.

Annotation: This document describes a 6-year plan to estimate the prevalence of oral disease in Michigan. The purpose of the plan is to identify vulnerable population groups, monitor trends in oral health indicators, evaluate the effectiveness of programs and policy changes, and communicate information for decision-making. Topics include oral health indicators, data sources, the data-collection schedule, dissemination, privacy and confidentiality, and evaluation.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

Keywords: Confidentiality, Data collection, Data sources, Health status, Information dissemination, Michigan, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Statewide planning, Trends
« Previous Page     Next Page »

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. The library is supported through foundation, univerity, state, and federal funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by the U.S. Government. Note: web pages whose development was supported by federal government grants are being reviewed to comply with applicable Executive Orders.