Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes an assessment of population-based birth defects surveillance systems based on responses to a data quality self-assessment tool submitted by state programs. Contents include information about quality indicators developed around completeness, timeliness, and accuracy of data and performance levels associated with each indicator. Topics include program-specific performance scores with comparative national percentages, and next steps.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 1321 Upland Drive, Suite 1561, Houston, TX 77043, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nbdpn.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Data Quality Assessment Tool V1.1, 2015

Keywords: Congenital anomalies, Data, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Population surveillance, Quality assurance, Standards, State programs, Systems development

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Data, Data collection, Data sources, Early Head Start, Federal programs, Head Start, Information sources, Management information systems, Young children

Annotation: This searchable, web-based compendium is designed to promote thoughtful design, analysis, and ongoing improvement in early care and education systems building. The website provide details on quality rating and improvement systems (QRIS) in every state, territory, and region/locality. Users can develop comparative matrices across states and regions/localities that include multiple QRIS elements, review one or more elements across states and regions/localities or across particular features of a QRIS, produce full state/region/local QRIS profiles, obtain historical information about key policies within a state/region/local QRIS, and find resource documents that can provide guidance on particular features of a QRIS.

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Comparative analysis, Databases, Early childhood education, Policy analysis, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Systems development

Annotation: This document is designed to help organizations, researchers, evaluators, community groups, educators, and public health officials define and gather systematic data on bullying to better inform research and prevention efforts. Contents include background on the problem including what is currently known about the public health burden of bullying and the need for a uniform definition of bullying, the uniform definition and description of key terms, considerations to keep in mind when gathering data on bullying, and recommended data elements.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Data collection, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, Research

Annotation: This 2013 report presents findings from a survey to assess state early childhood data systems. The report focuses on state data systems' ability to securely link child-level early childhood education (ECE) data across ECE programs and to K-12, health, and social services data systems. Topics include states collecting state-level developmental screening, assessment, and kindergarten entry assessments; status of state ECE data governance structure, authority, and function; and action steps for policymakers and practitioners.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• 2013 Report

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This report examines the characteristics, quality of care, and quality improvement activities of Medicaid-contracted pediatric and obstetric practices in the fee-for-service or primary care case management delivery systems in Iowa, Arkansas, and Pennsylvania. Although drawn from the experiences of just three states, the study findings presented in the report suggest opportunities for quality improvement in Medicaid pediatric and obstetric care in states across the country. Measures reported by states and pediatric preventive care scores (compared to national averages) are displayed in exhibit tables, and key data findings from individual states are presented as spotlights.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Case management, Comparative analysis, Iowa, Measure, Medicaid, Obstetrical care, Pediatrics, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, State initiatives, data

Annotation: This strategic plan for Oregon provides a history of the plan and discusses the following topics: the burden of oral disease among infants, children, adults, and seniors ; economic costs and health disparities; common oral diseases; and selected oral health data for the state. Also discussed are the need for a strategic plan and three priority areas: infrastructure, prevention and systems of care, and workforce capacity. Strategic plan outcome measures for 2015–2020 are presented.

Contact: Oregon Oral Health Coalition, P.O. Box 3132, Wilsonville, OR 97070, Telephone: (971) 224-3018 Fax: (971) 224-1323 Web Site: http://www.orohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Costs, Data, Health equity, Health systems, Infant health, Older adults, Oral health, Oregon, Prevention, Public health infrastructure, State information, Work force

Annotation: This thesaurus provides broad and detailed coverage of all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including human nutrition. The Web site lists terms alphabetically and by subject category, and includes a search feature for locating terms in the thesaurus. It is also available in a Spanish edition that contains regional terms of Latin American countries.

Contact: National Agricultural Library, Abraham Lincoln Building, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5755 Secondary Telephone: (301) 504-6856 Fax: (301) 504-6927 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nal.usda.gov/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Agriculture, Nutrition, Online databases, Online systems, Spanish language materials, Thesauri

Annotation: This database is designed for use by researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public in learning about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States. Contents include fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of sources. Users can search, sort, and view the data and create reports, charts, and maps based on the intent of injury; mechanism (cause) of injury; body region; nature (type) of injury; geographic location where the injury occurred; and the sex, race and ethnicity, and age of the injured person. Mobile applications (for iPhone and iPad) are also available.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Program Site
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Data, Databases, Economics, Injuries, Integrated information systems, Mobile applications, Public health

Annotation: This report examines the direct and indirect effects of state and local bicycle helmet laws on injuries among children. Using injury data from the National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS), the authors assess how helmet laws are associated with reductions in bicycle-related head injuries while also examining indirect effects such as decreases in non-head cycling injuries, as well as increases in head injuries from other wheeled sports. The report includes a detailed description of the research methodology and a discussion of the findings. The authors discuss the hypothesis that the observed reduction in bicycle-related head injuries may be due to reductions in bicycle riding induced by the laws.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Analysis, Bicycle helmets, Bicycle safety, Data, Injury surveillance systems, State legislation

Annotation: This chart describes Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) provisions and implementation activities that target health information technology and the exchange of health information, including public reporting of provider performance information; patient safety and health care delivery system research; and new, uniform requirements for health disparities data collection and research. The chart also describes potential areas for asthma stakeholder engagement; policy research and development; and advocacy at the national, state, and local levels.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Asthma, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Information, Initiatives, Legislation, Program, Public policy, Research, Safety, Statistical data, Technology

Annotation: This report describes federal surveillance systems, surveys, and other information systems that measure prevalence of mental disorders and indicators of mental health among children in the United States and highlights selected national prevalence estimates. Topics include mental disorders (attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, oppositional defiant disorder and conduct disorder, autism spectrum disorders, mood and anxiety disorders), substance use disorders and substance use, and tic disorders (Tourette syndrome). Selected indicators of mental health, including mentally unhealthy days and suicide, are also assessed. Availability of state-based estimates is noted in the surveillance descriptions and tables.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Brain diseases, Children, Data, Information systems, Mental disorders, Mental health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Substance use, Surveys

Annotation: This report examines the nature and frequency of sports-related injuries among children and recommends things that parents, young athletes, and coaches can do to help avoid preventable sports injuries. Included are statistics on the most common diagnoses seen in emergency departments for sports related injuries; the age and gender of children most likely to experience a concussion, knee injury, overuse problem, or other sports injury; and the types of injuries most likely to occur based on the type of sport and the intensity of the child's participation. The authors also discuss public policy, state legislation related to sports injury prevention, and the ways that school boards and communities can help protect young athletes. The research is based on an analysis of data from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission's National Electronic Injury Surveillance System.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Data analysis, Injury prevention, Injury prevention surveillance systems, Policy, Sport injuries, Statistics

Annotation: This document outlines national goals and actions to further reduce suffocation-related injuries among infants and children. Examples of what can be done are organized within the following six domains: data and surveillance, research, communication, education and training, health systems and health care, and policy.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child death review, Children, Communication, Community action, Consumer education, Data, Goals, Health care systems, Infant death, Infant death review, Infants, Injuries, Injury prevention, National initiatives, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Professional education, Research, Safety, Suffocation, Training

Annotation: This guidance is designed to help Promise Neighborhoods implementation grantees collect and assemble indicators to benchmark and track progress over time. Contents include an overview of data collection and use, the structure of a data system, indicators, core elements of the case management system, ensuring confidentiality and data security, neighborhood and school climate surveys, and neighborhood- and school-level data.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Innovation and Improvement, Promise Neighborhoods, LBJ Building, Room 4W338, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202-5970, Telephone: (202) 453-6615 Fax: (202) 401-4123 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/programs/promiseneighborhoods/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Case management, Community development, Confidentiality, Data, Data collection, Family support programs, Federal initiatives, Information systems, Measures, Neighborhoods, Outcome and process assessment, School surveys, Schools, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes the oral health surveillance system in Alaska. Contents include the system's history, goal, objectives, purpose, data needs, logic model, indicators, and data sources. Plans for analysis, dissemination, and evaluation are included.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Oral Health Program, Alaska Division of Public Health , P.O. Box 110610, 130 Seward Street, Room 508, Juneau, AK 99801-0610, Telephone: (907) 465-8628 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/oralhealth/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska, Communication, Data analysis, Data sources, Evaluation, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Population surveillance, State initiatives, Systems development

Annotation: This report focuses on opportunities for collaboration in preconception health and health care and early childhood comprehensive systems (ECCS). The report (1) provides evidence for the causal link between health at birth and well-being later in life, (2) presents statistics on existing disparities in birth outcomes across socio-demographic groups in the United States, (3) discusses how improving mothers' preconception health can influence child birth outcomes, (4) presents examples of how different states and organizations are implementing Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommendations, (5) discusses how the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 can impact preconception health and health care, and (6) presents recommendations for ECCS coordinators and other early childhood policymakers.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Health care systems, Infant health, Legislation, Preconception care, Public policy, Racial factors, Reproductive health, State programs, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This brief focuses on the importance of addressing the built environment to improve maternal health and birth outcomes. Contents include an overview of the built environment and research on the connections between the built environment and health, the biological and social impacts of an unsupportive built environment on maternal health and birth outcomes, and promising programs at the state and local levels.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Environmental health, Health care systems, Maternal health, Model programs, Pregnancy outcome, Preventive health services, State MCH programs, Urban MCH programs

Annotation: This report provides information from a study to assess the gap between the need for mental health treatment slots and the number of treatment slots available for children and adolescents throughout New York City. The report discusses the methodology and presents key findings on child and adolescent mental health needs in the Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island and key findings on capacity and gap analysis. Appendix G of the report, a PowerPoint presentation, is presented in a separate document.

Contact: Citizens' Committee for Children of New York, 105 East 22nd Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 673-1800 Fax: (212) 979-5063 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cccnewyork.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Appendix

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Behavior problems, Child mental health, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health insurance, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid, Mental health problems, New York, Research, Statistical data, Treatment, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This document provides information about systems of mental health care for children, adolescents, and families and discusses the importance of expanding these systems and the logistics behind doing so. The document highlights important outcomes of systems of care at the child and the family level in the following areas: improved policies, improved services and supports, increased family and adolescent involvement in policy development, and improved use of data for quality improvement and decision-making.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Families, Family support services, Health care systems, Mental health, Public policy, Statistical data