Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides a vision for integrated early childhood (EC) data and explains how states can use integrated data to inform decisions. The report also covers key considerations when integrating and linking EC data based on best practices from the field and lessons learned from eight states that are actively engaged in developing integrated EC data systems. Details about the eight profiled states (Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Utah), federal resources to support data integration, data privacy laws and regulations, and data sharing opportunities are included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Decision making, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Integrated information systems, Interagency cooperation, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Public policy, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from a statewide oral health assessment in Illinois and offers a blueprint for moving forward to achieve better health for all residents. Topics include the historical and current context of oral health, the oral health of children and adults in Illinois, the capacity of the oral health system, and oral health policy. A data summary is included.

Contact: Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation, 1200 Jorie Boulevard, Suite 301, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Telephone: (630) 571-2555 Secondary Telephone: (630) 571-2556 Web Site: http://www.ilchf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental care, Health care systems, Health policy, Illinois, Life course, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Statewide planning, Statistical data, Systems development

Annotation: This report examines the use of measures to improve health care quality across the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS's) programs and private payers, with a focus on reducing burden. Topics include what is known about the extent and effects of quality-measure alignment, key factors that can contribute to misalignment, and efforts to address misalignment. Recommendations for (1) prioritizing development of electronic quality measures and related data elements for the core measures DHHS and private payers have agreed to use and (2) comprehensively planning efforts to develop more meaningful quality measures are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-5.

• Full Report
• Highlights

Keywords: Data collection, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Information systems, Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Systems development, Third party payers

Annotation: This brief explores state-based efforts to collect and use social determinants of health (SDOH) data including what data health plans and providers are required to collect. Topics include early state efforts to define SDOH and collect information; state efforts to select SDOH measures; using SDOH data at the patient and population level; challenges to collecting, sharing, and using SDOH information; and considerations for advancing SDOH measurement approaches.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Data collection, Data linkage, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Financing, Health behavior, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Policy development, Reimbursement, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Service delivery systems, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors, State programs

Annotation: This website provides resources and tools to assist individuals and groups in working together to build healthier communities. Contents include how-to information for learning a skill, taking action, linking with others, and supporting collective impact. The website is available in English and Spanish. Topics include community assessment; communications to promote interest and participation; developing a strategic plan and organizational structure; leadership and management; analyzing community problems and designing community interventions; implementing promising community interventions; cultural competence and spirituality in community building; organizing effective advocacy; evaluating community programs and initiatives; maintaining quality and rewarding accomplishments; generating, managing, and sustaining financial resources; and social marketing and sustainability of the initiative.

Contact: University of Kansas, Work Group for Community Health and Development, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Dole Center, Room 4082, Lawrence, KS 66045-7555, Telephone: (785) 864-0533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://communityhealth.ku.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Community participation, Community role, Databases, Model programs, Non English language materials, Planning, Policy development, Problem solving, Program development, Social change, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This resource comprises introductory trainings and other resources for professionals who work with children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN). It lists trainings organized by the ten core domains for system standards for CYSHCN. Topics include cultural competence, leadership, and using data. Contents include archived webinars, narrated slide presentations, an online course, and videos. The MCH Library's knowledge path and resource briefs about CYSHCN for families and for schools are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Cultural competence, Data analysis, Health care systems, Leadership, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, Standards, Training

Annotation: This resource provides information about the safety and benefits of community water fluoridation as a cost-effective method of delivering fluoride to all members of the community. Contents include recently published fact sheets and reports; basic information about fluoride, its benefits, and uses; and safety information. Additional contents include a database (My Water's Fluoride) containing information about fluoride in community drinking water; a training program to help build the capability of state fluoridation programs and support water treatment professionals in developing and refining their operational skills; tools for state dental directors or tribal authorities to enter state fluoridation data and print operational reports; and other resources for state oral health programs and partners.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Databases, Fluorides, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, State programs, Training, Water

Annotation: This database is a searchable collection of local public policies that explicitly support community food systems. The database provides examples of local public policies that have been adopted to address a range of food systems issues including rural and urban food production, farmland protection, transfer of development rights, food aggregation and distribution infrastructure, local food purchasing and procurement, healthy food access, food policy councils, food policy coordination, food system metrics, tax reductions and exemptions for food infrastructure. Contents include local laws, ordinances, resolutions, motions, orders, and directives, as well as plans, standards, guidelines, tax exemptions and other public financing policies. Policies span different geographic regions, sizes of government, rural and urban contexts, and public issues. In addition to general information about policy type, topic, and adoption date, the database includes policy documents, or the adopted language for each policy. When available, the database also lists information about the adopting, implementing, and supporting public agencies and non-governmental organizations; funding amount and sources; and policy outcomes.

• Link

Keywords: Databases, Financing, Food, Legislation, Local initiatives, Metrics, Nutrition, Policy development, Program coordination, Program planning, Public policy, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This brief presents national- and state-level estimates of supply and demand for dentists and dental hygienists at baseline in 2012 and for 2025 using the Health Resources and Services Administration's Health Work Force Simulation Model. Both supply and demand projections are reported as full time equivalents. Contents include background, results, limitations, and conclusions. Topics include changes in oral health care delivery and in health systems, dentist shortages, the evolving role of the dental hygienist, and the productivity of the existing oral health work force.

Contact: National Center for Health Workforce Analysis, Health Resource and Services Administration, Bureau of Health Workforce, Rockvillle, MD Telephone: (301) 443-9256 Web Site: http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/healthworkforce Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Dentists, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Oral health, Productivity, Service delivery systems, Statistical data, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This report contains the most requested information about juveniles and the juvenile justice system in the United States. Contents include information about juvenile population characteristics, juvenile victims and offenders, juvenile justice system structure and process, law enforcement and juvenile crime, and juvenile offenders in court and correctional facilities.

Contact: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 810 Seventh Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20531, Telephone: (202) 307-5911 Web Site: http://www.ojjdp.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Corrections, Criminal justice system, Data, Juvenile courts, Juvenile delinquency, Juvenile justice, Juvenile offenders, Juveniles

Annotation: This brief describes the expansion and reform of health insurance coverage and other Affordable Care Act (ACA) provisions intended to resolve underlying problems in how health care is delivered and paid for in the United States, and documents the initial impact of these reforms. Topics include new models for delivering health care, reforming provider payment, and resources for systemwide improvement. Data charts and presentation slides are also available.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Brief

Keywords: Accountability, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Model programs, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Reimbursement, Service delivery systems, Statistical data

Annotation: This data system provides information about the burden of oral disease, use of oral-health-care-delivery systems, and status of community water fluoridation on both a national and state level. The system is designed to track oral health surveillance indicators based on data sources and surveillance capacity available to most states. Indicators include adult dental visits, teeth cleaning, and tooth loss; dental sealants, caries experience, and untreated tooth decay in children; and the percentage of the population served by public water systems who receive fluoridated water.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Dental sealants, Federal initiatives, Fluorides, Health care utilization, Health status, Integrated information systems, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State programs, Water

Annotation: This mobile application provides guidance to health care professionals, public health professionals,trauma program managers and coordinators, care coordinators, injury prevention coordinators, social workers and case managers, and trauma medical directors on integrating what is known about injury prevention strategies into programs. Contents include information and data on the size and scope of specific injuries in Indiana and effective evidence-based solutions to the problem of injury.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• IOS 7.1 Or Later (2.0 MB)

Keywords: Data, Indiana, Injuries, Injury prevention, Integrated information systems, Intervention, Service integration, State initiatives, Trauma

Annotation: This toolkit is an organized set of field-tested tools designed to support planning for a public health surveillance program that will rely on data from electronic health record (EHR) systems. It is organized based on public health informatics principles and methods and includes seven sections. Contents include an introduction to the purpose and tools for each step; guides that provide information to help prepare for team meetings and worksheets to facilitate planning team meetings, input, and documentation; and recommended readings for the planning coordinator and team members. Topics include making the value case, clarifying legal and policy issues, forming partnerships, analyzing clinical data and workflow, analyzing technical options, implementing data exchange, and optimizing data quality and use.

Contact: Public Health Informatics Institute, 325 Swanton Way, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (866) 815-9704 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phii.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data analysis, Data sources, Decision making, Group processes, Medical records, Methods, Online systems, Population surveillance, Program planning, Teamwork

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of the health of people living in dense, urban areas in the United States, how successfully they are addressing key health problems, and the challenges they face. Contents include information about the selection of cities and indicators, key themes, data limitations, city-by-city tables, case studies, and recommendations.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Data Platform 2.0

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Cities, Data sources, Health status, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Public health infrastructure, Systems development

Annotation: This website provides leaders and stakeholders with expert-vetted tools and resources to support collaborative, impactful community health improvement work. Contents include a database of interventions focused on the following four action areas: socioeconomic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, and clinical care.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community organizations, Databases, Health systems agencies, Intervention, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Systems development

Annotation: This document describes a tool designed to assist community leaders and stakeholders in making decisions about how to invest in their community and address community health needs. Topics include how to find interventions for seven target risk factors related to the leading causes of illness and death in the United States. The fact sheet also describes how to find interventions by target population, by target outcome or indicator, by intervention setting/location, by intervention type, and by assets (people or organizations, physical or virtual space). Information about data sources for interventions is included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community organizations, Databases, Health systems agencies, Intervention, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Systems development

Annotation: This report summarizes an assessment of population-based birth defects surveillance systems based on responses to a data quality self-assessment tool submitted by state programs. Contents include information about quality indicators developed around completeness, timeliness, and accuracy of data and performance levels associated with each indicator. Topics include program-specific performance scores with comparative national percentages, and next steps.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 1321 Upland Drive, Suite 1561, Houston, TX 77043, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nbdpn.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Data Quality Assessment Tool V1.1, 2015

Keywords: Congenital anomalies, Data, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Population surveillance, Quality assurance, Standards, State programs, Systems development

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Data, Data collection, Data sources, Early Head Start, Federal programs, Head Start, Information sources, Management information systems, Young children

Annotation: This searchable, web-based compendium is designed to promote thoughtful design, analysis, and ongoing improvement in early care and education systems building. The website provide details on quality rating and improvement systems (QRIS) in every state, territory, and region/locality. Users can develop comparative matrices across states and regions/localities that include multiple QRIS elements, review one or more elements across states and regions/localities or across particular features of a QRIS, produce full state/region/local QRIS profiles, obtain historical information about key policies within a state/region/local QRIS, and find resource documents that can provide guidance on particular features of a QRIS.

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Comparative analysis, Databases, Early childhood education, Policy analysis, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Systems development