Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document provides a framework for Head Start and other programs serving children ages 3–5, including children who are dual language learners and children with special health care needs, on key elements of school readiness. The framework is intended to guide programs in making curriculum and assessment decisions and connecting child-assessment data to aspects of Head Start program design, including school readiness goals consistent with state and local expectations. Additionally, the framework is intended to guide the collection of child-assessment data for other early childhood reporting systems, if such data are locally required. Contents include a description of 11 domains of child development and early learning deemed essential for school and long-term success, domain elements, and examples. The document is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Curriculum development, Data collection, Early childhood development, Head Start, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This book is designed to help reproductive health professionals, educators, and others design, adapt, and select curricula that focus on risk and protective factors related to sexual risk behavior while using instructional principles most likely to improve health outcomes. The book is structured around risk and protective factors most likely to be changed by a curriculum­based program. Each chapter focuses on a different risk or protective factor, summarizing the available evidence showing how the factor affects sexual behavior and discussing relevant behavior change theory and instructional principles for improving the factor. The book describes how to create logic models and learning objectives, how to increase knowledge. improve perceptions of risk, address attitudes, values, and beliefs, and increase parent-child communication about sex. The examples in this book come from activities used primarily with middle or high school­aged youth.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Curricula, Curriculum development, Prevention, Risk factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexuality education

Annotation: These resources are designed to help parents and teachers motivate children to eat five or more fruits and vegetables a day, trim screen time to two hours a day, be active for at least one hour a day, and drink plenty of water every day. Contents include tips for parents, activities and lessons for teaching the importance of healthy eating and physical activity and for meeting state benchmarks and standards, a toolkit to help teachers implement the 21 Day Challenge in school, and a document to help parents and teachers track students' progress in altering their eating and physical activity behaviors. The resources are available in English and Spanish. Data on the prevalence and implications of childhood obesity are also provided.

Contact: Healthy Kids New Mexico, New Mexico Department of Health, Obesity, Nutrition and Physical Activity Program, 810 West San Mateo Road, Suite 200 E, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 476-7623 Web Site: http://archive.healthykidsnm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior modification, Children, Curriculum development, Eating, Educational materials, Elementary schools, Health behaviors, Motivation, New Mexico, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Policy development, Spanish language materials, State programs, Statistical data, Students, Teaching

Annotation: This web-based guide for curriculum development focuses on family-centered and family-directed practices and cultural competency for maternal and child health (MCH) professionals and trainees. The guide supports the development and implementation of an integrated curriculum to strengthen knowledge, skills, and important competencies. Resources for MCH training program faculty, training coordinators, and curriculum developers are included.

Contact: Westchester Institute for Human Development, Cedarwood Hall, Valhalla, NY 10595, Telephone: (914) 193-8150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.wihd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Curriculum development, MCH training, MCH training programs, Families, Resource materials

Annotation: This report examines materials from sex education programs used in Texas school districts to describe the state of sexuality education in Texas schools. The mainly abstinence only programs of Texas receive evaluation on terms of accuracy of information, appropriateness of content and effectiveness. The report includes many examples from actual programs.

Contact: Texas Freedom Network, P.O. Box 1624, Austin, TX 78767, Telephone: (512) 322-0545 Fax: (512) 32-0550 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tfn.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Abstinence, Curriculum development, Educational materials, Program evaluation, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Texas

Annotation: This document describes adopted revisions to the accreditation standards for Michigan oral health professionals' training and education in treating clients with special needs. It describes requirements for students in programs in dental hygiene, dental education, and advanced education in general practice residency. Information is provided on curriculum development.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Curriculum development, Dental care, Dental education, Disabilities, Michigan, Oral health, Professional training, Special health care needs, State initiatives

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance on moving from a competency set to developing a curriculum for public health education and training. The first part of the toolkit focuses on competency-related assumptions, definitions, and development. The second part of the toolkit focuses on the process of moving from competencies to curriculum and training modalities, with an example of the process using one of the key leadership competencies. Topics include specifying the audience, developing learning objectives, assessing the time availability of the learner, determining how and when learning will be measured, determining expected outcomes and content and availability, matching teaching methods to the audience, developing curriculum, and evaluating the learner after the materials have been presented. The appendix is a matrix of known public health-related competency sets from many sources.

Contact: Columbia University School of Nursing, Center for Health Policy, 617 West 168 Street, GB-239, New York, NY 10032, Telephone: (212) 305-1738 Fax: (212) 305-3659 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.nursing.columbia.edu/chp/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Competency based education, Curricula, Curriculum development, Education, Health professionals, Public health, Training, Work force

Annotation:

Contact: Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange, State University of New York, University at Buffalo, 515 Kimball Tower, Buffalo, NY 14214-3079, Telephone: (716) 844-8683 Fax: (716) 844-8639 Web Site: http://cirrie.buffalo.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Curriculum development, Occupational therapy, Professional education

Contact: Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange, State University of New York, University at Buffalo, 515 Kimball Tower, Buffalo, NY 14214-3079, Telephone: (716) 844-8683 Fax: (716) 844-8639 Web Site: http://cirrie.buffalo.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Curriculum development, Physical therapists, Professional education

Contact: Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange, State University of New York, University at Buffalo, 515 Kimball Tower, Buffalo, NY 14214-3079, Telephone: (716) 844-8683 Fax: (716) 844-8639 Web Site: http://cirrie.buffalo.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Curriculum development, Language disorders, Language therapists, Professional education, Speech pathology, Speech therapists

Annotation: This information package contains materials from a nationwide public-health-education campaign to promote calcium consumption among adolescents, especially those ages 11–15. The package includes materials designed for parents, children, adolescents, health professionals, and teachers. Materials include booklets, logo stickers, a coloring book, a poster, lessons, fact sheets, take-home assignments, classroom discussion ideas, and a public-service announcement. A form for ordering campaign materials is included. Some items are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Calcium, Children, Curriculum development, Materials for children, Nutrition education, Oral health, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Teachers

Annotation: This compendium provides practical guidance in the form of strategies, tools, and resources from Health Resources and Services Centers of Excellence (HRSA COE) Programs that are implementing and integrating cultural and linguistic competency content and methods into existing academic programs. Ito also provides guidance for evaluating cultural and linguistic competency efforts. The curriculum is organized into 10 chapters: (1) cultural and linguistic competence and COEs, (2) the guiding principles and goals of cultural and linguistic competence education, (3) strategies for success in implementing cultural and linguistic competence education, (4) creating a framework for cultural and linguistic competence curriculum, (5) curriculum content for cultural and linguistic competence, (6) delivering a cultural and linguistic competence curriculum, (7) assessment and evaluation of a culturally competent COE, (8) dissemination, (9) summary and next steps, and (10) resources. The compendium also includes three appendices: a tool box, a glossary, and a report that describes cultural and linguistic competence of HRSA COE grantees.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Curricula, Curriculum development, Education, Language barriers

Annotation: These guidelines for preschool learning experiences are based on on the standards for PreK-K in the approved revision of the Massachusetts Curriculum Frameworks and are designed for use by teachers and program administrators in planning and evaluating curricula. The guidelines include information about guiding learning in the following areas: English language arts, mathematics, science and technology/engineering, history and social science, health education, and the arts. The guidelines include one appendix: adaptations for children with disabilities. A list of resources and a list of contributors is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Seconday Education, 350 Main Street, Malden, MA 02148-5023, Telephone: (781) 338-3000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 439-2370 Fax: (781) 338-3770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.doe.mass.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administration, Art, Children with special health care needs, Curricula, Curriculum development, Early childhood education, Guidelines, Health education, Language, Massachusetts, Technology

Annotation: This document provides guidance on planning and assessing courses of study in cultural competence for health care professionals. Contents include guiding principles and recommended standards for education and training including standards for content, training methods and modalities, evaluation, and qualifications of teachers and trainers. The appendices contain a glossary of terms, policy statements and standards, models for culturally competent health care, videos and CD-ROMs, and websites.

Contact: California Endowment, Greater Los Angeles Program Office, 1000 North Alameda Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012, Telephone: (800) 449-4149 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.calendow.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Curriculum development, Learning, Methods, Models, Multimedia, Policy development, Professional education, Program evaluation, Resources for professionals, Standards, Teaching, Training, Work force

Annotation: This book reports on the lack of formalized training of health professionals in identifying and aiding victims of family violence and suggests directions for a comprehensive and collaborative approach necessary to understand and move toward resolution of the problem of family violence. The introduction explains the need for research on family violence issues and how the report is organized. Chapter 2 discusses definitions of the types of family violence, its magnitude in American society, and an estimate of its effects on health care professionals and the health care system. The third chapter describes current educational activities. Chapter 4 assesses forces that may affect training, and chapter 5 identifies training methods used and their evaluation. The sixth chapter offers suggestions to improve the state of health care professional training, including content issues, educational strategies, and techniques of behavior change. The concluding chapter provides recommendations on training health professionals about family violence. The appendices provide information on accreditation requirements; policy statements from health professional organizations; a state-by-state overview of mandatory reporting laws and education for family violence; and a review of existing curricula. The book concludes with biographical sketches of contributing authors and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07431-2.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Curriculum development, Domestic violence, Elder abuse, Family violence, Organizations, Professional education, Professional training, State legislation, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report examines how women's health and sex/gender-related issues are taught in the academic and clinical course of study for baccalaureate nursing students. The analytical results of a survey of U.S. baccalaureate nursing schools conducted during 1999 by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) are presented with a description of the extent of women's health content in the curriculum and selected recommendations designed to guide educators in strengthening this content. Additional resources are included that describe essentials of baccalaureate nursing education, fundamental features of women's health care, and the significant contribution of nurses in providing comprehensive women's health care. The report contains extensive tables and appendices on women's health from Congress and professional nursing organizations.

• PDF

Keywords: Curriculum development, National surveys, Nursing education, Professional education, Women', Women', s health, s health services

Annotation: This book focuses on school health education and bridges the gap between curriculum development theory and the reality of health instruction in schools. The book content includes a discussion of: (1) the philosophy and goals of a health education curriculum, (2) comprehensive school health education and the content areas of school health instruction, (3) curriculum planning, (4) selecting and writing learning objectives, (5) designing a curriculum, (6) locating and selecting resources, (7) building partnerships—linking schools with the community, (8) identifying problems areas, (9) curriculum implementation, (10) evaluating—determining curriculum implementation and effectiveness, and (11) maintaining programs. Appendices include the Report of the 1990 Joint Committee on Health Education Terminology and Responsibilities and Competencies for Entry-Level Health Educators.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Curricula, Curriculum development, Health education, School health education, Schools

Annotation: This manual advances an educational theory called Tribes which encourages teachers to develop a community that values individual differences while encouraging each member to contribute based on their unique gifts. The theory moves across socioeconomic and ethnic differences and encourages children to discover different perspectives. The manual discusses moving toward a new pattern of interaction, reviews how children learn, describes the Tribes concept, and indicates ways to create a learning community and build Tribes within them. The manual also examines methods for developing self-worth and eliciting participation, designing and implementing learning experiences, applying the theory to middle schools, and integrating the theory in the larger school environment. The manual also includes information on strategies, resources, and supporting materials.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Cultural diversity, Curriculum development, Educational change, Group dynamics, Self esteem, Social development

Annotation: This handbook contains essays on many different issues relating to the development and delivery of quality child care. It provides a brief history of child care, notes changing needs, and considers the role of the government. It describes a number of different settings; it suggests ways to match needs to available services, and it covers evaluating services for quality and indicates the roles of regulations and licensing in this process. It considers health factors related to operating child care centers and reviews several programs that provide services to children with special health needs. Other topics covered included are the training of child care workers, the development of appropriate curricula, and funding sources. Appendices include information on various national organizations and federal programs, a bibliography, and an annotated list of funding sources.

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Children with special health care needs, Communicable diseases, Curriculum development, Disease prevention, Family child care, Financing, Licensing, Quality assurance, Training

Annotation: These proceedings report on a conference held November 16-18, 1987 in Baltimore, Maryland, on how the topic of HIV infection should be dealt with in curricula for the education of health care professionals. Contents include (1) conference objectives and process, (2) plenary presentations, (3) summary of Task Force reports, (4) multidisciplinary workgroups, and (5) action steps recommended by specific health disciplines. Appendices include task force reports and the list of participants.

• Summary

Keywords: Conferences, Curriculum development, HIV, Health professionals, Professional education