Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes agency efforts to provide health care services for Native youth and their lessons learned. Topics include health issues Native youth commonly face, ways youth use health services, youth-friendly services and ways to provide them, and integrating Native culture and traditional practices with medical practice. The report concludes with a discussion of areas and issues that need to be addressed in order to increase the number of youth accessing services, as well as suggestions for other agencies and clinics trying to establish health services for Native youth.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Service integration, Youth

Annotation: This document summarizes findings from a review of selected research related to family-centered care (FCC) for children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Contents include highlights from studies that examine the following components of FCC: family-provider partnerships, coordinated care, racial/ethnic and linguistic barriers, and culturally competent care. It also examines access, unmet need and satisfaction for CSHCN and outcomes of FCC and medical homes.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Families, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Language barriers, Literature reviews, Parent professional relations, Service coordination, Special health care needs

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of family support programs and identifies the features and strategies that may be most effective for reaching and engaging black and Latino families, with the ultimate goal of supporting young children's development. Contents include a synthesis of available research on parent engagement and potential barriers to their engagement in family support services and programs. Recommendations for designing, adapting, and evaluating culturally-relevant family support programs and services are also included.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child development services, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Families, Family support programs, Parent participation, Parents, Research, Young children

Annotation: This document is a guide for implementing and maintaining culturally and linguistically appropriate services (CLAS) within health and health care organizations. Contents include information on why CLAS services are necessary; the purpose, audience, components, and strategies for implementing national CLAS standards; and enhancements made to the original CLAS standards. The document also contains a blueprint for providing information on the standards. The blueprint organizes the standards under the following general topics: governance, leadership, and workforce; communication and language assistance; and engagement, continuous improvement, and accountability. Resources for additional information and guidance are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Culturally competent services, Federal initiatives, Language, Public policy, Standards

Annotation: This brief lists major resources for information on cultural and linguistic competence and sources of non-English health education materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Linguistic competence

Annotation: This guide provides strategies on implementing a photovoice (PV) project. Topics include how to prepare for implementing PV, what materials are needed, strategies for engaging youth in discussions among themselves and with community leaders to effect change, and "photo ethics" issues that need to be reviewed with youth. Additional resources for understanding the principles and concepts of PV are also included.

Contact: Research and Training Center for Pathways to Positive Futures, Portland State University, Portland, OR Web Site: http://www.pathwaysrtc.pdx.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Communication, Community based services, Culturally competent services, Media, Social change, Young adults

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a peer learning collaborative to support existing maternal and child health (MCH) training program grantees in their efforts to increase racial and ethnic diversity of trainees and faculty. Contents include a description of the collaborative (eleven teams of program grantees and their institutional or community-based partners); the evaluation methodology; and findings on the overall benefits of the collaborative, challenges, the role of technical assistance, and sustainability. The appendices contain a list of webinars and trainings and the structured interview guide.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, MCH training programs, Mentors, Peer groups, Program evaluation, Technical assistance

Annotation: This toolkit for oral health professionals provides information about how to advocate for people with special health care needs (SHCN). Topics include organization leadership, legislative action, public relations, and pertinent oral health information. The legislative action section covers IRS considerations; internal communication; grassroots lobbying; tips on contacting government officials, and legislators; and ideas for amplifying an organization's voice. A sample letter to a legislator is provided. The public relations section discusses reaching the media and provides a sample letter to the editor. Information about the Southern Association of Institutional Dentists is included.

Contact: Special Care Advocates in Dentistry, Southern Association of Institutional Dentists, Web Site: http://saiddent.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Culturally competent services, Disabilities, Interdisciplinary approach, Multidisciplinary teams, Oral health, Research, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs

Annotation: This report provides information about tribal health, including background about different tribes and health- and government-related issues, treaties and laws, and working successfully with tribes and tribal organizations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Culturally competent services, Legislation, Minority groups, Minority health, Public health

Annotation: This report, which focuses on the unmet need for primary health care in the United States, discusses why this need exists, contributing factors, and costs and consequences. The report presents community health centers as a solution to this problem and discusses identifying primary care needs, how health centers can meet these needs, the trend toward health centers filling the primary health care gap, and what still needs to be done.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health centers, Community health services, Costs, Culturally competent services, Geographic factors, Cultural factors, High risk groups, Immigrants, Income factors, Low income groups, Poverty, Primary care, Underserved communities, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This self-assessment checklist is designed to help personnel provide services and support to gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth and their families that are culturally and linguistically competent. The checklist covers the physical environment, materials and resources, communication practices, values, and attitudes. It provides concrete examples of the kinds of values and practices that foster cultural diversity and cultural competence.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Assessment, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Homosexuality, Youth

Annotation: This booklet about the translation of health information is geared toward helping health professionals reach their Limited English Proficiency (LEP) audiences with messages and information in the most effective way. It addresses these practices: (1) defining objectives and scope of the translation program; (2) balancing language needs and cultural differences; (3) use of the Internet, social media, and mobile applications; (4) delivering successful translation/transcreation and localization projects; (5) finding a good translation service; and (6) budgeting. The booklet also provides a list of major legislation that mandates access services for those with limited English proficiency; tips on maintaining a project timeline; and a description of translation tools such as translation memory software, translation glossaries, and style guides.

Contact: ViaLanguage, 700 SouthWest Taylor Street, Suite 300, Portland, OR 97205, Telephone: (800) 737-8481 Web Site: http://www.viadelivers.com/via_solutions_learning.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Culturally competent services, Health services, Language barriers, Non English language materials, Translations

Annotation: This report describes the recommendations of an expert panel to ensure that students acquire cultural competencies in their chosen fields to prepare them for successful practice, including the development and delivery of appropriate health care and population health programs, services, and policies for an increasingly diverse U.S. population. Contents include recommendations for embedding cultural competence education within and across curricula of medicine and public health, exemplary case studies, and a road map for the future.

Contact: Association of American Medical Colleges, 655 K Street, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 20001-2399, Telephone: (202) 828-0400 Web Site: https://www.aamc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Curricula, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Medical students, Professional education, Public health education, Racial factors

Annotation: This report focuses on ways to integrate health care services in culturally and linguistically appropriate ways to racial and ethnic minorities and populations with limited English Proficiency (LEP). It includes best practices, insights, and strategies that were shared and discussed during the 2011 national consensus meeting hosted by the Hogg Foundation titled Eliminating Behavioral Health Disparities through the Integration of Behavioral Health and Primary Care Services for Racial and Ethnic Minority Populations and Those with Limited English Proficiency. The report combines research conducted by the foundation with proceedings from the consensus meeting and includes consensus statements and recommendations designed to inform a broad audience of health and behavioral health care providers, educators, advocates, consumers, youth and families, researchers, policy makers and other stake holders on health equity for all through integrated health care. The agenda for the national consensus meeting is included in the appendices.

Contact: Hogg Foundation for Mental Health, Lake Austin Center, 4th Floor, 3001 Lake Austin Boulevard, Austin, TX 78703-4200, Telephone: (512) 471-5041 Secondary Telephone: (888) 404-4336 Fax: (512) 471-9608 Web Site: http://www.hogg.utexas.edu/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Health care disparities, Meetings, Minority groups, Prevention, Program improvement, Research, Service delivery systems, Service integration

Annotation: This report outlines best and promising practices for tobacco use prevention and control for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community using the World Health Organization’s best practices model, MPOWER (Monitor, Protect, Offer, Warn, Enforce, and Raise), which outlines the key steps for effective tobacco control programs and additional letters -- E for Evaluate (and disseminate) and D for Diversify -- to address all of the key challenges that LGBT and overlapping disparity populations face. The target audience for the report includes policy makers, grant makers, grant applicants, and tobacco control program administrations.

Contact: Network for LGBT Health Equity, The Fenway Institute, Boston, MA Telephone: (617) 927-6451 E-mail: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com/contact/ Web Site: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Model programs, Prevention, Program improvement, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website provides resources for Native Generations, a campaign addressing high rates of infant mortality among American Indians and Alaska Natives which emphasizes connection to culturally-grounded health care and community services to promote healthy families and prevent infant deaths. It includes a video, materials for professionals to use in promoting the video, resources for new or expecting parents and caregivers, and reports.

Contact: Urban Indian Health Institute, Seattle Indian Health Board, P.O. Box 3364, Seattle, WA 98114, Telephone: (206) 812-3030 Fax: (206) 812-3044 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uihi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Culturally competent services, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: This toolkit for practitioners and researchers working with lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning (LGBTQ) youth outlines specific evidence-based programs, practice models, and assessment/evaluation tools used by agency staff working with LGBTQ youth who have run away from home or who are homeless. It highlights available training curricula on cultural sensitivity and standards of care for agency staff and the LGBTQ youth they serve, and includes sample agency non-discrimination policies. The toolkit draws its findings from interviews, literature reviews, and empirical research.

Contact: National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections, Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College, 2180 Third Avenue, 7th Floor, New York, NY 10035, Telephone: (212) 396-7562 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nrcpfc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Curricula, Homosexuality, Professional materials, Professional training, Program improvement, Youth

Annotation: This document summarizes a series of panel discussions conducted by the Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs at four National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program annual conferences in 1998, 2001, 2004, and 2007. The content is drawn from the panelists' personal experiences with and professional expertise in the cultural traditions that may affect a family's expression of grief and loss. Topics include history and culture, general bereavement customs, service delivery issues, recommendations for practice, and implications for providers. Cultures and religions described include African American, specific tribes of American Indians, Hispanic/Latino, Chinese, Hmong, Iranian, Jewish, Muslim, and deaf and hard-of-hearing, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Grief, Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Religion, Service delivery

Annotation: This document summarizes reflections on and recommendations for supports needed to advance and sustain diversity in MCH training programs. Topics include prioritizing diversity, expanding partnerships, new funding opportunities, and changes in program practices and activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, MCH training programs, Minority groups, Peer groups, Sustainability

Annotation: This compilation of 12 papers examines the distinct needs of children in the southwestern United States (Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico) and provides ideas for meeting those needs. Topics include changing demographics; inclusive, culturally relevant, and family-focused policy solutions; successful programs; and establishing common-ground for addressing challenges facing children in the Southwest.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Culturally competent services, Family centered care, Language, Model programs, Policy development, Regional factors, Sociocultural factors, Trends