Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (40 total).

Menard S. 2002. Short- and long-term consequences of adolescent victimization. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 15 pp. (Youth violence research bulletin)

Annotation: The study described in this bulletin uses data from the National Youth Survey to examine the consequences of adolescent victimization. It focuses on how being a victim of crime during adolescence affects the likelihood of certain negative outcomes in adulthood, including voluntary behaviors (e.g., committing crimes, using drugs) and involuntary outcomes (e.g., mental health problems). Topics include physical, medical, and financial costs; subsequent criminal behavior; mental health problems, and substance abuse. Survey methodology and findings are discussed with tables included for statistical data. References conclude the report.

Contact: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 810 Seventh Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20531, Telephone: (202) 307-5911 Web Site: http://www.ojjdp.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 191210.

Keywords: Adolescents, Costs, Crime, High risk adolescents, Risk factors, Victims, Violence

David and Lucile Packard Foundation. 2002. Children, youth, and gun violence. Los Altos, CA: David and Lucile Packard Foundation, 176 pp., exec. summ. (4 pp.). (The future of children; v. 12, no. 2, Summer/Fall 2002)

Annotation: This issue of "The Future of Children" focuses on youth gun violence in the United States, examining the impact of such violence upon children, families, and communities, and exploring policies that aim to reduce gun deaths and injuries to children and youth. The articles summarize the knowledge and research about how gun violence affects children and youth, and which policies hold promise for reducing youth gun violence. Also, program strategies are reviewed including efforts to change behavior regading gun ownership and storage among parents; engaging law enforcement and community leaders in anti-gun violence efforts; altering the design of guns to make them harder for children to use; and tightening laws refgarding gun sales to reduce youth access to guns. The issue also provides sections on federal firearm laws, a list of acronyms, and a selected bibliography. Each article includes endnotes and statistical information provided in narrative, graph, chart, and table formats.

Contact: David and Lucile Packard Foundation, 343 Second Street, Los Altos, CA 94022, Telephone: (650) 948-7658 E-mail: https://www.packard.org/contact-us Web Site: https://www.packard.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child safety, Children, Crime, Firearm safety, Gun violence, Injury prevention, Mortality, Program evaluation, Statistics, Weapons, Youth

U.S. General Accounting Office. 2002. Mental health services: Effectiveness of insurance coverage and federal programs for children who have experienced trauma largely unknown. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 108 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines information on the ability of children who have experienced trauma to obtain mental health services under Medicaid and SCHIP programs. It addresses (1) the extent to which private health insurance and the primary public programs that insure children -- Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP)--cover mental health services needed by children exposed to traumatic events and (2) other federal programs that help children who have experienced trauma receive needed mental health services. Extensive appendices include the scope and methodology of the report; data on victimization and the SCHIP program; selected insurer's coverage information; selected laws regarding mental health coverage; selected federal grant programs; state crime victim compensation benefits; and comments from three federal agencies. Statistics are provided throughout the report in table and chart format.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-02-813.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Crime, Health insurance, Medicaid, Program evaluation, Service delivery, State children', State legislation, Statistical data, Trauma care, Victims, s health insurance program

Finkelhor D, Ormrod R. 2001. Homicides of children and youth. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 11 pp. (Juvenile justice bulletin, Crimes against children series)

Annotation: This report draws on federal data to provide a statistical portrait of juvenile homicide victimization presented in overall patterns and victim age groups. Specific types of homicide victimization included are maltreatment, abduction, and school homicides. Initiatives designed to prevent homicide are discussed.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 187239.

Keywords: Abductions, Child death review, Children, Crime prevention, Family violence, Homicide, Maltreated children, Physical abuse, School violence, Statistical data, Victims, Violence prevention, Youth

Berinstein P. 2000. Finding statistics online: How to locate the elusive numbers you need [2nd Ed]. Medford, NJ: Information Today, 356 pp.

Annotation: This book is intended as both a how-to-do-it text and a desktop reference. Chapter 2 and the glossary of statistical terms provide information on understanding and using statistics. The book shows how to effectively search the Internet and professional online services for needed numbers. It discusses where and how to start searching, important systems and sources, and how to evaluate data for reliability. Chapters 5 through 18 discuss how to find statistics on demographics and population; industry, market, and general business; finance and economics; health and medicine; science, agriculture, and the environment; history; public opinion and trends; politics and government; sports, entertainment, and the arts; the law and crime; international issues; technology; education; and transportation.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0910965250.

Keywords: Art, Business, Crime, Demography, Economics, Education, Environment, Government, Health, History, Industry, Internet, Medicine, Political processes, Public opinion, Sports, Statistics, Technology, Transportation, Vital statistics

Richard AO. 2000. International trafficking in women in the United States: A contemporary manifestation of slavery and organized crime. Washington, DC: Center for the Study of Intelligence, 80 pp. (DCI Exceptional Intelligence Analyst Program: An intelligence monograph)

Annotation: This report discusses the trafficking of women for the sex industry or for labor in the United States. It includes information on the methods used to bring women to the United States, who the traffickers are, the ways women are criminally exploited, what industries are related to trafficking, and the issues and challenges associated with combating trafficking. The appendix discusses some recent major cases.

Contact: Center for the Study of Intelligence, Central Intelligence Agency, Office of Public Affairs, Washington, DC 20505, Telephone: (703) 482-0623 Fax: (703) 482-1739 Web Site: https://www.cia.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Crime, Undocumented immigrants, Victims, Women, Women', s rights

McCarthy A. 2000. Healthy teens: Facing the challenges of young lives. (3rd ed.). Birmingham, MI: Bridge Communications, 267 pp.

Annotation: This book, written for parents, caregivers, and professionals, provides information about adolescents and the challenges and issues that they encounter. Topics covered include healthy bodies and healthy minds; adolescents, families, and schools; mental health; adolescent sexuality and the case for abstinence; adolescent health and development; substance abuse; sexual harassment; safety and crime prevention; violence; life after high school; and how adolescents can help to build a better community.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health promotion, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Crime prevention, Mental health, Resilience, Risk taking, School to work transition, Substance abuse, Violence

Council of Economic Advisers. 1998. Changing America: Indicators of social and economic well-being by race and Hispanic origin. [Washington, DC]: Council of Economic Advisers; for sale by U.S. Government Printing Office, 74 pp.

Annotation: This chart book is intended to document current differences in well-being by race and Hispanic origin and to describe how such differences have evolved over the past several decades. The book is designed to educate Americans about the facts surrounding the issue of race in America. The charts show key indicators of well-being in seven broad categories: population, education, labor markets, economic status, health, crime and criminal justice, and housing and neighborhoods. This information is provided to be used as a benchmark for measuring future progress and can highlight priority areas for reducing disparities in well-being across racial and ethnic groups. The indicators in the charts were selected on the basis of their importance for economic well-being, as well as the quality and availability of data. The appendix indicates how to access additional information on these topics from federal government agencies.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-049616-0.

Keywords: Benchmarking, Bibliographies, Crime, Economics, Education, Health status, Housing, Minority groups, Population dynamics, Race, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, United States, World Wide Web

Laudencia A. 1997. Diverting our children from crime: Family-centered, community-based strategies for prevention. Washington, DC: Georgetown University, Graduate Public Policy Program; Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 27 pp. (DC Family Policy Seminar background briefing report)

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in May 1997 which focused on prevention of juvenile crime in the District of Columbia and provided research and program information on crime prevention strategies. The seminar organizers wanted to encourage collaboration among nonprofit organizations, government, community members, and families in order to curb juvenile crime rates in the District of Columbia. This report provides an overview of the problem of juvenile crime locally and nationally, presents research concerning the risk factors associated with juvenile crime, discusses innovative youth crime prevention models, and highlights current prevention programs in the District of Columbia. Appendices give a list of national resources, and District resources. Also included is a bibliography of works cited. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Community based services, Crime prevention, District of Columbia, Juvenile delinquents, Prevention programs

Schmittroth L, ed. 1995. Statistical record of women worldwide. (2nd ed.). Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1047 pp.

Annotation: This statistical summary presents data that reflect the condition of women, their lives, and their opportunities throughout the world. The preface describes the intent, methodology, and organization of the volume, and provides information on its use. It includes published and non-published data from governmental and non-governmental sources. The individual tables provide source information; a complete list of sources consulted is also included, and detailed indexes are provided. The range of topics covered are: attitudes and opinions; business and economics; crime, law enforcement, and legal justice; domestic life; education; health and medical care; income, spending, and wealth; labor, employment, and occupations; the military; population and vital statistics; public life; religion; sexuality; and sports and recreation.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8872-3.

Keywords: Attitudes, Business, Careers, Costs, Crime, Criminal justice system, Data, Demographics, Economic factors, Education, Employment, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Government, Health, Health services, International data, Labor, Law enforcement, Military, Political systems, Religion, Sex role, Sexuality, Sports, Vital statistics, Women, Women', s rights

Allegheny County Health Department. [1994?]. Health status and needs assessment of children in Allegheny County. Pittsburgh, PA: Allegheny County Health Department, 22 pp.

Annotation: This report on the health needs of children in Allegheny County includes the physical, environmental, social, and mental aspects of health. New morbidity is a prime focus of this report. Demographics for distribution of household income, overall population distribution and distribution by race are featured. Statistics are reported for chronic conditions, immunization rates, infectious diseases, tuberculosis, nutrition and psychical activity/fitness, and dental conditions. Maps designate the areas of high risk for natality, mortality, and behavior.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Crime, Demographics, Juvenile delinquents, Morbidity, Mortality, Needs assessment, Pennsylvania, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics

Schmittroth L, ed. 1994. Statistical record of children. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 983 pp.

Annotation: This statistical summary provides data on a wide range of topics that relate to health and well-being of children to the age of 14. The focus is primarily on children in the United States, but international data are provided for selected topics. Data cover adolescents between the ages 12–17 for certain subjects. The broad categories included are: population; vital statistics; education; health, nutrition, and medical care; child care; income and expenditures; crimes, misdemeanors, and violence; domestic life; sports and recreation; and international comparisons. The intent, organization, and methodology for the publication is discussed in the preface. Sources of information are provided for each data table, and a complete list of sources consulted is also included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Contact Phone: (800) 877-4253 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ $99.00; no shipping and handling if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-9196-1.

Keywords: Child care, Children, Costs, Crime, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Health, Health services, International data, Nutrition, Sports, United States, Violence, Vital statistics

Dunworth T, Saiger A. 1994. Drugs and crime in public housing: A three-city analysis. Washington, DC: National Institute of Justice, 103 pp. (National Institute of Justice research report)

Annotation: This report provides objective information on the extent and nature of crime in selected public housing developments in San Francisco, Phoenix, and Washington, DC. It analyzes the rates of drug use, violent offenses, and property offenses. It compares the data gathered within the housing developments against data gathered in nearby urban areas and to the rates in the cities overall. The results are intended for the use of federal, local, and private agencies concerned with drug use, crime in public housing, safety issues, and law enforcement.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 145329.

Keywords: Arizona, California, Crime, District of Columbia, Drug use, Public housing, Statistics

Bogenschneider K, ed. 1994. Promising approaches for addressing juvenile crime. (2nd ed.). Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin--Madison, School of Family Resources and Consumer Sciences, 44 pp. (Wisconsin family impact seminars briefing report)

Annotation: This briefing report provides a statistical overview of juvenile crime in Wisconsin, and discusses what we know about preventing youth crime. Wisconsin and national sources for further information are included.

Contact: University of Wisconsin, Madison, School of Family Resources and Consumer Services, 1300 Linden Drive, Room 141, Madison, WI 53706-1524, Telephone: (608) 262-4847 Fax: (608) 265-4969 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sohe.wisc.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Crime, Statistics, Wisconsin

National Crime Prevention Council. 1994. National service and public safety: Partnerships for safer communities. Washington, DC: National Crime Prevention Council, 68 pp.

Annotation: This report describes two programs created by the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993; the report consists of three parts. The first explains that partnerships between public safety groups and community service programs can result in safer communities by preventing crime and promoting community-based activities. This part explains how AmeriCorps, a federal program designed to involve adolescents and adults in such partnerships, and Learn and Serve America, a program just for adolescents, fulfill these objectives. The second part describes activities that can be undertaken at the local level through these two programs; and the third part includes guidelines for applying for federal funds provided through AmeriCorps and operating a program at the local level.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Single copies available at no charge. Document Number: NCJ 146842.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Community participation, Community service, Crime prevention, Federal programs, Program coordination, Safety

Riess AJ Jr, Roth JA, eds. 1993. Understanding and preventing violence. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 464 pp.

Annotation: In this book, comprised of 15 different papers, a panel of experts assimilate the diverse research on the patterns and characteristics of violent behavior in the United States, including behaviors that have only recently been recognized as crimes, such as incest and spousal and elder abuse. The book describes what is known about certain types of violence, details insights into risk factors for violent behavior in individuals and situations, and recommends new research efforts with short and long term payoffs. The authors also propose some answers, such as several preventive strategies for reducing firearm-related violence, that rely on existing laws. Tables and figures are included as well as author and panel biographies, references and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Alcohol use, Behavioral sciences, Child abuse, Crime, Crime, Drug use, Elder abuse, Family violence, Firearms, Gun control, Legislation, Media violence, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Statistics, Substance use, Weapons

De la Ros M, Lambert EY, Gropper B, eds. 1990. Drugs and violence: Causes, correlates, and consequences. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institute on Drug Abuse, 283 pp. (Research monograph series; 103)

Annotation: This monograph is based on papers and discussions from a technical review on drugs and violence held in September 1989, sponsored by the National Institute on Drug Abuse and the National Institute of Justice. The thirteen papers cover such topics as crack houses, gangs, drugs and violence; street prostitution and drug-related violence; mental illness and violence; and the connection between substance abuse and violence. A list of National Institute of Drug Research Monographs is included at the end of the book along with ordering information.

Keywords: Alcohol use, Crime, Drug use, Gangs, Homicide, Substance use, Violence

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1932. Facts about juvenile delinquency: Its prevention and treatment. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 45 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 215)

Annotation: This publication presents information about the prevention and treatment of juvenile delinquency based on the report of the delinquency committee of the White House Conference on Child Health and Protection issued in 1932. Topics covered include the nature and extent of juvenile delinquency, prevention and treatment programs, and national, state, and local cooperation in the development of local resources. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Crime prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Juvenile justice, Reports

Burke DW. 1930. Youth and crime: A study of the prevalence and treatment of delinquency among boys over juvenile-court age in Chicago. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 205 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 196)

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Age groups, Court jurisdiction, Crime, Illinois, Juvenile courts, Juvenile delinquency, Men, Reports, Young adults

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Special report to the U.S. Congress on alcohol and health. Rockville, MD: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, triennial.

Annotation: This report describes current progress in research on alcohol abuse and alcoholism. Topics covered include epidemiology, genetics and environment, neuroscience, medical consequences, fetal alcohol syndrome and other effects of alcohol on pregnancy outcome, adverse social consequences, diagnosis and assessment of alcohol use disorders, prevention, early and minimal intervention, and treatment.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available in libraries; some editions available from the web. Document Number: DHHS (ADM) 87-1579 (6th), DHHS (ADM) 90-1656 (7th), DHHS (ADM) 281-91-0003 (8th).

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age, Alaska natives, Alcohol use, American Indians, Attitudes, Blacks, Blood alcohol concentration, Brain injuries, Codes, College students, Community programs, Costs, Counseling, Crime, Demographics, Domestic violence, Drowning, Drug use, Education, Environment, Epidemiology, Ethnic groups, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Gender, Genetics, Hawaiians, Homeless persons, Industry, Injuries, Intervention, Legislation, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Motorcycles, Older adults, Pedestrians, Pregnant women, Prevention, Psychology, Questionnaires, Race, Railroads, Regulations, Seat belts, Social learning, Trauma

« Previous Page