Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 37 (37 total).

Kearney MS, Levine PB. 2007. Subsidized contraception, fertility, and sexual behavior. [Ann Arbor, MI]: National Poverty Center, 38 pp. (Working paper series no. 07-11)

Annotation: This paper examines the impact of recent state-level Medicaid policy changes that expanded eligibility for family planning services to higher-income women and to Medicaid clients whose benefits would expire otherwise. The paper begins by establishing that the income-based policy change led to a substantial increase in the number of program recipients. The paper then goes on to examine vital statistics birth data from 1990 to 2003. State-level analyses are supplemented with an investigation of individual-level data from the 1988, 1995, and 2002 National Surveys on Family Growth to examine the impact of these policies on sexual behavior and contraceptive use. Statistical data are presented in tables and figures at the end of the report. A conclusion and references are included.

Contact: National Poverty Center, University of Michigan, Joan and Sanford Weill Hall, Suite 5100, 735 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-3091, Telephone: (734) 615-5312 Fax: (734) 615-8047 Web Site: http://npc.umich.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraceptive use, Eligibility, Family planning, Income factors, Medicaid, Public policy, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Statistical data, Women', s health

Salem RM. 2007. Closing the effectiveness gap. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 20 pp. (Info reports; issue no. 13)

Annotation: This document addresses the effectiveness of contraceptives for different methods of use or user ability. It provides advice to family planning programs about how to achieve contraceptive effectiveness through increased access, instruction, combined contraceptive use, and counseling methods.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs, 111 Market Place, Suite 310, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 659-6300 Fax: (410) 659-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jhuccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive use, Family planning education, Unplanned pregnancy

Boonstra HD, Gold RB, Richards CL, Finer LB. 2006. Abortion in women's lives. New York, NY: Alan Guttmacher Institute , 44 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines the history of reproductive choice in the United States and the role abortion plays in women's lives. Topics include contraception, unintended pregnancy, abortion before legalization, a history of legalized abortion, the long-term safety of abortion, lingering disparities in access to and utilization of abortion services, and recommendations for policies and programs. Additional information and examples are provided from international sources. Appendices include an overview of state policies on abortion and state abortion data. References are provided and statistical data are provided throughout the report.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abortion, Contraception, Contraceptive use, Family planning, National survey, Policy analysis, Pregnant women, Public policy, Reproductive rights, State surveys, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy, Women', s health

Ryan S, Franzetta K, Manlove J. 2005. Hispanic teen pregnancy and birth rates: Looking behind the numbers. Washington, DC: Child Trends, 7 pp. (Child Trends research brief)

Annotation: This research brief seeks to provide a broad understanding of the sexual, contraceptive, and relationship behaviors of Hispanic adolescents to help program providers and others address this population's needs more effectively. The brief presents data from several sources, combining findings from recently collected data with new analyses of data from the 1990s, to draw a picture of the reproductive behaviors and outcomes of Hispanic adolescents. The brief discusses pregnancies and births and sex, relationships, and contraception. A summary, a discussion, and a conclusion are also included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief. The brief includes endnotes.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Contraceptive use, Hispanic Americans, Relationships, Reproductive health

Rector R, Johnson KA. 2005. Adolescent virginity pledges and risky sexual behaviors. Washington, DC: Heritage Foundation, ca. 20 pp.

Annotation: The paper provides results of an examination of data from the Add Health database related to virginity pledgers and oral and anal sex. It offers a comparison of pledgers and non-pledgers and of sexually active adolescents; discusses the role of social background variables and the focal point of the Bearman/Bruckner argument (which presents different conclusions using the same data); virginity pledgers, risk behavior, and sexually transmitted diseases; pledging and contraceptive use; information associated with the Bearman/Bruckner argument; and the overall impact of virginity pledges. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report and in a technical appendix.

Contact: Heritage Foundation, 214 Massachusetts Avenue, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4999, Telephone: (202) 546-4400 Fax: (202) 546-8328 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.heritage.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Contraceptive use, MCH research, Risk taking, Sexual intercourse, Sexually transmitted diseases

U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Government Reform—Minority Staff Special Investigations Division. 2004. The content of federally funded abstinence-only education programs. Washington, DC: Committee on Government Reform Minority Office, U.S. House of Representatives, 22 pp.

Annotation: This report evaluates the content of the most popular abstinence-only curricula used by grantees of the largest federal abstinence initiative, SPRANS (Special Programs of Regional and National Significance) Community-Based Abstinence Education. Included are an executive summary, background on abstinence-only programs, the purpose and methodology of the evaluation, a review of the findings, and a conclusion. Topics include how the majority of abstinence-only curricula contain false and misleading information about (1) the effectiveness of contraceptives, (2) risks of abortion, (3) how abstinence-only curricula blur religion and science, (4) how stereotypes about girls and boys are treated as fact, (5) the risks of sexual activity, and (6) how curricula contain scientific errors.

Contact: U.S. Congress. House of Representatives, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, 2157 Rayburn House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515, Telephone: (202) 225-5051 Web Site: http://oversight.house.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Abortion, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Contraception, Contraceptive use, Curricula, Disease prevention, Federal grants, Federal programs, Misinformation, Pregnancy, Program evaluation, SPRANS, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Mosher WD, Martinez GM, Chandra A, Abma JC, Willson SJ. 2004. Use of contraception and use of family planning services in the United States: 1982-2002. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 36 pp. (Advance data from vital and health statistics; no. 350)

Annotation: This report presents national estimates of contraceptive use and method choice based on the 1982, 1995, and 2002 National Survey of Family Growth. The report also presents data on where women obtained family planning and medical services, and some of the services that they received. The report, which includes an abstract and highlights, also discusses the methods, presents the results, and offers a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report and in tables grouped together at the end of the report. References are included.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Contraceptive use, Data, Families, Family planning, Health services, Reproductive health, Research, Surveys, Women', s health

Alford S. 2004. Adolescent protective behaviors: Abstinence and contraceptive use. [Rev. ed.]. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 2 pp. (The facts)

Annotation: This fact sheet contains information about adolescent abstinence and contraceptive use. The fact sheet includes information in four categories: abstinence rates in 2003 vs. in 1991, typical age of sexual initiation in the United States and elsewhere, adolescent use of condoms, and adolescents' use of other contraceptive methods.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Contraceptive use

Hoff T, Greene L, David J. 2003. National survey of adolescents and young adults: Sexual health knowledge, attitudes, and experiences. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 136 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a survey of a nationally representative sample of adolescents and young adults of the sexual behavior of young people, their knowledge about sex and sexual health risks, and the social pressures and influences they experience around sexual issues. Report sections include: a summary of key findings; general attitudes, concerns and pressures about sexual health; sexual behavior and experiences; HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases; contraception and protection; sources of sexual health information and information needs; and issues specific to young adolescents (ages 13 to 14). Additional sections provide information on survey methodology and references. The appendix includes the survey questionnaire and further detail on findings.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Attitudes, Contraception, Contraceptive use, HIV, Information sources, Peer pressure, Questionnaires, Sexual behavior, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Surveys, Young adults

Leigh WA, Andrews JL. 2002. Contraceptive use. Washington, DC: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 6 pp. (Fact sheets on the reproductive health of African American adolescents)

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines information about contraceptive use by African-American males, including types of contraceptives used, comparison with other racial groups, and effectiveness of education and intervention on contraceptive use. Four tables present statistical data for female contraceptive use as well as male condom use. This fact sheet is a summary from the full report: The Reproductive Health of African American Adolescents: What We Know and What We Don't Know.

Contact: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 805 15th Street, 2nd Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-3500 Fax: (202) 789-6390 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jointcenter.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Contraception, Contraceptive devices, Contraceptive use, Males, Sexual behavior, Statistical data, Surveys

Chadwick BA, Heaton TB, eds. 1999. Statistical handbook on the American family. (2nd ed.). Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 326 pp.

Annotation: This handbook presents data for interested individuals to use in making their own informed evaluation about the American family. It includes previously unpublished data plus data from a wide array of published material. Topics covered include: marriage; quality of marriage and family life; divorce; children; sexual attitudes and behavior and contraceptive use; living arrangements and kinship ties; working women, wives and mothers; family violence; and elderly families.

Keywords: Children, Contraceptive use, Divorce, Domestic violence, Families, Marriage, Older adults, Sexual attitudes, Sexual behavior, Statistics, Working women

Card JJ, Nelson-Kilger S, Muller KL. 1997. Just the facts: What science has found out about teenage sexuality and pregnancy in the United States. Los Altos, CA: Sociometrics Corporation, 142 pp.

Annotation: This illustrated fact book contains narrative, graphs, and charts to highlight research facts for educators, parents, and older adolescents. The goal of the book is to provide facts useful to sexual, contraceptive, pregnancy, and parenthood decision-making.

Contact: Sociometrics Corporation, 170 State Street, Suite 260, Los Altos, CA 94022-2812, Telephone: (650) 949-3282 Secondary Telephone: (800) 846-3475 Fax: (650) 949-3299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.socio.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Contraceptive use, Decision making, Parenting

Zipperer G, Couwenhoven T. 1994. Teen to teen: A sexuality and life skills teaching system for teens. Milwaukee, WI: Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin, Community Education and Training, 284 pp.

Annotation: This training guide is designed to help adolescent peer educators understand sexuality issues. The document explains how to establish an adolescent peer program in a community and how to use the curriculum. The curriculum covers the following subject areas: 1) human sexuality; 2) anatomy and physiology; 3) human growth and development; 4) reproductive health; 5) values and decision-making; 6) life options; 7) sexual offenses and relationships; 8) contraception; 9) adolescent pregnancy and parenthood; and 10) communication. Additional resources and an index of activities are provided.

Contact: Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin, Community Education and Training, 302 North Jackson Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202, Telephone: (414) 271-8045 Web Site: http://www.ppwi.org/communityeducation/thebuckstartshereeducation.aspx $89.95; $79.95 for non-profit; + $6.00 for shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent programs, Cleveland Healthy Start, Communication, Community programs, Contraception, Contraceptive use, Curricula, Peer education, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Training materials

Alan Guttmacher Institute. 1990. Readings on teenage pregnancy from Family Planning Perspectives, 1985 through 1989. New York, NY: Alan Guttmacher Institute, 352 pp.

Annotation: This book contains articles on adolescent pregnancy published in "Family Planning Perspectives" from 1985 through 1989. The articles are arranged in chronological order by topic: overview, sexual activity, contraceptive use, sex education, school-based health clinics, adolescent mothers, adolescent fathers and adolescent males, and programs and evaluation.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Contact Phone: (800) 825-0061 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Contraceptive use, Prevention, Programs, School based clinics, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education

Berkowitz SA with Bernstein M. 1979. Final report: Development and testing of modes for delivering nutrition education and counseling to patients in family planning clinics. San Francisco, CA: Development Associates, ca. 200 pp.

Maher SM, O'Brien R. 1979. Integration of nutrition services in family planning clinics: A rationale for the development of a nutrition intervention protocol. Washington, DC: Human Resources Management, ca. 250 pp.

Development Associates. 1978. Work plan: Development and testing of modes for delivering nutrition education and counseling to patients in family planning circles. San Francisco, CA: Development Associates, 113 pp.

« Previous Page    

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.