Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes a study to determine the effectiveness of using administrative data from the HUSKY Program’s medical administrative services organization to identify pregnant women for targeted oral health outreach. HUSKY is Connecticut’s public health coverage program for eligible children, parents, relative caregivers, senior citizens, individuals with disabilities, adults without children, and pregnant women within the income guidelines. The report describes study methods and presents results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Health insurance, Low income groups, Oral health, Outreach, Pregnant women, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report examines how the length of time that children are enrolled in the Medicaid program in Connecticut affects their access to preventive well-child and preventive oral health care. Topics include care use by months enrolled and recommendations for ensuring ongoing coverage for children.

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Connecticut, Dental care, Dental insurance, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This infographic presents information on the percentage of children enrolled in HUSKY A (Medicaid) in Connecticut who received preventive oral health care by race/ethnicity, factors that increased children’s likelihood of receiving preventive oral health care, the impact of each factor on the likelihood that children will receive preventive oral health care, and the impact of all three factors on the likelihood that children will receive such care. Topics include continuous coverage, receipt of well child care, and parents who received preventive oral health care. Steps to ensure that families have access to and use oral health care are also described.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This document provides recommendations and strategies for improving birth outcomes in Connecticut. Contents include the list of organizations represented on the Connecticut Coalition to Improve Birth Outcomes and how they used policy analysis tools to identify priorities and recommendations, and the Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network that supports the strategies outlined in the plan. Topics include addressing socioeconomic factors, making the healthy choices the easy choice, protecting individuals, implementing evidence-based interventions in clinical settings, and providing individual or public educational messages and support. Information about the perinatal landscape, emerging issues, and suggestions for using the plan are also included.

Contact: Community Foundation of Greater New Haven, 70 Audubon Street, New Haven, CT 06510-9755, Telephone: (203) 777-2386 Fax: (203) 787-6584 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cfgnh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health disparities, Infant mortality, Infants, Low birthweight, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Program improvement, Service integration, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This public health alert outlines infant fatalities and unsafe sleep conditions in Connecticut and provides recommendations for prevention. Contents include risk factors associated with infant fatality including sudden unexplained or undetermined infant death, case examples, and a definition of an unsafe sleep-related infant fatality. Additional content includes information on how often infants die from unsafe sleeping conditions; the most common unsafe sleep environments in fatality cases; infant fatalities over time and trends; and the Connecticut Department of Children and Families' role in infant death prevention and policy development. The alert includes recommendations for policymakers, in-home service providers, child care providers, pediatricians, and hospitals, and safe sleep guidelines for parents.

Contact: Connecticut Office of Governmental Accountability, Office of the Child Advocate, 999 Asylum Avenue, 1st Floor, Hartford, CT 06105, Telephone: (860) 566-2106 Secondary Telephone: (800) 994-0939 Fax: (860) 566-2251 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/oca Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Connecticut, Infant death, Infant mortality, Policy development, Protective factors, Public awareness materials, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State programs, Trends

Annotation: This report reviews evidence supporting implementing child obesity prevention strategies based on the maternal-child life course approach. Topics include cumulative caloric imbalance and childhood obesity, periconceptional nutrition, weight gain during pregnancy, maternal smoking during pregnancy, breastfeeding, complementary feeding, development of food taste preferences in the infancy period, weight gain during the first year of life, and toddler and preschool nutrition. Contents include a summary of the science and implications for policy and practice, initiatives in Connecticut to reduce child obesity risk factors among children under age 3, and recommendations for action.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Connecticut, Food habits, Gestational weight gain, Infant feeding, Infants, Life course, Model programs, Obesity, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Risk factors, State initiatives, Weight, Young children

Annotation: This flyer provides parents with information about oral health care for themselves and their infant. It offers tips for how to keep the mouth healthy during pregnancy and explains why doing so is important for both pregnant women and their infant. Also included are tips for taking care of infants’ and children’s mouths, contact information for help finding a dentist in Connecticut, and illustrated instructions for how to use dental floss. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Financing, Infants, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This brief describes a study on factors that affect the ability and inclination of pregnant women with low incomes in Connecticut to seek oral health care. The brief outlines reasons for seeking oral health care during pregnancy as well as several barriers related to obtaining care, and it provides recommendations for overcoming barriers.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• Brief
• Web Page

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Connecticut, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of the impact of higher reimbursement rates on oral health care in Connecticut’s Husky A program for children from families with low incomes in the state. Topics include changes in utilization rates, private dentist participation, and relative contributions of private practices and dental safety net providers.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care utilization, Access to health care, Children, Connecticut, Low income groups, Oral health, Provider participation, Reimbursement, State programs

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to the Medicaid and CHIP Risk-Based Managed Care in 20 States report, focuses on 20 states' Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care payment methods and spending. The states are Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The report addresses two research questions: (1) how do the 20 states establish capitation rates in their Medicaid and CHIP managed care programs, and how have their approaches to and policies for rate setting changed over the past decade and (2) how does monthly Medicaid spending for four distinct managed care enrollee populations (adults and children, with and without disabilities) vary among the 20 states? The report introduces the issues and presents the study approach, methods, findings, and a discussion.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Arizona, California, Children, Children', Connecticut, Costs, Delaware, Disabilities, Florida, Managed care, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, State programs, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: These documents provides a blueprint for health care delivery in Connecticut and a resource guide for health care facilities and services planning. Topics include the current health care environment; acute care facilities, use, and trends; at-risk and vulnerable populations and unmet needs; current initiatives to address unmet health care needs among vulnerable populations; and recommendations and next steps.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Connecticut, Health care delivery, Health facilities, Health services delivery, Public health, Resources for professionals, Statewide planning, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report presents findings from an oral health screening survey of children enrolled in Head Start and students in kindergarten and third grade in Connecticut. Contents include information on the importance of oral health, key findings and strategies, survey methods, and data tables. Data are compared to national averages. Topics include tooth decay experience, untreated decay, rampant decay, need for care, and dental sealants.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

• 2012 Edition
• 2007 Edition

Keywords: Connecticut, Elementary schools, Head Start, Health status, Kindergarten, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This report describes a program that focuses on the belief that oral health in early childhood is integral to young children’s overall health and well-being. Contents include a summary of the burden of early childhood oral disease, program experiences to date, and program impacts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Early childhood caries, Final reports, Oral health, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This 5-year needs assessment for the Connecticut MCH Title V Program discusses the process for conducting the needs assessment, partnership building and collaboration efforts, strengths and needs of the maternal and children health (MCH) population groups and desired outcomes, MCH program capacity, selection of state priority needs, and federal and state outcome measures.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Connecticut, Families, Infant health, Low income groups, MCH programs, Needs assessment, Prevention, State programs, Title V programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance for communities working to ensure that young children are ready for school and to enhance efforts to prepare them for success in school. Topics include identifying critical child health issues, resources, strengths, and needs; bridging child health systems with other community systems; engaging child health professionals; and integrating child health recommendations into early care and education settings.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Child care, Connecticut, Early childhood education, Health care systems, Infants, Service integration, State initiatives, Young children

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death, Child death review, Connecticut, Evaluation, Reports, State Initiatives, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This online video discusses the early intervention home visit program in Connecticut. It describes what parents can expect during the visit, interacting with the primary caregiver and the child to promote early learning during routine activities such as mealtime and playtime. Models are discussed as "parent coaching" and emphasis is placed on the home visitor and caregiver working together during and after the visit in helping the infant and young child to develop. The video is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Connecticut Birth to Three System , 460 Capitol Avenue , Hartford , CT 06106, Telephone: (860) 418-6134 Secondary Telephone: (800) 505-7000 Fax: (860) 418-6003 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.birth23.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Caregivers, Connecticut, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Home visiting, Infants, Parent child relations, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This needs assessment provides information about maternal, infant, and early childhood home visiting in Connecticut. The report discusses at-risk communities' need for home visiting services; home visiting services in Connecticut; the status of Connecticut's maternal, infant, and early childhood service system; and the statewide and at-risk community data report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Communities, Connecticut, Families, Health services, High risk groups, Home visiting, Infant health, Needs assessment, State programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This resource for parents of children with special health care needs (CSHCN) includes ways to organize children's health information, information about caring for children's special needs, resources, and tips from other parents of CSHCN. The resource includes many forms that parents can fill out. It also contains a list of links to Connecticut state and national organizations. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Connecticut, Consumer education materials, Medical records, Resource materials, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This document describes Connecticut's plan to implement a statewide dental sealant program. It discusses the state's sealant objectives, existing infrastructure, and needs assessment findings on the status of children's oral health and access to care. Topics include findings from state surveys and the Children's Health Insurance Program (HUSKY) on the number of children with sealants, the oral health safety net, the distribution of dentists, and community water fluoridation. Additional topics include the sealant pilot program and sustainability and expansion of sealant programs throughout the state.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Connecticut, Dental sealants, Oral health, State programs, Statewide planning