Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document provides guidance for caseworkers, foster parents, and other caregivers on supporting children and adolescents who have experienced trauma and are working to improve their mental health. Topics include understanding trauma and behavioral/mental health of youth, understanding different treatment options, seeking help for youth, and monitoring treatment and supporting progress. Tips for using the guide with youth are included.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Caregivers, Case management, Child mental health, Confidentiality, Decision making, Foster care, Foster children, Health literacy, Mental health services, Patient rights

Annotation: This document reports findings from a study to determine what organizational factors local health department staff perceive as necessary to support their use of social media and mobile health technologies for emergency preparedness. Contents include the study methods, findings, and recommendations for policy and practice. Topics include in-house capacity, leadership support and policies, legal and security issues, and audiences. Case studies are also included.

Contact: UPMC Center for Health Security, 621 E. Pratt Street, Suite 210, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (443) 573-3304 Fax: (443) 573-3305 Web Site: http://www.upmchealthsecurity.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Case studies, Confidentiality, Disaster planning, Health agencies, Legal issues, Local agencies, Policy analysis, Policy development, Research, Social media, Technology

Annotation: This guide provides tips for organizations and individuals communicating about mental health and suicide on social media to reduce stigma, increase help-seeking behavior, and help prevent suicide. Topics include social media strategy, content considerations on mental health and suicide prevention, language and images, building online engagement, privacy and safety concerns, addressing suicide-related posts by others, and additional resources.

Contact: Entertainment Industries Council, 1856 Old Reston Ave, Suite 215, Reston, VA 20190, Telephone: (703) 481-1414 Secondary Telephone: 800-783-3421 Fax: (703) 481-1418 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.eiconline.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Confidentiality, Electronic communications, Media, Mental health, Social interaction, Social responsibility, Suicide prevention

Annotation: The report provides information about the plan, operations, and analysis of the first national-level survey to estimate the physical activity and fitness levels of children and adolescents ages 3-15 in the United States. Contents include information on the planning and sample design; ethical, privacy, and confidentiality considerations; field operations; mobile examination center operations; a report of findings and remuneration; and data release and analytic guidelines.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS Pub. No. 2014–1363.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Confidentiality, Data analysis, Data collection, Evaluation methods, National surveys, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Research design

Annotation: This policy brief examines the extent to which explanations of benefits (EOBs) have the potential to threaten confidentiality for adolescents and young adults, the benefits and limitations of various strategies, as well as other potential policy or programmatic solutions. Topics include tension between billing transparency and client confidentiality; EOB suppression (opting in versus opting out); enforcement, operations, and evaluation of policy changes; and engaging multiple stakeholders, especially the insurance industry.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 513 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94143-0410, Telephone: (415) 476-5255 Web Site: http://healthpolicy.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Confidentiality, Employee benefits, Health care reform, Health insuring organizations, Policy development

Annotation: This brief identifies key issues affecting access to sensitive services for young people in California under health reform, summarizes current federal and state confidentiality guidelines with special attention to the role of electronic health records (EHR), and highlights EHR challenges and opportunities to protect confidentiality while providing sensitive services.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 513 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94143-0410, Telephone: (415) 476-5255 Web Site: http://healthpolicy.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, California, Confidentiality, Consumer protection, Guidelines, Health care reform, Medical records management, Policy development, Young adults

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on national and state efforts to secure comprehensive confidentiality protections for young adults insured as dependents. Topics include Affordable Care Act provisions related to young adults, insurance communications that may compromise young adults' confidentiality and negatively impact their health, young adults' need for confidentiality as recognized by law and state law approaches to securing confidentiality in dependent coverage. Recommendations are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Confidentiality, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medical records, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient rights, Reproductive health, Sexual health, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This brief describes approaches by several states to address confidentiality concerns of dependents, often minors or young adults, related to use of medical services covered by the insurance of their parents or other persons. Topics include explanations of benefits and who can see them, sexuality transmitted diseases treatment, and broader confidentiality provisions.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Confidentiality, Health insurance

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of research representative of the depth and breadth of publications addressing child and youth online safety. Contents include an analysis of key findings, knowledge gaps, and policy recommendations. Topics include cyberbullying, sexual solicitation and unwanted exposure to sexual content, the role of privacy, parent and community involvement, and intergenerational gaps in attitudes toward internet safety issues.

Contact: Brookings Institution, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 797-6000 Fax: (202) 797-6004 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookings.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Communication, Confidentiality, Internet, Interpersonal relations, Measures, Online systems, Policy development, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Research, Risk factors, Safety, Sexual harassment, Trust

Annotation: This paper examines the preventive services available to young people through the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and how advocates, policymakers, and program planners can help ensure that young people have access to the health care they need. Topics include preventive services available without cost-sharing, which plans must comply, when services are covered, preventive services and Medicaid, enforcement of the ACA, and barriers to access for young people, and recommendations. Descriptions of ACA regulations affecting youth are provided in the appendix.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Confidentiality, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Sexual health, Youth

Annotation: This document describes a 6-year plan to estimate the prevalence of oral disease in Michigan. The purpose of the plan is to identify vulnerable population groups, monitor trends in oral health indicators, evaluate the effectiveness of programs and policy changes, and communicate information for decision-making. Topics include oral health indicators, data sources, the data-collection schedule, dissemination, privacy and confidentiality, and evaluation.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Confidentiality, Data collection, Data sources, Health status, Information dissemination, Michigan, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Statewide planning, Trends

Annotation: This paper examines the federal legal framework that surrounds the use and disclosure of health information across health care, educational, and social service settings for Medicaid-eligible children. The analysis begins with a discussion of the overarching considerations that apply to federal laws governing health information privacy, including client-professional relationships, parent-child relationships, and treatment across multiple care settings. Additional topics include an overview of relevant laws and regulations and the types of information-management and exchange issues that arise when professionals who practice in different systems are engaged in caring for children in Medicaid. Recommendations are also presented.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Confidentiality, EPSDT, Health services, Information systems, Legal issues, Legislation, Medicaid, Medical records, Systems development

Annotation: This guidance is designed to help Promise Neighborhoods implementation grantees collect and assemble indicators to benchmark and track progress over time. Contents include an overview of data collection and use, the structure of a data system, indicators, core elements of the case management system, ensuring confidentiality and data security, neighborhood and school climate surveys, and neighborhood- and school-level data.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Innovation and Improvement, Promise Neighborhoods, LBJ Building, Room 4W338, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202-5970, Telephone: (202) 453-6615 Fax: (202) 401-4123 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/programs/promiseneighborhoods/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Case management, Community development, Confidentiality, Data, Data collection, Family support programs, Federal initiatives, Information systems, Measures, Neighborhoods, Outcome and process assessment, School surveys, Schools, Systems development

Annotation: This updated report focuses on children who die as a result of child abuse and neglect, and what can be done to alleviate the problem. The report discusses the preventable nature of child abuse deaths and the importance of elevating the protection of children to a national priority, the magnitude of the problem, the relationship between child abuse and neglect deaths and extensive child maltreatment, child abuse and neglect in the United States compared with other countries, geographical factors, lack of resources and training, confidentiality laws, poverty, and the need for government action.

Contact: Every Child Matters Education Fund, 1023 15th Street, NW, Suite 401 , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 223-8177 Fax: (202) 223-8499 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildmatters.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Awareness Video

Keywords: Child abuse, Child death, Child neglect, Confidentiality, Geographic factors, Maltreated children, Poverty, Prevention, Training

Annotation: This brief summarizes policies on minors' access to prenatal care in states across the country. It describes how these policies have changed over the past 30 years and highlights the differences in state laws regarding a minor's ability to access prenatal care. A chart indicates which states have explicit policies; whether or not parental consent is required for treatment; and whether or not physicians are allowed to inform parents when providing prenatal care to minors.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Confidentiality, Parental consent, Policy, Prenatal care, State legislation

Annotation: This issue brief reviews the importance of access to confidential health services for adolescents and young adults, the legal protections in place to ensure confidential care delivery for them, and health insurance system barriers and other challenges to delivering that confidential care. The brief then presents several opportunities for health insurers to ensure that their billing processes are protecting adolescents’ and young adults’ access to confidential care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Confidentiality, Health insurance, Health services, Young adults

Annotation: This adolescent reproductive health toolkit includes Colorado-specific statutes and information related to minor consent and confidentiality. Adapted from a toolkit developed by the Adolescent Health Working Group and the Adolescent Health Collaborative, the tooklit includes legal information, charts on minor consent and confidentiality, practice tools, resource sheets, online resources and research, information addressing issue of Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), and health education handouts for adolescents and their parents or guardians. The information applies to teens who use school-based health centers, and to teens accessing services in a variety of medical settings.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Colorado, Confidentiality, Consent, Parental consent, Patient consent, Reproductive health, State legislation

Annotation: These guidelines outline procedures for providing reasonable accommodation for individuals with disabilities that comply with Equal Employment Opportunity Commission guidance and are consistent with Department of Health and Human Services procedures. Guideline topics include policy on reasonable accommodation, definitions, responsibility, procedures for responding to requests, determining who will respond to requests, time frames, response process, written requests, requests for medical information, confidentiality, funding, reassignment, granting or denying requests, reasonable accommodations agreement, appeals, information tracking and reporting, statutory claims, and distribution and inquiries.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Confidentiality, Equal opportunities, Financing, Guidelines, Special health care needs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the provision of confidential contraceptive services as an essential part of comprehensive health care and pregnancy prevention for adolescents. Contents include statistics; research findings; and information on professional organization policies and state and federal laws that help to ensure adolescents' access to contraceptive services and provide confidentiality protections. The fact sheet also provides information and tips for adolescent on rights and expectations, consenting to care, and confidentiality. Organizational resources and references are included.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Fast Facts Series

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Confidentiality, Consent, Contraception, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, Reproductive rights

Annotation: This report discusses the role of reproductive care in women's health throughout the lifespan. The report calls for a health reform agenda that links prenatal, family planning, and medical care for women; ensures that Americans receive accurate health information and are assured of confidentiality; and links reproductive health care with screening and follow-up for health needs later in life. The report discusses healthy pregnancy, health during the reproductive years, noncontraceptive benefits of contraception, and reforming women's reproductive health.

Contact: Columbia University, Mailman School of Public Health, Allan Rosenfeld Building, 630 West 168th Street, New York, NY 10032-2603, Telephone: (212) 305-4797 Fax: (212) 305-1460 Web Site: http://www.mailman.hs.columbia.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Confidentiality, Contraception, Family planning, Health care, Health care reform, Infant health, Older adults, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Screening, Women', s health