Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of state and local Fetal and Infant Mortality (FIMR) coordinators about their FIMR team structure, process, and activities. Contents include information about operations at the local level to examine medical, nonmedical, and systems-related factors and circumstances contributing to fetal and infant deaths. Information about FIMR and child death review collaboration is also included. Survey results are provided in a set of tables following the narrative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, County programs, Fetal death, Infant death, Infant death review committees, Injury prevention, Local initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Program coordination, Systems development, Teamwork

Annotation: This report proposes a population-centered framework to guide action and coordination among stakeholders to improve eye and vision health and health equity in the United States. The report also introduces a model for action that highlights different levels of prevention activities across a range of stakeholders and provides specific examples of how population health strategies can be translated into cohesive areas for action at federal, state, and local levels. Topics include the epidemiology of vision loss and impairment; the impact of vision loss; surveillance and research; the role of public health and partnerships to promote eye and vision health in communities; access to clinical vision services (work force and coverage); a high quality clinical eye and vision service delivery system; and improving diagnosis, rehabilitation, and accessibility.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community action, Eye care, Health care reform, Health disparities, Health insurance, Models, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Prevention services, Program coordination, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Research, Service delivery systems, Vision, Vision disorders, Work force

Annotation: This document for physical educators provides guidance on ensuring that students in community-based transition programs receive physical education services in community settings, and that those services are developed and implemented by certified adapted physical education teachers. Contents include background, reasons for concern, clarification from the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs, a call to action, and best practices and recommendations for providing meaningful physical education services in secondary special education transition programs.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community action, Community based services, Disabilities, Models, Nutrition education, Physical activity, Physical education, Students, Teaching, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This toolkit provides step-by-step instructions for initiating a conversation with school district leaders about "open use," a policy that allows free community access to school district property for individual play and physical activity without a partnership or agreement with another public entity or a third party. The toolkit also links to resources such as community examples of open use policy (or shared use agreement; a model open use policy for school districts; and an active spaces research review, issue brief, and infographics.

Contact: Salud America!, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Institute for Health Promotion Research, 7411 John Smith, Suite 1000, San Antonio, TX 78229, Telephone: (210) 562-6500 Fax: (210) 562-6545 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://salud-america.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Boards of education, Child health, Community action, Health policy, Health promotion, Models, Physical activity, Policy development, School districts

Annotation: This document describes progress toward educational equity and opportunities to achieve shared goals by aligning assets and expertise across networks, school districts, and communities. Contents include a unifying concept of student-centered education and five principles for driving the work. Topics include trusting relationships, cross-sector partnerships, purposeful engagement, actionable data, and shared accountability.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, Coalition for Community Schools, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 20008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 X111 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.communityschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Barriers, Collaboration, Community action, Data, Education, Equal opportunities, Ethnic groups, Networking, Policy development, Poverty, Public private partnerships, Race, Social support, Trust

Annotation: This document describes a set of process and outcome metrics related to promoting equity through health impact assessment (HIA). The metrics emphasize community empowerment through the practice of HIA as a key process for advancing equity. Each metric is accompanied by an identified data source that includes how the process of the HIA engaged and built capacity of communities to increase their influence over decisions within the HIA and in other venues.

Contact: Society of Practitioners of Health Impact Assessment, 304 12th Street, Suite 2B, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 452-9442, ext. 115 Web Site: https://sophia.wildapricot.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Community action, Decision making, Evaluation, Health disparities, Health planning, Measures, Outcome and process assessment

Annotation: This report provides findings on tobacco retailer density, examines changes in product availability and marketing and promotion at retailers, and documents the growth in retail policy activity in states and localities. It also reports barriers to retail policy activity, resources, examples of policy successes, and a roadmap of strategies to help demonstrate how states and communities are changing the tobacco retail and policy landscape.

Contact: Washington University in St. Louis, Center for Public Health Systems Science, Campus Box 1009, 700 Rosedale Avenue, St. Louis, MO 63112, Telephone: (314) 935-3365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cphss.wustl.edu/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Community action, Evolution, Marketing, Policy development, Regulations, State legislation, Tobacco

Annotation: This report calls for libraries to join together with schools and community organizations to establish a system of family engagement that extends throughout a child’s life, supports children and families, and prepares children for success. The report defines family engagement and explains why families matter for children's healthy development and positive feelings toward learning, why libraries matter for family engagement, and ways libraries can encourage family engagement. Examples are included.

Contact: Global Family Research Project™, Third Sector New England, 89 South Street, Boston, MA 02111, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.GlobalFRP.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child development, Community action, Families, Learning, Literacy, Participation, Public libraries, Systems development

Annotation: This website provides resources and tools to assist individuals and groups in working together to build healthier communities. Contents include how-to information for learning a skill, taking action, linking with others, and supporting collective impact. The website is available in English and Spanish. Topics include community assessment; communications to promote interest and participation; developing a strategic plan and organizational structure; leadership and management; analyzing community problems and designing community interventions; implementing promising community interventions; cultural competence and spirituality in community building; organizing effective advocacy; evaluating community programs and initiatives; maintaining quality and rewarding accomplishments; generating, managing, and sustaining financial resources; and social marketing and sustainability of the initiative.

Contact: University of Kansas, Work Group for Community Health and Development, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Dole Center, Room 4082, Lawrence, KS 66045-7555, Telephone: (785) 864-0533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://communityhealth.ku.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Community participation, Community role, Databases, Model programs, Non English language materials, Planning, Policy development, Problem solving, Program development, Social change, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist school officials in understanding how human trafficking impacts schools; recognizing the indicators of possible child trafficking; and developing policies, protocols, and partnerships to address and prevent the exploitation of children. Topics include child sex trafficking, child labor trafficking, deconstructing perceptions and a victim-centered approach, risk factors and predictors, what to do about suspected trafficking, recruitment, impact on learning environment, and community involvement. The guide contains a sample protocol for school districts and describes U.S. government entities combating human trafficking, publications and resources, training, services, and terms and definitions.

Contact: National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-5000 Fax: (202) 403-5001 Web Site: http://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child labor, Child sexual abuse, Community action, Learning, Policy development, Protective factors, Protocols, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, School age children, Schools, Training

Annotation: This tool for shelter staff members contains recommendations and information on how family shelter environments, programming, policies, and staff can support early childhood safety and development. The tool contains recommendations for making shelter facilities safe and developmentally appropriate for infants, toddlers, and preschoolers in five areas: health and safety, wellness and development, work force standards and training, programming, and food and nutrition. The tool categorizes recommendations by the estimated amount of resources requires. Links to references referenced in the tool and an action plan form are also included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary and Interdepartmental Liaison for Early Childhood Development, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9200 Fax: (202) 205-4891 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ecd/about Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child safety, Community action, Community health services, Early childhood development, Families, Family support programs, Homelessness, Infants, Nutrition, Policy development, Preschool children, Program development, Self evaluation, Shelters, Standards, Toddlers, Training, Work force

Annotation: This document for stakeholders in the private, public, academic, or non-profit sectors outlines a strategic plan to address the infant mortality problem in Minnesota, particularly persistent racial and ethnic disparities in poor birth outcomes. Contents include background and key findings on the sources of long-standing disparities in infant mortality, particularly among American Indians and African Americans, and perspectives on what changes could be made in systems, policies, and practices to improve birth outcomes. Additional contents include broad recommendations to further reduce infant mortality in the state; vision, goals, and objectives; and a call to action.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Fax: (651) 201-3590 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Community action, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Racial discrimination, Statewide planning, Strategic plans

Annotation: This guide provides information for primary care practices on implementing an oral-healthcare-delivery framework that presents a model for how primary care professionals can screen for oral health issues, offer brief interventions, and coordinate referrals to dentists. The guide is divided into nine sections: (1) introduction, (2) the case for change, (3) the oral-health-care-delivery framework, (4) how to prepare for successful implementation, (5) staffing options and workforce, (6) structuring referrals to dentists, (7) using data for quality improvement, (8)leveraging success, and (9) field-testing results and case examples. An annotated oral health integration tool set is also available.

Contact: Safety Net Medical Home Initiative, Qualis Health, P.O. Box 33400, Seattle, WA 98133-9700, Telephone: (800) 949-7536 Secondary Telephone: (800) 833-6384 Contact Phone: (206) 288-2462 Fax: (206) 368-2419 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safetynetmedicalhome.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Dentistry, Educational change, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Oral health, Organizational change, Primary care, Reimbursement, Service integration

Annotation: This guide provides school administrators, program directors, civic leaders, and other stakeholders with tools to improve the sustainability of school-based approaches that promote students’ cognitive, social, and emotional health and educational success. Contents include practical steps for integrating evidence-based student supports into state and local systems. The guide breaks down policy advocacy steps into four interconnected prongs (mapping assets, building an action team, connecting with the policy environment, and communications) for mobilizing key allies, developing an action plan based on existing resources, accessing viable financing and regulatory strategies, and exploring communications strategies.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, Cognitive development, Communications, Communities, Community action, Financing, Mental health, Policy development, Regulations, School health, Schools, Service integration, Students, Sustainability

Annotation: This document for the global community provides guidance on safeguarding women, children, and adolescents and upholding their human rights to the highest attainable standard of health. Topics include health challenges, the health equity gap within and between countries, guiding principles and objectives, targets, action areas, and an operational framework.

Contact: Every Woman Every Child, United Nations Foundation, 801 Second Avenue, Suite 900, New York, NY 10017, Web Site: http://www.everywomaneverychild.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Barriers, Child health, Community action, Government action, Infant health, International health, Role, Safety, Strategic planning, Women', s health

Annotation: This document proposes critical actions that the public and private sector need to take to advance toward an interoperable health information technology (IT) ecosystem. Topics include the current context, the federal health IT strategic plan; guiding principles; business and technical requirements for a learning health system; process for updating the roadmap; rules of engagement and governance; supportive business, clinical, cultural, and regulatory environments; privacy and security protections for health information; certification and testing to support adoption and optimization of health IT products; core technical standards and functions; and tracking progress and measuring success.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community action, Confidentiality, Evaluation, Federal initiatives, Information systems, Measures, Organizational change, Role, Standards, Strategic planning, Systems development, Technology

Annotation: This brief describes the needs assessment process and considerations for states developing maternal and child health action plans. Topics include the context of Title V needs assessment, engaging stakeholders, identifying needs and capacity gaps, setting priorities, and finding open source best practices. Information about demonstrating impact and selecting and implementing evidence-based practices are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Measures, Needs assessment, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This video provides information about the value and safety of community water fluoridation (CWF). Topics include research on fluoridation, what fluoride is, locating reputable sources of information about CWF, the relationship between oral health and overall health, the impact of oral health on learning, fluoride and tooth decay in children, brushing with fluoridated toothpaste, the cost-effectiveness of CWF, and recommendations for CWF.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Community action, Consumer education, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Oral health, Preventive health services, Water