Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This publication provides guidelines for teachers, principals, and other educators and school trustees in developing policies and procedures in addressing AIDS and HIV issues among staff, students, parents, and the community in Montana. Section topics include education, rights and accommodations, and worksite safety. Discussion topics include the role of public health and medical communities in assessing the risk of transmission of various communicable diseases to determine how best to protect the health of both students and staff, privacy rights, the role of the school nurse, parental notification, physical or special examinations, rights and accommodations of staff, reporting suspected or confirmed cases of communicable disease, employment issues, and prevention of disease transmission. A brief list of resources is available.

Contact: Montana Office of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501, Telephone: (406) 444-3095 Secondary Telephone: (888) 231-9393 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://opi.mt.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Communicable diseases, Confidentiality, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, HIV, Health policy, Montana, Occupational safety and health, Policy development, School age children, School health education, School nurses, School personnel, State initiatives

Annotation: This report includes basic competencies in emergency preparedness and bioterrorism (BT) readiness for all public health workers. Many of these BT competencies, with slight editing, also apply to other categories of emergency, including those related to chemical, nuclear, or explosive devices. The report includes competencies for the following types of staff: public health leaders, public health communicable disease staff, public health clinical staff, environmental health staff, public health laboratory staff, medical examiner/coroner, public health information staff, other public health professional staff, and public health technical support staff. The report also includes lists of definitions of public health staff categories and of U.S. Office of Personnel Management definitions.

Contact: Columbia University School of Nursing, Center for Health Policy, 617 West 168 Street, GB-239, New York, NY 10032, Telephone: (212) 305-1738 Fax: (212) 305-3659 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.nursing.columbia.edu/chp/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Emergencies, Bioterrorism, Communicable diseases, Competency based education, Disaster planning, Environmental health, Health personnel, Information services, Laboratories, Leadership, Public health, Training

Annotation: This document contains most of the existing quantitative and qualitative research and information specific to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) health in the areas defined and discusses the overall health issues of LGBT people. The document describes barriers LGBT people face and recommends changes that will facilitate success in overcoming them. Topics covered include access to quality health care services, cancer, educational and community-based programs, health communication, HIV/AIDS, immunization and infectious diseases, mental health and mental disorders, nutrition and weight, public health infrastructure, sexually transmitted diseases, substance abuse, tobacco use, and violence prevention. The document includes five appendices that contain recommendations, acronyms, LGBT definitions, resources, and contributors.

Contact: Gay and Lesbian Medical Association, 459 Fulton Street, Suite 107, San Francisco, CA 94102, Telephone: (415) 255-4547 Fax: (415) 255-4784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.glma.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Barriers, Cancer, Communicable diseases, Community based services, Community programs, Educational programs, HIV, Health, Healthy People 2010, Homosexuality, Infections, Mental disorders, Mental health, Nutrition, Public health, Research, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Tobacco use, Violence prevention, Weight management

Annotation: This report is a compilation of all the Healthy People 2010 objectives that directly address reproductive health. These objectives are organized according to the following topics: access to quality health services; cancer; educational and community-based programs; family planning; health communication; HIV; immunization and infectious diseases; injury and violence prevention; maternal, infant, and child health; nutrition and overweight; sexually transmitted diseases; and substance abuse. In addition to discussing these objectives, the report discusses tracking reproductive health and provides operational definitions and major data sources.

Contact: Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse, P.O. Box 30686, Bethesda, MD 20824-0686, Telephone: (866) 640-7827 Fax: (866) 592-3299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa/order-publications/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Body weight, Cancer, Child health, Communicable diseases, Communication, Community programs, Educational programs, Family planning, HIV, Healthy People 2010, Immunization, Infant health, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Nutrition, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

Annotation: This book is organized into chapters on the primary environmental health risks facing children. Chapter topics include the major infectious diseases of childhood; common childhood injuries; basic hygiene practices and behavioral modifications to reduce lead exposure; the impact of environmental chemicals and pests on children; the epidemic of asthma in children in the United States; and strategies for reducing children's environmental risks. The appendices provide games and demonstrations for use in homes and schools to teach children, parents, and teachers about environmental health risks. References are provided at the end of each chapter and tables present guidelines, recommendations, analyses, and statistical information throughout the book. An index is provided.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-87553-241-1.

Keywords: Asthma, Child advocacy, Child health, Communicable diseases, Consumer education materials, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Injuries, Lead, Prevention

Annotation: This report focuses on maternal and child health statistics for the Russian Federation and the United States. The report covers a broad range of health measures including the following: prenatal care, pregnancy complications, abortion, method of delivery, birth order, births to unmarried women, births by age of mother, infant mortality, maternal mortality, child mortality by age group, immunizations, morbidity in the Russian Federation, hospitalization in the United States, and communicable diseases. The report also includes a discussion of data quality issues to assist in understanding limitations in the accuracy, coverage, or comparability of the information presented. A background section provides a brief description of the organization of each country's health care system, as well as an outline of national guidelines for the provision of maternal and child health care. The report also contains 24 tables covering population size, prenatal and obstetrical care, abortions, natality data, breastfeeding practices, mortality data including causes of death, immunization rates, communicable diseases, and other morbidity measures. The report provides additional detail, when available, for key subgroups of each population: In the Russian Federation, data are presented for urban and rural regions; in the United States, for black and white racial groups. In the final section of the report, a glossary of terms provides additional detail on differences in definitions between the two countries.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: PHS 99-1486.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Child health, Child health services, Child mortality, Childbirth, Communicable diseases, Health statistics, Hospitalization, Immunization programs, Infant health services, Infant mortality, Maternal age, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Maternal mortality, Morbidity, Pregnancy complications, Premarital pregnancy, Prenatal care, Racial factors, Rural population, Russia, United States, Urban population, Vital statistics

Annotation: This report provides information on conditions that would contraindicate breastfeeding. It was developed as a policy statement. It discusses benefits and risks, infectious diseases, medication/prescription drugs and street drugs, and environmental contaminants. It ends with a list of references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Communicable diseases, Drug use during pregnancy, Environmental pollution, Health policy

Annotation: The purpose of this guide is to improve the skills of Head Start staff and families in dealing with communicable diseases. The guide addresses attitudes toward communicable diseases, how to reduce the spread of disease, and how to recognize and manage illnesses more effectively. Since communicable diseases are the most common cause of illness, this guide aims to help Head Start keep its children, families, and staff healthier.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov $14.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-042681-2.

• PDF

Keywords: Communicable diseases, Disease management, Disease prevention, Head Start, Training materials

Annotation: This poster suggests strategies for maintaining sanitary conditions and handling children with contagious diseases in programs that work with groups of children. It lists steps that child care providers can follow and steps for parents. It stresses communicating about a child's exposure to communicable diseases, developing and following health policies, the significance of proper handwashing, and the importance of immunizations. The poster highlights procedures for handwashing and suggests methods for preparing and using a bleach solution to sanitize items and surfaces. The availability of a companion brochure, "Keeping Healthy: Parents, Teachers, Children," is noted on the back of the poster.

Contact: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 1313 L Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 232-8777 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2460 Fax: (202) 328-1846 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.naeyc.org $4.00. Document Number: NAEYC no. 777.

Keywords: Child care workers, Children, Communicable diseases, Handwashing, Health and safety, Immunization, Parents, Sanitation, Training materials

Annotation: This handbook contains essays on many different issues relating to the development and delivery of quality child care. It provides a brief history of child care, notes changing needs, and considers the role of the government. It describes a number of different settings; it suggests ways to match needs to available services, and it covers evaluating services for quality and indicates the roles of regulations and licensing in this process. It considers health factors related to operating child care centers and reviews several programs that provide services to children with special health needs. Other topics covered included are the training of child care workers, the development of appropriate curricula, and funding sources. Appendices include information on various national organizations and federal programs, a bibliography, and an annotated list of funding sources.

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Children with special health care needs, Communicable diseases, Curriculum development, Disease prevention, Family child care, Financing, Licensing, Quality assurance, Training

Annotation: This book presents the highlights of the 1991 National Council for International Health's conference on women's health. It details a wide range of issues, both clinical and socioeconomic, that affect women's health in developing countries. Chapters focus on the impact of poverty on morbidity and mortality, cultural barriers to health care, and strategies for establishing family planning and abuse prevention services.

Contact: Westview Press, 2465 Central Avenue, Boulder, CO 80301, Fax: (720) 406-7336 Web Site: http://www.perseusbooksgroup.com/Westview/index.jsp $16.95.

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Access to prenatal care, Communicable diseases, Contraception, Developing countries, Domestic violence, Family planning, International data, Mental health, Morbidity, Mortality, Nutrition, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Violence, Women', s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a survey by the National Association of Children's Hospitals and Related Institutions and the National Public Health and Hospital Institute on the impact of care for officially reportable cases of children with AIDS in hospitals as compared with all persons with AIDS in similar general hospitals.

Contact: National Public Health and Hospital Institute, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 950, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 585-0135 Fax: (202) 585-0101 Web Site: http://www.naph.org/nphhi.cfm?CFID=3225787&CFTOKEN=16150052 Price unknown.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Communicable diseases, Hospitals, Pediatric AIDS

Annotation: The aim of this manual is to provide an informative text for ready reference by public health workers and administrators having a concern with communicable disease. The content is broadly representative of global infectious disease. The format is alphabetical by disease. The term used is first defined. Each disease is briefly identified with regard to clinical nature, laboratory diagnosis, and differentiation of allied or related conditions. Occurrence, infectious agent, reservoir and source of infection, mode of transmission, incubation period, period of communicability, and susceptibility and resistance are next presented. Methods of control are described.

Keywords: Communicable diseases, Public health

Annotation: This book has organized the facts about the major areas of health promotion and disease prevention into 30 chapters under the following major headings: Health promotion, health protection, preventive services, age groups, minority populations, diseases, and settings. Prevalence data, public and professional awareness data, service delivery data, and significant trends are included in most chapters.

Contact: Bull Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1377, Boulder, CO 80306, Telephone: (800) 676-2855 Fax: (303) 545-6354 Web Site: http://www.bullpub.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Communicable diseases, Exercise, Family planning, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical fitness, Pregnancy, Public health programs, Smoking, Stress management, Substance use

Annotation: This report contains two sections. Section one describes developmental issues of concern in 1985: Serious viral infection in persons with developmental disabilities, issues of technological intervention for children with disabilities; community based services for chronically ill or disabled children and their families; and fragile-X syndrome. Section two contains examples of linkages between university affiliated programs and state and local programs and the training needs of state programs.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Communicable diseases, Fragile X syndrome, Medically fragile children, Program planning, Technology dependence

Annotation: This book presents standards which are the framework for incremental improvement in community health status in the United States through preventive health service programming. The intended hallmark of these model standards is flexibility. The preamble spells out in detail the background, concepts, scope, definitions, and uses of the standards. The standards cover air quality, chronic disease control, communicable disease control, dental health, emergency medical services, family planning, food protection, genetic disease control, health education, home health services, housing services, injury control, institutional services, maternal and child health, noise control, nutritional services, occupational health, primary care, public health laboratory, radiological health, safe drinking water, sanitation, school health, solid waste management, surveillance and epidemiology, vector and animal control, and waste water management.

Keywords: Air pollution, Animals, Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Communicable diseases, Emergency medical services, Epidemiology, Family planning, Federal government, Food safety, Genetic disorders, Health education, Home care services, Housing, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Nutrition services, Occupational safety and health, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public health, Public health services, Radiation, Sanitation, School health, Standards, Water pollution

Annotation: This book describes a wide range of pediatric conditions and other issues related to pediatric care, including respiratory conditions, nutritional and abdominal conditions; skin, contagious, and exanthem conditions; circulatory, metabolic, and glandular conditions; urogenital conditions; bone, joint, and muscle conditions; laboratory tests, feeding, diets, nursing, and therapy; growth and development; history, and physical exam; and chemotherapy and drugs.

Keywords: Bone diseases, Breastfeeding, Cardiovascular diseases, Child development, Child health, Communicable disease, Diet, Drug therapy, Feeding, Growth monitoring, Joint diseases, Medicine, Metabolic diseases, Muscular diseases, Nutrition, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Physical examination, Respiratory disorders, Skin diseases, Tests, Urogenital diseases

Annotation: This manual is designed to alert lay people to conditions in children that necessitate prompt medical attention and to answer many common questions parents have about children's communicable disease. The manual is divided into eight main parts: (1) about causes, symptoms, and prevention, (2) common childhood diseases, (3) respiratory diseases and related conditions, (4) diseases of the nervous system, (5) intestinal diseases, (6) diseases of the mouth and eyes, (7) skin conditions, and (8) venereal diseases. Each section includes common questions and their answers.

Keywords: Child health, Communicable diseases, Eye diseases, Intestinal diseases, Mouth diseases, Nervous system diseases, Parents, Prevention, Respiratory diseases, Sexually transmitted diseases, Skin diseases

Keywords: Communicable disease control, Communicable diseases, Infants with special health care needs, Mental retardation, Perinatal health

Annotation: This consumer pamphlet discusses the importance of immunizing infants against Diphtheria, Pertussis, Tetanus, Poliomyelitis, Smallpox, and Measles. It includes a detailed description of each of these communicable diseases and emphasizes the reasons why both children and adults should be vaccinated.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Communicable diseases, Immunization, Vaccination, Vaccines