Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These presentations are designed for caregivers of people with disabilities or older adults. The goal of the presentations is to increase caregivers’ ability to work with people with a broad range of support needs, as well as to make caregivers feel more confident about doing so. The presentations explain how to help support a daily oral care routine for a family member or client. Translations of original English material are available in Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Tagalog. The presentations are written in simple language.

Contact: Pacific Center for Equity in Oral Health Care, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, University of the Pacific, 155 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dental.pacific.edu/dental/faculty-and-research/research-facilities/pc#:~:text=The%20Pacific%20Center%20for%20Equity,access%20to%20oral%20health%20care.

• Requires Registration For An Account

Keywords: Caregivers, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities in Missouri. Topics include oral hygiene, dental sealants, treated and untreated tooth decay, treatment urgency, and history of rampant tooth decay. Information about survey participants’ ages, genders, races, and ethnicities, as related to these topics, is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Missouri, Oral health, State surveys, Treatment

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that Ohioans understand the relationship between oral and systemic health. It discusses the association between periodontal disease and systemic conditions and the relationship between oral health and health care expenditures. Challenges related to oral health care that skilled nursing facilities face are also addressed.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Ohio, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Prevention, Skilled nursing facilities, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in South Dakota. Topics include oral cancer; chronic disease; PRAMS, including information about what PRAMS is; and South Dakota health professional shortage areas. The report presents data from South Dakota’s PRAMS related to each topic.

Contact: South Dakota Department of Health, 600 E. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 773-3361 Web Site: https://doh.sd.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data, Data sources, Oral health, Pregnant women, South Dakota, State information

Annotation: This report focuses on the oral health needs of Texas adults (ages 18 and older). It provides an analysis of data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System survey (BRFSS), 2012–2018. It also discusses the impact of smoking and chronic diseases, including diabetes, heart disease, and cardiovascular disease on dental visits and on partial and total tooth loss. Information on visits to the hospital emergency room because of oral health problems is also included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data, Diabetes, Health care utilization, Oral health, Smoking, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This toolkit provides information for health professionals about how to create an integrated health system that incorporates oral health. It discusses how to create an integration plan and factors to consider when integrating care. Integration care models for women’s health, early childhood health, older adult health, chronic disease, and behavioral health are provided. Each model includes factors to consider and practical examples.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Health promotion, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Women’s health, Young children

Annotation: This report discusses the relationship between oral health and behavioral health and the consequences that lack of awareness about the importance of oral health and access to comprehensive oral health care can have for people living with chronic conditions, including diabetes and heart and lung diseases, and for those with behavioral health conditions. The connection between oral health and mental health is discussed, along with the importance of improving oral health coverage and integrating overall health care, mental health care, and oral health care.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Health insurance, Mental health, Oral health, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides information about Virginia’s first Special Health Care Needs Oral Health Basic Screening Survey. The report describes results in the following areas: whether the respondent has a special health care need, respondent age and living situation, respondent health insurance and dental insurance status, whether the respondent had a problem with their teeth or mouth during the past 12 months, whether the respondent had a dentist to go to regularly and whether they had their teeth cleaned in the last 12 months, how confident the respondent or their caregiver is about caring for teeth at home, and whether anything prevented the respondent from receiving dental care in the past 12 months.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic Illnesses and disabilities, Oral health, State initiatives, Surveys, Virginia

Annotation: This paper discusses opportunities for state oral health programs and chronic-disease-prevention programs to make connections between oral health and chronic-disease-prevention interventions and health-promotion messages. It presents the problem, offers a framework for these programs to use in planning how to integrate oral-health-promotion strategies into chronic-disease and health-promotion initiatives, and provides examples of states that have tested innovative approaches to building communication between oral health and chronic-disease-prevention program staff.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This brief examines the role of Medicaid in funding critical health-related services for students with disabilities. Topics include providing reimbursement for health care services that are necessary for students with disabilities to succeed in school and ensuring schools' compliance with Individuals with Disabilities Education Act requirements, helping students to stay healthy and succeed academically, and connecting students to coverage. The brief also describes the long-term benefits of Medicaid for eligible children and the potential impact of spending reductions on students, local communities, and state budgets. The appendix contains a table on state and federal Medicaid spending in schools.

Contact: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 820 First Street N.E., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-1080 Fax: (202) 408-1056 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cbpp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, Reimbursement, Role, School health services, Schools, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

Annotation: This brief explains how the Affordable Care Act (ACA), through Medicaid expansion and expanded Medicaid coverage criteria for children, has improved maternal and child health (MCH). Topics include the impact of expanded coverage for women of reproductive age, particularly for preconception and interconception health care, and eligibility criteria for children ages 6 to 19 on MCH.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the role of school nurses in improving student academic achievement and decreasing absenteeism by helping students with chronic health conditions manage their condition. Topics include providing direct care such as giving children medications, providing case management, and advocating for students and their families to help them get the resources and support they need.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/NCCDPHP/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Case management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Elementary schools, Families, Family support services, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Program coordination, Role, School age children, School nurses, Students

Annotation: This document provides talking points on ways to eliminate dental caries in children. Topics include the consequences of poor oral health on children and their families; costs for families and states; the role of primary care health professionals and other health professionals in providing oral health care; and the need for affordable, comprehensive dental coverage.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Oral health

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This website provides resources from a national initiative to engage health care purchasers, payers, and providers in collaborating with the public health community to improve health and control health care costs. Topics include high-burden health conditions and associated interventions that prevent chronic and infectious diseases by increasing coverage, access, use, and quality; and how to align evidence-based preventive practices with emerging value-based payment and delivery models. Contents include a fact sheet and evidence summaries on reducing tobacco use, controlling high blood pressure, preventing health care-associated infections, controlling asthma, preventing unintended pregnancy, and controlling and preventing diabetes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coalitions, Collaboration, Consumers, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Infectious diseases, Intervention, Models, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Relationships, Third party payers

Annotation: This series of handouts for pregnant women and parents of infants and young children provides simple tips on nutrition and oral health issues. Topics include brushing a young child’s teeth, choosing healthy drinks, encouraging children to drink water with fluoride, giving children healthy snacks, taking care of oral health for pregnant women, and taking care of an infant’s oral health. The series is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Infants, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Young children

Annotation: This brief highlights oral health disparities within communities of color in California. Topics include oral health disparities and the impact of oral health inequities on communities of color, including oral health and children, oral health and employment, and oral health and chronic conditions. Also discussed are causes of oral health inequities, including lack of access to affordable care, absence of a culturally and linguistically competent work force, and social and environmental inequities. In addition, the brief provides policy recommendations (improving access to and quality of oral health care, ensuring that there is a culturally competent work force, and engaging in efforts to improve underlying socioeconomic inequities).

Contact: California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 1221 Preservation Park Way, Suite 200, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 832-1160 Fax: (510) 832-1175 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpehn.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Equal opportunities, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Oral health, Policy development, Social factors, State surveys, Work force

Annotation: These disease/condition-specific tools were developed by internal medicine subspecialties to assist physicians in transitioning young adults with chronic diseases/conditions into adult care settings. Contents include sets of tools containing the following customized elements (at a minimum): transition readiness assessment, medical summary/transfer record, and self-care assessment. Sets of tools are available for the following subspecialties and diseases: general internal medicine, cardiology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology, nephrology, and rheumatology. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American College of Physicians, 190 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572, Telephone: (215) 351-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 523-1546 Web Site: https://www.acponline.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coordination, Medical records, Pediatric care, Self care, Special health care services, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This document summarizes state reporting on the quality of health care service for children covered by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) during the fiscal year. which generally covers care delivered during the calendar year. Contents include detailed analyses of state performance on publicly reported measures. Topics include the child core set, primary care access and preventive care, perinatal care, care of acute and chronic conditions, behavioral health care, oral health services, and trends in state performance. Reference tables and additional resources are also included. The information presented is abstracted from the Annual Secretary's Report on the Quality of Care for Children in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Edition
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Acute care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, High risk children, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Oral health, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document summarizes state reporting on the quality of health care furnished to adults covered by Medicaid during the fiscal year, which generally covers care delivered in the calendar year. Contents include detailed analyses of state performance on publicly-reported measures. Topics include the adult core set, primary care access and preventive care, perinatal care, care of acute and chronic conditions, and behavioral health care. Reference tables and additional resources are also included. The information presented is abstracted from the Annual Secretary's Report on the Quality of Care for Adults in Medicaid.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Edition
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Acute care, Adults, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, High risk groups, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Perinatal care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data