Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book discusses what social science can tell about current conditions of childhood in the United States, how adults can help or hinder children's development, what constitutes good child care, and what policies of child welfare or early education might effectively enhance children's opportunities for growth. The book also addresses the difficulties and dangers of using current research for formulating propositions for policy. Two broad sections constitute the book: a review of research and propositions for policy.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child rearing, Children, Policy development, Research, United States

Annotation: This report discusses the 23 million American families with children under 13 years of age and how parents are coping with the problems of raising their children in a period of rapid social change. The focus of the study is the family unit: the parents and children. The study is designed to provide understanding, insight and statistically reliable information on aspects of parent-child relationships including discipline, health, money, nutrition, the roles of television and advertising, schools and education, the impact of working mothers, and the transmission of values from parent to child.

Keywords: Advertising, Child rearing, Children, Discipline, Education, Families, Health, Moral values, Nutrition, Parent child relations, Schools, Social values, Television, United States, Working mothers

Annotation: This study consists of seven sections. These sections address development of delivery systems for parenting skills or the evaluation of these systems, development of parenting skills curricula, parenting skills in vocational training, parenting skills in support of ongoing programs for children, improvements of parenting skills for parents, parenting training for parents of high risk children, and studies of parent and child relationships.

• Link

Keywords: Child rearing, Children, Curriculum development, High risk children, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Vocational education

Annotation: This bibliography provides abstracts of articles, manuscripts, and papers on improving infant care. It discusses infant development; the infant-adult relationship; child-rearing patterns; infant education, intervention, day care; and theoretical and methodological issues. Abstracts are listed alphabetically by author's name in the five sections.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child rearing, Father child relations, Infant care, Infant development, Intervention, Mother child relations

Annotation: This short pamphlet, third in the Children's Bureau pictorial series on child care, is designed for quick and easy reading. It covers points parents need to consider for their preschool child. More detailed information on the child from 3 to 4 can be found in Your Child From 1 to 6 (Children's Bureau Publication 30). It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child rearing, Pamphlets

Annotation: This handbook is intended to provide a means by which workers and leaders of village communities can develop a program that will ultimately lead to bettering the child's environment. The handbook emphasizes the general principles of the care and upbringing of children. The handbook is made up of 12 chapters that can be used at meetings or training sessions. Each chapter includes important points, activities to make learning interesting, suggestions for teaching aids, and suggestions for follow-up. Topics covered include (1) preparing a good home for a baby, (2) making a safe world for babies and children, (3) what children need for healthy growth, (4) making a healthy life for children, (5) how a baby grows, (6) a dangerous time: caring for a child through the second year of life, (7) the years before school are for growing and learning, (8) when children go to school, (9) sleeping and resting: important for everyone, (10) proper clothing for children, (11) how children learn through play, and (12) keeping children well and happy. Two appendices include the United Nations Declaration of the Rights of the Child and a helping the leader section.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Child rearing, Curricula, Education, Infant development, Infant health, International health, Leadership, Learning, Mothers, Play, Safety, School age children, School readiness, Sleep, Teaching, Training, Young children

Annotation: This book is an overview and analysis of research having to do with child rearing and family life patterns in the United States. While the major focus is on the patterns of the very poor, an allied and comparative focus is on child-rearing and family life patterns that are revealed by studies to be associated with optimal child development and family stability. The two sets of patterns are reviewed, compared, and analyzed under five major headings: mental health, educational achievement, social acceptability, moral character, and family stability. The review and analysis are followed by a discussion of implications for treatment strategies for the very poor and of implications for both basic and applied research.

Keywords: Child care, Child rearing, Families, Low income groups, Poverty, Social conditions

Annotation: This pamphlet elaborates the essence of the theme of the Golden Anniversary White House Conference on Children and Youth. The author applies the concepts of child development and child rearing implicit in the Conference findings and recommendations in describing what a creative life for children can mean to parents, teachers, and children. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child rearing, Children', Creativity, Pamphlets, s Bureau

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to help parents determine how, when, and how often children should watch television. The author applies concepts of mental health and child rearing embodied in the findings of the 1960 White House Conference on Children and Youth. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Child mental health, Child rearing, Children, Conferences, Guidelines, Parents, Television

Annotation: These papers are for the reference and preparation of Conference participants and were written by experts in the areas of their special competence. The topics are child rearing, youth, the role of adults, opportunity, education, health, special problems, and law.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adults, Child health, Child rearing, Children, Conferences, Education, Legislation, United States, Youth

Annotation: The purpose of this book is a manual of instruction and counsel to parents regarding the care of their young children. The chapters discuss newborns, feelings as a new mother, health care for babies, developing and learning, weaning, teeth, toilet training, problems of the healthy child, immunization, caring for sick babies, illnesses, skin problems, communicable diseases, injury prevention, and first aid.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child rearing, Child safety, Communicable diseases, First aid, Immunization, Infant care, Manuals, Mildly ill children, Newborn infants, Oral health, Skin rashes, Teething, Toilet training, Weaning

Annotation: The purpose of this study is to record the customs, beliefs, and traditions of the Arapaho Indians of the United States as found in the development and training of their children. The first 11 sections of this study deal with the development and training of the child. Sections 12 through 19 tell of the milieu in which the child lived. The contents discuss the prenatal period, birth, postnatal interests, nursing and weaning, atypical conditions, names, adolescence, training children, mental training, moral training, children's diversions, ceremonial age societies, medical care, health, religion and supernatural powers, belief in life after death, domestic economy, tribal government, and marriage.

Keywords: American Indians Child rearing, Child development, Sociocultural factors

Annotation: This booklet is designed to provide parents the basic knowledge needed for rearing children between the ages of 1 and 6. The topics discussed include what 6- to 12-year-olds are like, how family life is different today, successful parenting, family influence on children's social adjustment, play, home life as preparation for independent living, helping children make the most of their mental ability, when home and school get together, everyday problems, emotional outlets, special family concerns, pursuits and hobbies, children and money, sex attitudes, growth in middle childhood, child health, the sick child, and community's services for children. This is in English and Spanish. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• 1949 Edition
• 1966 Edition

Keywords: Child health, Child rearing, Children

Annotation: This book discusses helping children learn about and enjoy their world, helping children grow toward independence, helping them deal with their difficulties, and guiding children in routines. The appendix includes lists of books and songs for children and some references for teachers.

Keywords: Child health, Child rearing, Children

Annotation: This booklet is designed to provide parents the basic knowledge needed for rearing children between the ages of one and six. The topics discussed include out of babyhood into childhood, the child's physical surroundings, preserving health and preventing disease, teeth, food and eating habits, sleep, clothing, play, child development, the sick child, and selected books of interest to parents. Some revisions are also published in Spanish. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com Document Number: DHEW (OHD) 76-30026 beginning with 1975 reprinting.

• 1978 Edition

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Child rearing, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child mental health, Child rearing, Parent education, Training materials

Annotation: This bulletin on child management covers the topics of feeding, jealousy, fear, anger, and sex instruction. Sections on habit formation and the parent emphasize the importance of training and experience in early life. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child behavior, Child rearing, Educational materials, Habits, Parent education

Annotation: This booklet is designed to provide parents the basic knowledge needed for rearing children between the ages of one and six. The topics discussed include out of babyhood into childhood, the child's physical surroundings, preserving health and preventing disease, teeth, food and eating habits, sleep, clothing, play, child development, the sick child, and selected books of interest to parents. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Child rearing, Young children

Annotation: This journal article follows Part I of the same topic, published in Family Economics Review in the summer of 1979. This article describes adjustments needed to make the general costs of raising a child more applicable to specific situations and the limitations of the adjustments, and provides guidance on the interpretation of the child-cost estimates. The issue also contains an article about the recommendations of the White House Conference on Families, focusing on those relating to the economic well-being of families.

Keywords: Child rearing, Conferences, Family economics, Parents, Single parents, Statistics