Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This online training course addresses the requirement for all school personnel to complete a training in the detection and reporting of child abuse or neglect and serves as a refresher for experienced educators as well. The training covers mandated reporting in the state of New Mexico, warning signs and indicators of child abuse and neglect, and directions on filing a report Scenarios shown as videos, interactive activities, and quizzes are included in the online course.

Contact: Southwest Region-National Child Protection Training Center, New Mexico State University, PO Box 30003, MSC3470, Las Cruces, NM 88003, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://swrtc.nmsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, New Mexico, Professional training, School personnel, State initiatives, Training materials

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the long-term consequences of child abuse and neglect. The fact sheet covers (1) factors affecting the consequences of child abuse and neglect, (2) physical health consequences, (3) psychological consequences, (4) behavioral consequences, and (5) societal consequences. The fact sheet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Behavior, Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Mental disorder, Mental health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource guide offers support to community-based child abuse prevention professionals who work to prevent child maltreatment and promote well-being, as well as others such as policymakers, parent educators, family support workers, health-care providers, program administrators, teachers, child care providers, mentors, and clergy. Contents include: (1) laying the groundwork for understanding child well-being, (2) working with families and six protective factors, (3) engaging the community, (4) protecting children, (5) tip sheets for parents and caregivers, and (6) resources. The tip sheets section includes some items in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• English/Spanish Version

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Community based services, Family support services, Maltreated children, Parent education, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report describes and discusses child deaths that occurred in Philadelphia in 2009 and 2010 and that were reviewed by the Philadelphia Child Death Review Team. The report provides background and an overview of child deaths reviewed during the period and discusses infant deaths, natural deaths, unintentional injury deaths, and intentional injury deaths.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, 1401 JFK Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Telephone: (215) 686-45200 Fax: (215) 686-5212 Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Cancer, Child abuse, Child death, Child death review, Cause of death, Child neglect, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Infant death, Intentional injuries, Poisoning, SIDS, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of states and the District of Columbia about policies and practices that guide child welfare agencies' work in addressing the needs of maltreated infants and toddlers. It provides information about the survey; summarizes results related to assessment and services, infants and toddlers in foster care and their families (including post-permanency care for this population); training in early childhood development and developmentally appropriate practice; and data collection and analysis. An executive summary, an index of state policies and practices to support the development of young children, and a brief document about understanding and meeting the needs of birth parents are also available.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Advocacy, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Foster care, Infants, Maltreated children, National surveys, Needs assessment, State surveys, Training, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about child welfare. The fact sheets describes what child welfare agencies typically do. It also discusses how health professionals can help child welfare workers collaborate to support families and prevent child abuse and neglect, identify and support suspected child abuse and neglect, know the laws about confidentiality and privacy, use trauma-informed practices, and serve as resources for child welfare agencies and families. Also discussed is how how child welfare workers can help health professionals by ensuring that health professionals have what they need to treat children, helping children and families access health care services, and coordinating the health care needs of adolescents aging out of foster care. Resources for more information are included.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare agencies, Collaboration, Family support services, Foster care, Health services, Legislation, Prevention, Service coordination

Annotation: This brief focuses on young children and early traumatic stressors, also known as Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE), to further understand the pathway leading to heart disease, cancer, and chronic lower respiratory diseases as leading causes of death in the United States. It outlines types of ACEs, a framework for research, and the role of health philanthropy in mitigating childhood adversity in selected examples in several states.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Maltreated children, Mortality, Trauma, Young children

Annotation: This updated report focuses on children who die as a result of child abuse and neglect, and what can be done to alleviate the problem. The report discusses the preventable nature of child abuse deaths and the importance of elevating the protection of children to a national priority, the magnitude of the problem, the relationship between child abuse and neglect deaths and extensive child maltreatment, child abuse and neglect in the United States compared with other countries, geographical factors, lack of resources and training, confidentiality laws, poverty, and the need for government action.

Contact: Every Child Matters Education Fund, 1023 15th Street, NW, Suite 401 , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 223-8177 Fax: (202) 223-8499 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildmatters.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Awareness Video

Keywords: Child abuse, Child death, Child neglect, Confidentiality, Geographic factors, Maltreated children, Poverty, Prevention, Training

Annotation: This book covers the 100-year history of the U.S. Children's Bureau dedicated to the welfare of the nation's children. Topics include involvement in issues such as infant mortality, dependent children, child labor hours and conditions, child abuse and neglect prevention, foster care, and adoption services. Contents include collaboration, assistance to states and tribes, research and data, getting the word out, and leadership. A website also presents the Children's Bureau history. A version of the printed history is also available in Spanish at https://cb100.acf.hhs.gov/sites/all/themes/danland/danblog/files/Story_of_CB_Spanish.pdf.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adoption, Child abuse, Child labor, Child neglect, Child welfare, Children, Federal agencies, Foster care, History, Infant mortality, Infants, Spanish language materials, U. S. Children', Welfare reform, Welfare services, s Bureau

Annotation: This report about child abuse and neglect as it relates to children with disabilities describes the scope of the problem, risk factors, and strategies for prevention. It examines the problem in terms of statistics and research and provides tips to help identify and assess abuse and neglect and respond collaboratively; and locate training resources.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, High risk groups, Prevention, Research, Resource materials, Risk factors, Statistical data, Training

Annotation: This brief presents findings about the potential impact of the service system on improving children's readiness for school from a longitudinal study of a sample of families at high risk living in targeted geographic areas that have higher-than-average rates of child maltreatment, crime, and other related factors that affect school readiness. The brief describes characteristics that are likely to influence children's school readiness, presents findings related to families' use of a range of formal services during their children's early years, and looks at the relationship between these factors and one indicator of children's readiness for school—scores on the Florida Kindergarten Readiness Screen.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Communities, Crime, Early childhood development, Families, Family support services, Health services, High risk groups, Low income groups, Maltreated children, Parent support services, Research, Risk factors, School readiness, Service delivery systems, Young children

Annotation: This paper examines work focused on improving the understanding of child abuse and neglect, basic human development, effective program planning, and promising systemic reforms. Contents include trends in advances in neuroscience and the developing brain in children; social context and culture, promising community prevention strategies, federal policy initiatives in public investment toward evidence-based programs, addressing needs of new parents and young children; service delivery processes and model program quality, maximizing population-level change, and the opportunities offered by new technologies.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cultural factors, Early childhood development, Literature reviews, Maltreated children, Parent child relations, Parenting attitudes, Program development, Research, Social factors

Annotation: This working paper discusses the effect of the absence of responsive care on the developing brain. The report explains the importance of responsive relationships to child well-being and how responsiveness and the lack thereof affect children's brains and their development. The problem of defining neglect is discussed, and four types of unresponsive care are presented (occasional inattention, chronic understimulation, severe neglect in a family context, and severe neglect in an institutional setting). Common misconceptions and the science-policy gap are discussed, along with implications for policy and promising intervention models.

Contact: National Scientific Council on the Developing Child, Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child development, Child neglect, Cognitive development, Early childhood developing, Families, Infant development, Intervention, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Public policy, Relationships, Research

Annotation: This website, which celebrates the 100th birthday of the U.S. Children's Bureau, provides links to recent and upcoming issues of the Children's Bureau Express (CBX), which feature a series of short articles about the political climate and social movements prevalent in the early 20th century that laid the groundwork for the creation of the Children's Bureau. CBX covers news, issues, and trends of interest to professionals and policymakers in the interrelated fields of child abuse and neglect, child welfare, and adoption. LInks to other issues of CBX, as well as other related links, are also provided on the site. Users can subscribe to CBX via the website or search past issues.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adoption, Anniversaries, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Children, Children', Federal agencies, History, Public policy, s Bureau

Annotation: This brief, which focuses on infant and toddler abuse and neglect, is intended to provide a starting point for federal, state, and local policymakers and administrators to assess and identify where and how they can revise or institute policies that protect the development of infants and toddlers, as well as their safety. The brief presents evidence for addressing infants' and toddlers' needs and suggests key elements for a developmental approach for infants and toddlers in child welfare.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Early childhood development, Families, Foster care, Foster children, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Public policy, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This factsheet summarizes the legislative history and purpose of the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA), the key federal legislation addressing child abuse and neglect. CAPTA was originally enacted in P.L. 93-247 and was most recently amended and reauthorized on December 20, 2010, by the CAPTA Reauthorization Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-320). CAPTA provides federal funding to states in support of prevention, assessment, investigation, prosecution, and treatment activities and also provides grants to public agencies and nonprofit organizations, including Indian Ttibes and tribal organizations, for demonstration programs and projects.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child maltreatment, Child neglect, Federal legislation

Annotation: This issue brief addresses the importance of prevention as a critical component of the nation's child protection system. It outlines program strategies that are proving beneficial in reducing the likelihood of child maltreatment. The brief also identifies key issues facing prevention programs as they seek to extend their reach and impact.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Child abuse, Child neglect, Prevention

Annotation: This report describes cross-site findings from the first 2 years (2008-2010) of the Supporting Evidence-Based Home Visiting to Prevent Child Maltreatment initiative (EBHV), which was designed to build knowledge about how to build infrastructure and service-delivery systems necessary to implement, scale up, and sustain evidence-based home visiting program models as a strategy to prevent child maltreatment. The report discusses (1) the state or local context with respect to home visiting as EBHV grantees planned and implemented their projects, (2) partnerships that grantees formed to support planning and implementation of new home visiting programs, (3) infrastructure needed to implement program models in the early stages of the EBHV grant, and (4) how grantees and their associated home-visiting-implementing agencies prepared for and implemented new programs.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Collaboration, Grants, Home visiting, Prevention, Program evaluation, Programs, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This report summarizes research from several previous Rand reports related to the impact of children's exposure to violence (CEV) and provides information about the evaluation of 15 Safe Start Promising Approach Programs--CEV program in community settings--to identify how well such programs work in reducing and preventing CEV's harmful effects. The report introduces the issue and addresses the following topics: setting up diverse programs across the nation, conceptually grounding evaluations, what researchers learned about implementation and outcomes of interest, and overall implications.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Community programs, Domestic violence, Evaluation, Maltreated children, Research, School violence, Violence, Violence prevention

Annotation: This resource guide focuses on five factors that have been shown to protect children from the risk of abuse and neglect. Along with Information about these protective factors, the guide provides tools and strategies for integrating these factors into existing community programs and systems. It includes information about why child abuse occurs, the risk factors, and consequences; how to identify and report maltreatment, ; contact information for private and federal partners working nationally to strengthen families; and tip sheets for parents and caregivers. Developed with input from federal agencies, national organizations, and parents, the guide is intended to support service providers in their work with parents, caregivers, and their children. The tip sheets and talking points for communicating with families are provided in both English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Web Version, Latest Year

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Community programs, Family support services, Protective factors, Resource materials, Risk factors