Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (106 total).

Mattison DR, Wilson S, Coussens C, Gilbert D, eds.; Board on Health Sciences Policy, Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine. 2003. The role of environmental hazards in premature birth: Workshop summary. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 127 pp.

Annotation: This book summarizes a workshop convened on October 2-3, 2001, to look at issues surrounding the impact of environmental exposure on the fetus in the uterus, risks of premature birth, as well as child health and well-being throughout life. In addition the role of social and behavioral factors such as stress, anxiety, depression, drug use, alcohol use, and tobacco smoking is discussed. Chapters include: (1) preterm birth and its consequences, (2) labor and delivery, (3) preterm birth and a brief summary of biological pathways, (4) preterm birth and gene-environment interactions, (5) the social implications of preterm birth, and (6) future directions for research. The book also contains abstracts of 18 relevant articles and references. Three appendices contain the workshop agenda, a list of speakers and panelists, and a list of workshop participants.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09065-2.

Keywords: Childbirth, Conferences, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Genes, Labor, Maternal fetal exchange, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Research, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women

Declercq ER, Sakala C, Corry MP, Applebaum S, Risher P. 2002. Listening to mothers: Report of the first national U.S. survey of women's childbearing experiences. New York, NY: Maternity Center Association, 59 pp.

Annotation: This report provides survey highlights, major findings, and recommendations of the first national survey of women and their childbirth experiences. Topics include women's experiences with prepregnancy and prenatal care, women's experiences of birth, after the baby is born, important variations in experience, and attitudes about birth and understanding maternity rights. Four appendices include information on the national advisory council, a demographic overview of survey participants, methodology of the survey, and comparing study results and federal vital and health statistics. The Web site also provides a Spanish translation of the recommendations.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Labor, Maternal health, Postpartum women, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials, Surveys, Women', s health

Coalition for Improving Maternity Services. 2000. Having a baby? 10 questions to ask. Raleigh, NC: Coalition for Improving Maternity Services, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure offers advice on questions and talking points for new mothers in choosing a method of labor and delivery. Questions include who can be present, what happens during a normal labor and birth in the setting, what about different cultures or beliefs, activity and positioning during labor, how is mother kept comfortable during labor, circumcision policies, and breastfeeding help. It is available in English, Spanish, Czech, and Braille.

Contact: Coalition for Improving Maternity Services, P.O. Box 33590, Raleigh, NC 27607-3590, Telephone: (866) 424-3635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.motherfriendly.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alternative birth styles, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Labor, Models, Non English language materials, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. 1999. Promoting safe work for young workers: A community-based approach—A resource guide documenting the experiences of three young worker projects. Cincinnati, OH: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report reflects the lessons learned from three community based health education projects on young worker issues. The projects took place in Brockton, Massachusetts; Oakland, California; and Los Angeles, California. The report begins with a section of project summaries and continues with sections dealing with facts about young workers safety and health, steps in coordinating a young worker project, and working with community partners. Additional resources including child labor laws, agencies and organizations, and resource materials are listed in the appendices. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent employment, California, Child labor, Community based services, Massachusetts, Occupational safety and health, Working adolescents, Youth

Stewart D. 1997. The five standards for safe childbearing. (4th ed.). Marble Hill, MO: National Association of Parents and Professionals for Safe Alternatives in Childbirth (NAPSAC) International, 536 pp.

Annotation: This book emphasizes childbirth as a safe, natural event, one which should seldom require medical intervention such as ceasarian section. According to the authors, the five most important aspects of a healthy pregnancy are: good nutrition; skillful midwifery; natural childbirth; home birth and; and breastfeeding. It contains strongly worded critiques of the maternal health practices of the medical establishment.

Contact: International Association of Parents and Professionals for Safe Alternatives in Childbirth, Route 4, Box 646, Marble Hill, MO 63764, Telephone: (573) 238-2010 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: Available in libraries.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Home childbirth, Labor, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Midwifery, Natural childbirth

Carty EM, Riddell L, Holbrook A, Conine TA. 1993. The childbearing and parenting program for women with disabilities or chronic illnesses: A selected annotated bibliography. Vancouver, British Columbia: University of British Columbia, 43 pp.

Annotation: This annotated bibliography, developed by the Childbearing and Parenting Program for Women with Disabilities or Chronic Illnesses, provides a list of what the organization considers to be the most recent and comprehensive resources on childbearing with a disability. It includes resources related to specific disabilities or chronic illnesses as well as general topics such as accessibility, assistive devices, attitudes, care plans, childbirth education, family planning, feminism, parenting, physical and sexual abuse, psychosocial issues, scales, sexuality, stress and anxiety, and theoretical perspectives.

Contact: University of British Columbia, School of Nursing, T206-2211 Wesbrook Mall, Vancouver, B.C., Canada V6T 2B5, Telephone: (604) 822-7420 Fax: (604) 822-7466 Web Site: http://www.nursing.ubc.ca/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Assistive devices, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Labor, Parenting, Physical abuse, Physical disabilities, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Reproduction, Sensory impairments, Sexual abuse, Sexuality, Special health care needs, Women

Balaskas J. 1992. Active birth: The new approach to giving birth naturally. (Rev. ed.). Boston, MA: Harvard Common Press, 250 pp.

Annotation: This book describes the concept and practice of active birth, in which a mother moves about freely, finds comfortable positions for labor and delivery, and seldom needs drugs or obstetrical interventions. The book contains illustrated exercises for pregnancy, and describes massage techniques for pregnancy and labor, ways to create an ideal setting for an active birth in the hospital or at home, positions for labor and birth, water birth and how to plan one, and exercises for recovery and relaxation after the birth. Helpful tips for partners and birth attendants are also included.

Contact: Harvard Common Press, 535 Albany Street, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 423-5803 Fax: (617) 695-9794 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.harvardcommonpress.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Exercise, Home childbirth, Labor, Natural childbirth, Pain, Postpartum care, Pregnancy

Baxley R. 1989 (ca.). Davidson Project [Final report]. Lexington, NC: Davidson County Health Department, 46 pp.

Annotation: This project's primary goal was to reduce the number of low birthweight babies born to women in Davidson County by reducing both preterm births and intrauterine growth retardation. The focus of the support services was on psychosocial risk factors of preterm labor, such as low self-esteem, poor problem-solving abilities, and financial difficulty. Volunteers were recruited, trained, and matched with pregnant women in need of care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103357.

Keywords: Advisory Committees, Blacks, Childbirth Classes, Databases, Fetal growth retardation, Financial Difficulty, Growth Retardation, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Minorities, Premature Labor, Substance Abuse, WIC Program

Silverstein H. 1989. Teenage and pregnant: What you can do. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Julian Messner, 154 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information on the options available to pregnant adolescents including abortion, adoption, or parenting. It deals with issues such as the pregnant adolescent's legal rights, prenatal care, the birth process, parenthood, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases. An appendix provides a list of organizations and agencies pregnant adolescents can contact for help.

Contact: Prentice Hall, Inc., One Lake Street, Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458, Contact Phone: (800) 843-3464 Fax: (800) 835-5327 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.prenhall.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Abortion, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Childbirth, Contraception, Labor, Prenatal care, Sexually transmitted diseases

New England Consortium of Childhood Lead Poisoning Programs, Laboratory Task Force. 1988. New England public health lead testing laboratories: Collaborative cost analysis and comparative management data. Providence, RI: New England Consortium of Childhood Lead Poisoning Programs, 166 pp.

Annotation: This report includes a compilation of projects completed by the Laboratory Task Force and recommendations which if implemented would minimize or alleviate mutual concerns identified by the Task Force related to improving public health services in the prevention of lead poisoning. The projects analyzed the costs of performing tests and the impact of CDC's 1985 guidelines on laboratory services in Massachusetts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New England Consortium of Childhood Lead Poisoning Programs, Rhode Island Department of Health, 75 Davis Street, Room 302, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 277-2312 Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Laboratories, Lead poisoning, Testing

Broman SH, Nichols PL, Kennedy WA. 1975. Preschool IQ: Prenatal and early developmental correlates. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 326 pp.

Annotation: This volume reports a multidisciplinary, longitudinal study of the precursors of intelligence, as measured by Stanford-Binet IQ scores, of 4-year-old children. Considered are the degree to which events during pregnancy and delivery, physical and psychomotor development in infancy and childhood, and certain major family characteristics were related to IQ scores. The book challenges the assertion that IQ is largely heritable.

Keywords: Early childhood development, Family characteristics, Intelligence, Intelligence tests, Labor, Pregnancy, Preschool children

Markoff S. 1954. The changing years, 1904-1954: 50th anniversary report. New York, NY: National Child Labor Committee, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report documents the achievements of the National Child Labor Committee decade by decade, from 1905 to 1954. A list of the Committee's major publications is included.

Keywords: Child labor, History, National Child Labor Committee

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1943 (ca.). Standards of child health, education and social welfare: Based on recommendations of the 1940 White House Conference on children in a democracy and conclusions of discussion groups. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 21 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 287)

Annotation: Based on the recommendations from the 1940 White House Conference on Children in a Democracy, this report summarizes standards of child health, education, child labor, and social services. It discusses safeguards of family life; maternal and infant care; and local, state, and federal responsibility for public maternal and child health services. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Child labor, Child welfare, Conferences, Education, Family support services, Reports, Standards

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1942. Occupational hazards to young workers: Report no. 3—The coal-mining industry. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 55 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 275)

White House Conference on Children in a Democracy. 1942. Final report. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 389 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 272)

Annotation: This final report of the White House Conference on Children in a Democracy, held in Washington, DC in 1940, gives background information on children's lives and discusses family economic problems and economic assistance, education, employment, social services, health, housing, and government and administration. The report concludes with recommendations.

Contact: Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History, Cornell University, Albert R. Mann Library, 260 Tower Road, Ithaca, NY 14853, Telephone: (607) 255-5406 Fax: (607) 255-0318 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://hearth.library.cornell.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Conferences, Child labor, Child protective services, Children, Education, Family characteristics, Family support, Housing, Recreation, Recreation, Religion, Religion, Reports

Wood H. 1940. Young workers and their jobs in 1936: A survey in six states. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 95 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); No.249 )

White House Conference on Children in a Democracy. 1940. Children in a democracy: General report adopted by the White House Conference on Children in a Democracy, January 19, 1940, Washington, DC. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 86 pp.

U.S. Children's Bureau, Industrial Division. 1940. Trend of child labor 1937 to 1939. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 17 pp. (Serial no. R 1058)

Lenroot KF. 1940. Child welfare 1930-40. The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science. 1-11. November, 1940 , 11 pp. (Reprinted for the Children's Bureau, United States Department of Labor)

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1939. The Children's Bureau and its relationships with other agencies: Federal—state—local—public—private. Washington, DC: U.S. Children's Bureau, 18 pp. ([Children's Bureau publication])

Annotation: This publication describes the organization and function of the Children's Bureau. It documents the original purpose of the Children's Bureau, which was created by an Act of Congress in 1912, and highlights the initial activities of the Bureau from its first annual report. The functions, personnel and appropriates in fiscal year 1940 are described as well as its relationships with other federal agencies. It is a typescript of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Child labor, Children', Federal agencies, Private sector, State agencies, s Bureau
« Previous Page     Next Page »

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.