Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report draws on federal data to provide a statistical portrait of juvenile homicide victimization presented in overall patterns and victim age groups. Specific types of homicide victimization included are maltreatment, abduction, and school homicides. Initiatives designed to prevent homicide are discussed.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 187239.

• PDF

Keywords: Abductions, Child death review, Children, Crime prevention, Family violence, Homicide, Maltreated children, Physical abuse, School violence, Statistical data, Victims, Violence prevention, Youth

Annotation: This document reviews population-based data about disparities in infant health outcomes; reviews the fetal infant mortality review (FIMR) process; describes the potential role of this process in addressing disparities in outcomes; and provides specific examples of successful new community actions developed by culturally diverse FIMR programs. The document is divided into five sections: (1) introduction, (2) what Is FIMR? (3) how FIMR can help, (4) making a difference: A sampler of FIMR actions to reduce health disparities, and (5) conclusion. References and a bibliography are provided. The appendix contains an inclusivity checklist for measuring the cultural competence of an FIMR program. Statistics are provided in table format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska, California, Child death review, Connecticut, Fetal mortality, Florida, Health care delivery, Indiana, Infant health, Infant mortality, Iowa, Maryland, New Jersey, Program descriptions, State initiatives, Statistics, Virginia, Wisconsin

Annotation: This publication was written to provide fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR) directors and coordinators with information to help sustain their programs. Topics covered include: sustaining FIMR; marketing and communications; funding development; models; and data and information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Fetal mortality, Financing, Infant mortality, Marketing, Models

Annotation: This video and its discussion guide were created as part of a statewide public awareness media campaign for North Carolina's Minority Infant Mortality Reduction Project. The campaign's goal was to increase public awareness of the increased risks of infant mortality that African American families face and of the things that can be done to reduce the risks. In the video, five women share their experiences, each with a different birth outcome and life situation. It also provides information on low birthweight, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and the recommended sleeping position for an infant. The discussion guide provides resources for facilitating a community group discussion of the video. It includes definitions, data about infant mortality in North Carolina, information about why babies die and who is most at risk, and things women can do before and during pregnancy to reduce the risks.

Contact: Baby Love Plus, 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604, Telephone: (919) 733-4984 Available at no charge.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Cause of death, Child death review, Community participation, High risk groups, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Media campaigns, Minority groups, North Carolina, Prenatal care, Prevention, Sleep position, Videotapes

Annotation: This report assesses the current state of fatal child abuse and neglect, evaluates current programs addressing the problem, and recommends strategies for improving those programs and services in the future. The report describes the mission and composition of the U.S. Advisory Board on Child Abuse and Neglect; provides an executive summary; defines the scope and nature of fatal abuse and neglect; considers factors affecting case investigation and prosecution; discusses the need for a national system of child death review teams; and considers future services, interventions, and prevention strategies. Appendices include a review of child fatality research and literature, and contact information for child death review teams.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov $19.00; prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-042635-9.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child death review, Child mortality, Child neglect, Children, Intervention, Legal issues, Prevalence, Prevention, Program descriptions, Program development, Social services, Statistical analysis

Annotation: This annual report summarizes the activities of the Arizona Child Fatality Review Team for the year covered. It includes an executive summary and introduction, presents major findings on causes of death to children and adolescents, outlines accomplishments and challenges and presents policy recommendations. Data are included for motor vehicle crashes; drownings; smoke inhalation and burns; violence related deaths due to suicide, child abuse, homicide, and shooting deaths; and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Appendices include state statutes, statistical tables on the leading causes of death, lists of state and local team members, and a publications list.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Child Fatality Review Program, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/owch/cfr.htm Available from the website.

• Reports For Recent Years

Keywords: Adolescents, Arizona, Burns, Cause of death, Child abuse, Child death review, Children, Demographics, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Fires, Homicide, Mortality, Motor vehicle injuries, Program descriptions, SIDS, Statistics, Suicide, Violence

Annotation: This report presents statistical results from the nationally linked birth and infant death data set for the birth cohort of 1985, a new National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) resource for studying infant mortality. It reviews the history and background of linked files in the Public Health Service (PHS) and describes the methodology by which linked files were created at NCHS. The report also presents a descriptive analysis of infant mortality for selected variables by race for the 1985 cohort; examines infant mortality rates for detailed race groups, comparing cohort and period rates; and provides detailed tables of live births and infant deaths and mortality rates for selected variables by race of child and age at death.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 94-1852; ISBN 0-8406-0489-0.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Demographics, Infant mortality, Statistics

Annotation: This fact sheet describes trends in the development and operations of state and local child death review teams. It summarizes the activities of the U.S. Advisory Board on Child Abuse and Neglect and an informal national team. Operations of state and local teams are also described. The fact sheet includes a map indicating which states have state teams or local teams and those which have no teams or are in the planning process.

Keywords: Child death review, Child mortality, Infant mortality, Local programs, Program descriptions, Program development, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about infant mortality review projects funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The infant mortality review projects are of two types: hospital-based medical record reviews that apply specific conceptual models to analysis of infant mortality; and community-based studies of fetal and infant deaths to identify socioeconomic, public health, behavioral, administrative, educational, environmental, and systems factors connected with death events. The publication includes a description of each project, a list of products available to others who wish to implement review programs, and the proceedings of a meeting held by the projects in 1989. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Infant mortality, Medical records

Annotation: This protocol for Illinois child death review teams is a collection of guidelines for standardizing suspected child abuse and neglect autopsies. Sections focus on the review of records, components of a thorough autopsy, evidence of external injury, and suggested documentation. Appendices include guidelines for radiographic assessment of suspected child abuse, nutritional assessment of deceased children, child abuse bite marks as potential evidence, roles of principal agencies involved in the investigation, and copies of standard growth charts.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child death review, Child mortality, Guidelines, Illinois, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Population surveillance, Protocols, State initiatives, Training

Annotation: This manual presents recommended features of perinatal mortality and morbidity study committees in hospitals, cities, counties, and states. It also presents terms and definitions. Appendices list the names of individuals who participated in conferences that developed this manual.

• Link

Keywords: Child death review, Committees, Fetal morbidity, Fetal mortality, Infant morbidity, Infant mortality, Manuals

Annotation: This report outlines accidental child death in 1949. Charts provide information on (1) childhood mortality rates from accidents and other causes, (2) the main causes of childhood accidents, and (3) places in which childhood accident deaths occur. Additional topics include classification of causes, accidental suffocation, race and sex differences, and transport accidents.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cause of death, Child death review, Child mortality, Statistical data