Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This annual report synthesizes information provided by state child protective service agencies to the federally mandated National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS). It reviews the background of the data collection process; analyzes the national child abuse and neglect data for the year being covered; considers the detailed case data component of NCANDS with examples of some of the types of analyses that can be made of the data; and discusses future directions. Data gathered include: age, sex, race or ethnic group of victims, types of abuse, case dispositions and descriptive information on perpetrators. Appendices contain listings for state advisory group representatives, summary data component tables, and state responses to the summary data component and state comments. This report was previously published under the title: "National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System Working Paper 1: 1990 Summary Data Component, " and "National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System Working Paper 2: 1991 Summary Data Component."

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Crime, Data collection, Demographics, Emotional abuse, Federal programs, National data, Sexual assault, State data reports, State surveys, Statistics

Annotation: This book for parents provides practical advice for helping their adolescent children adjust to the changes of adolescence and make good decisions about drugs, alcohol, tobacco, premature sexual activity and other threats to their physical and emotional well-being. The book is divided into four parts: an overview of the changes common to adolescence; the environments of home, school, and the world; safeguarding against the hurdles of adolescence; and setting good health patterns for a lifetime. Topics also include safety and injury prevention, common medical conditions in adolescence, sport and physical activity, and chronic illness or disability. Highlighted information and statistics are presented in tables and boxes throughout the book, and an index is provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-533-37996-8.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent health, Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Parents, Psychosocial development, Self esteem, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse

Annotation: This bulletin explores the strengths and weaknesses of six possible explanations for the decline in child sexual abuse cases substantiated by child protective services by using data from several state and national sources. These sources include the National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS), state child protective service data, the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), and the Minnesota Student Survey. Key findings are presented, evidence and explanations are offered for the decline, evidence is presented to support each of the six explanations, and a conclusion is offered. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the bulletin. The bulletin concludes with a list of references.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 199298.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Child protection agencies, Data, Sexual abuse, Surveys, Trends, Victims

Annotation: This report analyzes data from a 2002 survey undertaken to determine the prevalence of sexual assault in Virginia. According to this survey, the vast majority of sexual assault victims in the state were first victimized as children. This report focuses on data pertaining to respondents victimized as children. The report, which includes an executive summary, also discusses the study methods, findings, and recommendations. Statistical information is provided in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes references.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Division of Injury and Violence Prevention, PO Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7733 Secondary Telephone: (800) 732-8333 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vahealth.org/civp/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Children, Data, Sexual assault, Surveys, Virginia

Annotation: This report, which is intended for service providers and counselors working with adolescents and college students, victim and women's advocacy groups, and researchers, summarizes two studies that used different methodologies and samples to determine the extent to which physical and sexual abuse as a child or adolescent contributes to later abuse. The report discusses the two studies' methodologies, findings, and limitations. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. References are included.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 197019.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child sexual abuse, Domestic violence, Research, Sexual abuse, Women

Annotation: This book examines several decades of indicators that reflect changes in children's behavior as well as social-environmental factors that influence their development. It also provides new perspectives on how children are functioning in educational and health domains, why their performance has improved or worsened, and what implications these findings have for programs and policies to benefit children and families. Topics include educational achievement; tobacco, alcohol and other drug use in adolescence; sexual activity among adolescents; health trends; changing family circumstances; child maltreatment; child care and family support; children's well-being in a community context, children and the changing media environment; an historical overview of children and childhood in the United States in the 20th century; and policy trends affecting children and youth. Information is provided about about the editors and contributors to the book and there is an author and subject index. Statistical tables and figures provide data throughout the report.

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-87868-824-2.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Educational attainment, Family relations, Sexual behavior, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Substance abuse, Trends

Annotation: This brief presents information on many types of violence (including the most common forms of violence, the least common forms of violence, and other types of violence) that affect children's lives, as well as critical intersections of violence and age, gender, and race and ethnicity. The brief considers the need to collect other types of information to help monitor and track violence in the lives of America's children and adolescents. The brief also offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the brief. The brief concludes with a list of data sources for figures, and endnotes.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-932359-06-X.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Domestic violence, Ethnic factors, Fighting, Gun violence, Infants, Media violence, Racial factors, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Suicide, Violence, Violence prevention, Weapons

Annotation: This policy and resource guide brings together policies, position statements, and advocacy activities that address violence, intentional injury, and abuse affecting adolescents. The guide covers the following topics: (1) bullying and physical fighting, (2) education and training, (3) legal considerations, (4) physical abuse and neglect, (5) sexual abuse and sexual assault, (6) special populations, (7) suicide and attempted suicide, (8) violence and the media, (9) model policy recommendations on violence and adolescents: intentional injury and abuse, (10) joint policy statements, (11) violence prevention projects and activities, and (12) Internet resources for statistics and additional information on violence prevention. The guide includes one appendix: organizations of the AMA National Coalition on Adolescent Health. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Available at no charge; also available from the web site.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Advocacy, Attempted suicide, Bullying, Child abuse, Child neglect, Education, Fighting, MCH research, Public policy, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Suicide, Training, Violence prevention

Annotation: This book consists of a collection of essays on topics related to the history of child health in the United States from 1880 to 2000. The book is divided into three parts: (1) pediatrics as a subspecialty, (2) standardizing the child, and (3) discovering new diseases in children. Each part comprises several essays. Essay topics include the origins of scientific pediatrics, the relationship between public health workers and pediatricians, technology, pediatricians as experts in child health, eugenics in the Midwest, adolescent growth and development, school diseases in the late 19th century, juvenile diabetes and the origins of managerial medicine, the discovery of child sexual abuse in America, and fetal alcohol syndrome in the late 20th century. A bibliography, a list of suggested reading, and an index are included.

Contact: University of Michigan Press, 839 Greene Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-3209, Telephone: (734) 764-4388 Fax: (734) 615-1540 Web Site: http://www.press.umich.edu $60.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-472-11268-6.

• Available To Read Online But Not Download

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Child health, Child sexual abuse, Diabetes mellitus, Fetal alcohol syndrome, History, Pediatricians, Pediatrics, Public health, School health, Technology

Annotation: This manual is part of a three volume set designed to provide information to teachers about the many facets of the Bright Futures Pediatric Education Project. Part one of this manual discusses screening and health promotion in the young, middle, and older adolescent. Section two presents issues of sexuality and reproductive health at the adolescent stage. Topics include sexually transmitted diseases; contraception, pregnancy; HIV and dysfunctional uterine bleeding. The third section presents three case studies in mental health: anorexia nervosa, depression, and substance abuse. The manual concludes with Bright Futures evaluation questions for adolescent health. In 2015 the cases in this manual are available separately at the program website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Genentech Foundation for Growth and Development]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN100 (3 vol set.).

• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Anorexia nervosa, Bright Futures, Child health supervision, Contraception, Depression, Dysfunctional uterine bleeding, HIV, Health promotion, Health screening, Oral contraceptives, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Young adults

Annotation: This manual is part of a three volume set designed to provide information to teachers about the many facets of the Bright Futures Pediatric Education Project. The first section of this manual presents case studies in child development, specifically delays in development, Down syndrome, and an atypical behavior situation. Section two focuses on the school environment: school readiness, learning disorders, attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and recurrent abdominal pain. The third section addresses case studies in physical and sexual abuse, as well as child neglect. The resources section contains sample forms with evaluation questions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Genentech Foundation for Growth and Development]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Contact for cost information. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN100 (3 vol set.).

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Bright Futures, Case studies, Child behavior, Child development, Child health supervision, Child neglect, Delayed development, Diagnosis, Down syndrome, Educational materials, Hyperactivity, Learning disabilities, Physical abuse, Professional education, Program evaluation, School readiness, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This report is a compilation of all the Healthy People 2010 objectives that directly address reproductive health. These objectives are organized according to the following topics: access to quality health services; cancer; educational and community-based programs; family planning; health communication; HIV; immunization and infectious diseases; injury and violence prevention; maternal, infant, and child health; nutrition and overweight; sexually transmitted diseases; and substance abuse. In addition to discussing these objectives, the report discusses tracking reproductive health and provides operational definitions and major data sources.

Contact: Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse, P.O. Box 30686, Bethesda, MD 20824-0686, Telephone: (866) 640-7827 Fax: (866) 592-3299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa/order-publications/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Body weight, Cancer, Child health, Communicable diseases, Communication, Community programs, Educational programs, Family planning, HIV, Healthy People 2010, Immunization, Infant health, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Nutrition, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

Annotation: Sexually abused children often have poor mental health. In north central North Carolina, access to appropriate mental health services fails for more than half of the children identified as sexually abused. This 5-year project sought to improve access to appropriate mental health services as well as the mental health and behavioral status of these children and their caretakers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child Sexual Abuse, Families, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Mental Health Services

Annotation: This bulletin seeks to raise awareness of the magnitude and gravity of adolescent maltreatment and to provide information on public health program and policy interventions. Adolescent victimization is reviewed, with a focus on vulnerable youth, to provide background for the development of public health measures to promote prevention and ensure recognition and early intervention for treatment of adolescent abuse and neglect. A bibliography is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Child abuse, Child neglect, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This publication is designed to help oral health teams identify, report, and respond to child abuse and neglect. Topics include the extent of abuse and neglect; the importance of becoming involved; relevant Montana state laws; reporting, investigation, and intervention; indicators of maltreatment and distinguishing between abuse and accidental injury; physical abuse, emotional maltreatment, neglect, sexual abuse, and myths about sexual abuse; steps to take if a child indicates abuse or neglect; profiles of abusers; and support for children and their families. Appendices include a protocol for identification and reporting, description of a child abuse helpline, and a resource list.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Emotional abuse, Legislation, Montana, Oral health, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This book provides information on sexual abuse through the first person fictional account of a twelve-year-old adolescent. It was developed to instruct others how to recognize sexual abuse and what to do about it. The book tells the story of Cassie who is molested by the father of the children she babysits. Initially, Cassie tries to keep the sexual abuse a secret but eventually it is revealed, and the resulting trauma of Cassie, her parents, the perpetrator, and his family is portrayed. The novel was originally produced in 1989 by Peace Ventures Press.

Contact: Morning Glory Press, 6595 San Haroldo Way, Buena Park, CA 90620-3748, Telephone: (888) 612-8254 Fax: (888) 327-4362 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.morningglorypress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-885356-03-x, paper; 1-885356-04-8, cloth.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This compilation presents state statistics on child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, finance and administration of state programs, risk factors, and prevention efforts. This title was previously called "Child Welfare Stat Book."

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org $26.95 plus shipping and handling; no shipping and handling if prepaid. Also available on diskette (Excel v.5.0 only) for Macintosh and Windows, call (202) 638-2952 for details. Document Number: ISBN 0-87868-628-2.

Keywords: Administration, Adolescents, Adoption, Budgets, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Children, Data, Financing, Maltreated children, Out of home care, Physical abuse, Prevention, Risk factors, Sexual abuse, State government

Annotation: These guidelines discuss the implications of family violence with regard to its prevalence and costs and the role of physicians in its treatment. The guidelines consider clinical aspects such as adapting to stress and review indicators of elder mistreatment, child physical abuse and neglect, child sexual abuse, partner abuse and neglect, and adult survivors of childhood abuse. It also considers the assessment and treatment of family violence, and provides suggestions for making referrals. Topics relating to legal issues are also discussed; and contact information is provided for state resources for domestic violence, elder mistreatment, and child abuse.

Contact: American Medical Association, Department of Mental Health, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (312) 464-5066 Secondary Telephone: 800-621-8335 Contact Phone: ((312)) 464-5066 Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org/ $2.25 members for 1 to 24 copies; $3.00 nonmembers for 1 to 24 copies; discounts available for bulk orders; prepayment required; make checks payable to American Medical Association.

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Domestic violence, Elder abuse, Family violence, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Physicians, Protocols, Therapeutics Legal responsibility

Annotation: This paper explores twelve issues relating to family violence; for each topic it provides a context and discusses the implications for mental health professionals. Some of the topics covered are: is treating family violence an intrusion into family privacy, is violence a learned behavior, and is spanking children abusive. Other topics include: how do emotions affect the professionals' approaches to family violence, why don't battered women take their children and leave, are mandatory reporting laws helpful, what does society want police to do in response to family violence, and what legal concerns should professionals have as they work with families?

Contact: American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4242, Telephone: (202) 336-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-2721 Contact Phone: (202) 336-5898 Fax: (202) 336-6069 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apa.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Battered women, Behavior disorders, Child abuse, Family violence, Legal responsibility, Mental health professionals, Physical abuse, Professional ethics, Sexual abuse, Social problems

Annotation: This brochure promotes two series of educational software programs for children in grades 5 to 12. The computer programs are available in three licensing arrangements: single user, network, and site license; and they are written to operate on IBM or Macintosh computer systems. The drug abuse prevention series advocates no-use attitudes and values and suggests positive alternatives. The programs employ tutorials, self-tests, role plays, and games to teach life skills, peer refusal skills, setting goals, and communication and interpersonal skills. Titles in the Drug Abuse Prevention Series include: Drug Abuse Learning Environment, Street Drugs: Trip or Trap, Cocaine and Crack, Alcohol: Growing Up in a Drinking World, and Tobacco: Smoking and Chewing. The Health and Guidance Series includes titles such as Understanding AIDS, the Baby Game, Teens Are Nondivorceable, Communication Essentials, and Problems and Solutions: A Guide to Conflict Resolution.

Contact: Substance Abuse Education, 670 South Fourth Street, P.O. Box 13738, Edwardsville, KS 66113, Telephone: (800) 530-5607 Secondary Telephone: (913) 441-1868 Fax: (913) 441-2119 Brochure available at no charge; program disks start at $49.95.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Child health, Children, Communication skills, Computer software, Conflict resolution, Educational materials, Life skills, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Substance abuse