Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These voluntary guidelines are intended to support schools in creating an inclusive environment for all students in Michigan. Contents include best practice strategies for school districts to create a supportive learning environment with specific guidance on supporting transgender and gender nonconforming students. Definitions are included.

Contact: Michigan State Board of Education, 608 W. Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3324 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-5373---,00.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Child health, Child safety, Civil rights, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Injury prevention, Learning, Michigan, Nonconformity, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, School districts, Schools, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Sexual harassment, Students, Violence prevention, Work force

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #9: Bullying--percent of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, who are bullied or bully others. It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Bullying, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This document provides an overview of bullying prevention from a public health perspective. It defines bullying, discusses its prevalence and consequences for children who bully, are bullied, and bystanders, and outlines the role public health professionals can play in prevention efforts. The document describes five key strategies for public health programs to address bullying: assessing relevant laws and policies, developing and evaluating interventions, collecting and analyzing data, providing training and technical assistance, and facilitating collaborations between organizations. It also includes a list of resources on bullying prevention for various audiences.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Prevention, Public health, School violence

Annotation: This brief for state and local education agencies presents findings from the peer-reviewed literature on associations between in-person and electronic bullying victimization and missing school because of safety concerns among students in high school. The brief also describes what education agencies can do to prevent bullying. Topics include sharing information about potential education-related consequences of bullying, addressing electronic bullying beyond school boundaries, responding to co-occurring types of bullying, and opportunities for collaboration with health professionals.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Collaboration, High school students, Injury prevention, Research, School attendance, State agencies, Violence prevention

Annotation: This annual report presents data on school crime and student safety. The indicators in the report are based on information drawn from a variety of data sources including national surveys of students, teachers, principals, and postsecondary institutions. The report covers topics such as victimization, teacher injury, bullying and cyberbullying, school conditions, fights, weapons, availability and student use of drugs and alcohol, student perceptions of personal safety at school, and criminal incidents at postsecondary institutions. Indicators of crime and safety are compared across different population subgroups and over time. Data on crimes that occur away from school are offered as a point of comparison where available.

Contact: National Center for Education Statistics, 1990 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 502-7300 Secondary Telephone: (202) 502-7442 Fax: (202) 219-1736 Web Site: http://www.nces.ed.gov Available from the website.

• 2021 Report
• Website

Keywords: Bullying, College students, Colleges, Crime, Data, Drug use, Environmental influences, Injuries, School age children, School safety, Schools, Trends, Violence, Weapons

Annotation: This document presents results from a survey of state maternal and child health (MCH) and injury and violence prevention program directors in all 50 states and the District of Columbia about state health agency involvement in bullying prevention efforts. Topics include leadership of state bullying prevention efforts, strategies used by state public health agencies to prevent bullying, types of bullying addressed by state public health agencies, systems and populations addressed by state public health agency bullying prevention efforts, funding for bullying prevention, strategic plans for bullying prevention, measuring progress in bullying prevention, and multi-agency bullying prevention task forces and committees. Strengths, challenges, opportunities, and conclusions are also addressed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Bullying, Financing, Injury prevention, Leadership, Measures, Multidisciplinary teams, Prevention programs, State health agencies, State surveys, Strategic plans, Violence prevention

Annotation: This bullying prevention training module provides information and resources to help viewers lead bullying prevention efforts in their local communities. The training describes the many forms of bullying; presents best practices and misdirections in bullying prevention and response, and provides case studies to help community facilitators lead effective prevention programs. Group brainstorming and next action steps are also covered in the training module, which can be viewed in English or Spanish as slides or in printable pdf format.

Contact: Stopbullying.gov, 200 Independence Avenue, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://www.stopbullying.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Bullying, Community participation, Prevention, Training materials

Annotation: This document is designed to help organizations, researchers, evaluators, community groups, educators, and public health officials define and gather systematic data on bullying to better inform research and prevention efforts. Contents include background on the problem including what is currently known about the public health burden of bullying and the need for a uniform definition of bullying, the uniform definition and description of key terms, considerations to keep in mind when gathering data on bullying, and recommended data elements.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Data collection, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, Research

Annotation: This document provides information to improve schools' understanding of and ability to prevent and respond to bullying- and suicide-related behaviors. Contents include research on bullying and suicide, and what school personnel can do and where they can find more information.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Bullying, Child mental health, Data linkage, Prevention, Suicide, Youth

Annotation: [[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of research representative of the depth and breadth of publications addressing child and youth online safety. Contents include an analysis of key findings, knowledge gaps, and policy recommendations. Topics include cyberbullying, sexual solicitation and unwanted exposure to sexual content, the role of privacy, parent and community involvement, and intergenerational gaps in attitudes toward internet safety issues.

Contact: Brookings Institution, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 797-6000 Fax: (202) 797-6004 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookings.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Communication, Confidentiality, Internet, Interpersonal relations, Measures, Online systems, Policy development, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Research, Risk factors, Safety, Sexual harassment, Trust

Annotation: This letter provides guidance for schools in the area of disability discrimination and urges schools to work proactively to ensure a safe school environment for all students. Contents include an overview of federal protections for students with disabilities in schools; the elements of a violation; how complaints involving bullying of students with disabilities are analyzed; and hypothetical examples that illustrate varying circumstances when conduct may constitute a violation. The guidance also offers insight into what might be required of a school to remedy instances of bullying upon a finding of disability discrimination.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Lyndon Baines Johnson Department of Education Building, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202-1100, Telephone: (800) 421-3481 Fax: (202) 453-6012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Bullying, Children with special health care needs, Schools, Social discrimination

Annotation: This resource guide provides links to organizations, programs, publications, and resources focused on Internet safety, as well as information on a variety of subtopics related to the Internet, including: alcohol and drugs, cyberbullying, sexting, social networking, and suicide and self-harm. Each item in the guide includes a short description and a link to the resource itself. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Communication skills, Internet, Mental health, Online systems, Relationships, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Safety

Annotation: This is a prerecorded multidisciplinary course for family members of children with disabilities and the professionals who support them about preventing abuse and neglect of children with disabilities. Topics include how widespread abuse and neglect of children with disabilities is, why children with disabilities are at greater risk of abuse and neglect, why it is difficult to identify abuse and neglect in children with disabilities, and roles in identifying and reporting abuse and neglect of children with disabilities. The 3-session course lasts approximately 90 minutes.

Contact: Virginia Home Visiting Consortium, James Madison University, The Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services, Harrisonburg, VA , Telephone: (540) 568-5251 Fax: (540) 568-6409 E-mail: homevisitingconsortium.jmu.edu Web Site: http://www.homevisitingva.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Families, Infants, Injury prevention, Interdisciplinary approach, Multidisciplinary teams, Special health care needs, Training, Violence prevention

Annotation: This updated policy brief provides information about the Highmark Foundation bullying-prevention initiative within its Highmark Healthy High 5 project. The brief describes how Highmark worked to help schools in a 49-county area of Pennsylvania implement the Olweus Bullying Prevention Program.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Mental health, Pennsylvania, Prevention, Programs, Public health, Schools, State initiatives

Annotation: This journal supplement explores bullying and suicide among adolescents. Contents include eight articles that convey the complexity of the relationship between bullying (as perpetrators and/or victims) and suicide-related behaviors. Topics include suicidal thinking and behavior among adolescents involved in verbal and social bullying; psychological, physical, and academic correlates of cyberbullying and traditional bullying; inclusive anti-bullying policies and reduced risk of suicide attempts in lesbian and gay adolescents; suicidal ideation and school bullying experiences; potential suicide ideation and its association with observing bullying in school; suicidal adolescents' experiences with bullying perpetration and victimization during high school as risk factors for later depression and suicidal thinking or behavior; acutely suicidal adolescents who engage in bullying behavior; and precipitating circumstances of suicide among adolescents (ages 10-17) by sex.

Contact: Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine, 111 Deer Lake Road, Suite 100, Deerfield, IL 60015, Telephone: (847) 753-5226 Fax: (847) 480-9282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.adolescenthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Bullying, Mental health, Policy analysis, Risk factors, School health, Suicide

Annotation: This guide for school leaders provides information about how to create a tolerant environment at school that is inclusive of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. The guide discusses building an inclusive school climate and preventing and addressing problems (such as bullying and harassment).

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Bullying, Homosexuality, Inclusion, Inclusive schools, Prevention, Schools, Sexual harassment, Sexuality, Tolerance

Annotation: This website describes a documentary film geared toward middle school and high school students, administrators, teachers, and counselors that chronicles one student's ordeal at the hands of anti-gay bullies and offers a message of hope for those fighting harassment. The film is intended to help create a safer school environment for all students, help students understand the toll bullying takes on victims, and encourage students to stand up for classmates who are being harassed. The film, which is 40 minutes in length, includes closed captioning and Spanish subtitles. Also included is a viewer's guide with lesson plans and activities that can be used in staff development. Additional related resources are available on the website.

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• Video
• Viewer's Guide

Keywords: Bullying, Consumer education materials, High schools, Homosexuality, Middle schools, Safety, Sexual harassment, Spanish language materials, Staff development, Tolerance

Annotation: This book presents a public health approach to bullying prevention for parents and professionals looking for advice on specific facets of school-based bullying. The book focuses on public health strategies to provide a scientific approach to community planning, the use of evidence-based programs, coalition development, and the ability to change the culture in a school and community to one that is positive and strong. Topics include social and mental health consequences of bullying; practical implications for school administrators; health consequences; creating healthy school climates for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered students; best practices; foundations of coalition building; community engagement; a call to action for schools and legislators; and program sustainability.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-87553-203-5.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Community participation, Homosexuality, Mental health, Public health, School linked programs, School safety, Schools, Social factors, Students, Violence prevention

Annotation: This fact sheet for families provides information about how foster parents can support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. The fact sheet provides background information about LGBTQ youth and discusses LGBTQ youth and the child welfare system, creating a welcoming home for youth, and supporting youth in the community.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Bullying, Child welfare agencies, Community programs, Foster children, Foster parents, Homosexuality, Parent support services, Prevention, Schools, Social services, Youth, Youth development