Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These presentation materials describe the mission and vision of Virginia's Center for Family Involvement, which include aiding families in helping their children and adolescents with disabilities to lead the lives that they want. Included is information on how parents and families can become advocates, mentors and leaders in the process, and describes the direct support to families includes peer support, training, and materials provided by the Center. This presentation also discusses the process by which families can be referred into the program, how they get a family navigator, and how data is compiled (includes sample part of form), and how family impact/assessment is done. Also included is a map of Virginia with locations of the Family to Family network and a statistical of family data collected between 2014 - 2016.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: State CSHCN programs, Autism, Data collection, Virginia

Annotation: These presentation slides are designed to equip an interdisciplinary team with the knowledge and tools necessary to conduct comprehensive diagnostic assessments in a healthcare setting. The assessments aim to provide a thorough understanding of the child's strengths and challenges concerning autism features, adhering to best practices in team collaboration. The process emphasizes the importance of engaging parents as active partners and serves as a foundation for effective interventions. The recommended approach for autism spectrum disorder (ASD) assessments involves collaboration among practitioners from various medical specialties. The ultimate goal is to enhance outcomes for the child and increase parental satisfaction. These materials outline the assessment tools to be utilized, detail training modules for medical staff, and discuss both the results of the training and the challenges encountered.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Presentation Slides

Keywords: Autism, Assessment, Diagnosis, Intervention, Training programs, Staff development

Annotation: This is the agenda for a multi-state meeting held on June 15, 2016 that focused on addressing gaps in autism knowledge and diagnosis. The agenda covered three main topics: diagnosis and evaluation, parent engagement and outreach, and technology and financing. The meeting included teams from Virginia, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Iowa, and Michigan.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, State CSHCN programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This report describes characteristics of youth on the autism spectrum at age 17; what happens to them as they enter adulthood in the areas of transition planning and the services cliff; and what is known about key outcomes in the areas of disconnection, health, mental health, health care, postsecondary education, employment, living arrangements, social and community participation, and safety and risk. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Statistics, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This environmental scan describes national and federal programs and initiatives aimed at improving developmental and autism screening for children.

Contact: State Public Health Autism Resource Center, Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs , 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350 , Washington, D.C. 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Web Site: http://www.amchp.org/programsandtopics/CYSHCN/projects/spharc/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Federal initiatives , Federal programs, National programs

Annotation: This report, developed by AMCHP’s State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC), provides an environmental scan of national and federal programs, initiatives, and efforts aimed at improving developmental and autism screening. It builds on an earlier scan and aims to compile a comprehensive overview of key initiatives with a significant national or multi-state reach and specific objectives related to developmental and autism screening. This guide is intended for use by professionals, policymakers, and organizations involved in developmental and autism screening to stay informed about relevant programs and initiatives, and it is expected to be updated as new initiatives emerge.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Federal agencies, State agencies, Developmental screening, Title V programs,

Annotation: This flyer for parents and health professionals provides oral health information specific to children with autism. Topics include facts about oral health in children and tips for preventing dental caries in early childhood. The flyer addresses checking teeth for spots, introducing new textures, visiting the dentist, and oral sensitivities and toothbrushing. Information on finding a dentist, scheduling an in-home dental visit, and parent-to-parent support are included. The flyer is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Children's Hospital and Health Center, Anderson Center for Dental Care, 3020 Children's Way, San Diego, CA 92123, Telephone: (858) 576-1700 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-9029 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.rchsd.org/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Autism, Children with special health care needs, Dental hygiene, Oral health, Oral health care

Annotation: This flyer for parents and health professionals provides oral health information specific to children with autism. Topics include facts about oral health in children and tips for preventing dental caries in early childhood. The flyer addresses checking teeth for spots, introducing new textures, visiting the dentist, and oral sensitivities and toothbrushing. Information on finding a dentist, scheduling an in-home dental visit, and parent-to-parent support are included. The flyer is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Children's Hospital and Health Center, Anderson Center for Dental Care, 3020 Children's Way, San Diego, CA 92123, Telephone: (858) 576-1700 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-9029 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.rchsd.org/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Autism, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Oral health, Oral health care

Annotation: This annual report, required by public law, describes progress and expenditures made in autism spectrum disorder (ASD)-related research and services activities across the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the U.S. Department of Education, the U.S. Department of Defense, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the National Science Foundation. Topics include progress and expenditures; prevalence of ASD; average age of diagnosis; average age for intervention; average time between screening, diagnosis, and intervention; effectiveness and outcomes of interventions; and adult services and supports. The appendices contain a list of acronyms, a summary of the previous report, and related publications.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20201, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://iacc.hhs.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS 14-8012.

• PDF
• Previous Reports

Keywords: Autism, Costs, Early intervention, Family support services, Federal legislation, Interagency cooperation, Prevalence, Research, Screening, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This guide for parents and other caregivers describes research about the possible benefits and negative side effects of therapies for children ages 2 through 12 who have an autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The guide explains what ASDs are and summarizes the research on programs that treat ASD symptoms. Topics include behavior and development programs, education and learning programs, medications, and other treatments and therapies. Guidelines to help parents and caregivers choose the best therapy and programs for their child are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 14-EHC036-A.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Autism, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Families, Research reviews

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from a systematic review of research focusing on children who are at risk of being diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder (ASD) or who have already been diagnosed with ASD. The report provides background information on ASD (including statistics on prevalence in the United States and goals for treatment) and information on comparative efforts aimed at medical, behavioral, educational, and allied health interventions. Intended for clinicians, the report includes a summary of the evidence on the effectiveness or harm of various treatments, including drug therapies (rating them on a confidence scale ranging from insufficient to low, moderate, and high). The report also describes the gaps in knowledge; discusses future research needs; and suggests topics to discuss with patients. The companion web site provides links to related products including consumer information and continuing education activities.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub No. 14-EHC036-3.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Literature reviews, Resources for professionals, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find care, services, and support and websites about autism spectrum disorders. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Autism spectrum disorders, Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Families

Annotation: This brief is designed to help school personnel find resources and services for working with students with autism spectrum disorders. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Autism spectrum disorders, Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Families

Annotation: This annual report lists scientific advances that represent significant progress in the field of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) research. Contents include short, plain language synopses of the top research breakthroughs selected by the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee (IACC) from a pool of peer-reviewed articles nominated by members. The articles are grouped according to the questions of the IACC Strategic Plan for ASD Research. Citations of the articles selected, as well as a complete listing of those nominated, are included at the end of the document. Topics include the causes of autism and potential risk factors, clues that could lead to earlier diagnosis, and promising early intervention strategies. The advances also address the prevalence of ASD both in the United States and internationally, as well as the service needs of people with ASD across the lifespan.

Contact: Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee, National Institute of Mental Health, Office of Autism Research Coordination, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 6182A, Bethesda, MD 20892, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://iacc.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Early intervention, Federal initiatives, Interagency cooperation, Life course, Prevalence, Program coordination, Research, Risk factors

Annotation: This statement updates the November 2013 report published by the U.S. Government Accountabilty Office on federal autism activities. Topics include the extent to which federal agencies fund potentially duplicative autism research and the extent to which the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee and agencies coordinate and monitor federal autism activities. The report presents an analysis of agencies' data and documents, and interviews with federal agency officials. Recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-613T.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Federal programs, Government financing, MCH research, Policy analysis, Program coordination

Annotation: This systematic review updates a prior systematic review of interventions for children (0–12 years) with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), focusing on recent studies of behavioral interventions. It gives background information, discusses how the review was conducted, presents results of the literature searches, and discusses key findings and strength of evidence. An executive summary and summaries for clinicians and consumers are available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Autism, Behavior, Children with special health care needs, Literature reviews, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report provides initial findings of a search of state and other documents related to developmental screening activities and of the Title V Information System online database to identify states with priority needs and performance measures related to developmental screening and early identification, with a focus on children with autism spectrum disorders and developmental disabilities. It describes the Autism Cares Act and strategies to increase developmental screening and improve systems. It discusses issues of data collection, measurement, and infrastructure; coordinating systems and services; and challenges and barriers. State highlights are provided. An accompanying fact sheet lists state performance measures and objectives related to developmental screening and early identification.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Report

Keywords: Autism spectrum disorders, Child development disorders, Developmental screening, State programs

Annotation: This website comprises information and resources from the Autism Transition Project (2012-2014), a two-year project to study how students with an autism spectrum disorder are being prepared to move from the public schools into employment or additional education in the community. Resources include a national and state scan; literature and resources; and the agenda and presentations from the Symposium on Autism Spectrum Disorders & Transition (June 16, 2014) and the Conference Autism Spectrum Disorders & Transitions from High School: Challenges & Opportunities (December 5, 2014).

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Conference proceedings, Literature reviews, Students, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This resource outlines a plan for improving access to comprehensive, coordinated health care and related services for children, youth, and adults with autism spectrum disorder and related developmental disabilities in Georgia. The plan addresses the following ten areas of activity: early identification and screening; referral and diagnosis; medical, behavioral health, and dental services; family support; early intervention and preschool services; elementary and secondary education; community services and supports; transition from youth to adult systems; adult services and supports; and emergency preparedness and first responders. For each area, the report provides a definition, quality indicators (problem statements and data drivers), and recommendations (objectives). The report also describes foundational supports considered in developing the recommendations including work force, awareness, informational resources, finances, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Center for Leadership in Disability, 75 Piedmont Avenue, Suite 514, Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 413-1281 Fax: (404) 413-1012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://disability.publichealth.gsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Autism, Community based services, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disaster planning, Early intervention, Educational objectives, Family centered care, Family support services, Financial planning, Georgia, Health care delivery, Life course, Policy development, Program coordination, Referrals, Screening, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Transition planning, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes key findings on children with special health care needs and autism spectrum disorders (ASD) from the 2007 National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH). and the 2009/10 National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN). It explains what autism spectrum disorders are; discusses the impact of health system performance on families who have children with ASD; and assesses to what extent children with ASD are receiving the minimum quality of care based on measures derived from the national surveys. The report also discusses the extent to which home, school, and neighborhood environments influence CSHCN with ASD. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family, and Reproductive Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cahmi.org Available from the website.

• 2013
• 2012

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, National surveys, Reports