Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report discusses the "Learn the Signs. Act Early" (LTSAE) state systems grant program's impact on improving early identification and intervention for children with Autism Spectrum Disorder and developmental disabilities. It examines three key impact areas: 1) engaging stakeholders and strengthening partnerships across 29 states, 2) training and raising awareness among key stakeholders in 28 states, and 3) developing statewide systems improvements. The document provides detailed case studies from multiple states, including Virginia's success in developing diagnostic teams, Mississippi's statewide coordination efforts, and Massachusetts' multilingual outreach program. While states faced challenges like budget constraints and system coordination, the grant program successfully built state capacity for early identification and service coordination through formalized developmental monitoring, stakeholder engagement, and increased awareness among caregivers and providers.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, State grants, Autism, Developmental screening, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention

Annotation: Taken from a Coffee Talk presentation given in April 2021 by Yetta Myrick of DC Autism Parents for AMCHP/SPARC's Autism Acceptance Month, these slides summarize the talk, covering key topics including autism statistics (noting the CDC's 2020 finding of 1 in 54 children being diagnosed with ASD and equal prevalence among black and white children, though with racial disparities in age of evaluation), neurodiversity concepts, and practical tools such as the Charting the LifeCourse Framework developed by the University of Missouri-Kansas City's Institute for Human Development, along with guidelines for supporting self-advocacy through approaches like presuming competence, enabling choice-making, and teaching safety skills, concluding with resources from the CDC's "Learn the Signs. Act Early." program and the LifeCourse Tools website.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Work force

Annotation: In April 2021, Haley Moss, Esq., gave a Coffee Talk focusing on autism employment and transition. The presentation covers key topics including autism statistics (1 in 54 children, 2.2% of adult population), the business benefits of neurodiversity (citing SAP's $40 million cost-saving solution and 28% higher revenues for inclusive companies), employment challenges (including hiring biases and communication barriers), disclosure strategies (timing options and resources), interview preparation (accommodations and challenges), and self-advocacy in the workplace. The content emphasizes creating inclusive workplace cultures, practical accommodation strategies (noting most cost less than $500), and the importance of neurodiversity in leadership positions, with a strong focus on strengths-based approaches and the need for systemic change from top-down to create truly inclusive work environments.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Work force, Staff development

Annotation: This transcript documents a coffee talk discussion hosted by AMCHP's State Public Health Autism Resource Center, featuring speakers Lydia X. Z. Brown and Dr. Jessica Horvath Williams discussing the intersections of disability, race, and gender oppression. The speakers explore how ableism operates as a foundational system of oppression that intersects with and reinforces other forms of marginalization, particularly focusing on how disability is used to dehumanize various marginalized groups. They delve into complex topics including respectability politics, privilege, guilt, and the responsibilities of those with relative privilege in advocacy spaces. The discussion emphasizes the importance of understanding how environmental racism and systemic oppression create and exacerbate disability in marginalized communities, while also addressing how to navigate spaces and conversations about marginalization when one holds both privileged and marginalized identities, concluding with guidance on appropriate ways to redirect opportunities to more representative voices within affected communities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Race, Gender, Autism, Developmental disabilities,

Annotation: One of a series of four Coffee Talks given in April 2021, this presentation discusses Vanderbilt's TRIAD (Treatment and Research Institute for Autism Spectrum Disorders) program. The presentation covers the implementation and evaluation of telemedicine services for autism assessment and intervention, particularly focusing on reaching underserved rural communities. It outlines the program's development from 2014-2019, including their tele-diagnostic consultation service model, the TELE-ASD-PEDS assessment tool (Telemedicine-based ASD Assessment in Toddlers), and outcome data comparing in-person, hybrid, and telemedicine-only service delivery methods. Data from a satisfaction survey compares effectiveness across all delivery methods in terms of treatment fidelity, communication improvements, the discussion covers the benefits of telemedicine services, such as reduced wait times, increased accessibility, and cost savings for families. The program's TEAM Opp initiative specifically focuses on building capacity in rural and under-resourced areas by partnering with local agencies and training developmental therapists, with satisfaction surveys indicating strong positive feedback from both providers and caregivers regarding the telehealth services.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Early intervention, Telemedicine, Assessment, Underserved communities, Tennessee, Mentors

Annotation: This report focuses on the financial hardships facing families raising children on the autism spectrum. It discusses disability and sociodemographic characteristics of children with autism spectrum disorders, levels of family financial hardship, and safety net program use. Recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Family support services, Financial barriers, Financial support, Statistics

Annotation: From the 2020AMCHP/SPHARC Peer to Peer Exchange, this presentation outlines key resources and initiatives for early childhood development screening and autism awareness, centered around the "Learn the Signs. Act Early" health education campaign. It describes various educational materials available, including autism fact sheets (translated into multiple languages including Spanish, French, Arabic, and Karen), a transition handbook covering healthcare management topics, and free parent resources such as developmental milestone checklists and a tracker app that covers four domains of development (social/emotional, language/communication, cognitive, and movement/physical development). The document also explains the role of Act Early Ambassadors, who serve as state representatives to promote early identification of developmental delays and disabilities by integrating these resources into systems serving young children and their families, with information available through the CDC website.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Presentation Slides Only

Keywords: Iowa, Children with special health care needs, Autism,

Annotation: In this video presentation from Bright Futures, the presenters showcase initiatives and resources related to medical homes and care transitions, featuring specific examples from Virginia's Got Transition family toolkit and New Mexico's family-centered medical home programs. Representatives from Resource Centers share comprehensive overviews of their National Performance Measures (NPMs) related work, followed by detailed state presentations. The content includes an overview of Bright Futures, with particular attention to its medical home components and the newly released 4th edition Resource Kit, along with its website containing extensive state and community resources. The presentation also covers implementation tools focusing on social determinants of health and highlights AMCHP's implementation toolkits, providing practical guidance for program development and execution. Length: 1 hour, 32 mins.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Bright Futures, Medical home, Case studies, New Mexico, Virginia, Transition planning, Family centered health care, Children with Special Health Care Needs, Title V, Autism

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

• Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This presentation provides an in-depth analysis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) prevalence and disparities in access to services in the United States. Dr. Maureen Durkin from the University of Wisconsin-Madison examines epidemiological data from the CDC's Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM) Network to highlight significant increases in autism prevalence over time, from 1 in 150 children in 2000 to 1 in 59 in 2014. The presentation explores racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic disparities in autism identification, showing that white children and those from higher socioeconomic backgrounds are more likely to receive ASD diagnoses compared to Black and Hispanic children. Dr. Durkin presents evidence suggesting these disparities are largely due to inequities in access to developmental assessments and healthcare services rather than true differences in prevalence. The presentation highlights the high costs associated with autism diagnosis and treatment, the unpreparedness of service delivery systems to meet growing needs, and emphasizes the importance of ongoing monitoring, early detection, and strategies to enhance healthcare access and equity for all children with ASD.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Autism, Screening, Wisconsin, Title V programs, State CHSCN programs, Socioeconomic status, Colorado, Wisconsin

Annotation: Taken from the 2019 SPHARC (State Health Autism Resource Center) Peer-to-Peer Exchange, this poster presents state-by-state profiles of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) initiatives and programs across multiple U.S. states including Wisconsin, Washington, Rhode Island, Ohio, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Maryland, Georgia, and Delaware. Each state profile includes unique state facts, data collection methods, quality improvement (QI) initiatives, and community engagement strategies. Common themes across states include efforts to address disparities in ASD screening and diagnosis, particularly among underserved and diverse populations; implementation of family navigation programs; use of data-driven approaches to identify service gaps; development of culturally competent services; and strategies to improve early identification and intervention. The profiles highlight various successful approaches such as Wisconsin's rural service delivery models, Minnesota's ADDM Network participation, Georgia's insurance coverage expansion through "Ava's Law," and Delaware's M-CHAT-R provider training pilot, while also acknowledging challenges including provider shortages, language barriers, and geographic access disparities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, State CHSCN programs, Data analysis, Wisconsin, Washington, Rhode Island, Ohio, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Maryland, Georgia, Delaware

Annotation: This issue brief highlights the successes, challenges, and lessons learned from the CDC's Learn the Signs. Act Early. (LTSAE) state systems grant program spanning eight years (2011-2019). Administered by the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs in partnership with the Association of University Centers on Disabilities, the program funded 34 states to strengthen early identification and coordination of services for children with autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities. The document outlines three key impact areas: formalizing developmental monitoring as a priority, activating stakeholders and strengthening partnerships, and increasing awareness among caregivers and providers. Through state-specific case studies and survey data from grantees, the brief demonstrates how even modest funding ($10,000-$20,000 per state) led to sustainable system improvements, innovative cross-sector collaborations, and enhanced capacity to monitor development and connect families to early intervention services. The brief also addresses implementation challenges and emphasizes the critical role of relationship-building and family engagement in sustaining these efforts beyond the grant period.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Grants, Case studies, Nebraska, Mississippi, Virginia, Montana, Oklahoma, California, New Mexico, Massachusetts

Annotation: This PowerPoint presentation discusses health equity considerations in autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities (ASD/DD) services, emphasizing the importance of understanding both how and why disparities affect different groups based on race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and geographic location. It presents two key takeaways: first, that prevalence data must be viewed through an equity lens using frameworks like the Equitable Evaluation Framework, and second, that solutions often already exist within communities and require input from compensated local context experts and impacted leaders. The presentation illustrates these points through Wisconsin's community-centered approach and emphasizes the value of community expertise in identifying and scaling up existing assets. The slides include embedded videos and links to additional resources.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Title V programs, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Staff development, Health care system, Process evaluation, Data collection, Wisconsin

Annotation: This tip sheet for providers supporting parents or caregivers offers guidance on selecting appropriate telehealth providers, particularly for specialized services like pediatric psychiatry for children with autism. It emphasizes the importance of thorough provider vetting through licensing boards, health plan networks, and specific board guidelines for telehealth services. The document pays special attention to autism diagnosis via telehealth, comparing different assessment tools: the M-CHAT (Modified Checklist for Autism in Toddlers) and CARS (Childhood Autism Rating Scale) screenings are noted as being well-suited for telehealth delivery, while the ADOS-2 (Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule-Second Edition) diagnostic tool presents more challenges due to its interactive nature, requiring additional preparation and parent training to be administered remotely. Considerations for selecting providers-- e.g., technical setup quality and ability to maintain effective rapport with young patients-- are included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Resources for professionals, Telemedicine, Title V programs, Family support services, Family centered care, Autism

Annotation: This poster uses colorful maps and other graphics to summarize an eight-year review (2011-2018) of AMCHP's "Learn the Signs. Act Early" (LTSAE) state systems grant program, which aimed to strengthen early identification and service coordination for children with autism spectrum disorder and other developmental disabilities (ASD/DD). The analysis, based on an environmental scan of program documents and a survey of grant leads from 31 states (91% response rate), demonstrates the program's success in building state and community capacity through various approaches, including developing state autism plans, increasing legislative awareness, and creating multilingual educational programming. The initiative, part of the CDC's Act Early Initiative launched in 2007, has supported 34 states and jurisdictions through AMCHP's partnership with the Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD), providing not only funding but also technical assistance and interstate collaboration opportunities, ultimately showing that while implementation approaches varied across states, successful strategies could be adapted and replicated to improve developmental monitoring and screening systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Autism, Data analysis, State grants, State CHSCN programs

Annotation: This report focuses on teens and young adults with autism who are about to finish high school and highlights challenges facing minority youth and those from low-income households. It identifies risk and protective factors that can influence how lives turn out. It describes what is known about this population, including individual and household demographics and disability characteristics and adaptive behaviors. It also looks and special education services during secondary school and health, mental health, and health care. Recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Autism, Transition to independent living

Annotation: These posters were presented at the 2018 annual SPHARC (State Public Health Autism Resource Center) Peer-to-Peer Exchange. 9 states discuss issues in telehealth, including their strengths, challenges, and strategies in their efforts to supply telehealth to their constituents. Each state panel is also given the opportunity to express an interesting fact about their state and what they hope to gain during this meeting.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Title V programs, CSHCN programs, Wisconsin, Washington, Virginia, Texas, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Iowa, Delaware, Children', s health

Annotation: This report outlines the Title V Data Integration Toolkit's use case for autism. It highlights the increasing incidence of autism and the importance of early identification, diagnosis, and intervention. The document emphasizes how autism data can help Title V programs improve screening opportunities and services and notes that Title V programs participating in ECIDS can access autism data for strategic planning. It provides guidance on analyzing autism data, highlighting the importance of considering the 2013 DSM V criteria changes and adapting analysis to state-specific needs. Overall, this use case aims to help Title V programs use ECIDS data to gain insights into autism diagnosis, early intervention, and service provision in their states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children', s health, Data analysis, MCH training

Annotation: This document presents findings from a 2017 survey conducted by the Washington State Department of Health on telehealth capacity for autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities services. The assessment, part of the federal Autism Spectrum Disorder and Developmental Disabilities (AS3D) grant work, surveyed 52 healthcare providers including applied behavioral analysis (ABA) providers, Centers of Excellence for autism, and neurodevelopmental centers. Survey results show approximately one-third of respondents currently offer telehealth services, with ABA providers having the highest implementation rate (53%). The most common barrier to telehealth adoption reported by non-offering providers was lack of technical knowledge, while providers already offering telehealth cited billing/reimbursement challenges as their primary concern. Additional barriers included HIPAA compliance, patient trust, and organizational capacity for change.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telehealth, Washington, Autism, Surveys, State CHSCN programs, Children', s health

Annotation: This report from the Washington State Department of Health provides insights into how telehealth can improve access to services for children with autism spectrum disorder and other developmental disabilities, particularly in underserved and rural areas. Funded by the AS3D (Autism Spectrum Disorders and Other Developmental Disabilities) federal grant, the goal of this initiative is to increase early diagnosis and service entry for these populations by leveraging telehealth. To better understand how families access and use telehealth, a survey was conducted in 2017, focusing on caregiver access to technology, interest in telehealth, and the barriers they face. The survey analyzed responses from 118 caregivers, with 94.4% being mothers and 42% on Medicaid insurance. Survey respondents discuss barriers and benefits of telehealth care, their child’s engagement with telehealth compared to in-person visits, insurance coverage, and their desire for more information on various topics. Overall, this assessment underscores the potential of telehealth to bridge gaps in service access for children with special health care needs, while highlighting the importance of addressing caregiver concerns about technology, security, and insurance coverage to ensure broader telehealth adoption.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telehealth, Washington, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Surveys, Family support services, Children', s health