Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure provide information on what parents can do to help their children avoid abusing alcohol. Topics include adolescent alcohol use, how parenting style affects adolescents' alcohol-use decisions, modeling, genetics, and whether adolescents listen.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Alcohol consumption, Communication, Consumer education materials, Genetics, High risk adolescents, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Prevention

Annotation: This Web site provides students with curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Users can subscribe for a fee or use a 3-day free trial. Sample articles on anorexia nervosa, asthma, and decision making are available.

Contact: Rosen Publishing Group, 29 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 237-9932 Fax: (888) 436-4643 Web Site: http://www.rosenpublishing.com/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption, Drug use, Eating disorders, Families, Food, Grief, Mental health, Nutrition, Relationships, Safety, World Wide Web

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about counseling women regarding nutrition and exercise during the 4- or 6-week postpartum visit. The fact sheet discusses dietary recommendations based on The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, including information about fish consumption, alcohol, and caffeine. Also included are guidelines for postpartum weight loss and excercise, including guidelines for women who had a cesarean delivery.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Caffeine, Counseling, Nutrition, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Weight loss, Women', s health

Annotation: Using data from the National Vital Statistics for the years 1978-1988 and the 1979 National Longitudinal Study of Youth (NLSY), this paper evaluates the consequences of minimum drinking age laws (MLDA) on poor birth outcomes. The paper provides background and discusses previous literature and data, presents the empirical strategy, discusses the effect of MLDA laws on birth outcomes (including birthweight, prematurity, and congenital anomalies) and on the composition of births (i.e., the composition of maternal and paternal characteristics and changes in drinking and sexual behavior associated with MLDA laws), evidence from NLSY, and the effect of MLDA on prenatal behaviors.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available to subscribers from the website; $5.00 for non-subscribers..

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption behavior, Blacks, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Legislation, Low birthweight, Pregnancy outcome, Prematurity

Annotation: This report provides a comprehensive and systematic evaluation of the evidence regarding the impact of media quantity and content on the health of children and adolescents. Specifically, the report looks at seven outcomes: obesity, tobacco use, drug use, alcohol use, low academic achievement, sexual behavior, and attention deficit disorder with hyperactivity. The report objectives include summarizing the evidence on the impact of media on health, evaluating the methodological rigor of existing research, and identifying areas in need of additional study. An executive summary is also available.

Contact: Common Sense Media, 650 Townsend, Suite 375, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 863-0600 Fax: (415) 863-0601 E-mail: http://www.commonsensemedia.org/contact Web Site: http://www.commonsensemedia.com Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption, Attention deficit disorder, Child behavior, Child health, Drug abuse, Mass media, Obesity, Research, Smoking, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report seeks to engage all levels of government as well as individuals and private sector institutions in a coordinated, multifaceted effort to prevent and reduce underage drinking and its adverse consequences. The report discusses the scope of the problem, alcohol use and adolescent development, prevention and reduction of alcohol use and alcohol use disorders in adolescents, and a vision for the future. Conclusions, references, and acknowledgments are also included. The report includes two appendices: (1) definition of a standard drink and (2) diagnostic criteria for alcohol abuse and dependence.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Prevention

Annotation: This Web site is a free self-guided change program designed for Minnesota women between the ages of 19 and 24 who are sexually active and drink alcohol, even at moderate levels or just once in a while, or may be concerned about the effects of alcohol on their lives. Women ages 25-45 may also participate. Information is provided on the goals of the program, what women will get out of the program, how the program works, and program steps. Also discussed is how drinking contributes to risky behaviors and fetal alcohol syndrome.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Division of Community and Family Health, MN Telephone: (651) 201-3589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/cfh Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcoholic beverages, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Minnesota, Pregnant women, Risk taking, Self help programs, State programs, Women, Young women

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of how the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) data can be used to monitor state progress toward achieving maternal and child Healthy People 2010 (HP 2010) objectives. The report summarizes data from 19 states that measured progress toward achieving HP 2010 objectives for eight personal indicators: (1) pregnancy intention, (2) multivitamin use, (3) physical abuse, (4) cigarette smoking during pregnancy, (5) cigarette smoking cessation, (6) drinking alcohol during pregnancy, (7) breastfeeding initiation, and (8) infant sleep position. The report, which includes an abstract, introduces the issue, describes the study methods, provides results, and offers a discussion and a conclusion. References are included. Statistical information is provided in tables at the end of the report.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Alcohol consumption during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Child health, Healthy People 2010, Maternal health, Physical abuse, Pregnancy, Sleep position, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This paper focuses on key findings from the Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study, a decade-long, ongoing study designed to examine the childhood origins of many health and social problems. The paper describes the study design and discusses the interrelatedness of ACEs. Types of ACEs discussed include abuse, neglect, household dysfunction, and battered mother. The relationship of ACE scores to alcohol consumption, risk factors for HIV and AIDS, smoking and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; depression and suicide attempts; worker performance; and health care costs. Implications are discussed. References are included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the paper.The paper includes one appendix: a detailed list of health and social problems shown to have a graded relationship with ACE scores.

Contact: National Association for Children of Alcoholics, 11426 Rockville Pike, Suite 301, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 468-0985 Secondary Telephone: (888) 554-COAS Fax: (301) 468-0987 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nacoa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Children, Costs, Domestic violence, Drug abuse, Emotional abuse, HIV, Health, High risk children, High risk families, Lung diseases, Physical abuse, Smoking: Depression, Substance abuse, Suicide

Annotation: This report aims to provide a picture for program managers and policymakers and to help shape future efforts as they make the most effective use of resources in meeting the needs of adolescents, their families, and their communities. The report ascertains what progress has been made at the federal level to meet the needs of adolescents in the following content areas: health and well-being, fitness, family and peer relationships, school environment, smoking, alcohol use, and violence. The report answers four questions about federal efforts to improve adolescent health: (1) is there a national policy that addresses the promotion of adolescent health?, (2) is the Department of Health and Human Services making an effort to create healthier environments for adolescents through a multi-level approach?, (3) what is the status of evaluations of federally funded adolescent health programs?, and (4) what can we learn from existing evaluations of programs that seek to influence adolescent health outcomes? Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report and in an appendix. Five appendices include an expanded methodology, tables, program resources, a bibliography, and program references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau].

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol consumption behavior, Communities, Families, Family relations, Federal programs, Final reports, Physical fitness, Public policy, Relationships, Schools, Smoking, Violence

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses results from the National Survey on Drug Use and Health on illicit drug use among pregnant and nonpregnant women ages 15 to 44. The fact sheet, which includes results in brief, also discusses illicit drug use, alcohol use, cigarette use, and substance use during the year after giving birth. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheet. Endnotes are included.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies, 1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 7-1044, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1212 Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Illicit drugs, MCH research, Postpartum women, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use behavior, Surveys, Women', s health

Annotation: This report presents the first information from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. This initial report on the 2004 data presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental problems are also presented, including data on the co-occurence of substance use and mental problems, and new data on depression among adolescents and adults. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2003 and 2004. A discussion of long-term trends is included in the final chapter. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; prevalence and treatment of mental problems; and trends in substance use prevalence. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes eight appendices: (1) a description of the survey, (2) statistical methods and measurement, (3) research on the impact of changes in NSDUH methods, (4) key definitions, 2004, (5) other sources of data, (6) references, (7) sample size and population tables, and (8) selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

Annotation: This brief overview report presents the first information from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. This initial report on the 2004 data presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental problems are also presented, including data on the co-occurence of substance use and mental problems, and new data on depression among adolescents and adults. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2003 and 2004. A discussion of long-term trends is included in the final chapter. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; prevalence and treatment of mental problems; and trends in substance use prevalence. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes eight appendices: (1) a description of the survey, (2) statistical methods and measurement, (3) research on the impact of changes in NSDUH methods, (4) key definitions, 2004, (5) other sources of data, (6) references, (7) sample size and population tables, and (8) selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

Annotation: This report presents information from the summit, Hope for Women in Recovery: Understanding and Addressing the Impact of Prenatal Alcohol Exposure, held on July 21-22, 2005, in Raleigh, North Carolina. The summit was designed to educate women of childbearing age in recovery and substance abuse treatment center staff about fetal alcohol spectrum disorders. The report includes information from presentations held at the summit, including personal stories of women in recovery and presentations by health professionals.

Contact: SAMHSA Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence, 2101 Gaither Road, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (866) 786-7327 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fasdcenter.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption during pregnancy, Education, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal health, Personal narratives, Prenatal addiction, Recovering addicts, Recovering alcoholics, Substance abuse treatment, Substance abusing pregnant women, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper summarizes results from an evaluation of Project ALERT, a widely used middle-school drug prevention program developed by the RAND Corporation. The paper also summarizes outcomes from related studies showing that adolescents who continue to drink and smoke face increased academic, social, and behavioral problems later in life. The paper includes the following sections: (1) despite some reductions in substance use, adolescents are still at risk, (2) Project ALERT: confronting substance use early, (3) building prevention programs on solid science, (4) early substance use carries risks for later in life, and (5) drug prevention in schools and public health. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the paper.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol consumption behavior, Behavior problems, Middle schools, Smoking, Social problems, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: This report offers a cataloguing of features found on alcohol Web sites and believed to be attractive and appealing to underage youth, as well as an assessment of how easily these sites can be accessed. In addition, the report provides an analysis of underage traffic to alcohol Web sites. The report presents the key findings of a study conducted by the Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth, discusses youth access to the Internet and underage access to alcohol Web sites; describes the kinds of games, wallpaper, and screen savers offered by alcohol Web sites; discusses the use of cartoons in alcohol Internet advertising; examines the ability of parental controls to block youth access to alcohol Web sites; and offers conclusions. The report includes three appendices: (1) methodology, (2) Web sites used for content review and access tests, and (3) Web sites used for youth visit analysis. The report includes photographs of Web site images. Some information is presented in tables.

Contact: Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth, Georgetown University, 3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W., Suite 5000, Box 571444, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-1019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://camy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Advertising, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Internet, Marketing, Parents

Annotation: This report describes a study that analyzed a sample of more than 50, 000 radio advertisements placements for 25 leading brands of alcohol in 104 U.S. radio markets in the summer of 2003. The purpose of the study was to assess youth exposure to alcohol advertising relative to the exposure of young adults and all adults over age 21. The report describes the study methods and presents the results. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. The report includes an editorial note and concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth, Georgetown University, 3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W., Suite 5000, Box 571444, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-1019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://camy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Adults, Advertising, Alcohol consumption behavior, Marketing, Marketing, Radio, Young adults

Annotation: This brief overview report presents the first information from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. A more complete presentation of the initial results of the survey is given in the full report, Results from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health: National Findings. Both reports present national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental health problems are also included. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2002 and 2003. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; trends in initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; and prevalence and treatment of mental health problems. A discussion is also included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report includes one appendix: prevalence estimate tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

Annotation: This bibliography provides information into the ways that researchers have investigated community effects on health, their findings, and the program and policy implications that researchers have drawn from their work. Section 1 includes research on how living in a particular neighborhood affects health. Section 2 focuses on how communities that are defined by shared characteristics or experiences, rather than by a shared neighborhood, can influence health.

Contact: PolicyLink, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 303, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 663-2333 Fax: (510) 663-9684 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.policylink.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Bibliographies, Communities, Drug use behavior, Economic factors, Environmental factors, Health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Racial factors, Research, Smoking

Annotation: This paper examines the role of alcohol policies in reducing the incidence of sexually transmitted diseases among adolescents. The paper looks at the relationship between alcohol policies (e.g., beer taxes and statutes pertaining to alcohol sales and drunk driving) and rates of gonorrhea and AIDS among adolescents and young adults. The paper, which includes an abstract, discusses previous research, study methods, data, and results. A discussion section is also included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables grouped together at the end of the report. References are included.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol consumption behavior, Gonorrhea, Public policy, Sexually transmitted diseases, Young adults