Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an overview of child oral health screening rates and summarizes initiatives to increase children's utilization of oral health care through the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program in six states -- Alabama, Indiana, North Carolina, South Carolina, Vermont, and Washington. Data are drawn from states' reports of participation rates on the uniform EPSDT reporting form (CMS Form-416) and presented in tables. The data include the percentage of children who received a well-child screen and who received oral health services in 2004 and 2005. Steps that states have taken to implement programs and initiatives designed to increase access to oral health care for children eligible for Medicaid are presented.

Contact: National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office, 1512 E. Franklin St., Suite 110, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Telephone: (919) 968-6308 Fax: (919) 968-8855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alabama, Children, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Indiana, North Carolina, Oral health, Program improvement, South Carolina, State initiatives, Utilization review, Vermont, Washington

Annotation: This working paper reports the findings of a study investigating rural dentist issues, such as demography, training, practice characteristics, staff, and job satisfaction, in Alabama, California, Maine, and Missouri. The paper highlights the survey methodology, findings, and limitations and discusses responses to issues including work and staffing patterns, vacancy rates, Medicaid participation, and job satisfaction of rural dentists. Perspectives of oral health professionals on issues related to access to care are also discussed. Appendices provide the survey questionnaire for each state, plus state pamphlets presenting statistical data of individual state findings. A summary is also available as a separate document. The summary presents a project overview and provides charts and statistics on dentist demographics, dental hygienist and dental assistant vacancy rates, and dentist participation in Medicaid.

Contact: WWAMI Rural Health Research Center, University of Washington School of Medicine, Department of Family Medicine, Box 354982, Seattle, WA 98195-4982, Telephone: (206) 685-0402 Fax: (206) 616-4768 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/uwrhrc Available from the website.

• Working Paper
• Project Summary

Keywords: State surveys, Access to health care, Alabama, California, Children, Demography, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Job satisfaction, Maine, Missouri, Oral health, Professional training, Provider participation, Questionnaires, Rural environment, Statistical data, Surveys, Work force

Annotation: This report describes a three-year project to reach parents of newborns identified at birth as being carriers of sickle cell trait or having sickle cell disease, to provide follow-up counseling and improved access to appropriate educational information and needed care, and to provide continuing education to healthcare providers. The Great Montgomery, Alabama, program also offered services to eliminate significant impediments to adolescents with sickle cell disease and their parents during transition to adult healthcare. Report contents include a description of the project's purpose; issues and background information; an overview of methodologies; goals and objectives; and provides a summary of findings, conclusions, and recommendations. The appendix contains a variety of charts, statistical data, sample letters, surveys and testing documents; and other publications produced during the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Sickle Cell Foundation of Greater Montgomery, 3180 U.S. Highway 80 West, P.O. Box 9278, Montgomery, AL 36108, Telephone: (334) 286-9122 Fax: (334) 286-4804

Keywords: Adolescents, Alabama, Children, Final reports, Health literacy, Hemoglobinopathies, Parents, Program descriptions, Sickle cell disease

Annotation: This fact sheet provides a portrait of poor children in the Gulf Coast states ravaged by Hurricane Katrina. Statistical information is provided on New Orleans and its poverty rates (adult, child, and overall), the Gulf Coast states hit hardest by the hurricane (Louisianna, Mississippi, and Alabama), the characteristics of poor children in these three states, and poverty in the United States. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheets, as well as in the text. Notes are included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Children, Disasters, Louisiana, Mississippi, Poverty

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program to provide services to reduce infant mortality in Birmingham, Alabama, between 2001 and 2005. The project served mostly African-American and Hispanic women residing in 14 communities representing racial and perinatal disparities including high infant mortality rates, low birthweight, adolescent pregnancy, and adequacy of care. Report sections include an overview, project implementation, project management and governance, project accomplishments, and local evaluation. A variety of forms and tables are included. A CD-ROM containing the report is included as well. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Alabama, Community based services, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH services, Prevention programs, State programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This impact report describes a Healthy Start program to provide services to adolescents in Mobile County, Alabama. The report covers the period 2001-2005. The purpose of the project is to reduce infant mortality by reducing adolescent pregnancy through the establishment of a teen center. The report provides an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project and discusses outreach and client recruitment, project management and governance, project accomplishments, project impact, local evaluations, fetal and infant mortality review, products, and project data. Supplemental materials such as copies of brochures and billboard displays and a Healthy Start interviewer guide are included. The report is provided in CD-ROM format as well as print format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Teen Center, P.O. Box 2867, 248 Cox Street, Mobile, AL 36604, Telephone: (251) 694-3954 Fax: 251-694-5037 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.mobileteencenter.org

Keywords: Final reports, Adolescent pregnancy, Alabama, Community programs, Ethnic factors, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Outreach, Prevention programs, Racial factors, Recruitment

Annotation: This report presents the results of the AIM Community-Based Abstinence Education Project for Rural Alabama. The AIM Project is an abstinence education outreach program focusing on rural communities in the state. The report describes the project and discusses (1) how welfare reform and abstinence education work together against child poverty, (2) scientific evaluation of the project, (3) student satisfaction with the project, and (4) reducing welfare payrolls and poverty in rural Alabama. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: AIM Project, Troy Regional Medical Center, 1340 Highway 231 South Suite 1, Troy, AL 36081, Telephone: (334) 670-5261 Fax: (334) 670-5256 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aimproject.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence education, Alabama, Child health, Children, Communities, Evaluation, Outreach, Poverty, Rural populations, SPRANS, State projects, Students, Welfare reform, Welfare services

Annotation: This paper describes state experience with enrollment caps in State Children's Health Insurance Programs (SCHIPs). It includes an overview; a description of federal requirements; a description of state policies and procedures for the following states: Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Montana, North Carolina, and Utah; a discussion of challenges and considerations for states; and a conclusion.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Colorado, Enrollment, Florida, Montana, North Carolina, State children', Utah, s health insurance programs

Annotation: This Provider Contract.is between (1) the Alabama Medicaid Agency ("Medicaid") [T19] and (2) the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH) [T5]. It documents the state of Alabama's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together. The objective of this agreement is to amend the original T5/T19 provider contract regarding EPSDT services (care coordination). Note: there is no longer an electronic copy of this document.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: AL.1.3.

Keywords: Alabama, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This interactive training CD provides guidelines and resources to support physicians in creating a medical home for their patients, especially children and adults with special health care needs. A library of downloadable resources for patient education, practice management, and more is included.

Contact: Alabama Medicaid Agency, 501 Dexter Avenue, P.O. Box 5624, Montgomery, AL 36103-5624, Telephone: (334) 242-5000 Web Site: http://medicaid.alabama.gov

• Link

Keywords: Alabama, Continuing education, Educational materials, Medical home, State initiatives

Annotation: This Provider Contract is between the Alabama Medicaid Agency ("Medicaid") [T19] and State Health and Vocational Rehabilitation Agencies, Title V Grantees, Title XIX Statewide Family Planning Project, and participating providers. It documents the state of Alabama's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together. Note: there is no longer an electronic copy of this document.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: AL.2.3.

Keywords: Alabama, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This Memorandum of Understanding is between the State of Alabama, Department of Public Health and the Alabama Medicaid Agency. It documents the state of Alabama's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together. It focuses on the Alabama Infant Mortality and Morbidity Initiative (AIMMI). Note: there is no longer an electronic copy of this document.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: AL.3.3.

Keywords: Alabama, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This issue brief reports on children's access to oral health care in the Alabama and Georgia Medicaid programs before these states implemented efforts to improve dentist participation in Medicaid. Topics include children enrolled in Medicaid were more likely to receive oral health care, what oral health services were most frequently used, and whether medical care use or the number of participating dentists was associated with greater oral health care use. Statistics, definitions, study methodology, and resources are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 09-0032.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Alabama, Children, Dental care, Georgia, Medicaid, Oral health, Provider participation

Annotation: This final report describes a project to demonstrate improvements in the integration of health services, in a three county area of Alabama, for infants and young children with spina bifida, facial clefts, and multiple congenital anomalies identified through a birth defect surveillance system. Topics include mainstreaming genetics knowledge, identifying and eliminating barriers to access to health care. linking children to medical homes, use of technology for tracking and follow up through a database system containing all pertinent information needed to measure the morbidity and mortality of infants enrolled in the project, and statewide cultural competency training for health care providers. Report sections include the purpose of the project and relationship to other title V maternal and child health programs, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow up, and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the program. An annotation and keywords are also provided along with a resource notebook of publications and products produced during the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Alabama, Community health services, Community programs, Congenital abnormalities, Databases, Final reports, Genetic screening, Infants, Medical home, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This report includes survey findings from an assessment of regional continuing education needs conducted by the University of Alabama Pediatric Pulmonary Center. The report includes a description of respondents and their employing agencies; a description of expressed needs for and interest in continuing education; respondent-identified barriers to pursuing continuing education; ability to utilize and preferences for various continuing education delivery modes; psychometric properties of the measuring instrument; and limitations, recommendations, and conclusions. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. The report includes two appendices: a copy of the cover letter and questionnaire sent to respondents and a table of missing data.

Contact: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Pediatric Pulmonary Center, Children's Hospital, 1600 Seventh Avenue, South, Birmingham, AL 35233, Telephone: (205) 939-9583 Web Site: https://www.uab.edu/medicine/peds/ppc Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Alabama, Barriers, Child health, Continuing education, Pediatric pulmonology, Surveys

Annotation: This report highlights the accomplishments on the goals, objectives, activities, and other achievements made during Phase II of the Healthy Start program in Birmingham, Alabama from September 1997 through May 2001. The first section discusses service initiation in outreach, tracking, and client recruitment intervention; case management and care coordination; education and training; and consortium activities. The second section discusses service accomplishments and outlines goals, strategies, and activities relating to infant mortality reduction. Section three reviews mentoring activities to other Healthy Start projects and non-Healthy Start agencies and organizations. Sections four and five outlines consortium and collaboration establishment and maintenance, and their impact on the program. The sixth section discusses other Healthy Start components such as management and governance, sustainability, the role of local government, and lessons learned. Local evaluation report are also included in this section. Attachments include tables summarizing project period objectives, strategies and activities, and accomplishments; participant data; major services data; and performance measures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Birmingham Healthy Start, 3013 27th Street, North, Birmingham, AL 35207, Telephone: (205) 324-4133 Fax: (205) 322-5662

Keywords: Alabama, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, MCH services, Maternal health, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report summarizes the proceedings of the oral health summit held on December 6–7, 2001, in Montgomery, Alabama. The purpose of the summit was to discuss the gaps in the dental care infrastructure, barriers to good oral health, and the development of specific recommendations to incorporate into the state's strategic oral health plan. The proceedings include summaries of seven presentations, information on the workgroup facilitators, and workgroup summaries and recommendations in the areas of legislative and regulatory change, identification of funding resources, building public awareness, and surveillance and monitoring system development. The proceedings provide state dental statistics and county profiles. The appendices include progress measurements, the Alabama Oral Health Strategic Plan, the policy team roster, a list of the members of the Oral Health Coalition of Alabama, and an additional section containing detailed statistics on dental professionals and shortages by county in Alabama. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Alabama, Children, Conference proceedings, Dental care, Medicaid, Oral health, Statistics

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program to provide services to adolescents in Mobile County, Alabama. It covers the project period September 1, 1997 - June 30, 2001. The purpose of the project is to reduce infant mortality by reducing adolescent pregnancy through the establishment of a teen center. The report discusses the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, publications and products, dissemination and utliization of results, future plans and follow-up, and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate. Appendices contain a participant interview guide, data collection forms, and project publications including project brochures, a family support procedure manual, and other materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Adolescent pregnancy, Alabama, Community programs, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Prevention programs

Annotation: This report presents the results of a national study, conducted for the National Policy Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN), of the Title V roles in coordinating care for CSHCN. The study was conducted in two phases, a written survey and follow-up telephone interviews with selected respondents. The study explored two levels of care coordination activities: the client level, where assistance in care coordination is provided to individual children and families; and the systems level, where coordination efforts are focused on linking and integrating policies and programs. The report organizes the results as follows: concepts of care coordination; methodology; client-level coordination services; systems-level care coordination services; interpretation and implications of findings; and references. Appendices include: A. National survey instrument; B. Interview protocol; and C. Contact information for highlighted states. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children with special health care needs, Colorado, EPSDT, Florida, Health care financing, Idaho, Iowa, Managed care, Medicaid, National surveys, Service coordination, Social Security Act, Title V, State children', State programs, Utah, Wisconsin, s health insurance program

Annotation: This publication summarizes key findings and themes from interviews about the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) conducted in 1998 in 12 states: Alabama, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Massachusetts, Utah, and Wisconsin. Findings from the interviews are divided into nine sections, each dealing with major issues for adolescents under CHIP. These sections are benefit packages, outreach and enrollment, assuring access to care, confidentiality, adolescents with special needs, school-based/school-linked health centers, quality assurance, evaluation, and linkages to other health and social service programs. Appendices include names and titles of interview respondents, respondents priority issues for adolescence, summary of CHIP programs/plans for surveyed states, and resources on CHIP and adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adolescents with special health care needs, Alabama, California, Children, Colorado, Confidentiality, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Interviews, Massachusetts, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Outreach, Reports, School linked programs, Social Security Act, Title XXI, State health insurance programs, Title V programs, Utah, Wisconsin