Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief provides school leaders, staff, and other stakeholders who seek to support the health and wellness of elementary and secondary school students with information on three school-related health strategies supported by the Affordable Care Act (ACA): school-based health centers, community-school health partnerships, and supports for pregnant and parenting adolescents. For each strategy, the brief provides background information, evidence-based recommendations, and information about how the ACA can support implementation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-5000 Fax: (202) 403-5001 Web Site: http://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Communities, Dental sealants, Health care reform, Health insurance, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pregnant adolescents, Public private partnerships, School age children, School based clinics

Annotation: This fact sheet for families provides information about how foster parents can support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. The fact sheet provides background information about LGBTQ youth and discusses LGBTQ youth and the child welfare system, creating a welcoming home for youth, and supporting youth in the community.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Bullying, Child welfare agencies, Community programs, Foster children, Foster parents, Homosexuality, Parent support services, Prevention, Schools, Social services, Youth, Youth development

Annotation: This report considers how parental unauthorized immigration status affects child development. The report focuses primarily in infants and children from birth through age 8, with a secondary emphasis on older children and adolescents. Topics include the effect of parents' unauthorized status on infant, child, and adolescent development; developmental outcomes: mechanisms of influence; contextual factors influencing developmental outcomes; programs and policies; and immigration reform and children's development.

Contact: Migration Policy Institute, 1400 16th Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 266-1940 Fax: (202) 266-1900 E-mail: http://www.migrationpolicy.org/contact/index.php Web Site: http://www.migrationpolicy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Child development, Infant development, Legislation, Minority groups, Parents, Programs, Public policy, Undocumented immigrants

Annotation: This report presents The Healthy Teen Network's strategic plan for the future of adolescent sexual and reproductive health provides background information about the subject and assesses the field. The plan is then discussed according to three overarching areas: promoting an inclusive frame, increasing impact, and building sustainability.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Full Print Report
• Interactive Presentation

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Collaboration, Communities, Financing, Programs, Public policy, Reproductive health, School, Statistical data, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report provides information about best practices in therapeutic or treatment foster care (TFC), a clinical intervention for youth from birth to age 18 who have severe mental, emotional, or behavioral health needs. Topics include essential partners; building relationships among provider agencies and child advocates; example practices in Connecticut, Illinois, Michigan, Oklahoma, Nebraska; efforts to expand the focus beyond safety and permanency to well-being for youth in therapeutic foster care; and public policy challenges.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Behavioral medicine, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Foster parents, Health services delivery, Intervention, Medically fragile children, Mental health, Policy development, Psychological needs, Reimbursement, Relationships, Therapeutics, Training, Trauma care, Youth

Annotation: This brief highlights considerations, challenges, and opportunities for foundations in investing in supports for pregnant and parenting adolescents and young adults—both mothers and fathers—currently in or transitioning from foster care. Topics include early sexual behavior, pregnancy, and rates of childbearing and parenthood among young people in foster care, risk factors, and challenging outcomes. Additional challenges such as lack of national data on specific needs and challenges, lack of practice models, need for workforce training, how to best identify and support adolescent fathers, and limited application of developmentally appropriate service delivery and planning with those that remain in foster care through age 21 are discussed. Investment opportunities in research and data collection, pregnancy prevention strategies, state supports for young parents and their children, and extending eligibility and re-entry are outlined.

Contact: Youth Transitions Funders Group, 207 East Ohio Street, #392, Chicago, IL 60611, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ytfg.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Family support programs, Foster care, Parent support services, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This guide provides information and guidance for working with pregnant and parenting youth, helping them as they develop both as individuals and as parents through positive casework interactions. The guide encourages a strengths-based approach to ensure the safety of both young parents and their children. It offers suggestions for engaging young parents in conferencing and supportive services while highlighting the importance of maintaining a young parent’s right to privacy and autonomy, and emphasize comprehensive planning for pregnant young people to promote well being, to minimize the need for court intervention, to ensure placement stability and to help young families move more quickly toward permanency. The guide is designed to be used primarily by provider agency case planners, but may also be useful to child protective staff, Family Services Unit staff, parent advocates, attorneys and others who work with this vulnerable population. Topics in planning and services for young parents in out of home care include: legal issues, father participation, collaborative planning and permanency, preventive services, child safety conferences, court intervention, pregnancy-related services, medical home visiting programs, parenting supports, counseling and mental health services, education, child care, and preparing a young parent for leaving foster care. Appendices provide resources for services in adolescent reproductive health, breastfeeding, the WIC program, support services and assistance, teen father support, mentoring and mental health, housing support, legal information, education, hoe visiting, and parenting education programs. Tips sheets are provided on mandatory reporting, early care and education, public housing, and transitional Medicaid.

Contact: New York City Administration for Children's Services, 150 William Street, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 341-0900 Secondary Telephone: (877) KIDSNYC E-mail: http://nyc.gov/html/mail/html/mailacs.html Web Site: http://www.nyc.gov/html/acs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Child welfare, Family support services, Foster care, New York, Out of home care, Parent education, Social services, State initiatives, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This paper investigates possible explanations for the large decline in U.S. adolescent childbearing that occurred in the 20 years following the 1991 peak. The authors review previous evidence and the results of new analyses to arrive at a set of observations that are presented in the paper. The methodology and findings are presented.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Racial factors, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Contraception, Ethnic factors, Family planning programs, Medicaid, Public policy, Research, Sexuality education, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This paper examines two aspects of adolescent childbearing in the United States. First, it reviews and synthesizes the evidence on the reasons that adolescent birth rates are so uniquely high in the United States, especially in some states. Second, it considers why this is important.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Economic factors, Geographic factors, Low income groups, Poverty, Research, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This brief outlines the core principles of trauma-informed care and outlines steps that organizations can take to adopt a trauma-informed approach to improve services to families that are experiencing homelessness. The brief discusses the core principles of trauma-informed care and provides five detailed steps to becoming trauma informed.

Contact: National Center on Family Homelessness, American Institutes for Research, 201 Jones Road, Suite 1, Waltham, MA 02451, Telephone: (781) 373-7073 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familyhomelessness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Emotional trauma, Families, High risk groups, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Low income groups, Mothers, Parents, Programs, Single parents, Social services, Stress, Trauma, Young children, Young children

Annotation: This research brief presents a statistical portrait of adolescent fathers' characteristics at the time of their first child's birth; their union status (i.e., married, cohabiting, or not in a relationship) at the birth; their subsequent experience fathering a child, if any; and their residential status at birth and in young adulthood (i.e., whether they were living with their children).

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Age factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Fathers, Parent child relations, Public policy, Racial factors, Single parents, Statistical data, Young adults

Annotation: This report outlines the ways that federal, state, and local policies and programs can improve outcomes for pregnant and parenting students and ranks how well state education laws and policies address the needs of these students. The report describes the challenges faced by pregnant and parenting students, highlights the requirements of federal laws, reviews relevant state laws and policies (examples from different states are provided throughout), and concludes with recommendations for schools and policymakers. The report also serves as a guide to advocates and service providers who work with pregnant and parenting students, and includes a toolkit designed to help them promote legal reform, implementation, and enforcement in their own communities.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Education, Parents, Policy, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women, School health services, State legislation, State programs, Students

Annotation: This report provides information about supportive school discipline—defined as a systemic constellation of programs and practices that promote positive behaviors while preventing negative or risky ones. The report discusses cross-agency partnerships, data-driven decisions, system-wide use of evidence-based programs and practices, and engagement of parents and families as partners. For each topic, examples are provided for specific school districts. A case study of one child who benefited from supportive school discipline is also provided.

Contact: National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453, Telephone: (877) 217-3595 Fax: (617) 969-5951 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.promoteprevent.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Child behavior, Discipline, Families, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Parents, Prevention, Programs, Schools

Annotation: This document is a source of information and guidance for case planners in New York City in their work with parenting youth and youth planning for the arrival of their baby in foster care, and in developing appropriate service plans for these youth. It discusses roles for agency case planners in referring both expecting mothers and fathers of health and support systems, discussing the role of resource parents for minors who are expecting, securing a stable placement for expecting youth before baby arrives, as well as developing and executing permanency plans for young parents in out-of-home care. Additional information is provided on health care testing and decision-making, legal aspects of pregnancy and parenting, and understanding funding for baby's essential needs. A practice guide summary is included along with resources for community based services, housing and child care, child welfare services, medical mentoring for pregnant and parenting youth, and prevention services.

Contact: New York City Administration for Children's Services, 150 William Street, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 341-0900 Secondary Telephone: (877) KIDSNYC E-mail: http://nyc.gov/html/mail/html/mailacs.html Web Site: http://www.nyc.gov/html/acs Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Child welfare, Family support services, Foster care, New York, Out of home care, Parent education, Social services, State initiatives, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This guide is for pregnant and parenting youth under the age of 18 years old who live in the state of California. It explains where to go to get help and provides answers to questions such as (1) What should I do about my pregnancy? (2) Can I get health care? (3) Can I stay in school? (4) What are the father's rights and duties? and (5) Can I get public benefits? It includes information on the law for pregnant and parenting minors, immigrants who are pregnant, pregnant minors in foster care or juvenile detention centers, and a section for grandparents of pregnant or parenting youth.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1725 Eye St. NW, Suite 950, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 986-2600 Fax: (202) 986-2539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, California, Consumer education materials, State initiatives, State legislation, Youth

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about programs that work and do not work to improve outcomes for adolescent parents with low incomes and their children. The fact sheet reviews 20 parenting programs that are geared toward enhancing parents' development, educating them about effective parenting methods, or both. The fact sheet introduces the issue and reports findings for programs in six outcome areas: child outcomes: health; child outcomes: behaviors and development; parent outcomes: reproductive health; parent outcomes: mental health and behaviors; parent outcomes: education, employment, and income; and parenting outcomes. Promising approaches and future research needs are also discussed.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child development Parent support programs, Child health, Education, Employment, Family income, High risk groups, Low income groups, Mental health, Parent support services, Parenting skills, Reproductive health, Research

Annotation: This report discusses the evaluation of a policy implemented by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) in March 2011 that calls for the completion of a "new birth assessment" every time a DCFS adolescent becomes a parent, whether by giving birth or by fathering a child. In addition to providing background and context, the report discusses the new birth assessment, study purpose and methods, specialty worker and supervisor interviews, young parent interviews, analysis of data from agency records, and implications for research and practice.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Evaluation, Illinois, Interviews, Research, State programs

Annotation: This report outlines existing challenges and promising practices in supporting pregnant and parenting adolescents and summarizes the discussions and suggestions of national experts in the field. Topics include promising practices in reaching, engaging and retaining pregnant and parenting teens; effective program components when working with pregnant and parenting teens; and concrete examples for implementing those core components.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Family support services, Model programs, Parent education programs, Pregnant adolescents

Annotation: This website presents Minnesota's adolescent health action plan. The information presented is intended to guide decisions about the best strategies and actions to support healthy adolescence in the state. The site included links to adolescent health resources and general health resources for adolescents and parents and information about trainings.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• Program Web Site
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Consumer education materials, Minnesota, Parents, Resource materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This report describes the Healthy Teen Network's efforts to create a directory of all of the programs serving pregnant and parenting teens in the United States. The report describes the method used to identify and survey individual programs and discusses the results of the search, which varied greatly from state to state, depending on how much information the states were able to provide. The report concludes with a list of recommendations to help eliminate the challenges encountered in identifying programs and services.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Directories, National surveys, State programs