Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report discusses the evaluation of a policy implemented by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) in March 2011 that calls for the completion of a "new birth assessment" every time a DCFS adolescent becomes a parent, whether by giving birth or by fathering a child. In addition to providing background and context, the report discusses the new birth assessment, study purpose and methods, specialty worker and supervisor interviews, young parent interviews, analysis of data from agency records, and implications for research and practice.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Evaluation, Illinois, Interviews, Research, State programs

Annotation: This report examines the status of adolescents in terms of developmental assets. The findings are based on data from a survey—"Search Institute Profiles of Student Life: Attitudes and Behaviors"—that measures 40 developmental assets, or positive factors. The document provides information about the following: the background assets and the young people surveyed; young people's experiences of developmental assets; the deficits and patterns of high risk behavior that compromise young people's healthy development; the power of assets in relation to risky behaviors; an overall goal for well-being; and creative tensions that address challenges and opportunities of the report. Each chapter includes text, figures, and tables of data by grade and gender. Appendices offer additional details of other demographic differences.

Contact: Search Institute, The Banks Building, 615 First Avenue N.E., Suite 125, Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 376-8955 Secondary Telephone: (800) 888-7828 Contact Phone: (800) 888-7828 Fax: (612) 376-8956 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.search-institute.org/ Available in libraries. Document Number: No. 0352.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Community role, Cultural factors, Decision making, Education, Families, High risk adolescents, Parent child relationships, Peer groups, Positivism, School role, Self-esteem, Social interaction, Statistics

Annotation: This report discusses the findings of a national survey of adolescents and their parents conducted to gain information about attitudes toward substance abuse. The report includes key findings; the role of social networking; suggestive teen programming; trends in tobacco, alcohol, and other drugs, drugs in middle and high schools and public vs. private schools; the role of parents and parental substance and the risk of adolescent substance abuse; prescription pain killers in the home; and other notable findings on attitudes, risk, religious service attendance and family dinners. The report includes appendices that discuss the survey methodology, sample performance, and participant questions and results.

Contact: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 633 Third Avenue, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 841-5200 Fax: (212) 956-8020 Web Site: http://www.casacolumbia.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Economic factors, Parents, Risk factors, Schools, Substance abuse, Surveys

Annotation: This fact sheet about preventing and reducing adolescent pregnancy in the United States provides an introduction to the issue; presents the latest findings on adolescent pregnancy prevention; discusses who is at the highest risk; provides information about adolescent birthrates by state; explains what the government is doing to address the problem, what parents can do, and what adolescents can do; and provides code that allows users to place Centers for Disease Control and Prevention buttons to web pages.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, High risk groups, Mass media, Parents, Prevention, Research

Annotation: This fact sheet for policymakers provides information about adolescent substance use, including facts and statistics about prevalence and about system-level challenges to decreasing adolescent substance use,

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Prevention, Public policy, Statistical data, Substance abuse

Annotation: This webinar, which was sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics and held on July 27, 2011, provides information on best practices in adolescent tobacco-use prevention and cessation in clinical and community settings. In addition, presenters provide background about the issue, identify emerging products, and discuss how they affect adolescents.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Archived Webinar

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Community programs, Counseling, Marketing, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides information about adolescent alcohol consumption and substance abuse, including the abuse of prescription drugs and illegal drugs. The report explains the problem and discusses its magnitude, consequences, messages that promote adolescent substance abuse, adolescent perceptions and expectations,factors that compound or reduce the risk of adolescent substance abuse and addiction, prevention approaches and barriers to improvement, and treatment.

Contact: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 633 Third Avenue, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 841-5200 Fax: (212) 956-8020 Web Site: http://www.casacolumbia.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol intoxication, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Mass media, Prevention, Substance abuse, Treatment

Annotation: This guide for primary care health professionals provides a simple, empirically derived tool for identifying children and adolescents ages 9-18 at risk for alcohol-related problems. The guide also explains why it is important to screen for such problems and how the tool helps in doing so. A pocket guide and algorithm are also available from the website.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Full Guide
• Pocket Guide

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol intoxication, Child attitudes, Adolescent attitudes, Child behavior, Child health, Continuing education, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Intervention, Prevention, Primary care, Screening

Annotation: This planning guidebook is geared toward helping communities organize activities during National Teen Pregnancy Prevention Month. The guidebook includes information on how to organize local campaigns and offers ideas for local events. Guidance on involving adolescents in the planning, running, and evaluation of National Teen Pregnancy Prevention Month is included, as well as tips for working with the media. Sample forms and materials as well as a list of related resources are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• Guidebook
• Sample Materials

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Mass media, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Resource materials

Annotation: This report presents an overview of alcohol product advertising on television from 2001 to 2009 and discusses the alcohol industry's 30% threshold (i.e., an agreement to limit alcohol advertising to programs in which underage viewers make up a maximum of 30%), as well as adolescent exposure to alcohol product advertising on television.

Contact: Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth, Georgetown University, 3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W., Suite 5000, Box 571444, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-1019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://camy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Advertising, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Television

Annotation: This PowerPoint-based training curriculum, which is designed to be taught by a mental health professional along with foster parents as co-facilitators, includes nine case studies of representative foster children ages 8 months to 15 years, as well as of secondary traumatic stress in parents. The goal of the curriculum is to help parents understand the link between trauma and their children's often baffling behavior, feelings, and attitudes and to provide parents with tools to help children move forward, to recognize and reduce the impact of their children's traumas on themselves, and to seek useful support from others. It includes a facilitator's guide, a participant's guide, and a slide kit.

Contact: National Child Traumatic Stress Network, National Resource Center for Child Traumatic Stress, , 905 West Main Street, Suite 25B , Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 682-1552 Secondary Telephone: (310) 235-2633 Fax: (919) 667-9578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nctsnet.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Case studies, Child abuse, Child attitudes, Child behavior, Child neglect, Curricula, Families, Family support, Foster children, Foster parents, Infant behavior, Mental health, Parent support services, Parenting skills, Training, Trauma

Annotation: This report presents findings from a focus group study conducted with parents of adolescents from families with low incomes in four cities -- Los Angeles, Miama, Chicago, and Washington, DC -- about adolescent health care. The report provides parents' perspectives on topics such as health problems that adolescents face, experiences obtaining health care for adolescents, parents' role in their adolescent's health care, and staff and services at an ideal health care site for adolescents. The report also provides a comparison of parent and adolescent perspectives.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent attitudes, Parents, Parent child relations, Adolescent health, Families, Focus groups, Low income groups

Annotation: This website provides information about What's the Rush?, a statewide initiative of the Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference aimed at raising awareness of the legal, financial, and social consequences of becoming an adolescent parent. The website provides downloadable resources and a list of initiative partners.

Contact: Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference, 226 Capitol Boulevard, Suite 800, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-1696 Fax: (615) 741-7459 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tndagc.com Available from the website.

• Program Web Site

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention, Resource materials, State initiatives, Tennessee

Annotation: This brochure provide information on what parents can do to help their children avoid abusing alcohol. Topics include adolescent alcohol use, how parenting style affects adolescents' alcohol-use decisions, modeling, genetics, and whether adolescents listen.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Alcohol consumption, Communication, Consumer education materials, Genetics, High risk adolescents, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Prevention

Annotation: This state plan describes the activities of Nebraska's State Abstinence Education Grant Program for 2010. The document discusses the problem and need associated with Nebraska adolescents and presents an implementation plan. Topics discussed in relation to the implementation plan include existing programs and gaps in services, challenges and barriers, mechanisms for implementation, monitoring, coordination, service recipient involvement, referrals, objective performance and efficiency measures, programmatic assurances, and budget.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Plan Report
• Program Site With Plan Report And Appendices

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Budgets, Education, High risk adolescents, High risk groups, Nebraska, Poverty, Program coordination, Referral, Service delivery, State grants, State programs

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward Latino adolescents, is intended to provide insights into Latino adolescents' own views about sex, pregnancy, and related issues. The pamphlet includes statistics about adolescent pregnancy and parenthood among Latinos, discusses reasons to avoid sex and pregnancy from the points of views of male Latino adolescents and female Latino adolescents, and provides three personal stories told by Latino adolescents.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Consumer education materials, Contraception, Costs, Hispanic Americans, Personal narratives, Prevention

Annotation: This paper examines ways in which social marketing can help promote adolescents' use of recommended health care services. The paper explores the following topics: (1) application of social marketing theory and techniques to health care, (2) social marketing to change adolescent behavior, (3) examples of successful social marketing campaigns for adolescents, and (4) social marketing challenges and opportunities to promote adolescent health care utilization. Examples of recent adolescent social marketing campaigns that used new media are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Community programs, Health care utilization, Marketing, Mass media

Annotation: This paper offers information about how to prevent cyberbullying in schools and in the community. The paper provides information on what bullying and cyberbullying are, and their consequences; the differences between cyberbullying and other bullying; facts about cyberbullying; and what schools and parents can do.

Contact: National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453, Telephone: (877) 217-3595 Fax: (617) 969-5951 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.promoteprevent.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Bullying, Child attitudes, Child behavior, Communities, Parents, Prevention, Schools, World Wide Web

Annotation: This report examines the use of cell phone text messaging by minor teens as a way to send sexually suggestive nude or nearly nude images to others (this is referred to as sexting). It is based on the findings of a telephone survey on teens' and parents' use of mobile phones and six focus groups conducted in three U.S. cities in October 2009 with teens between the ages of 12 and 18. Included in the report are statistics indicating how many teens send and receive such text images, and which characteristics make it more likely that teens will engage in this activity. The report also describes three basic scenarios for sexting and the attitudes that teens have toward this form of data exchange.

Contact: Pew Internet and American Life Project, 1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-4500 Fax: 202-419-4505 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewinternet.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Statistics, Technology, Telephone surveys

Annotation: This report summarizes the methodology and findings from a study conducted to examine current attitudes of parents and adolescents about sex and abstinence. The study was guided by the following research questions: (1) What are adolescent and parent attitudes concerning sex and abstinence? (2) How are attitudes of parents and their adolescents similar to or different from each other? (3) Adjusting for all other variables, what factors are independently associated with adolescents' attitudes toward sex and abstinence? The report also provides background and a brief review of existing literature and discusses implications of the findings.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: https://acf.gov/cb Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent sexuality, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Parents, Racial factors, Research