Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper analyzes the effect of Medicaid eligibility expansions on the health insurance coverage of women giving birth and on the use of prenatal care and infant health, controlling for year and state effects and state-specific trends that may be correlated with expansions in Medicaid eligibility. The effects of Medicaid coverage to mothers is also discussed with respect to infant health.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health insurance, Infant health, Medicaid, Access to health care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about a plan that aims to improve health care services for at-risk populations, strengthen families and communities, and address social and economic inequities over the life course. The fact sheet discusses how the plan addresses these three topics.

Contact: Contra Costa Health Services, 50 Douglas Drive, Martinez, CA 94553, Telephone: (925) 957-5403 Fax: (925) 957-5409 Web Site: http://www.cchealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Communities, Education, Ethnic factors, Families, Fathers, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Racial factors, Service coordination, Working mothers

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Start project in East St. Louis, Illinois from June 2001 - May 2005 to concentrate on reducing infant mortality, improving perinatal indicators associated with infant mortality, increasing access to care, and closing the gap in health disparities among African Americans in the project service area. Report sections provide descriptions of the project's racial and ethnic disparity, project implementation, management and governance, accomplishments, the impact of the project, and a local evaluation report. Appendices include project forms for reporting budget and services details and statistics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant mortality, MCH research, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Prevention programs

Annotation: This final report describes the Voices of Appalachia Healthy Start program, based in Whitley County, Kentucky, during the period February 1, 2001, to January 31, 2006. The project served a low-income rural community in which lack of transportation was a serious obstacle to maintaining continuity and quality of health care, especially for high-risk pregnant women. The projefct focused on geographic, social, economic, and educational disparities in the community. Report sections include (1) overview of racial and ethnic disparity, (2) project implementation, (3) project management and governance, (4) lessons learned, (5) project impact, (6) local evaluation, (7) fetal and infant mortality review, (8) products list, and (9) project data forms. A CD-ROM and a videotape are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Voices of Appalachia Healthy Start Project, Whitley County Health Department, 114 North Second Street, P.O. Box 147, Williamsburg, KY 40769, Telephone: (606) 549-3380 Fax: (606) 549-8940

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Kentucky, Low income groups, Poverty, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Reproductive health, Rural populations

Annotation: This report focuses on health and policy issues related to childbirth (i.e., from pregnancy to the postpartum period) for women in southeastern Pennsylvania. The report discusses the state of childbirth options and care in the area. The report covers the following topics: (1) increased diversity and a strained health care delivery complex, (2) lack of access to health care, (3) loss of practiyioners and hospitals, (4) health care inequities, and (5) 21st century medicine and culture's influence on the childbirth experience.

Contact: Maternity Care Coalition, , Philadelphia, PA 19130, Telephone: (215) 972-0700 E-mail: https://maternitycarecoalition.org/contact Web Site: http://maternitycarecoalition.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Childbirth, Hospitals, Pennsylvania, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Women', s health

Annotation: This task force report focuses on infant mortality in Delaware and provides a course of action to eliminate barriers that result in reduced access to perinatal care among minority populations in the state. The report discusses infant mortality in general and the situation in Delaware, the causes of infant mortality, and what can be done to reduce infant mortality rates. Twenty recommendations, which include action steps, a start date, intended impact, and the agencies responsible, are presented. Costs of implementing the recommendations, and how to pay for them, are also discussed. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. A list of task force members and a glossary are included.

Contact: Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4700 Secondary Telephone: (888) 459-2943 Fax: (302) 739-6659 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Costs, Delaware, Financing, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Racial factors

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Trenton, New Jersey in 2001 to 2005 to (1) reduce racial and ethnic disparities in access to prenatal screening and care services, (2) provide case management services for women and families enrolled in intensive home visiting services and home-based health education, (3) initiate new neighborhood center-based health education and family support to pregnant and parenting families with children up to age three, (4) provide behavioral health consultant services for pregnant and postpartum women, (5) fprovide atherhood consultation and support services, and (6) provide referral and linkage to quality infant and child care services. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project, project implementation, management and governance, and the impact on the local system of care, the community and state, and the role of local government. Brief statements are provided about the local evaluation and the fetal and infant mortality review. A list of products produced during the project is provided including sample models and forms used, as well as data forms for services provided in each year of the project and additional information on the project budget, participants, performance measures, and services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, Care coordination, Ethnic factors, Family support services, Fathers, Final reports, Health education, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, New Jersey, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, Screening

Annotation: This report describes the 2001 - 2005 continuation of a Healthy Start program providing services in prenatal and interconceptual care to at-risk women in order to reduce infant mortality rates and health disparities in Jacksonville, Florida. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project; project implementation; management and governance; project accomplishments; the impact of the project on systems of care, the local community, and the state; the role of local government; and lessons learned. Additional sections include local evaluation, fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR), products produced during the project and data collected. Attachments a chart of project accomplishments organized by objectives, a copy of the local evaluation report, the FIMR community report, a list of products produced during the project period, and various forms used for collecting and summarizing service data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Jacksonville Healthy Start Initiative, 6850 Belfort Oaks Place, Jacksonville, FL 32216, Telephone: (904) 279-0880 Fax: (904) 279-0881 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nefrpc.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Final reports, Florida, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Racial factors, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of women who delivered at large, urban, public hospitals. The purpose of the survey was to determine the extent to which these women encounter or perceive barriers to accessing prenatal care services. The paper, which includes an executive summary, discusses national prental care trends, the study methodology, the survey and sample response rates, and findings. A discussion and policy implications are presented. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Essential Hospitals Institute (formerly the National Public Health and Hospital Institute), 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 950, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 585-0135 Fax: (202) 585-0101 Web Site: https://essentialhospitals.org/research/about-essential-hospitals-institute/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Poverty, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Surveys

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start project from 2001-2005 to address racial disparities in infant mortality and morbidity within the Native American populations in a 27 county area in Northern Michigan. Topics include providing access to early prenatal care and culturally sensitive perinatal services; addressing maternal smoking, improving awareness, and screening and referral for substance abuse; increasing infant immunization rates and access to specialty services; and increasing the number of infant deaths reviewed. Contents include an overview of the project; descriptions of project implementation, management and governance, and accomplishments; and the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, the state, and the role of local government. A copy of the local evaluation report is included in the appendices. Information on the status of fetal infant mortality review is discussed. Project forms, services tables, and other data are also provided. A binder contains samples of proudcts developed during the project and includes maps, brochures, fact sheets, booklets, posters, informational packets, reports and presentations, and videos and DVDs. Products are also included on the CD-ROM. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, MCH services, Michigan, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Ford Heights and Chicago Heights, Illinois, from 2001-2004 to improve access to quality maternal and child health services in order to reduce the high rate of infant mortality and reduce health disparities in this medically underserved area. It discusses isk factors for poor perinatal outcomes including mothers who smoke, drank, or used street drugs during their pregnancy, as well as other behavioral risk factors and pregnancy during adolescence. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project; descriptions of project implementation, management and governance, and accomplishments; the impact of the project on systems of care, the community and the state, and the role of local government. A local evaluation report addressing issues of infant mortality, first trimester prenatal care, adequacy of prenatal care, well-child exams, and initial postpartum exams is included. Appendices include service tables and project data as well as samples of products produced during the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Barriers, Drug use during pregnancy, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant mortality, MCH services, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Racial factors, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program for improving perinatal outcomes in four low-income West Side communities of Chicago, Illinois, from 2001-2005. Program elements described include reducing infant mortality rates through comprehensive assessment and a complete continuum of care, ranging from direct health care services to mental health care and substance abuse treatment. Report contents include an overview of the racial and ethnic disparities served by the program; a review of project implementation, management and governance, and accomplishments; and a summary of the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, and state and local governments. A copy of the local evaluation report is provided along with required data forms for tracking goals and objectives performance measures. Sample fact sheets and brochures are included in both English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant mortality, MCH services, Mental health services, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Screening, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse treatment programs

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program from June 2001 - May 2005 in seven communities in southern Illinois. Program service needs are described, including reducing infant mortality, improving perinatal indicators associated with infant mortality, increasing access to care, and closing the gap in health disparities among African Americans in the project service area. Report contents include an overview of the racial and ethnic disparity in the project area; components of project implementation, management and governance; a summary of accomplishments and the impact of the project on local systems of care, the community, and the state. A copy of the local evaluation report is included along with appendices providing data and performance measurement forms and major service tables. In addition sample program brochures, booklets, flyers, and other consumer education materials are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Blacks, Consumer education materials, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant mortality, MCH services, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program to improve access to quality maternal and child health services in order to reduce the high rate of infant mortality and minimize the racial disparity that exists in six community areas in Chicago, Illinois, from 2001-2004. Report contents include an overview of the racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project; and a description of project implementation of core services, and management and governance; a summary of project accomplishments, local evaluation, and the fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR). Sample products such as a grid for perinatal mood disturbances and various evaluation and FIMR reports are included as well as required data forms, summaries, and tables. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant mortality, MCH services, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, Screening

Annotation: This report details the activities and accomplishments of the third phase of a Healthy Start project in the Detroit, Michigan area from June 2001 through May 2005 to improve pregnancy and birth outcomes, assist women to access interconceptual care between pregnancies, and improve the identification and treatment of perinatal depression. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project, a description of the project implementation, management and governance, accomplishments, and local impact. Additional information and documentation is provided on the local evaluation and fetal and infant mortality review. Appendices include products created during the project, data compiled on budget details, participants, and services offered. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Michigan, Postpartum depression, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start project in Louisiana from June 2001 through May 2005 to increase awareness and reduce risk factors related to infant mortality, depression during the prenatal period, low birth weight births, and to decrease disparities in perinatal health. Contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project; a description of the project implementation; project management and governance, accomplishments, and impact on systems of care, the community, the state, the role of local government, and lessons learned. A local evaluation report is provided along with sample products and project data. Appendices include a chart outlining the final report and implementation plan, attachments from the local evaluation report, a summary of products produced during the project, and project data forms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Louisiana, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start project in the Louisville, Kentucky metropolitan area from June 2001 through May 2005 to address the high rate of infant mortality, persistent disparities, lack of utilization of early or adequate prenatal care, and the high percentage of low birth weight infants in the African American community. Report contents include an overview of the needs of the racial and ethnic population in the project area; information on the project implementation, management and governance, project accomplishments, and its impact. Additional contents include the local evaluation and fetal and infant mortality review. Attachments includes products and project data developed during the project period. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Kentucky, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in South Carolina from 2001-2005 to reduce infant mortality and morbidity through enhancing and expanding existing services to pregnant women and infants. Contents of the report include descriptions of service initiation; service accomplishments; consortium and collaboration efforts; the impact of the consortium program; and other Healthy Start components such as management and governance, sustainability, the role of local government, local evaluation, fetal and infant mortality review, and project data. Attachments include reports on the implementation plan and local evaluation, data and service tables, and performance measures. Also included are samples of brochures, flyers, and other handouts developed by the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, MCH services, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, South Carolina

Annotation: This report describes the Friendly Access program, a long-term research, education, and community development initiative designed to change maternal and child health care in ways that improve consumers' access, use, satisfaction, and outcomes. The report describes the program's core beliefs, mission, vision, and values; discusses the program's objectives; explains how the program is implemented at the community level; lists the expectations of founding partners; and discusses the role of the program office. The Laughton and Rhea Chiles Center for Health Mothers and Babies, which founded the program, as well as collaborating organizations, are also described. One appendix includes perinatal health care access and utilization guidelines.

Contact: Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies, University of South Florida, College of Public Health, 3111 East Fletcher Avenue, Tampa, FL 33613-4660, Telephone: (813) 974-8888 Secondary Telephone: (877) 724-2359 Fax: (813) 974-8889 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.usf.edu/publichealth/chilescenter/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Progress Report

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Childbirth, Community programs, Consumer satisfaction, Consumers, Demonstration programs, Education, Families, Health care systems, Health care utilization, Infant health, Initiatives, Low income groups, MCH programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, National programs, National programs, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Research, Women', s health

Annotation: This newsletter issue describes the National Friendly Access Program, a long-term research, education, and community development initiative designed to change maternal and child health care in ways that improve consumers' access, use, satisfaction, and outcomes. The issue discusses community projects initiated by the program, program evaluation, communities selected to serve as demonstration sites, promoting strength-based partnerships, news and updates, and the program calendar. The back page of the newsletter includes an introduction to the program's principal investigator and a list of advisory council members.

Contact: Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies, University of South Florida, College of Public Health, 3111 East Fletcher Avenue, Tampa, FL 33613-4660, Telephone: (813) 974-8888 Secondary Telephone: (877) 724-2359 Fax: (813) 974-8889 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.usf.edu/publichealth/chilescenter/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care systems, Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Childbirth, Community programs, Consumer satisfaction, Consumers, Demonstration programs, Education, Families, Health care utilization, Infant health, Initiatives, Low income groups, MCH programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, National programs, National programs, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Research, Women', s health