Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (1,252 total).

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. 2024. Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile administration manual. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 31 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2024. Rationale for including oral health in the Title V 5-year needs assessment. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document lists reasons that including oral health in the Title V 5-year needs assessment is important. These reasons include (1) oral health is a vital component of overall health and well-being, (2) access to evidence-based and routine oral-disease-prevention and oral-health-education services reduces health disparities, (3) having good oral health reduces health care costs and is an investment for the future, and (4) oral disease is a fixable problem. For each reason, supporting examples are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Block grants, Needs assessment, Oral health, Prevention, Title V programs

Oral Health Ohio and Carequest Institute for Oral Health. 2024. MORE care in Ohio: Medical oral expanded care. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, a program in Ohio conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children’s oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and the CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, Technical Assistance and Analytic Support for the Medicaid and CHIP Quality Measurement and Improvement Program. 2024. Highlights from the Advancing Oral Health Prevention in Primary Care Affinity Group. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 5 pp. (Quality improvement affinity group highlights)

Annotation: This report provides information about how fluoride varnish (FV) can be used to prevent or reverse the early states of tooth decay. It presents background, explains what FV is, and discusses state FV quality-improvement (QI) projects. It also discusses how states have partnered to improve the success of QI projects, sustaining and spreading improvement through program and policy changes, and peer-to-peer knowledge sharing.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention, Programs, Quality assurance

Eunice Kennedy hriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2024. Implementing a Maternal health and PRegnancy Outcomes Vision for Everyone (IMPROVE) Initiative. Rockville, MD: Eunice Kennedy hriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development,

Annotation: This website showcases the IMPROVE initiative, launched by the National Institutes of Health in 2019, to support research to reduce preventable causes of maternal deaths and improve health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. The site describes the multi-pronged research initiative, emphasizing its focus on those disproportionately affected by maternal morbidity and mortality, including African American/Black, American Indian/Alaska Native populations, people of advanced maternal age, and people with disabilities. Links to research and funding opportunities, webinars and virtual workshops, funded projects, and resources for the public and for researchers are included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Grants , Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Research, Research programs

American Lung Association. 2024. Helping teens quit . Washington, DC: American Lung Association ,

Annotation: This website provides tobacco cessation and education resources to help young people quit using tobacco and nicotine products. The American Lung Association's comprehensive approach to end youth vaping; tips to help parents talk to their children about quitting; and links to national, state, and local prevention programs and tools are included. The website also

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Local initiatives, National programs, Nictone, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

School-Based Health Alliance. 2024. Toolkit to increase well-child visits and vaccinations In school-aged youth. Washington, DC: School-Based Health Alliance,

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center. 2024. The adolescent and young adult well-visit: A guide for families. San Francisco, CA: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, 1 p.

Annotation: This Q&A-style fact sheet for parents and caregivers explains the importance of annual adolescent well visits for youth ages 11-21, distinguishing them from sports physicals. It describes what occurs during well visits, including physical examinations, behavioral health screenings, preventive health guidance, and immunizations, while emphasizing how these visits help young people develop healthcare management skills and improve family communication about health issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Primary care, Young adults

Dartmouth Health Center for Advancing Rural Health Equity and Vermont Office of Oral Health. 2024. The use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) in pediatric care. [Dartmouth, NH?]:Dartmouth Health Center for Advancing Rural Health Equity, 8 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about the Pediatric Medical Home Pilot Project, the goal of which was to integrate silver diamine fluoride (SDF) application into primary pediatric care as a strategy to reduce the incidence of early childhood caries. The toolkit discusses how to integrate SDF application into pediatric care in Vermont. It presents a case for using SDF to treat early childhood caries, explains what SDF is, and provides guidelines for integrating SDF into practice. Information about the development of the toolkit is included.

Contact: Dartmouth Health Center for Advancing Rural Health Equity, Web Site: https://www.dartmouth-health.org/carhe Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Oral health, Pediatrics, Prevention, Primay care, Silver diamine fluoride, State programs, Treatment, Vermont

Allen C; Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health. 2024. A resource for every facility: MEWS Implementation. Washington, DC: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health , (AIM for Safer Birth Podcast Series)

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen talks with Dr. Carey Eppes and her colleague, CheyAnne Harris to explore Texas's experience with implementing the Maternal Early Warning Signs (MEWS) in maternal health care. Dr. Eppes shares her background and journey into the world of maternal health, detailing the personal motivations that drive her passion for this work. She and CheyAnne delve into the reasons behind adopting MEWS, how it was implemented, and the challenges faced along the way. This episode highlights the key levers that facilitate successful implementation for healthcare providers looking to adopt MEWS in their own practice. The podcast is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series that dives deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

Keywords: History, Maternal health, State initiatives, Texas, prevention programs

Watson K, Le L, Burns B, DeFrancis Sun B, Mayer R,Richards J. 2024. Preventive dental visit: What Works evidence accelerator--Summarizing effective strategies for MCH. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 7 pp.

Annotation: This brief, which is part of the What Works Evidence Accelerators series, provides background information and a summary of effective strategies to advance the national performance measures on preventive dental visits for children and for pregnant women. The strategies support increasing the percentages of pregnant women and children who had a dental visit in the past year. The brief includes an overview of the issues; data; and information on oral health outcomes, disparities in outcomes, children and youth with special health care needs, and partnership and the role of Title V.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health equity, Partnership, Pregnant women, Prevention, Special health care needs, Title V programs

Barzel R, Holt K, eds. 2023. Promoting oral health in schools: A resource guide (5th ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about promoting oral health in schools. The guide features materials on data and surveillance; policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Selected materials include a toolkit to help advocates improve the quality of school meals, a roadmap for healthy schools, best practice reports about school-based dental sealant programs and about use of fluoride in schools, and an oral health curriculum for students in kindergarten through grades 10. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, School linked programs, Young children

Carter NL, Lowe E, with American Association for Community Dental Programs and the National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2023. Seal America: The prevention invention (4th ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 1 v.

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Procter and Gamble Company. 2023. Children's dental health. Cincinnati, OH: Procter and Gamble Company, multiple items.

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Carroll BS, Akah H, Chirakos L. 2023. 2023-2027 state oral health plan. Cincinnati, OH: Oral Health Ohio, 47 pp.

Annotation: This oral health plan for Ohio was designed to guide actions taken by policymakers, advocates, educators, providers, and funders in the state. The plan includes background on the issue, the plan’s purpose, and progress; information on taking action to achieve the plan’s vision; and key findings.

Contact: Oral Health Ohio, 720 E. Pete Rose Way, Suite 120, Cincinnati, OH 45202, Telephone: (513) 768-6137 Web Site: https://www.oralhealthohio.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Ohio, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State information, State programs

Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center. 2023. The adolescent and young adult visit: A guide for families . San Francisco, CA: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center,

Annotation: This online resource for health professionals provides tools intended to promote the value of the well-visit to parents of adolescents and young adults. Downloadable materials include a fact sheet, infographics, and a cover letter that introduces the promotional materials and provides distribution strategies to engage parents via school-based health centers, state Medicaid agency, etc.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Families, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Provider participation, Young adults

Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association. 2023. 2023 MSDA national profile of state Medicaid dental programs. Washington, DC: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 89 pp.

Annotation: This profile provides information on state Medicaid dental programs. For each state, the following topics are discussed: category of care provided (e.g., diagnostic, exam, screen, preventive, restorative); diagnostic code; description of category; whether adults over age 21, adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and pregnant women are covered; adult fees; whether the category is part of the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program; and EPSDT rates for pregnant women.

Contact: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 4411 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., #104, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (202) 855-3993 Fax: (202) 248-2315 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaiddental.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Reimbursement, State information, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors and American Mobile and Teledentistry Alliance. 2023. Mobile and portable school-based/school-linked oral health programs: Delivery models to expand care for children and adolescents. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report provides guidance for developing and implementing a school-based or school-linked mobile or portable oral health program. It discusses challenges and strategies for overcoming these challenges. Selected challenges discussed include workforce considerations; state dental practice acts, legislation, and other regulations limiting the provision of oral health care; community opposition; infrastructure issues; and infection-control issues. Strategies include program planning, developing policies and procedures, community engagement and education, care coordination, developing business plans and budgets, and implementing quality measures and evaluation.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Budgets, Health programs, Infection control, Legislation, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program planning, Quality assurance, Regulations, School health, Service coordination

Giragosian L . 2023. Addressing hypertension in pregnancy to reduce maternal morbidity and mortality . Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes how hypertension disorders in pregnancy increase maternal morbidity and mortality rates; discusses federal actions to reduce the impact of hypertension in pregnancy; and presents i health agency strategies aimed at reducing the rate of hypertension in pregnancy.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

Keywords: Hypertension, Maternal health, Pregnant women, Prevention programs

U.S. Department of Agriculture . 2023. Child Nutrition Programs . Washington, DC: Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, (Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture)

Annotation: This web page describes the child nutrition programs provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to help ensure that children receive nutritious meals and snacks that promote their health and educational readiness. The site describes how the pandemic affected USDA child food programs and provides links to annual reports that summarize the food and nutrition assistance program landscape. Information on the following child nutrition programs is included: National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, Child and Adult Care Food Program, Summer Food Service Program, and After School Snacks and Meals.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

Link

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Nutrition and Food, Prevention, Public assistance, School based programs

« Previous Page