Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides suggestions for how states that choose to implement programs to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care for beneficiaries of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) can select a family of measures to assess progress. It explains what the different measures in the family of measures are (outcome measures, process measures, and balancing measures) and provides measurement strategies for each type of measure.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides ideas for how states can use a driver diagram on oral health produced by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care, plan a quality-improvement (QI) project, and determine how to improve outcomes. The report offers background, presents the driver diagram, explains the driver diagram, and provides ideas for activities to promote change.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This video discusses how children who are Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program beneficiaries can benefit from having fluoride varnish applied to their teeth in the primary care setting. The video shares quality-improvement methods that can help states improve the provision of oral health care to these children by primary care health professionals. Topics include developing an aim statement, using a driver diagram, identifying drivers to consider for achieving the aim, starting small to test whether change ideas are working, and using the plan-do-sudy-act method.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Iowa children's oral health in 2023. Information about the I-Smile program is provided, along with a discussion of the importance of good oral health in children. The fact sheet also includes statistics related to the number of Iowa children who received assistance from I-Smile in fiscal year 2023; the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2021, 2022, and 2023; and the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2023, by age.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Screening tests, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

Annotation: This interactive website presents an overview of how Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) provide coverage across the United States. It offers state-specific fact sheets showing enrollment data, federal support, and the impact of Medicaid on different populations. The website features a color-coded map displaying Medicaid and CHIP enrollment per 1,000 state residents ages 0-64, allowing users to click on individual states to access detailed information. Key topics covered include Medicaid's role as the largest health insurer in the U.S., its coverage of various health services, evidence of improved health outcomes, and its financial importance to healthcare providers in both rural and urban areas. State fact sheets like Virginia's provide specific enrollment statistics, federal funding information, and data on how Medicaid serves children, adults, rural communities, and individuals with mental health needs.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Enrollment, Maternal health, Medicaid, State aid, State health insurance programs, Statistics

Annotation: This research report examines the potential impacts of eliminating enhanced Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) for Medicaid expansion, focusing on state budget implications and health coverage consequences. It presents data showing that if enhanced FMAP were eliminated in 2026, the 41 expansion states would need to increase spending on acute care for the nonelderly by an average of 25.6 percent to maintain current eligibility levels. If all states dropped Medicaid expansion in response, Medicaid enrollment would decline by 15.9 million people, with 10.8 million becoming uninsured. The report describes how Medicaid expansion has benefited enrollees through improved health care access and financial security, while also providing fiscal benefits to states through additional savings and revenue. Using the Urban Institute's Health Insurance Policy Simulation Model, the analysis examines various scenarios of state responses and includes detailed data tables showing state-by-state impacts on coverage and spending.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Medicaid, State aid

Annotation: This brief highlights ten key things about Medicaid. It provides information on the number of Medicaid beneficiaries, coverage, and financing; Medicaid’s share of all health care and long-term care spending and how Medicaid spending is divided among children vs. those who qualify based on age or disability; and the effect of state Medicaid spending on cost per beneficiary across states. Also discussed is the share of beneficiaries who receive care through managed care organizations, how Medicaid coverage impacts beneficiaries, section 1115 demonstration waivers, and public views on Medicaid.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Health insurance, Long term care, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid

Annotation: This brief provides information on how minimally invasive care (MIC) can be used in conjunction with the integration of oral health care and medical care to improve oral health and overall health, as well as people’s experiences with receiving oral health care. The brief presents strategies for integrating oral health care and medical care to promote MIC, including cross-training oral health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health equity, Reimbursement, Service integration

Annotation: This brief explains how state Medicaid programs can be used to address social determinants of health, including economic stability, education, neighborhood and physical environments, employment, social support networks, and access to health care. It describes how states have been given flexibility through managed care programs and Section 1115 demonstration waivers to address non-clinical aspects of care such as case management, housing supports, employment supports, and peer support services. Included is a summary of the new guidance issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) in 2023 on the expansion of opportunities to address health related social needs.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Managed care, Medicaid, Social determinants of health, State programs

Annotation: This policy cheat sheet outlines the ways in which state Medicaid agencies can obtain federal approval to fund health-related social services such as food assistance and housing support. Included are links to related documents and federal guidance, including a table of 15 concrete interventions and four pathways for federal approval. Examples of promising strategies in the states of New York, Minnesota, and Massachusetts are also provided.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Funding, Health care reform, Medicaid, Policy, Social services, State initiatives

Annotation: This report describes the framework that the 2023 Medicaid and CHIP Oral Health Initiative (OHI) Workgroup used to set priorities for improving oral health care access, quality, and outcomes and advancing health equity in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program. The report also summarizes workgroup input for the following focus areas: strategic priorities, strategies, and measures for monitoring progress for the next phase of the OHI. It provides background on why good oral health is important and about what the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services has done to achieve the goal of improving oral health care for Americans, as well as about the workgroup’s charge.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to oral health care, Medicaid: Children', Oral health, Quality improvement, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This report provides information about the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' (CMS) Oral Health Cross-Cutting Initiative (CCI), which works across the agency to enhance alignment of and focus on oral health in CMS programs and policies. CCI seeks to achieve equal access to oral health care, eliminate persistent oral health disparities, expand access to oral health services, foster collaborative engagement with stakeholders, and use data analytics and innovation to inform policy priorities. The report discusses key results and oral health analytics: data- and evidence-driven insights.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Data, Medicaid, Medicare: Initiatives, Oral health, Oral health equity, Public policy

Annotation: This report provides information about policies and practices related to paying for community health workers for their services, including oral health services, through Medicaid. The report discusses each state's approach to covering these services through Medicaid. It also includes a spreadsheet that can be filtered and sorted to identify states with various approaches. A summary of findings is included.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Community health, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Personnel, Reimbursement, State information

Annotation: This brief outlines approaches for Medicaid policymakers to implement or evolve nutrition benefit strategies for Medicaid members. It focuses on three key approaches: refining CMS-defined interventions to better meet member needs, ensuring interventions are culturally appropriate and member-centered, and defining standardized eligibility criteria to maximize impact and decrease administrative burden. The document provides examples from various states' Medicaid programs, including approved and proposed 1115 waivers and In Lieu of Services (ILOS) policies. It highlights the importance of addressing the full range of food needs, from food security to instrumental food, and discusses strategies for ensuring food quality, choice, and cultural appropriateness. The brief also includes a table comparing eligibility criteria across different states and population groups.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• PDF

Keywords: Medicaid, Nutrition and food, Policy development

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of state-level policies that can support community-level actions to help ensure that communities have access to comprehensive oral health care, as well as federal policies that support the availability of minimally invasive care (MIC). State-level policy considerations discussed include maximizing Medicaid coverage for MIC (coverage of fluoride treatments, reimbursement for teledentistry, and risk management and individualized care); improving private coverage of MIC; and workforce considerations. Federal-level policy considerations discussed include mandatory Medicaid adult benefits, federal standardization of essential health benefits, and comprehensive Medicare dental benefits.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health, Dental insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Oral health, Public policy

Annotation: This report provides information about Medicaid coverage for specific groups as of December 2023. It includes the 2023 Rubric for Assessing Extensiveness of State Medicaid Adult Dental Benefits, which assesses coverage within eight service categories, by state. Also included is a map showing states offering Medicaid dental coverage to certain groups of beneficiaries that differs from coverage offered to other adult beneficiaries ages 21–64, along with a breakdown of which states offer specific types of coverage.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Health insurance, Medicaid, Older adults, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This report examines how state and territorial health agencies can advance sustainable financing for community health worker (CHW) programs as COVID-19-related grant funding expires and new Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement opportunities emerge. It presents strategies for state/territorial health agencies to establish clear CHW policies, support effective implementation of Medicaid and Medicare CHW policies, help community-based organizations develop sustainable funding models, and align CHW training and certification programs with financing opportunities. The report includes examples from multiple states' approaches to CHW program sustainability and provides detailed appendices on state staffing structures, relevant federal grants, and CHW-related strategies in state health improvement plans.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Financing, Health agencies, Medicaid, Medicare, Models, Policy development, State initiatives

Annotation: This report outlines state Medicaid policy recommendations to support mental health for mothers and babies during the 12-month postpartum period. It draws from an October 2023 meeting of Medicaid policy and maternal health experts to recommend concrete steps for state agencies in five key areas: enhancing primary care as a family hub, monitoring care connections, financing appropriate services, supporting workforce capacity, and prioritizing maternal and infant-early childhood mental health in Medicaid. The document examines recent federal policy changes and includes detailed implementation guidance for states adopting extended postpartum coverage. It aims to help states leverage Medicaid to advance health equity and improve mental health outcomes for mothers and infants in the critical year following birth.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Federal policy, Health equity, Infant health, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Postpartum care, State policy