Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reviews the need for and components of crisis stabilization services for children, youth, young adults, and their families. Crisis stabilization services focus on de-escalation and stabilization within the home and community. The paper provides recommendations for policy makers, practitioners, and thought leaders. This document can be used in conjunction with the National Guidelines for Child and Youth Behavioral Health Crisis.

Contact: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 302, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 739-9333 Fax: (703) 548-9517 Web Site: http://www.nasmhpd.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Crisis intervention, Families, Mental health, Mental health agencies, Mental health services

Annotation: This Advisory offers recommendations for supporting the mental health of children, adolescents, and young adults. It describes the various factors that can shape the mental health of young people and explains how action can be taken at various levels to improve health outcomes. Separate sections explain how individuals, families and caregivers, educators, health professionals and health organizations, social media, community organizations, funders and foundations, employers, and goverrnments (federal, state, and local) can each address the mental health needs of young people. Included is a discussion of youth mental health before the pandemic, and the ways in which COVID-19 increased risk factors for children and young adults.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Adolescents, Health promotion, Intervention, Mental health, Mental health services, Risk factors, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This report discusses the "Learn the Signs. Act Early" (LTSAE) state systems grant program's impact on improving early identification and intervention for children with Autism Spectrum Disorder and developmental disabilities. It examines three key impact areas: 1) engaging stakeholders and strengthening partnerships across 29 states, 2) training and raising awareness among key stakeholders in 28 states, and 3) developing statewide systems improvements. The document provides detailed case studies from multiple states, including Virginia's success in developing diagnostic teams, Mississippi's statewide coordination efforts, and Massachusetts' multilingual outreach program. While states faced challenges like budget constraints and system coordination, the grant program successfully built state capacity for early identification and service coordination through formalized developmental monitoring, stakeholder engagement, and increased awareness among caregivers and providers.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, State grants, Autism, Developmental screening, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention

Annotation: This report outlines AMCHP's framework for collaboration among Title V, Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV), and Early Childhood Systems (ECS) programs, which was developed with HRSA MCHB and updated in 2021-2023. The resource includes analysis of facilitators and barriers to collaboration, a refined framework for program alignment, case studies from Guam, Indiana, Louisiana, and Mississippi, and tools for implementing collaborative strategies. It's designed for program administrators and public health professionals, focusing on systems-building approaches to optimize statewide early childhood systems through improved coordination between Title V MCH Services Block Grant, MIECHV Program, and ECCS Program initiatives.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Block grants, Children', s health, Home visiting programs, Early intervention, Guam, Louisiana, Mississippi, Indiana

Annotation: One of a series of four Coffee Talks given in April 2021, this presentation discusses Vanderbilt's TRIAD (Treatment and Research Institute for Autism Spectrum Disorders) program. The presentation covers the implementation and evaluation of telemedicine services for autism assessment and intervention, particularly focusing on reaching underserved rural communities. It outlines the program's development from 2014-2019, including their tele-diagnostic consultation service model, the TELE-ASD-PEDS assessment tool (Telemedicine-based ASD Assessment in Toddlers), and outcome data comparing in-person, hybrid, and telemedicine-only service delivery methods. Data from a satisfaction survey compares effectiveness across all delivery methods in terms of treatment fidelity, communication improvements, the discussion covers the benefits of telemedicine services, such as reduced wait times, increased accessibility, and cost savings for families. The program's TEAM Opp initiative specifically focuses on building capacity in rural and under-resourced areas by partnering with local agencies and training developmental therapists, with satisfaction surveys indicating strong positive feedback from both providers and caregivers regarding the telehealth services.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Early intervention, Telemedicine, Assessment, Underserved communities, Tennessee, Mentors

Annotation: Abstract: In the weeks after childbirth, a woman navigates multiple challenges. She must recover from birth, learn to care for herself and her newborn, and cope with fatigue and postpartum mood changes as well as chronic health conditions. Alongside these common morbidities, the number of maternal deaths in the United States continues to increase, and unacceptable racial inequities persist. One third of pregnancy-related deaths occur between 1 week and 1 year after delivery, with a growing proportion of these deaths due to cardiovascular disease; one fifth occur between 7 and 42 days postpartum. In addition, pregnancy-associated deaths due to self-harm or substance misuse are increasing at an alarming rate. Rising maternal mortality and morbidity rates, coupled with significant disparities in outcomes, highlight the need for tailored interventions to improve safety and well-being of families during the fourth trimester of pregnancy, which includes the period from birth to the comprehensive postpartum visit. Targeted support for growing families during this transition can improve health and well-being across generations.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Interventions, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Postpartum care, Prevention

Annotation: This website provides recommendations, evidence, and related items for primary care clinicians to provide interventions, including education or brief counseling, to prevent initiation of tobacco use in school-aged children and adolescents. It updates the 2013 recommendations and reviews the evidence on the effectiveness of primary care interventions on the rates of initiation or cessation of tobacco use in school-aged children and adolescents and on health outcomes, such as respiratory health, oral health, and adult smoking. It also provides new recommendations for interventions and identifies research needs and gaps.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• 2020
• 2013

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Intervention, Prevention, Primary care, School age children, Tobacco use

Annotation: This infographic provides information about benefits of and barriers to receiving preventive dental visits for children and adolescents. It emphasizes the importance of these visits to reduce oral health problems and promote overall health throughout life. It discusses integration of oral health care into primary care, the cost savings that early intervention can confer, and disparities in oral health status and in access to oral health services. The infographic is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Early intervention, Income factors, Low income groups, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Racial factors, Service integration, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This systematic review examined the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical drug use in children, adolescents, and young adults to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; in addition, references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review identified 29 trials that met inclusion criteria; 26 of the trials were general prevention trials that focused on nonpregnant youth covering the ages 10 through 24 years. The review found low strength of evidence on the benefits of behavioral counseling interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical substance use in young people.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Families, Interventions, Literature reviews, Prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: This issue brief addresses barriers to adequate health care in rural communities for women of reproductive age with mental health and substance use disorders. The brief discusses social determinants that play a significant role in health outcomes (e.g., rising unemployment, unreliable transportation, inadequate housing, and low rates of health insurance coverage) and addresses the complex needs of women in rural settings who have limited access to medical treatment. Included are examples of state and federal programs designed to increase access to care and improve care coordination for vulnerable women of reproductive age, including pregnant women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Intervention, Mental disorders, Model programs, Reproductive health, Rural health, Rural population, Substance use disorders, Women', s health

Annotation: This continuing-education course for oral health professionals provides information about child abuse and neglect and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing child abuse and neglect. Topics include defining the problem, the dentist's role in intervention, presenting problems that suggest child maltreatment, assessment and documentation, reporting, treatment for orofacial or dental trauma, and what oral health professionals can do to reduce child maltreatment.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Continuing education, Emotional abuse, Intervention, Maltreated children, Oral health, Oral health care, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Annotation: This report focuses on the importance of taking a child to the dentist by age 1 to prevent oral disease. It discusses the prevalence of tooth decay in children, the effectiveness of prevention and early intervention, the consequences of delaying treatment, and barriers to accessing care early. It also discusses the benefits of integrating oral health care into primary care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Early intervention, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent perinatal depression (i.e., depression during pregnancy and postpartum depression). Sources consulted for the review include MEDLINE, PubMED, PsyINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review looked at publications published in English between January 1, 2012, and February 6, 2018. The evidence review concluded that counseling interventions can be effective in preventing perinatal depression; a variety of other intervention approaches provided some evidence of effectiveness, but lacked a robust evidence base and need further research.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Intervention, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health screening, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This systematic review informed the United States Preventive Services Task Force of the benefits and harms of screening and nonpharmacologic interventions to reduce unhealthy alcohol use among adolescents and adults, including pregnant women. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials through October 12, 2017. The review also looked at references of relevant publications and government web sites through August 1, 2018. The review concluded that screening instruments are available that can effectively identify persons with unhealthy alcohol use and that are feasible for use in primary care settings.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Alcohol, Alcohol use, Interventions, Literature reviews, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Screening

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Intervention, Obesity, Research, Screening, Weight

Annotation: This brief and evidence review summarize the literature on evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies to promote the safety and effectiveness of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. They provide background information on oral health during pregnancy, discuss key research methods and results, and present key findings and implications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Doulas, Evidence-based practice, Intervention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Patient care, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Therapeutics, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs may consider implementing to increase the percentage of very low birth weight (<1500 gm) infants born in hospitals with a level III or higher neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information about the methods and results of the evidence review, key findings, and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Childbirth, Evidence-based practice, High risk pregnancy, Hospitals, Infant mortality, Intervention, Literature reviews, Low birthweight, Measures, Model programs, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Perinatal care, Policy development, Program planning, Protective factors, Regional medical centers, Regional planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Systems development, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the number of infants placed to sleep on their backs. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Caregivers, Education, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Intervention, Literature reviews, Mass media, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Primary prevention, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Safety, Sleep position, State MCH programs, Title V programs