Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (1,067 total).

Larsen B, Larsen W. n.d.. A rank order method for assessing the Children and Youth Program. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 15 pp. (Quantods series no.: 2-11 (12))

Larsen B. n.d.. Determinants of migration in low income areas. Minneapolis, MN: [School of Public Health, University of Minnesota], Systems Development Project, 10 pp. (Quantods series no.: 1-9 (6))

Annotation: This paper discusses potential motivations for itnernal migration. The results presented in this paper apply to a group of 20 low income areas, specifically to the geographical target areas associated with a sample of 20 Children and Youth program comprehensive health care services delivery projects. The analysis is based on data extracted from the Quarterly Summary Reports for this program. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Statistical analysis

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. n.d.. Maternal and Child Health Training Program announcement of grant availability: Pediatric Pulmonary Centers. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 15 pp.

Annotation: This document announces the availability of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau grant for pediatric pulmonary centers. It explains how the grant is a maternal and child health block grant authorized by Title V of the Social Security Act and describes program requirements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Pediatric pulmonary care centers, Pediatric pulmonology, Program descriptions, Title V programs

Peoples MD. n.d.. The role of maternity and infant care projects in reducing low weight births. Unpublished manuscript, 39 pp.

Annotation: This paper gives a historical overview of the Maternity and Infant Care (MIC) projects enabled through amendments to Title V of the Social Security Act in 1963. The paper presents available data on MIC project accomplishments, with particular emphasis on the relationship of the projects to the incidence of low birth weight. Topics include: the evolution of MIC projects; administration and financing; objectives of the projects; eligibility; coverage of women and infants at risk; quality of care; effects on the use of care and low birth weight; and cost. The difficulties in evaluating these projects is also discussed, including methodological problems and issues of interpretation. A list of references is provided. Tables with information on the projects and evaluations of these projects are provided at the end of the paper.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, History, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Prevention programs

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. Title V information system glossary. Germantown, MD: HRSA Call Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This glossary explains terms used in the Title V Information System, an online service that electronically captures and makes available applications and reports submitted by U.S. states, territories, and jurisdictions on state programs funded under Title V of the Social Security Act.

Contact: Title V Information System, HRSA Call Center, 12530 Parklawn Drive, Suite 350, Germantown, MD 20850, Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 998-7377 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mchb.tvisdata.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Child health, Dictionaries, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Health Resources and Services Administration. n.d.. MCH keywords from HRSA. [Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration],

Maternal and Child Health Bureau. n.d.. Discretionary grant performance measures. Rockville, MD: Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 215 pp.

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, Dental Public Health Policy Committee. 2024. Policy statement: Integrating oral health care into primary care. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors; Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 11 pp.

Annotation: This policy statement focuses on integrating oral health care into primary care. It provides a summary of the issue, presents the problem of pervasively poor oral health among pregnant women and children from families with low incomes, and discusses opportunities to address this problem by integrating oral health care into primary care. Examples of a national initiative and statewide programs that are working to integrate oral health care into primary care are included, and the role of state and territorial oral health programs in this effort is discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, State programs

Bhatnagar P. 2024. Housing justice is reproductive justice: A review of housing justice as a structural determinant of black women and birthing people's reproductive health in Washington, D.C.. Washington, D.C: Mamatoto Village and Georgetown University Health Justice Alliance , 26 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights the common threads between housing and reproductive justice, emphasizing the importance of policy solutions that de-silo maternal health and address social and structural barriers. The first section describes how structural racism and structural disinvestment—including residential segregation, poor housing access and conditions, residential instability and gentrification, and the carceral apparatus—contribute to deleterious health outcomes among Black women and birthing people. The second section outlines how Black pregnancy is policed across the reproductive lifespan through forced evictions and displacement during pregnancy, double jeopardy of racism and discrimination in health care settings, and threatened Child Protective Services (CPS) involvement after birth. The third section highlights the status of housing reform in Washington, D.C. and potential opportunities for change. The report ends with Mamatoto Village’s housing justice framework, a summary of federal housing programs and policies, and links to annotated bibliography of key articles.

Contact: Georgetown University , Health Justice Alliance , 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9000 Web Site: https://www.law.georgetown.edu/health-justice-alliance/

Keywords: Barriers, Blacks, Civil rights, Federal programs , Housing, Housing programs, Maternal health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Racism, Social factors, Underserved communities

Eunice Kennedy hriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2024. Implementing a Maternal health and PRegnancy Outcomes Vision for Everyone (IMPROVE) Initiative. Rockville, MD: Eunice Kennedy hriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development,

Annotation: This website showcases the IMPROVE initiative, launched by the National Institutes of Health in 2019, to support research to reduce preventable causes of maternal deaths and improve health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. The site describes the multi-pronged research initiative, emphasizing its focus on those disproportionately affected by maternal morbidity and mortality, including African American/Black, American Indian/Alaska Native populations, people of advanced maternal age, and people with disabilities. Links to research and funding opportunities, webinars and virtual workshops, funded projects, and resources for the public and for researchers are included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Grants , Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Research, Research programs

Cole M. 2024. The vaccines for children program (VFP). Washington, DC: National Center for Health Research ,

Annotation: This web page describes the Vaccines for Children Program (VFC )-- a federally funded program offered through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that provides vaccines free of charge to children who otherwise may not have been able to afford the vaccines. Eligibility, the types of vaccines covers, and vaccination locations are among the topics covers.

Contact: National Center for Health Research , 1001 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 1100 , Washington, DC 20036,

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Immunization program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2023 . Increasing access, quality, and equity in postpartum care in Medicaid and CHIP: A toolkit for state Medicaid and CHIP agencies . Baltimore: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 47 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to support Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance (CHIP) programs in efforts to improve the delivery of postpartum care. Included are strategies to help increase access to postpartum care, improve the quality of care, address disparities, and implement quality improvement measures. The toolkit includes federal requirements, guidance, and state opportunities to promote postpartum screening, referral, and treatment.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

Keywords: , Federal initiatives, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, State programs

Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center. 2023 . Ensure those giving birth are heard and are decisionmakers in accountable systems of care. Chapel Hill, NC: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center, 14 pp. (White House blueprint evidence to action briefs)

Annotation: This action brief discusses the importance of prioritizing respectful maternity care, calling attention to the need to support dignity, autonomy, and companionship in pregnancy, birth, and postpartum care. The brief highlights five anti-discriminatory action steps highlighted in the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal crisis and links to a wide variety of programs and resources aimed at improving maternal health outcomes. Statistical data related to maternal maltreatment and a description of factors affecting progress are included

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

Keywords: , Barriers, Federal programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models, Perinatal care, Quality improvement, Racial discrimination

American Lung Association. 2023. State of tobacco control. Washington, DC: American Lung Association, irregular.

Annotation: This report tracks progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and federal levels, and assigns grades based on tobacco control laws and regulations in effect as of January 1, 2023. The federal government, all 50 state governments, and the District of Columbia have been given grade to reflect the extent to which tobacco control laws are adequately protecting citizens. The report summarizes the results of its findings and describes major trends regarding tobacco control policy efforts at the state and federal levels. Details about the methodology and the criteria used to assess the effectiveness of tobacco control policies are included.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Data, Federal programs, Health status, Policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco, Trends

U.S. Department of Agriculture . 2023. Child Nutrition Programs . Washington, DC: Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, (Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture)

Annotation: This web page describes the child nutrition programs provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to help ensure that children receive nutritious meals and snacks that promote their health and educational readiness. The site describes how the pandemic affected USDA child food programs and provides links to annual reports that summarize the food and nutrition assistance program landscape. Information on the following child nutrition programs is included: National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, Child and Adult Care Food Program, Summer Food Service Program, and After School Snacks and Meals.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Nutrition and Food, Prevention, Public assistance, School based programs

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2022. HHS equity action plan. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 15 pp.

Annotation: This action plan is based on an internal determination that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) must urgently assess and, if needed, change policies, programs, and processes the department administers. The plan discusses HHS’s shift in the culture, resources, and approaches available to staff to institutionalize a focus on equity, including health equity. The plan provides a summary of early accomplishments and discusses civil rights protections and language access, acquisitions (opportunities for small businesses owned by individuals from disadvantaged populations to apply for contracts within HHS procurement programs), grants, capacity building, and maternal mortality.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Civil rights, Federal programs, Health equity, Low income groups, Maternal mortality, Policy

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2022. CMS framework for health equity 2022-2032. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 39 pp.

Annotation: This framework describes the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ (CMS’s) plan to incorporate health equity and efforts to address health disparities as a foundational element across all its work. It discusses five priority areas: (1) expand the collection, reporting, and analysis of standardized data; (2) assess causes of disparities within CMS programs and address inequalities in policies and operations; (3) build capacity of health care organizations and the workforce to reduce health and health care disparities; (4) advance language access, health literacy, and the provision of culturally tailored services; and (5) increase access to health care and coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal programs, Health equity, Health literacy, Policy, Statistical data

Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2022. National guidelines for child and youth behavioral health crisis care. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Center for Mental Health Services, 64 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines offer best practices, implementation strategies, and practical guidance for the design and development of services that meet the needs of children, youth, and their families experiencing a mental health crisis. The document provides strategies for different populations,, including young children, transition-age youth and young adults, youth with intellectual and developmental disabilities, LGBTQI+ youth, and rural and frontier communities. Each section includes a summary of implementation strategies, as well as links to programs and additional information. An appendix provides a table of core crisis principles.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Federal programs, Mental health, Mental health services, Substance abuse treatment, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2022. The Unwinding of the COVID-19 public health emergency: Opportunities for Title V programs to protect coverage for children and families during the Medicaid redetermination process. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 5 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs can actively engage state Medicaid agencies and work with state and local partners to ensure that Medicaid-eligible recipients continue to receive adequate health coverage once the COVID-19 federal public health emergency (PHE) funding ceases. The fact sheet focuses on the challenges posed by the required redetermination of Medicaid eligibility; the staff-intensive enrollment process; and the number of at-risk recipients whose job status changed during the pandemic.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Communicable diseases, Emergencies, Enrollment, Federal programs, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Public health, Title V, Virus diseases

Khanal P. 2021. Improving maternal health outcomes: State policy actions and opportunities. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 1 item. (Medicaid policy cheat sheet)

Annotation: This Medicaid policy cheat sheet explores what states are doing to improve maternal health outcomes and what additional opportunities exist. Some strategies suggested include: extending postpartum coverage; enhancing benefits to cover evidence-based models, such as home visiting programs; developing value-based payment models that reward health outcomes and close racial and ethnic disparity gaps; and enhancing data collection on maternal mortality and morbidity. The document also provides examples of notable policies that have been implemented by states, such as payment reforms, models of care delivery, managed care organization data reporting requirements, midwifery-led care, doula services, postpartum coverage expansion, use of telemedicine, and provider bias training.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy analysis, Public policy, State health insurance programs
« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.