Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents a framework for educating health professionals to address the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age, as well as the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life including economic policies, development agendas, cultural and social norms, social policies, and political systems. Contents include theoretical constructs and examples of programs and frameworks addressing elements of the social determinants of health. The framework aligns education, health, and other sectors to meet local needs in partnership with communities.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Continuing education, Cultural diversity, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health occupations, Inclusive schools, Mentors, Model programs, Models, Professional education, Public health education, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Training, Work force

Annotation: This document presents sample strategies for improving maternal and child health and measures for demonstrating success. Contents are organized within the following six domains: women/maternal health, perinatal/infant health, child health and/or adolescent health, adolescent health, children and youth with special health care needs, and cross-cutting/life course. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Infants, MCH programs, Measures, Methods, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Program planning, Women

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews of measures that can be used to screen children enrolled in Medicaid for adverse childhood experiences (ACEs), defined as stressful or traumatic events including abuse, neglect, and household dysfunction. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; a table of selected measures including the measure name, type, ACEs, strengths, limitations, and other considerations; and systematic reviews included in the evidence review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Public policy, Research reviews, Screening, Stress, Trauma

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on the effectiveness of interventions that help to mitigate parental and familial factors that may contribute to adverse childhood experiences among children. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Topics include parent education programs (conducted outside the home), home visit programs, dual treatment programs for substance abuse, and trauma-informed care. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; and a table that describes the systematic reviews included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Home visiting, Intervention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Parent education, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Substance abuse treatment, Trauma, Trauma care

Annotation: This guide focuses on adolescent substance use -- including abuse of illicit and prescription drugs, alcohol, and tobacco -- and the special treatment needs for people ages 12-17. Topics include the principles of adolescent substance use disorder treatment, frequently asked questions, treatment settings, and evidence-based approaches to treating adolescent substance use disorders (behavioral and family-based approaches, addiction medications, and recovery support services). Treatment referral resources are included.

Contact: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213, MSC 9561, Bethesda, MD 20892-9561, Telephone: (301) 443-1124 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.nida.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 14-7953.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Evidence based medicine, Referrals, Research, Substance use disorders, Therapeutics, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Annotation: This report summarizes discussions from a national conference held on November 12–13, 2013, in Washington, DC, to discuss current strengths and future needs in the field of peer support. Contents include key findings, background and review of the evidence, and key features of peer support. Topics include conceptual and strategic issues, program development, evaluation of peer support, organizational and system issues, and program sustainability. Recommendations and areas for future work are included.

Contact: American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation, Peers for Progress, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 440, Leawood, KS 66211-2672, Telephone: (800) 274-2237 Secondary Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Fax: (913) 906-6095 Web Site: http://peersforprogress.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Community health aides, Conference proceedings, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Health care delivery, International programs, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer education, Peer groups, Peer support programs, Program development, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, Service integration, Sustainability, Systems development

Annotation: This document is a compilation of abridged U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommendations released from 2004 to March 2014 and can be used as an evidence-based tool at the point of client care. Contents include clinical summaries of recommendations for children, adolescents, and adults including immunizations for children and adults and topics in progress. The guide also lists resources that clinicians can use to educate clients on appropriate preventive services and provides brief descriptions of and links to tools that health care professionals can use to improve their practice.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 14-05158; ISBN 978-1-58763-439-0.

• PDF
• Print And E-book Versions

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Evidence based medicine, Immunization, Patient care, Preventive health services

Annotation: This resource provides a summary of recommendations and evidence on the use of low-dose aspirin as preventive medication after 12 weeks of gestation in women who are at high risk for preeclampsia. Additional contents include the rationale, and clinical and other considerations.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Fact Sheet

Keywords: Drugs, Evidence based medicine, High risk groups, Preeclampsia, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Annotation: This tool provides guidance to support state and local decision makers, administrators, providers, and youth and family advocates in building and enhancing a trauma-informed work force. Contents include eight modules on the following topics: understanding the impact of trauma, trauma-informed child-serving systems, creating trauma-informed provider organizations, evidence-based treatments addressing trauma, public health approach and cost-benefits of trauma-informed care, youth and family perspectives on trauma-informed care, trauma-informed efforts in eight states, and research and practice in trauma-informed care. Each module contains an issue brief, video interviews with individuals in the field, and lists of resources.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Fact Sheet

Keywords: Case studies, Children, Evidence based medicine, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Mental health, Models, Organizational change, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Trauma care, Work force, Youth, Youth agencies

Annotation: This report summarizes what is known about the health, safety, and well-being of young adults and offers recommendations for policy and research. Contents include a cross-cutting recommendation that applies to all policies and programs addressing young adults, whether public or private, in all sectors of society. Subsequent recommendations focus on the key domains of relationships, education and employment, civic engagement and national service, public health, the health care systems, and government investments in marginalized young adults.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Evidence based medicine, Health status, Preventive health services, School to work transition, Service integration, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This tool is designed to help hospitals incorporate essential pediatric considerations into existing hospital disaster policies. It consists of 10 essential pediatric domains and corresponding considerations to guide hospital administrators, clinical managers, and disaster planning committees through a review of current disaster plans and inform policy development or revision. Additionally, a list of references and resources specific to each domain is provided to assist users in finding relevant literature and best practices. The checklist is available in both static and interactive electronic versions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Interactive

Keywords: Clinics, Disaster planning, Evidence based medicine, Hospitals, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This issue brief offers information and action steps for Medicaid health plans wanting to accelerate evidence-based use of progesterone to prevent preterm birth. Challenges and opportunities are addressed, along with specific strategies for working collaboratively with clinicians and other stakeholders.

Contact: Medicaid Health Plans of America, 1140 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 505, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 857-5720 Fax: (202) 857-5731 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mhpa.org/index.cfm?fuseAction=section&pSectionID=174 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Medicaid, Preterm birth, Prevention programs

Annotation: This resource presents a framework to help guide primary care practices in becoming high-performing patient-centered medical homes. The resource describes eight change concepts that can be used to stimulate specific, actionable steps that lead to improvement. The concepts include engaged leadership; quality improvement strategy; empanelment; continuous and team-based healing relationships; organized, evidence-based care; patient-centered interactions; enhanced access; and care coordination. Additional contents include implementation guides, assessment tools, presentations, and other materials on the change concepts as well as resources on payment and recognition.

Contact: Qualis Health, P.O. Box 33400, Seattle, WA 98133-0400, Telephone: (206) 364-9700 Fax: (206) 368-2419 Web Site: http://www.qualishealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Consumer satisfaction, Coordination, Evidence based medicine, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Leadership, Medical home, Model programs, Organizational change, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Relationships, Resources for professionals, Teamwork

Annotation: This compendium provides examples from a literature review conducted by the New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) evaluating the effectiveness of community-based disease prevention programs designed to reduce tobacco use, increase physical activity, and/or improve eating habits. The compendium includes examples not included in the original report of evidence-based community prevention programs that have helped reduce rates of asthma, falls among the elderly, and sexually transmitted diseases as well as other topics.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• 2012
• 2009

Keywords: Community based services, Disease prevention, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews

Annotation: This resource provides a list of eight dental public health competencies and a curriculum to provide predoctoral dental students and dental hygiene students with the necessary foundation of knowledge and skills to meet the needs of the U.S. population. Topics of the courses include principles in dental public health; oral health literacy; ethics; dental public health policy and advocacy; oral health promotion and disease prevention; and evidence-based dentistry. Contents include presentations, instructor guides, syllabi, and other material.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

• The Links To The Individual Courses Direct To A Survey That Will Ask You For Contact Information And Agreement To Terms Of Use And License Agreement.

Keywords: Advocacy, Competency based education, Curriculum development, Dental education, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Health literacy, Health policy, Health promotion, Oral health, Professional education, Professional ethics

Annotation: This website describes a project to examine the use of, barriers to, and methods for enhancing evidence-based programs and policies (EBPP) in local health departments. Contents include the project goals, dates, and target audience; implications for research and practice; project staff, partners, and funders; and a list of related publications and presentations. A series of issue briefs on topics such as workforce development, leadership, organizational culture, relationships and partnerships, and financial practices are included. The website also contains the national survey instrument, an information brief, and the case study qualitative survey guide.

Contact: Prevention Research Center in St. Louis, Washington University in St. Louis, 621 N. Skinker Boulevard, Campus Box 1006, St. Louis, MO 63130, Telephone: (314) 935-0121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://prcstl.wustl.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Case studies, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Local government, Model programs, National surveys, Policy development, Public health agencies, Research, Work force

Annotation: This report describes the development and evaluation of a comprehensive marketing plan aimed at broadening the access to and utilization of evidence-based practice resources by Registered Dietitians and Dietetic Technicians Registered. It describes target audiences; marketing strategies and tactics; activities conducted and their outcomes and measure; and next steps.

Contact: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000, Chicago, IL 60606-6995, Telephone: (800) 877-1600 Secondary Telephone: (312) 899-0400 Web Site: http://www.eatright.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Initiatives, Marketing, Nutrition programs, Program evaluation

Contact: American Public Human Services Association, 1133 19th St., N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 682-0100 Fax: (202) 289-6555 Web Site: http://www.aphsa.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Child welfare, Evidence based medicine

Annotation: These reports to Congress identify gaps in the evidence base for clinical preventive services and provide recommendations for priority areas for research to generate the evidence needed to improve health and health care. Topics include screening tests and behavioral interventions with significant evidence gaps deserving further research; and evidence gaps related to the health and health care of older adults, children, adolescents, and women.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• 10th

Keywords: Adolesents, Behavioral health, Children, Evidence based medicine, Health behavior, Intervention, Older adults, Preventive health services, Research, Screening, Women