Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide provides information for a pregnant woman’s family about opioid misuse and treatment during pregnancy. The guide explains what an opioid use disorder is and discusses the importance of comprehensive prenatal care and treatment for pregnant women with the disorder, delivery, newborn health, breastfeeding, social supports, and what to expect in the weeks and months after delivery.

Contact: Partnership for Drug-Free Kids, 352 Park Avenue South, 9th Floor, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (855) 378-4373 Secondary Telephone: (212) 922-1560 Fax: (212) 922-1570 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.drugfree.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Narcotics, Perinatal addiction, Pregnant women, Substance abuse treatment

Annotation: This handout for parents explains why oral health is important and how to help prevent dental caries and other oral health problems. It presents a series of questions about school health services, including oral health services, that can help parents support their child’s school’s efforts to address oral health. Other questions presented cover oral health education, bullying prevention, how teachers reward students (i.e., with food or nonfood items), and whether students have access to free and clean drinking water. The handout explains how to find answers to the questions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for parents about fluoride varnish (FV). Topics include what FV is, why FV application is recommended for children, how to tell if a child needs FV,and at what ages FV should be applied. Also discussed is what parents should do after FV is applied to their child's teeth, the cost of FV application, the safety of FV, and how long FV lasts. The fact sheet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Costs, Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This tip sheet for families explains why good oral health is important for children and offers tips on things parents can do help ensure that their child has healthy teeth and a healthy mouth. It is available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish,Vietnamese,and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Children, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about the effects of tobacco on the mouth. Topics include tobacco use, smokeless tobacco use, quitting tobacco use, and oral cancer. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontitis, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about xylitol. Topics include the benefits of xylitol, when to use xylitol, and who can benefit from xylitol use. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Mothers, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Texas. Data presented is from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The fact sheet explains why taking care of teeth and gums during pregnancy is safe and important. It also provides the percentage of pregnant women in the state who did not visit a dentist during pregnancy because the did not think it was safe to do so; the percentage who had a dental cleaning during pregnancy; and the likelihood of receiving a dental cleaning for white, black and Hispanic pregnant women. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Data, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Safety, State information, Texas

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fluoride. It presents background information and discusses the following topics: recommended intakes for infants, children, adolescents, and adults from birth to over age 19, including pregnant adolescents and women and breastfeeding adolescents and women; sources of fluoride; types of fluoride supplements; fluoride and health (the effects of fluoride on tooth decay and bone fractures); health risks from excessive fluoride; interactions of fluoride with medications; fluoride and healthy diets; and where to find more information about fluoride. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Fluoride, Fractures, Infant health, Oral heath, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women, Prevention

Annotation: This brochure provides information for consumers about dental visits. Topics include what do do after a dental visit, advocating for oneself during a visit, caring for oneself before and after a visit, how to address barriers to visiting the dentist, determining goals for a dental visit, how to prepare for a visit, and other ways to access oral health care. A companion guide for oral health professionals is also available.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Consumer Brochure
• Consumer And Professional Brochures

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Consumer education materials, Financial barriers, Oral health

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about how to have a healthy mouth, including healthy teeth and gums. Topics include how to eat well to promote mouth health, keeping teeth clean, staying hydrated, considering braces, visiting the dentist regularly, and avoiding smoking and vaping. The fact sheet is also available in other languages, including Arabic, Bengali, Chinese (traditional and simplified), French, Haitian Creole, Italian, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Urdu, and Yiddish.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City , NY 11101, Telephone: E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF
• Other Languages--scroll To Additional Resources--Posters And Brochures

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Drinking water, Health care utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Orthodontics, Prevention, Smoking, Tobacco use

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Annotation: This tip sheet for pregnant women provides information about the importance of good oral health during pregnancy for both pregnant women and their infant. Topics include the importance of taking care of the mouth during pregnancy, the safety of getting oral health care during pregnancy, and the importance of good nutrition during pregnancy. Tips for choosing healthy snacks and drinks, how to care for the mouth if a woman has morning sickness, and finding a dentist are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This fact sheet presents questions to help parents determine whether their child is at high risk for tooth decay and provides suggestions for treating tooth decay in the child. It also offers tips for parents to prevent tooth decay in their child, including brushing with fluoridated toothpaste, not putting the child to bed with any food or drinks other than water, making sure the child drinks fluoridated water, limiting sugary foods and drinks, giving the child only water to drink between meals, and scheduling regular dental visits beginning at age 1.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Infant health, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and other caregivers provides answers to frequently asked questions about silver diamine fluoride (SDF). It explains what SDF is and discusses its benefits, safety, and side effects; eating and drinking after SDF application; how to determine if SDF is right for a child; and insurance coverage for SDF application. In addition to English, the fact sheet is available in the following languages: Arabic, Bengali, Chinese (simplified), Chinese (traditional), French, Haitian Creole, Italian, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Urdu, and Yiddish.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City , NY 11101, Telephone: E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• All Languages
• English

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help people learn about how to take good care of their oral health and about how oral health is connected to overall health and well-being. Tools include radio public service announcements; social media graphics; social media posts; posters; content to include in e-mails, newsletters, and other outreach materials; and educational materials. A webinar about opportunities for sharing oral health materials and integrating them into health-education efforts is also available.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral health, Outreach, Posters, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public service announcements

Annotation: This toolkit includes information about the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine that oral health professionals can use or share with consumers. The toolkit includes a guide for oral health professionals on how to use the information with consumers, talking tips for various audiences, information on the role of oral health professionals in cancer control and prevention, a brochure on HPV and the vaccine, office posters on HPV and the vaccine, and a prescription pad for use in recommending the HPV vaccine. The toolkit is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Cancer Action Coalition of Virginia, P.O. Box 31658, Richmond, VA 23294, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cancercoalitionofvirginia.org/vhit/ Available from the website.

• Submit Form To Receive Downloadable Toolkit

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education materials, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Vaccines

Annotation: This video for pregnant women and parents describes steps to promote good oral health for their infant. Steps include taking care of the woman’s mouth during pregnancy, cleaning the infant’s gums daily, brushing the infant’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste, taking the infant to the dentist when the first tooth erupts or by age 1, and avoiding giving the infant drinks with added sugar. In addition to English, the video is available in the following languages: Arabic, English, French, Nepali, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• English
• All Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Non English language materials, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Videos

Annotation: This activity book offers parents an interactive way to talk to children ages 3–8 about how to care for their teeth. The book includes coloring activities, a tooth maze, a search-and-find activity, a connect-the-dots activity, and a "great job" certificate. Activities focus on brushing, flossing, visiting the dentist, and drinking water and eating healthy foods.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Activity books, Consumer education materials, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This fact sheet for families lists several steps that caregivers and parents can follow to minimize the risk of sudden infant death syndrome. The steps include guidance about sleep environment, smoking, breastfeeding, pacifier use, visiting the doctor, and tummy time.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing, California Childcare Health Program, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-4695 Web Site: http://www.ucsfchildcarehealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• English, Spanish, And Chinese Translations

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position