Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' (CMS) Oral Health Cross-Cutting Initiative (CCI), which works across the agency to enhance alignment of and focus on oral health in CMS programs and policies. CCI seeks to achieve equal access to oral health care, eliminate persistent oral health disparities, expand access to oral health services, foster collaborative engagement with stakeholders, and use data analytics and innovation to inform policy priorities. The report discusses key results and oral health analytics: data- and evidence-driven insights.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Data, Medicaid, Medicare: Initiatives, Oral health, Oral health equity, Public policy

Annotation: This report outlines findings and recommendations from a survey assessing equity practices within Perinatal Quality Collaboratives (PQCs). It presents survey results from the Maternal Child Health Systems Assessment Tool (MSAT), which evaluated how PQC leadership perceives and experiences equity within their work environments. The document examines key findings in demographics, attitudes, behaviors, knowledge, perceptions, characteristics, and experiences of PQC staff, revealing that while most PQCs operate within an ally-designed system, they face challenges in leadership diversity and implementing equity-based approaches. It provides seven major recommendations for improving health equity in PQCs, including increasing leadership diversity, moving beyond basic DEI training to action planning, enhancing community engagement, securing leadership buy-in, strengthening organizational culture, addressing socio-political barriers, and ensuring sustainable funding support. The report includes specific implementation strategies for each recommendation and incorporates visual aids such as a community engagement spectrum diagram and a table of authentic community engagement practices.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Cultural diversity, Health equity, Perinatal health, Quality assurance, Surveys, Work force

Annotation: In this episode of the AIM for Safer Birth podcast series, host Christie Allen is joined by Dr. Kristen Dillon, Chief Medical Officer at the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). With an extensive background in public health, rural healthcare, and health policy, Dr. Dillon shares her journey from an urban upbringing in the San Francisco Bay Area to a dedicated career in rural medicine, including her experience overseeing Oregon's Pandemic Response Unit and working on health policy in Speaker Nancy Pelosi's office. Dr. Dillon discusses the unique challenges and solutions in providing quality maternity care in rural areas, the importance of telehealth and collaborative networks, and the critical role of emergency care providers. This episode is part of the AIM series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Emergency medical services, Federal initiatives, Maternal health, Policy development , Rural health, State initiatives, Telemedicine

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen talks with renowned maternal health expert Dr. Elliott Main. A pioneering figure in maternal mortality review and quality care initiatives, Dr. Main discusses the history and evolution of the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health (AIM). Together, they explore the challenges and triumphs of addressing severe maternal morbidity and mortality in the U.S., the early groundwork that led to AIM, and the collaborative efforts that turned ideas into actionable tools. Dr. Main also shares his thoughts on the future of maternal health and the "one thing" he believes is critical to driving change moving forward. This episode is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Collaboration, History, Initiatives, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Models, Resources for professionals

Annotation: In this season finale of AIM for Safer Birth 2024 podcast series, host Christie Allen is joined by Dr. Veronica Gillispie-Bell to reflect on key themes from the season, including rural maternity care, collaborative models, and the structural barriers impacting maternal health. They discuss the realities of hospital closures, the importance of integrating community birth centers, and the critical need for sustainability in quality improvement efforts. Dr. Gillispie-Bell shares insights on bridging gaps across disciplines, tackling systemic inequities, and how to keep patients' goals at the center of care. Plus, they dive into the transformative power of data and the lessons that can guide future improvements.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Data, Health equity, Maternal health, Model programs, Rural health, Service integration

Annotation: This report summarizes key findings from the U.S. Health and Human Services Department's Postpartum Maternal Health Collaborative Expert Evidence Convening held in April 2024. The document synthesizes insights from four expert panels focused on reducing postpartum mortality, covering mental health and substance use disorder, community and social drivers of health, clinical care, and state-level policy opportunities. The report identifies seven key themes for state policy action, including enabling better care transitions with technology and patient-specific planning, providing resources before screening for social needs, ensuring cross-sector collaboration, incorporating community engagement, supporting quality improvement initiatives, implementing patient-centered care approaches, and investing in data infrastructure. Panel discussions revealed strategies such as implementing non-punitive child welfare policies, reimbursing integrated healthcare and telehealth services, extending postpartum coverage, bundling care incentives, and addressing systems barriers including access limitations, provider competency gaps, and cultural barriers that impact maternal health outcomes.RetryClaude can make mistakes. Please double-check responses.

Contact: Milbank Memorial Fund, 645 Madison Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022-1095, Telephone: (212) 355-8400 Fax: (212) 355-8599 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.milbank.org

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Indiana, Maternal health, Mental health, Models, Pennsylvania, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, State initiatives

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Pediatric Oral Health Interprofessional Clerkship. For this program, NYU dental students and pediatric nurse practitioner or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of children in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information on interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and discussion topics.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Infant health, Nursing, Oral health, Referrals, Screening, Students

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Prenatal Oral Health Interprofessional Experience. For this program, NYU dental students and nurse midwifery or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of pregnant women in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information about interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and suggestions to facilitate student discussion.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Nursing, Oral health, Pregnant women, Referrals, Screening, Students

Annotation: This guide provides information on New York University’s (NYU’s) College of Teaching Oral Systemic Health (TOSH) Experience, an interprofessional program that brings together students across health professions. The program is conducted with NYU dental students and nurse midwifery, nurse practitioner, medical, and pharmacy students. Topics include the TOSH protocol, a TOSH flowchart, the time required to complete program activities, a script for a patient visit, a student assignment, student instructions, patient instructions, and sample forms.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Forms, Medical students, Nursing, Oral health, Pharmacy schools, Students

Annotation: This paper provides information on oral health disparities that American Indians and Alaska Natives experience. It discusses the causes of these disparities and presents possible solutions. Topics include historical and current sources of health inequities, information from the State of Oral Health Equity in America Survey, creating and expanding a representative oral health workforce, collaborating to conduct inclusive research, and making funding available that promotes oral health equity. A call to action is included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Collaboration, Diversity, Healthy equity, Oral health, Underserved communities

Annotation: This resource is intended to guide an organization’s approach to data interpretation, with the goal of interpreting study data in collaboration with members of the community or communities where research is taking place. The guide explains how collaborative interpretation, or co-interpretation, can make an evaluation more equitable by disrupting dynamics that otherwise prevent community members from exercising agency over research about their own communities.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com

• Link

Keywords: , Collaboration, Community participation, Data analysis, Health equity

Annotation: This paper provides background on how community health centers (CHCs) can collaborate with academic institutions, residency programs, and other training programs to offer service-learning opportunities and foster increased interest in CHC careers among the next generation of the oral health workforce. The paper discusses a range of collaborative program models and considerations for CHCs related to developing an academic and/or training partnership. Also discussed are the benefits of academic partnerships, characteristics of successful partnerships, and challenges. A planning checklist is included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinics, Collaboration, Oral heath, Program planning, Programs, Service learning, Training programs

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about implementing oral health services in Washington’s rural health clinics (RHCs). It discusses assessing a community’s oral health needs and how an RHC can address these needs, procuring funding and equipment, determining a dental encounter rate, recruiting staff, collaborating with primary care and emergency services, selecting health records software, and managing costs and patient processes. Getting started, implementing a program, program impact, and looking ahead are also addressed.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community programs, Financing, Oral health, Rural environment, Rural health, State materials, Washington

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Instructions
• Training Modules

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training

Annotation: This plan is intended to serve as a roadmap for organizations and individuals to promote oral health in Kansas. The plan focuses on four goals related to (1) financing, (2) systems collaboration, (3) oral health literacy, and (4) the oral health workforce. Goal 4, objective 1, focuses on promoting oral health awareness in schools by providing school nurses with training and tools.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Oral Health, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 296-5116 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/619/Oral-Health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Health literacy, Health promotion, Kansas, Oral health, School health, State information, Strategic plans

Annotation: This guide describes culturally responsive and equitable evaluation (CREE) as a process that integrates diversity, equity, and inclusion into all aspects of evaluation. The guide was developed to share activities that federal evaluation staff might consider as they decide on research objectives, how to fund evaluations, and how to support evaluations. The document provides additional resources for creating culturally responsive and equitable evaluations.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Evaluation

Annotation: This report presents findings from a five-year nationwide initiative to improve population-based children's developmental health and family well-being outcomes across 12 states. The evaluation focuses on four key areas: building connections between state and local early childhood systems, expanding early childhood systems through infrastructure and capacity building, implementing policy changes, and developing partnerships. The report examines efforts to increase age-appropriate development skills among 3-year-old children and reduce developmental disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community coordination, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Federal initiatives, Model programs, Partnership, Policy development, Service delivery systems, State initiatives

Annotation: This report makes a case for Medicaid reimbursement for fluoride varnish education and application for children age 3–6, pregnant women, and new mothers in Illinois. It provides background information on oral health during the perinatal period and in childhood and presents current Medicaid reimbursable FV-related services in the state by health professional type (i.e., oral health professionals, non-oral-health professionals). It also addresses the importance of an interdisciplinary approach to improving the oral health of women during the perinatal period and of children.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Fluoride prevention, Illinois, Medicaid, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Reimbursement, State programs

Annotation: This report presents the Maternal Wellbeing City Dashboard, a data-driven platform developed by Ariadne Labs' Delivery Decisions Initiative to improve maternal health outcomes in U.S. cities. The dashboard uses a community livability framework to visualize neighborhood-level indicators across eight social determinants of health, with particular focus on reducing racial inequities. The project combines urban planning and public health approaches to center birthing people in local policy and programming. The report documents the dashboard's development process, including stakeholder engagement and pilot testing in Tulsa, Pittsburgh, and New York City. Testing results indicate the dashboard effectively builds knowledge among users and enables local engagement across various stakeholder groups. Key recommendations include improving navigation, enhancing data interaction capabilities, and enabling local customization to foster community building. The dashboard aims to serve as a catalyst for data-informed action to create more livable communities for birthing people through cross-sector collaboration.

Contact: Ariadne Labs, 401 Park Drive, Third Floor WEST , Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 384-6555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ariadnelabs.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Collaboration, Community participation, Data aggregation, Health care disparities, Health equity, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Racial factors, Social determinants of health, Urban health

Annotation: This document outlines the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs' (AMCHP's) guiding principles and values for family engagement and partnership, structured in two main sections. The first section describes key principles about family leaders, recognizing them as essential partners who bring unique expertise, visionary perspectives, and the ability to question the status quo while looking beyond their own family's experiences. The second section details AMCHP's responsibilities in fostering authentic partnerships, emphasizing the organization's commitment to respectful listening, mutual respect, open communication, comprehensive support (including training and accommodations), and the integration of family leaders in decision-making at program and policy levels.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Family centered health care, Family centered services, Collaboration, Social values, Family engagement