Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this project was to reduce the barriers to obtaining health and educational services for children with special health needs by providing a community-based, family-oriented system of comprehensive and coordinated services. Strategies included increasing community awareness of services; establishing interagency collaboration; and developing a centralized data collection system related to health status, service, and educational needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196954.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community-Based Health Care, Data Collection, Family-Based Health Care

Annotation: This project was a partnership between families and their medical home to develop a demonstration model for care coordination for environmentally at-risk infants and toddlers in low-income culturally diverse urban and rural settings. The families were being served as part of the eligible population under P.L. 99–457, with an individualized family support plan (IFSP) developed for each family. The target population included many families of different ethnic origins. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133969.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Children with Special Health care Needs, Cultural Diversity, Families, Family Centered Health Care, Family Support Programs, Hawaiians, Health Promotion, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Low Income Population, PL 99-457, Parents, Preschool Children, Primary Care, Rural Population, Service Coordination, Urban Population

Annotation: This fact sheet gives recommendations for supporting children and families about sexuality, discusses sexual abuse and assault and reproductive health, and gives resources in the District of Columbia.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Sexuality education

Annotation: This fact sheet lists resources on sexuality education, education curricula, health conditions and disabilities, online learning, educators and counselors, and national resources related to sexuality and children and adults with disabilities. Resources also cover parenting with a disability, reproductive health, sexual violence, and screening for abuse or violence.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Sexuality education

Annotation: This brief provides information on expanding access to oral health care in New York. It discusses challenges to accessing oral health care among young children, uninsured children, children living in poverty, non-Hispanic black children, children from non-English-speaking households, and children with special health care needs. It addresses structural inequities that create barriers to achieving good oral health and pregnant women’s difficulties with accessing oral health care, in spite of the fact that they are at high risk for oral health problems. Policy recommendations are included.

Contact: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 150 State Street, Fourth Floor, Albany, NY 12207, Telephone: (518) 463-1896 Fax: (518) 463-3364 Web Site: http://www.scaany.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Children with special health care needs, High risk groups, New York, Oral health, Poverty, Pregnant women, Racial factors, State information, Uninsured persons, Young children

Annotation: This brief highlights state approaches and innovations to support equitable systems of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN).

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health equity, Policy development, Public policy, State initiatives

Annotation: This online resource includes shared care planning tool for families of children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and a 5-item screening tool to identify CSHCN based on the definition provided by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau. A searchable library contains reports, data and research briefs, presentations, project summaries, and additional materials aimed at promoting lifelong health for children, youth, and families using family-centered measurement, data and tools.

Contact: Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family, and Reproductive Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cahmi.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Data , Family centered care, Screening tests, Surveys

Annotation: This website describes a project that was developed from stakeholder concerns about the fragility of stable and adequate housing for families of children with chronic and complex conditions raised at the 2019 Levi Symposium hosted at the Berman Institute. The project is ongoing.

Contact: Johns Hopkins, Berman Institute of Bioethics , Deering Hal , 1809 Ashland Avenue, Baltimore , MD 20205, Telephone: (410) 614-5550 E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Financial barriers, Housing, Physical disabilities, State initiatives

Annotation: This data report provides information about Michigan's dental sealant program, SEAL! Michigan, during the grant period October 1, 2022, through September 30, 2023. Data was obtained from child-level forms submitted by grantees to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Topics include number of students screened by gender, grade, race, and insurance status; untreated tooth decay; tooth decay experience; presence of sealants, urgency of needed treatment; referral for treatment; number of decayed or filled molars, other teeth, and primary teeth; and types of fluoride treatment provided. Also included is information about special health care needs among students screened.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health screenings, Michigan, Oral health, Referrals, State information, State programs

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance for healthcare organizations to assess and improve health equity among children with medical complexity (CMC) and their families in service delivery settings. It outlines an eight-step process for conducting health equity assessments at the patient level, emphasizing the importance of participatory approaches that involve caregivers, youth, families, providers, and community organizations. The toolkit addresses the unique challenges faced by CMC and their families, including social complexity factors such as poverty, housing instability, and transportation barriers that can impact their ability to navigate systems of care. Content is released on a rolling basis with ongoing updates to the roadmap and resources.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, Health equity, Service delivery

Annotation: This online tool presents National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) indicators aligned with the Blueprint for Change--a national framework for a system of services for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN). Developed through collaboration between the Altarum Institute and the National Center for a System of Services for CYSHCN, the tool arranges the indicators according to four critical areas as outlined in the Blueprint: health equity, family and child well-being and quality of life, access to services and supports, and financing of services. State/jurisdiction Title V programs are invited to use the tool to better understand how their work aligns with the Blueprint for Change and to monitor their progress during ongoing needs assessment activities. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, National Center for a System of Services for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/patient-care/national-center-for-a-system-of-services-for-children-and-youth-with-special-health-care-needs/

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, Families, Federal initiatives, Indicators, Needs assessment

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from seven virtual focus groups that NORC at the University of Chicago conducted with parents and caregivers of children with special health care needs. The purpose of the focus groups was to better understand parents’ experiences with caring for their child’s oral health at home and with accessing oral health care for their child. The report presents findings, describes methods, and offers recommendations for the direction for future research.

Contact: NORC, 1155 East 60th Street, 2nd Floor, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 256-6000 Web Site: https://norc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Focus groups, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Research

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document provides recommendations to help health professionals and parents make decisions concerning appropriate use of fluoride as part of comprehensive oral health care for infants, children, adolescents, and individuals with special health care needs. Methods are presented, and background information about fluoride (community water fluoridation, fluoride supplements, topical fluoride treatments, and silver diamine fluoride) is included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Fluoride, Infants with special health care needs, Oral health, Special health care needs

Annotation: This clinical report provides pediatricians evidence-based information on the developmentally appropriate, comprehensive clinical care for hospitalized adolescents, including those who may have learning, intellectual, or developmental disabilities. Topics addressed include opportunities and challenges when caring for specific hospitalized adolescent populations and the evaluation of patients' ability to participate in their own care and assent to decision-making. The companion policy statement, "The Hospitalized Adolescent, includes descriptions of adolescent hospital admission demographics, personnel recommendations, and hospital setting and design advice, as well as sections on educational services, legal and ethical matters, and the transition to adult facilities.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Clinical Report
• Policy Statement

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Children with special health care needs, Guidelines , Hospitalization, Patient care

Annotation: This workbook for Title V program staff focuses on the importance of Medicaid in the system of services for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN). It provides an overview of the Medicaid program, including chapters on Medicaid managed care; the Early and Periodic Screening Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit; and pathways to Medicaid coverage for children who require an institutional level of care. The purpose of the resource is to increase Title V program staff identification and knowledge of finance-related services for CYSHCN, particularly Medicaid. It includes questions to guide users through the process of mapping a Medicaid system and building a strategy for their own state.

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/

• Print Workbook
• Online Version

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Children', Medicaid, Medicaid managed care, Title V, Youth, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This online resource describes pathways to children's health insurance for parents who can not afford adequate coverage or who have limited coverage under an employer's plan. The site includes information on Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Plan (CHIP), community health centers, and private insurance options. It also describes ways in which parents can reduce the cost of medications, physician care, and hospital services for children with and without special health care needs.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Children', Costs, Health insurance, Medicaid, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This issue brief uses data from the 2018 and 2019 National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) to examine differences in health status, access to care, referrals, needed care, and the cost of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) covered by Medicaid with those covered by private insurance and those without insurance. Included are selected demographic and socioeconomic characteristics of CYSHCN (Ages 0-17); their health status, use of care, and quality of care according to insurance status; and the percentage of CYSHCN in each state and the source of their health insurance coverage (Medicaid, private only, or both).

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Costs, Data, Health status, Medicaid, Statistics

Annotation: This report outlines strategies and actions that can be taken to help ensure an adequate pediatric subspecialty physician workforce to support broad access to high quality subspecialty care and a robust research portfolio to advance the health and health care of infants, children, and adolescents. The recommendations come from the Committee on the Pediatric Subspecialty Workforce and Its Impact on Child Health and Well-Being, formed by the National Academies and a coalition of sponsors.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Pediatrics, Tertiary care, Work force

Annotation: This toolkit consolidates resources and guidance across multiple systems of care for children and youth with special healthcare needs in Washington state. There are three main components to the toolkit: (1) The Washington systems of care for CYSHCN: Resource referral guide provides thorough descriptions of pertinent CYSHCN agencies and programs, while the (2) Shared Plan of Care: Resource Referral Guide and (3) the Life Course Transitions and Eligibilities sections offer initial grounding guidance followed by tables with consolidated and organized resources for quick reference. The guide is geared to support the needs of care coordinators and the CYSHCN clients that they serve, but it is also available for distribution to other pertinent CYSHCN partners and families.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Service coordination, State initiatives, Washington