Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines the use of technology to overcome barriers to learning. Topics include information systems management, multimedia aids to facilitate intervention, in situ and distance learning, and model programs and guides. A list of additional references is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Education, Information systems, Intervention, Learning, Mental health, Model programs, Technology

Annotation: The primary purpose and goal of this project was the validation of scales for measuring cognitive and physical or general adaptive morbidity, the Pediatric Cerebral Performance Category Scale (PCPC) and Pediatric Overall provides the means of evaluation needed to reach the EMSC goal to evaluate emergency medical care of children as outlined in the EMSC 5 year plan. A secondary purpose of the study was to obtain supplemental data on the nature and severity of adverse outcomes of psychosocial adjustment for children and families with a broad range of cognitive and functional outcomes following childhood emergencies. This study and other work by the investigator will facilitate the identification of the population of children and families at high risk for emergencies in order to guide the development of a suitable intervention in a future phase of study. A cohort of 200 PICU discharges were accumulated consecutively over a 22 month enrollment period to a maximum of 25 patients in each of the eight cells of the study. The patients were then followed up with the Vineland Adaptive Behavior Scale and a battery of psychological tests. We find that the POPC and PCPC scales differentiate well between children of varying cognitive and general adaptive functional abilities as measured by the StanfordBinet, Bayley, and Vineland instruments. They should provide a useful tool for future studies which require outcome assessment. Maternal assessments may not be suitable substitutes for clinician assessments as mothers tend to rate children lower (less morbidity) than the nurse rater. Additional outcome analyses are still in progress. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-128317.

Keywords: Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emotional Health, Mental Health, Morbidity, Research

Annotation: This tool kit, geared toward program facilitators and volunteer educators, provides methods for bringing the Breaking the Silence program to communities. The purpose of the program is to break the silence about mental illness in schools. The toolkit provides a background on Breaking the Silence, the rationale for mental illness education, information about how to organize and fund a local program, how to enlist and train volunteers, and materials documenting the success of Breaking the Silence. The program is intended for use in upper elementary, middle, and high school classrooms.

Contact: National Alliance for the Mentally Ill Queens/Nassau, 1981 Marcus Avenue, C-117, Lake Success, NY 11042, Telephone: (516) 326-0797 Secondary Telephone: (718) 347-7284 Fax: (516) 437-5785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nami.org/MSTemplate.cfm?MicrositeID=241 Available from the website after registration.

• Description

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Communities, Health education, Mental disorders, Mental health, Resource materials, Schools, Training

Annotation: This website links to a training guide and participant workbook that provide activities that focus on trauma as a way of understanding how children and adolescents in the child welfare system are especially vulnerable to mental health challenges. The training materials were developed to help providers think about the physical effects of trauma on children, adolescents and young adults; understand the biological underpinnings of their challenges; and identify children with a suspected mental health need. Included are activities to help providers administer the New Jersey Mental Health Screening Tool (MHST) to assist with identifying children who may have mental health need and require further assessment.

Contact: National Family Preservation Network, 3971 North 1400 East, Buhl, Idaho 83316, Telephone: (888) 498-9047 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nfpn.org/ Available from the website.

• Program Web Site

Keywords: Child welfare, Children', Interventions, New Jersey, Screening, State programs, Training, Trauma, s mental health

Annotation: These advertising materials promote the importance of mental health as part of a health supervision visit. They are designed to be displayed on a bulletin board or used as a table top display in a pediatric practice. One version focuses on young children and the other on teenagers. Both versions are available in English and Spanish. Other versions are provided for use on Facebook pages or in parent newsletters.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Pediatric care, Public awareness materials, Social interaction

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote the social and emotional health of young children. It includes separate tips for parents, pediatricians, and early education and child care providers. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote social and emotional health among adolescents. It includes separate tips for teenagers, parents, schools, and pediatricians. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This one-page flyer explains the symptoms of depression and offers ways to get help for depression. It is aimed at teens who may be suffering from feelings of sadness and hopelessness. The flyer also provides the national Suicide & Crisis Lifeline, 988.

Contact: National Institute of Mental Health, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (866) 615-6464 Secondary Telephone: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Anxiety, Depression, Mental health, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This guide describes how Head Start and Early Head start programs can facilitate mental health screening and referrals for children and families. It explains how Head Start staff can prepare for the referrral and engage families in the process and facilitate the process once the referral has been made. A referral checklist and a guide to help facilitators locate mental health providers are included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw

• Link

Keywords: Early Head Start, Families, Head Start Centers, Mental health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This web page provides basic information about perinatal mental health conditions and links to a resources for the medical and mental health workforce, including practice guidelines, online trainings, and educational material for patients.

Contact: Mental Health Technology Transfer Center Network , Telephone: (650)721-8692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mhttcnetwork.org/

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Perinatal services, Professional education, Screening

Annotation: This report discusses the importance of integrating oral health care into obstetrical and gynecological care to improve the oral health and mental health of women during and after pregnancy. The report explains why poor oral health and mental health may be a particular problem for women during and after pregnancy, and how oral health and mental health are linked. It also explains the part obstetrician-gynecologists can play in identifying oral health and mental health problems in their pregnant and postpartum patients. Statistical information from the 2021 State of Oral Health Equity survey is presented, along with a call to action.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Gynecology, Mental health, Obstetrical care, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, Statistical data

Annotation: This webinar focuses on integrating community health workers (CHWs) into maternal mental health services. Cosponsored by Funders for Maternal Mental Health, the webinar explores how CHWs can help address maternal mental health conditions, which affect 1 in 5 expectant and postpartum mothers and disproportionately impact women of color and those living in poverty. Speakers include experts from the National Academy for State Health Policy, The Children's Partnership, California Department of Health Care Services, and Connecticut Office of Health Strategy. The session examines state financing strategies, implementation experiences from California and Connecticut, and opportunities for philanthropy to support CHW integration into healthcare systems through Medicaid and other public financing mechanisms.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org

• Link

Keywords: Community health workers, Health equity, Maternal health, Mental health, State initiatives

Annotation: This report outlines state Medicaid policy recommendations to support mental health for mothers and babies during the 12-month postpartum period. It draws from an October 2023 meeting of Medicaid policy and maternal health experts to recommend concrete steps for state agencies in five key areas: enhancing primary care as a family hub, monitoring care connections, financing appropriate services, supporting workforce capacity, and prioritizing maternal and infant-early childhood mental health in Medicaid. The document examines recent federal policy changes and includes detailed implementation guidance for states adopting extended postpartum coverage. It aims to help states leverage Medicaid to advance health equity and improve mental health outcomes for mothers and infants in the critical year following birth.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Federal policy, Health equity, Infant health, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Postpartum care, State policy

Annotation: This resource serves as a tool to help states develop and implement impactful policy solutions that strengthen youth mental health. It provides states with actionable solutions that can reduce the risk of mental health conditions, help youth build resistance, increase awareness and reduce mental health stigma, ensure access and affordability of quality treatment and care, and train and support caregivers and educators.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Health promotion, Interventions, Mental health services, Policy development, State initiatives

Annotation: This toolkit provides actionable information, algorithms, and clinical guidance to support detection, assessment, and treatment of perinatal mood and anxiety disorders. Included is a summary of perinatal mental health conditions; patient screening and treatment guidance; a how-to guide on integrating mental health care into obstetric practice; and educational resources for providers, patients, and families. The toolkit was developed by the UMass Chan Medical School and reviewed by members of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists' Maternal Mental Health Expert Work Group.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Mental health, Obstetrical care, Perinatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This brief presents national findings on young adults' mental health status and utilization of mental health care; summarizes the developmental factors important for positive mental health; highlights strategies for evidence-based mental health promotion and treatment; and offers guidance on how to build public awareness and engagement around mental health detection and treatment.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Health promotion, Mental health, Statistical data, Young adults

Annotation: This online resource presents strategies to help connect families to children's mental health care; addresses gaps in the mental health workforce; and investigates how funding issues affect mental health care. It also addresses social determinants of health and how they affect mental health care; offers guidance on identifying children who need more support; and provides tools to help support healthy child development and the well-being of families.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child mental health, Health equity, Policy, Services for families

Annotation: This brief highlights goal 1 of the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal health crisis, which is to increase access to and coverage of comprehensive high-quality maternal health services, including behavioral health services. The brief outlines the need to strengthen risk-appropriate care in rural and urban areas; improve quality of care provided to pregnant and postpartum women with or at risk for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; expand capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders; and Integrate behavioral health supports in community settings. Evidence-informed strategies for improvement, criteria for states to consider when developing strategies, and additional resources are included. Statistics on the percentage of women ages 15-49 with health insurance (by source of coverage); percent of Medicaid coverage by race/ethnicity; and births covered by Medicaid are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Health insurance, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health services, Perinatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This tip sheet for Title V agencies outlines five essential elements for implementing developmental and behavioral health screening programs within health supervision visits. It provides guidance on promoting equity in screening, planning responses to results, communicating with families, handling confidentiality, and using appropriate screening tools and schedules based on Bright Futures guidelines. The document includes state program examples and emphasizes the importance of establishing clear protocols for referrals, particularly for non-clinical staff working in community settings. [Funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Developmental screening, Guidelines, Mental health screening