Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (172 total).

Community Preventive Services Task Force. 2024. Substance use: Family-based interventions to prevent substance use among youth. Atlanta, GA: Community Preventive Services Task Force,

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates family-based interventions to prevent substance use among youth ages 10-14 years. Based on evidence from 60 U.S. studies, it demonstrates effectiveness in reducing initiation and use of cannabis, alcohol, tobacco, illicit substances, and prescription drug misuse. The review examines intervention components including parent-child communication, rule setting, and monitoring, delivered through individual or group sessions, web-based modules, and printed materials. It includes detailed economic analyses showing cost-benefit ratios ranging from 3.9 to 8.9 across multiple programs and provides implementation guidance for various community settings and populations.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Literature reviews, Parent child relations, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco, Youth

U.S. Office of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion . 2023. Healthy People 2030: Housing Instability . Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Prmotion ,

Annotation: This resource provides a summary of the literature on housing instability as a social determinant of health. It provides background information on the federal Healthy People 2030 framework and describes how housing instability as a social determinant is organized according to the following five domains: Economic stability, education access and quality, health care access and quality, neighborhood and built environment, and social and community context. Data methods and sources, related objectives, links to evidence-based resources, and tools for action are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/

Link

Keywords: Federal Initiatives , Health disparities, Housing, Literature reviews, Measures, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Minnesota Evidence-Based Practice Center. 2023. Social and structural determinants of maternal morbidity and mortality: An evidence map. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 179 pp. (Comparative Effectiveness Review Number 264)

Annotation: This is a systematic review of risk factors associated with maternal morbidity and mortality in the U.S. during the prenatal and postpartum periods, including social and structural determinants of health. The focus is primarily on research that examines factors to which pregnant and birthing people have been exposed and that may underlie poor perinatal health outcomes. The U.S. Office of Disease Prevention requested the review to inform the November 29 – December 1, 2022 Pathways to Prevention workshop cosponsored by the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Research on Women’s Health, the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, the National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities, and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Racism, Risk factors, Social determinants of health

Parsons HM, Abdi HI, Nelson VA, Claussen A, Wagner BL, Sadak KT, Scal PB, Wilt TJ, Butler M. 2022. Transitions of care from pediatric to adult services for children with special health care needs. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 323 pp. (Comparative effectiveness review; no. 255)

Annotation: This systematic review provides the results of an analysis of the evidence base for care interventions, implementation strategies, and between-provider communication tools among children with special health care needs who are making the transition from pediatric to adult medical care services. Several databases were searched to identify studies published through September 2021; gray literature searches were also conducted in order to identify additional resources relevant to the topic. The publication is divided into 12 chapters and includes tables, figures, and appendixes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Literature reviews, Research reviews, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

Feltner C, Peat C, Reddy S, Riley S, Middleton JC, Balio C, Coker-Schwimmer M, Jonas DE. 2022. Screening for eating disorders in adolescents and adults: An evidence review for the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 262 pp. (Evidence synthesis; no. 212; AHRQ publication no. 21-05284-EF-1)

Annotation: This systematic review presents evidence on the benefits and harms of screening for eating disorders in adults and adolescents; the accuracy of screening tools; and the benefits and harms of interventions for eating disorders that were screen detected or not previously treated for populations and settings relevant to primary care in the United States. PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Library, PsyINFO, and other sources were searched through December 18, 2020; additional literature, outside experts, and reviewers, were consulted through January 1, 2022.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Evidence based medicine, Feeding disorders, Literature reviews, Screening, Treatment

Cohen M, Burrowes K, Gwam P. 2022. The Health benefits of parks and their economic impacts. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 45 pp.

Annotation: This literature review finds that the access to green spaces has proven to improve physical health in populations, but that other health benefits (emotional, etc.) need further study and are not easiy disentangled from issues of race and socioeconomic status. [Funding provided by the National Recreation and Park Foundation; Urban Institute; JBP Foundation.]

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

Keywords: Green spaces, Literature reviews, Outdoor physical activity, Parks, Physical activity, Public health

Jabbarpour Y, Greiner A, Jetty A, Kempski A, Kamerow D, Walter G, Sibel J. 2022. Relationships matter: How usual is usual source of (primary) care? . Washington, DC: Primary Care Collaborative , 56 pp.

Annotation: This evidence report emphasizes the importance of having a usual source of primary care and lays out strategies for public and private payers to support such patient/provider relationships. In its review of the literature, the report summarizes the types of usual source of care and trends over time across ages, races/ethnicities, income level, region, and insurance type. Potential solutions to increase the percent of children and adults who have a usual source of primary care include payment reform, changes in benefit design, and workforce diversity.

Contact: Primary Care Collaborative, 601 Thirteenth Street, NW, Suite 430 North, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 417-2074 Fax: (202) 417-2082 E-mail: Web Site: https://thepcc.org/

Keywords: Age factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Geographic regions, Health insurance, Literature reviews, Primary care, Racial factors, Statistics, Trends.

Maruri E, Radasa T, Loomis J. 2022. Implementation of community health workers to improve birth outcomes . San Francisco: University of San Francisco, School of Nursing and Health Professions , 17 pp.

Annotation: This manuscript presents findings from a literature review examining the implementation of community health workers (CHWs) to improve birth outcomes among Black and Latina women who have experienced adverse childhood experiences (ACEs). The document analyzes how nurse-trained CHWs can decrease healthcare costs and improve maternal-child health outcomes through education and support services. It outlines evidence that CHWs help reduce preterm births and low birth weight infants, particularly through home visits and culturally appropriate care. The review includes systematic reviews, qualitative research studies, prospective cohort studies, and longitudinal analyses published between 2017-2022, focusing on populations experiencing low income and poor birth outcomes.

Contact: University of San Francisco, School of Nursing and Health Professions , 2130 Fulton Street, San Francisco , CA 94117-1080, Telephone: (415)422-5555 Web Site: https://www.usfca.edu/nursing

Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health workers, Cultural competence, High risk groups, Literature reviews, Low birthweight, MCH Services, Preterm birth, Prevention, Vulnerability

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2021. Tobacco smoking cessation in adults, including pregnant women: Behavioral and pharmacotherapy interventions . Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource provides clinical preventive services recommendations related to tobacco smoking cessation in adults including pregnant women. Topics include behavioral and pharmacotherapy interventions. Contents include the full recommendation statement; supporting documents including the final research plan, evidence review, and evidence summary; a clinical summary; and related information for consumers and health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adults, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Henderson JT, Vesco KK, Senger CA, Thomas RG, Redmond N. 2021. Aspirin use to prevent preeclampsia and related morbidity and mortality: Updated systematic review for the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 157 pp. (Evidence synthesis; no. 205; AHRQ publication; no. 21-05274-EF-1)

Annotation: This systematic review was conducted to support the United States Preventive Services Task Force in updating its 2014 recommendation on daily low dose aspirin use during pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia. The report reviewed updated evidence on the effectiveness and potential harms of daily aspirin use during pregnancy to prevent morbidity and mortality associated with preeclampsia. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, and the Cochrane Collaboration Registry of Controlled Trials; results were limited to studies published between January 2013 and July 2019. The reviewed studies showed that daily aspirin use in pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia consistently led to beneficial effects on perinatal mortality, preterm birth, fetal growth restriction, and preeclampsia diagnosis.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Link

Keywords: Pregnant women, Drugs, Evidence based medicine, High risk groups, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Preventive health services

Pillay J, Donovan L, Guitard S, Zakher B, Korownyk C, Gates M, Gates A, Vandermeer B, Bougatsos C, Chou R, Hartling L. 2021. Screening for gestational diabetes mellitus: A systematic review to update the 2014 U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Recommendation. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 462 pp. (Evidence synthesis; no. 204; AHRQ publication; no. 21-05273-EF-1)

Annotation: This systematic review updates the 2012 evidence review used to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force recommendations on the benefits and harms of screening for gestational diabetes mellitus. Since gestational diabetes mellitus is mostly asymptomatic, screening for it during pregnancy could identify women who could benefit from treatments to reduce the adverse consequences of this condition. Data sources included MEDLINE, Embase, and CINAHL between 2010 and May 2020; other sources included ClinicalTrials.gov, reference lists of primary studies and systematic reviews through June 2021. The results of this review showed that screening tests can identify women with gestational diabetes at or after 24 weeks of gestation and treatment is associated with improvement in various maternal and neonatal outcomes without serious harms.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Link

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Evidence based medicine, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Pregnant women, Screening

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Wasman W, Hewett-Beah R, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 7.1 Injury hospitalization ages 0 through 9 evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 259 pp. (brief 9 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Wasman W, Hewett-Beah R, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 7.2 Injury hospitalization ages 10 through 19 evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 369 pp. (brief 10 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Le LT, Brady R, Sun BD, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.1 smoking in pregnancy evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 108 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

O'Connor E, Thomas R, Robalino S, Senger CA, Perdue LA, Patnode C. 2020. Interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical drug use in children, adolescents, and young adults: Updated systematic evidence review for the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 221 pp. (Evidence synthesis; no. 190; AHRQ publication; no. 19-05258-EF-1)

Annotation: This systematic review examined the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical drug use in children, adolescents, and young adults to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; in addition, references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review identified 29 trials that met inclusion criteria; 26 of the trials were general prevention trials that focused on nonpregnant youth covering the ages 10 through 24 years. The review found low strength of evidence on the benefits of behavioral counseling interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical substance use in young people.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Families, Interventions, Literature reviews, Prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention

Selph S, Patnode CD, Bailey SR, Pappas M, Stoner R, Hart E, Chou R. 2020. Primary care interventions for prevention and cessation of tobacco use in children and adolescents: A systematic review for the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 100 pp. (Evidence synthesis; no. 185; AHRQ publication; no. 19-05254-EF-1)

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Community Preventive Services Task Force. 2020. Social determinants of health: Tenant-based housing voucher programs. Atlanta, GA: Community Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendation on providing tenant-based housing voucher programs to improve health and health-related outcomes for adults based on sufficient evidence of effectiveness. Health-related outcomes including housing quality and security, healthcare use, and neighborhood opportunities, such as lower poverty level and better schools. Children under the age of 12 whose households used vouchers show improvements in education, employment, and income later in life. The CPSTF's findings are based on evidence from a systematic review of studies published between January 1999 and July 2019. The web report provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Housing, Literature reviews, Public housing, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors

Le L, Brady R, Hanssen P, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 11 medical home evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 104 pp. (brief, 5 pp. ). (Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs)

Annotation: This report reviews evidence-informed and evidence-based strategies that Maternal and Child Health (MCH)Block Grant programs can implement to address National Performance Measure 11: Medical Home. It gives background information on pediatric medical homes; describes the national performance measure; discusses the approach used for the evidence review analysis; summarizes strategies identified in the evidence review; and discusses implications of the research. IT also discusses how the MCH Evidence Center can help state Title V programs implement interventions selected from this review. The brief summarizes the report.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Medical home, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

National Institute for Children's Health Quality. 2019. Evidence-based and evidence-informed safe sleep practices: A literature review to inform the Missouri Safe Sleep Strategic Plan. Boston, MA: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 14 pp.

Annotation: This review examines and compiles literature and analyses of current evidence-based safe sleep practice guidelines, policies and initiatives that provide health care provider training and modeling, increase infant caregiver knowledge and education, and promote safe sleep polices at the local, state and federal level. This review includes: current Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) U.S. and Missouri data; evidence-based guidelines, specifically from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP); examples of evidence-based or evidence-informed interventions and educational programs; and, of importance, specific evidence regarding the impact of poverty, race and ethnicity on SIDS, SUID and infant mortality.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Evidence, Literature reviews, Missouri, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State data

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.2 smoking in the household evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 139 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use