Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (753 total).

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care: Measures for quality improvement--How to build an advancing oral health prevention in primary care family of measures. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report provides suggestions for how states that choose to implement programs to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care for beneficiaries of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) can select a family of measures to assess progress. It explains what the different measures in the family of measures are (outcome measures, process measures, and balancing measures) and provides measurement strategies for each type of measure.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care driver diagram and change ideas. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides ideas for how states can use a driver diagram on oral health produced by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care, plan a quality-improvement (QI) project, and determine how to improve outcomes. The report offers background, presents the driver diagram, explains the driver diagram, and provides ideas for activities to promote change.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care: Getting started on quality improvement. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 1 video (11 min.)

Annotation: This video discusses how children who are Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program beneficiaries can benefit from having fluoride varnish applied to their teeth in the primary care setting. The video shares quality-improvement methods that can help states improve the provision of oral health care to these children by primary care health professionals. Topics include developing an aim statement, using a driver diagram, identifying drivers to consider for achieving the aim, starting small to test whether change ideas are working, and using the plan-do-sudy-act method.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Oregon Health Authority. [2023]. Advancing prevention and reducing childhood caries in Medicaid and CHIP (MAC) Affinity Group, July 2021-December 2022. Portland, OR: Oregon Health Authority, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on efforts made by the Medicaid and Children’s Health CHIP Affinity Group to prevent and reduce tooth decay in children and adolescents from July 2021 through December 2022. The fact sheet describes the purpose of the group and its activities and goals, offers background on tooth decay among children and adolescents from families with low incomes, and provides the group’s draft aim statement. Baseline data on fluoride varnish application is also included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Prevention, State Children', State information, s Health Insurance Program

Insure Kids Now. 2023. Improving oral health. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2023. Connecting kids to coverage national campaign: Outreach strategies and materials. [Baltimore, MD]: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: This website provides strategies and materials from a national outreach and enrollment initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to raise awareness about health coverage available under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program; create opportunities for families to get their eligible children and adolescents signed up for coverage; motivate parents to enroll their children and adolescents and renew their coverage; and help states, community organizations, schools, health professionals, and others organize and conduct successful outreach activities. Contents include customizable fact sheets, palmcards, posters, public service announcements, webinars, and a newsletter. Links to campaign partners; a video library; tools for using technology to facilitate outreach; and strategies for businesses, community health centers, schools, and youth sports are also included. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Enrollment, Federal initiatives, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outreach, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, s Health Insurance Program

Insure Kids Now. 2023. Think Teeth oral health outreach tools. Baltimore, MD: Insure Kids Now, multiple items.

Annotation: This tool library provides links to resources for promoting oral health and encouraging families to enroll children who are eligible for Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Resources include videos, social media messages and images, web banners, web buttons, print materials, a Find a Dentist widget, posters, flyers, tear pads, templates, and fact sheets. A list of each state’s dental benefits for children is also available, along with information on a Centers for Medicare & Medicaid oral health initiative to help states ensure that children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP have access to oral health care.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health promotion, Medicaid, Oral health, Outreach, State Children', State health insurance programs, s Health Insurance Program

Catalyst Center. 2023. Leverage opportunities + speak the Medicaid language: A workbook for Title V. Boston, MA: Catalyst Center,

Annotation: This workbook for Title V program staff focuses on the importance of Medicaid in the system of services for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN). It provides an overview of the Medicaid program, including chapters on Medicaid managed care; the Early and Periodic Screening Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit; and pathways to Medicaid coverage for children who require an institutional level of care. The purpose of the resource is to increase Title V program staff identification and knowledge of finance-related services for CYSHCN, particularly Medicaid. It includes questions to guide users through the process of mapping a Medicaid system and building a strategy for their own state.

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Children', Medicaid, Medicaid managed care, Title V, Youth, s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2023. Delivering services in school-based settings: A comprehensive guide to Medicaid services and administrative claiming. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 183 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides direction to state Medicaid agencies and local educational agencies (LEAs) that deliver school-based services to allow LEAs to obtain full payment for services to increase access to care for students enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). It discusses the scope and delivery of Medicaid services in schools; CHIP and school-based services; and requirements for billing, claiming, and accounting for school-based services medical and administrative costs. It includes strategies, tools, and best practices in administering these services.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child Health Insurance Program, Community agencies, Manuals, Medicaid, School districts, School health services

mours Children's Health System. 2023. How to find affordable health care . Jacksonville, FL: Nemours Children's Health,

Annotation: This online resource describes pathways to children's health insurance for parents who can not afford adequate coverage or who have limited coverage under an employer's plan. The site includes information on Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Plan (CHIP), community health centers, and private insurance options. It also describes ways in which parents can reduce the cost of medications, physician care, and hospital services for children with and without special health care needs.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Children', Costs, Health insurance, Medicaid, s Health Insurance Program

Iowa Department of Health and Human Services. [2022]. IDPH school-based sealant program update report: School year 2021-2022. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2022. Report to the Congress on Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 196 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. The report focuses on topics of interest to Congress, including Medicaid’s responsiveness during economic downturns; concerns about high rates of maternal morbidity and mortality; improving hospital payment policy for the nation's safetynet hospitals, and the integration of care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children', Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development, s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2022. Overview of the dental and oral health service measures in the 2022 child core set. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 4 pp. (Medicaid & CHIP health care quality measures, Technical assistance resource)

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of the three oral health care measures in the 2022 Core Set of Children’s Health Care Quality Measures for Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (Child Core Set) and highlights differences in the measure specifications. The three measures are sealant receipt on permanent first molars; oral evaluation, dental services; and topical fluoride for children. Links to resources to help states calculate the dental and oral health services measures for Child Core Set reporting are included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health services, Medicaid, Oral health, s Health Insurance Program

Boozang P, Elam L, O’Connor K, and Savuto M. 2022. State strategies to improve maternal health and promote health equity compendium. Pinrceton, NJ: Center for Health and Wellbeing, Princeton University, 12 pp.

Annotation: This compendium provides information on strategies to improve maternal health outcomes and synthesizes research about the national state-of-play, including state examples, across four domains: maternal health models, quality improvement, workforce and benefits, and eligibility and enrollment/coverage expansion.

Contact: Princeton University , Center for Health and Wellbeing, School of Public and International Affairs, Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building, Princeton University, Princeton, NU 08544-1013, Telephone: 609.258.6932 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://chw.princeton.edu/

Keywords: Financing, Health equity, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, State health insurance programs

South Dakota Department of Social Services. 2022. Advancing prevention and reducing childhood caries in Medicaid and CHIP. Pierre, SD: South Dakota Department of Social Services, 8 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on how the Advancing Prevention and Reducing Childhood Caries in Medicaid and CHIP Affinity Group, launched by the Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, will provide technical assistance to state Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program agencies and their partners as they design, test, implement, and assess strategies to improve pediatric oral health. The purpose of the group is to help states improve oral health outcomes through the delivery of preventive oral health care. The fact sheet discusses oral health, provides an overview of the group, and presents state team learning objectives.

Contact: South Dakota Department of Social Services, 700 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 773-3165 Web Site: https://dss.sd.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Quality improvement, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Khanal P. 2021. Improving maternal health outcomes: State policy actions and opportunities. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 1 item. (Medicaid policy cheat sheet)

Annotation: This Medicaid policy cheat sheet explores what states are doing to improve maternal health outcomes and what additional opportunities exist. Some strategies suggested include: extending postpartum coverage; enhancing benefits to cover evidence-based models, such as home visiting programs; developing value-based payment models that reward health outcomes and close racial and ethnic disparity gaps; and enhancing data collection on maternal mortality and morbidity. The document also provides examples of notable policies that have been implemented by states, such as payment reforms, models of care delivery, managed care organization data reporting requirements, midwifery-led care, doula services, postpartum coverage expansion, use of telemedicine, and provider bias training.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy analysis, Public policy, State health insurance programs

Girmash E, Creveling E. 2021. Strengthening Title V - Medicaid managed care collaborations to improve care for CYSHCN. Boston, MA: Catalyst Center, 8 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief discusses how state Title V programs, Medicaid agencies, and Medicaid managed care organizations can work collaboratively to strengthen supports for children and youth with special health care needs. The brief enumerates the essential steps in the Medicaid managed care procurement process and provides strategies and considerations for collaboration between Title V and managed care programs.

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health insurance, Medicaid, State programs, Title V programs, Youth with special health care needs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; Georgia Health Policy Center. 2021. Medicaid options for states during COVID-19: Considerations for children and youth with special health care needs. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This fact sheet explores Medicaid policy options for states to meet the needs of children and youth with special health care eneds (CYSHCN) during the COVID-19 public health emergency (PHE) and discusses how future rollbacks of PHE modifications may affect CYSHCN populations.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Children', Communicable diseases, Emergencies, Medicaid, Policy development, State health insurance programs, Virus diseases, Youth, s health insurance program

Taylor E, Sayles J, Bailit M. 2021. Promising approaches to reducing disparities in birth-related health outcomes in Medicaid. Princeton, NJ: State Health and Value Strategies , 10 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on actions Medicaid agencies can pursue with provider organizations or through their managed care programs to promote health equity and improve outcomes. It highlights state interventions and collaborations that demonstrate promise in reducing disparities and health inequities in birth-related policies. Programs in Virginia, North Carolina, and Colorado are highlighted.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

Keywords: Childbirth, Health care disparities, Health equity, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Policy, State health insurance programs, State initiatives

Commonwealth Fund. 2021. Closing gaps in maternal health coverage: Assessing the potential of a postpartum Medicaid/CHIP expansion . New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund,

Annotation: This issue brief assesses the current coverage landscape for pregnant and postpartum women and shows how a postpartum Medicaid/CHIP extension could benefit uninsured new mothers. The brief 1) provides an overview of existing publicly subsidized coverage options for pregnancy and the postpartum period, including covered benefits and cost-sharing requirements; 2) reviews recent state and federal legislative proposals to extend postpartum coverage options and examines how such reforms could expand the coverage landscape for new mothers; and 3) estimates how many postpartum individuals would likely benefit from a 12-month postpartum Medicaid/CHIP extension, based on analysis of 2016–18 American Community Survey (ACS) data using the Urban Institute Health Policy Center’s Medicaid/CHIP Eligibility Simulation Model.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

Keywords: Insurance, Medicaid, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, State Children', s Health Insurance Program
    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.