Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Annotation: This animated video reel series from the 4th Trimester Project provides short, evidence-based clips intended for new parents, families, caregivers, and health professionals for clinic training. The series covers crucial postpartum topics, including common physical body changes, breast care and feeding support, and pain management strategies. The videos also detail urgent maternal health warning signs and when to call for help. Experts developed and tested the content with mothers and clinicians to ensure quality. The video reels are available in both English and Spanish (Español)

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Patient education, Postpartum care, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This postpartum recovery and support guide, created by the 4th Trimester Project team of experts and mothers, provides concise, evidence-based information about postpartum care and recovery for new parents/moms, caregivers, maternal and child health professionals, and care teams. The guide covers health and recovery topics that most birthing people face during recovery, including pelvic health, breastfeeding, mental health, hormones, family planning, care teams, and community support. Available in both English and Spanish, the guide is designed for distribution during both prenatal visits and at discharge.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Postpartum care, Social support, Spanish language materials, patient education

Annotation: This infographic presents data from the Kansas Perinatal Community Collaborative on their implementation of the March of Dimes' Becoming a Mom (BaM) prenatal education curriculum. It describes the evidence-based program's three-fold approach to perinatal care, education, and support, including its cognitive and behavioral compoments. The infographic compares demographic characteristics of mothers participating in the BaM program, shares self-reported outcomes and behaviors of program participants, and highlights key infant health metrics for BaM mothers compared to statewide data.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Division of Public Health, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 540, Topeka, KS 66612-0461, Telephone: (785) 296-0461 Fax: (785) 368-6368 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/157/Division-of-Public-Health

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Infant health, Maternal health, Patient education, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care

Annotation: This resource package from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment compiles educational materials on maternal health topics for pregnant and postpartum women. It emphasizes potential warning signs and the importance of women being aware of their bodies. The package includes patient education handouts, infographics, and action plans on topics such as signs and symptoms of preterm labor, urgent maternal warning signs, anxiety and depression around pregnancy, and postpartum warning signs. It also provides resources on perinatal hypertension, including educational handouts on preeclampsia, low-dose aspirin for prevention, increased risk of heart disease, and instructions for home blood pressure monitoring. Additional materials cover reproductive life planning, well-woman visits, and national initiatives for pregnancy and postpartum health. The resources are provided in both English and Spanish.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Division of Public Health, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 540, Topeka, KS 66612-0461, Telephone: (785) 296-0461 Fax: (785) 368-6368 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/157/Division-of-Public-Health

• Link

Keywords: Emergencies, Hypertension, Kansas, Maternal health, Patient education, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prevention, Risk factors, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This toolkit provides home visiting programs with client education materials and implementation tools to support maternal warning signs education. This education covers the important signs of maternal complications that may occur during pregnancy and the year after delivery. The toolkit includes an illustrated handout and discussion guide available in 12 languages, a video available in English, Spanish and French, a magnet, and online training for home visitors with an implementation manual. The materials are designed for home visitors working with pregnant and postpartum clients to educate them about urgent maternal warning signs that require immediate medical attention. All digital resources are available through a shared Google Drive folder.

Contact: MDMOM, Maryland Maternal Health Innovation Program , Baltimore, MD E-mail: https://mdmom.org/contact-us Web Site: https://mdmom.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Home visits, Maternal mortality, Patient education materials, Prevention, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This video presents an educational presentation by Dr. Shari Lawson, a general obstetrician gynecologist at Johns Hopkins Hospital, covering urgent maternal warning signs for pregnant and postpartum women up to two months after delivery. The presentation discusses signs of preeclampsia including severe headaches, vision changes, extreme swelling, and severe nausea; other pregnancy warning signs such as severe abdominal pain, vaginal bleeding, and decreased fetal movement; postpartum complications including heavy bleeding and blood clots; and mental health concerns including depression and thoughts of self-harm. The video emphasizes the importance of seeking immediate medical attention when experiencing these symptoms and encourages sharing this information with family members to support maternal health. This video is available in English, Spanish and French as part of a comprehensive maternal warning signs toolkit for home visiting programs.

Contact: MDMOM, Maryland Maternal Health Innovation Program , Baltimore, MD E-mail: https://mdmom.org/contact-us Web Site: https://mdmom.org/

• Link

Keywords: Maternal mortality, Patient education materials, Prevention

Annotation: This guide for new mothers provides information about postpartum care for both mother and baby during the hospital stay and transition home from Newton-Wellesley Hospital. It covers hospital procedures and policies, postpartum physical recovery including pain management, bleeding, cesarean birth care, and emotional adjustments including postpartum mood disorders. The guide addresses newborn care topics such as understanding infant behavior, feeding guidelines, safety instructions, and common newborn characteristics like jaundice and SIDS prevention. It includes detailed information about both breastfeeding and formula feeding, with sections on proper positioning, latch techniques, milk storage, and troubleshooting common breastfeeding challenges. The document also provides esources for ongoing support including contact information for lactation services, parenting support groups, and community organizations, along with guidelines for when to contact healthcare providers about concerning symptoms in both mother and baby.

Contact: Mass General Brigham , Newton-Wellesley Hospital , 2014 Washington Street, Newton, MA 02462, Telephone: (617)243-6000 Web Site: https://www.nwh.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Patient education materials, Postnatal care, Postpartum care

Annotation: This Postpartum Healthcare Plan tool is a fill-in resource for care team members, community workers, Maternal and Child Health (MCH) professionals, and social workers to use with new parents/moms and birthing people. The tool is designed for distribution during final prenatal visits or at discharge and helps providers document the individual's specific postpartum medical, health care, and recovery plan, including details on treatment, provider referrals, necessary resources, and actions to take once home. The resource encourages preparation for healthcare at home and includes a link to a brief training resource for family members on urgent maternal health warning signs. This printable tool is available in English and Spanish (Español).

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu

• Link

Keywords: Materials in Spanish, Maternal health, Patient education, Postpartum care, Prenatal care

Annotation: This contraception booklet is designed for postpartum mothers and new parents to learn about family planning, birth control, contraception preferences, birth spacing goals, sex, and relationships after delivery. Intended for a wide audience including new parents, MCH professionals, and care teams, the resource is specifically used by clinics to introduce these topics during the postpartum visit. The document includes Care Teams Tips and an implementation tips sheet offering suggestions on how to effectively introduce and utilize the tool in practice. This printable resource is available in both English and Spanish (Español).

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu

• Link

Keywords: Contraception, Family planning, Materials in Spanish, Patient education, Postpartum care

Annotation: This checklist is designed for new parents/birthing people, as well as care teams, community workers, Maternal and Child Health (MCH) professionals, and researchers, to support patient-centered care during the postpartum visit. The 4th Trimester Project team tested and adapted this tool, which the birthing person fills out and shares with clinic staff so the provider can prioritize the information and topics the mother wants to cover and learn about. This important touchpoint gives new parents a chance to think about their top questions and access important information and resources for support. The tool includes Care Team Tips with suggestions for clinics on how to introduce and use the checklist in practice, and it is available in English and Spanish (Español).

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Patient education, Postpartum care, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the extension of postpartum Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months following birth, which states have been able to implement since April 2022. It examines how this extension supports improved access to perinatal and postpartum care but requires complementary state actions to be fully effective. The brief highlights key challenges in postpartum care, including care fragmentation, workforce shortages, and barriers to implementation at system, community, and individual levels. It outlines four solution areas: developing comprehensive standards of care, expanding dyadic care models, increasing workforce support, and providing education and technical assistance. The document concludes with specific recommendations for funders to support implementation efforts at local, state, and national levels to improve maternal health outcomes and advance health equity.

Contact: Afton Bloom , E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aftonbloom.com/

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Financing, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals, patient education materials

Annotation: This website provides resources and information for new mothers and healthcare providers about the postpartum period, referred to as the "4th Trimester." It features evidence-based materials designed by and for mothers to support women during this transition to motherhood. The site includes sections on physical recovery, emotional health, breastfeeding, pelvic health, building support networks, and baby care. Visitors can access downloadable tools including postpartum planning guides, health information sheets, and recovery checklists in both English and Spanish. The 4th Trimester Project aims to change how America treats new mothers by emphasizing respectful, patient-centered care and addressing the social, emotional, physical, and economic support women need during the postpartum period, with particular attention to the needs of those with limited resources.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Patient education materials, Postnatal care, Postpartum care

Annotation: This resource guide for pregnant women and parents-to-be provides information and support from the first trimester through delivery and the subsequent "fourth trimester" (postpartum recovery). Structured chronologically, the guide discusses major topics such as the care team and prenatal appointments (including a detailed low-risk pregnancy timeline and group visits like CenteringPregnancy®), health and wellness (covering nutrition, exercise, and substances to avoid), emotional adjustments and resources for anxiety or depression, and genetic testing options like noninvasive prenatal testing (NIPT) and diagnostic tests (amniocentesis or Chorionic Villus Sampling [CVS]). The guide presents recommendations regarding the delivery experience, including developing a birth preferences plan, understanding pain management options (such as epidurals, IV narcotics, and nitrous oxide), and detailing routine newborn screenings, treatments, and care (such as Vitamin K and Hepatitis B vaccines). It incorporates functional elements such as specific advice on when to call a clinician or 911 for concerns during pregnancy and postpartum, along with journaling pages and to-do lists for preparing for birth

Contact: Kaiser Permanente, One Kaiser Plaza, 19th Floor, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (415) 987-2223 Secondary Telephone: (800) 556-7677 Web Site: http://www.kaiserpermanente.org

• PDF

Keywords: Maternal health, Patient education materials, postpartum care, preconception care, pregnancy, prenatal care

Annotation: This guide provides comprehensive wellness support for Black mothers. It addresses mental health, self-care, pleasure, birth empowerment, nutrition, financial wellness, and sisterhood through an affirming cultural lens. The document emphasizes self-love as revolutionary for Black women and offers practical advice including meditation techniques, boundary-setting strategies, and self-care practices. It features resources such as book recommendations, podcasts, and social media accounts focused on holistic wellness. The guide also explores reclaiming Black birth traditions and the importance of pleasure as liberation.

Contact: Mamatoto Village , 4315 Sheriff Rd, NE, Washington, DC 20019, Telephone: (202) 248-3434 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mamatotovillage.org/

Keywords: Blacks, Maternal health, Mothers, Patient education materials, Self care, Wellness

Annotation: This guide for primary care health professionals provides four strategies they can adopt to improve patient safety, as well as materials to support adoption. Topics include supporting adoption of teach-back, a technique to ensure health care professionals that they have explained medical information clearly so that patients and their families understand what is communicated to them; helping patients and their families prepare for and become more fully engaged in their medical appointments; engaging with patients and caregivers to create a complete and accurate medical list for addressing medication reconciliation and management issues; and the warm handoff, a transfer of care from one clinician to another, where the handoff occurs in front of the patient and family. Contents include implementation guides, interactive learning modules, posters and handouts, fact sheets, sample processes and procedures, staff checklists, and videos.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Family centered care, Health literacy, Participation, Patient care, Physician patient relations, Prevention programs, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Role, Safety programs

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to promote health equity in the community. Topics include education programs and policies, culturally competent health care, and housing programs and policies. Presentation and promotional materials are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Low income groups, After school programs, Child development centers, Community based programs, Community development, Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Education, Educational attainment, Equal opportunities, Financial support, Health care delivery, Health education, Health promotion, Housing, Kindergarten, Patient education materials, Public policy, Recruitment, Research, Retention, School based clinics, Training, Translation, Work force

Annotation: This flip book for health professionals to share with parents covers the basics of good oral health in infants and young children. Each page is double-sided and designed as a teaching tool. The patient-facing pages feature simple text (in English and in Spanish) and pictures and illustrations to educate families. On the back of the intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: TeethFirst!, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT, One Union Station, Providence, RI 02903, Telephone: (401) 351-9400 Fax: (401) 351-1758 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teethfirstri.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Family centered care, Health education, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Patient education materials, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This document for young adults ages 18 to 34 contains information on health insurance. Topics include the Affordable Care Act, what's available to young adults, how tax credits work, and what's included in preventive care.

Contact: Young Invincibles, 1411 K Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 734-6519 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://younginvincibles.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Tax credits, Young adults