Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reports a survey to make the Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff knowledgeable and able to support all expressions of concern with substantive information. The survey among a sample of project families attempted to delineate the family's housing situation in regard to space, safety and sanitation; the nutritional status in regard to availability of food, shopping practices and dietary intake; and the children's educational placement and experiences in school and the parents' perception of the schools. The survey is also designed to document the adequacy and effectiveness of existing social services and agencies in the community to deal with these problems. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Educational factors, Federal MCH programs, Housing, Nutritional status, Program evaluation, Social services, Surveys, Title V programs

Annotation: This paper reports a Children and Youth Project conducted by combining the forces of a medical school and a health department, by maintaining role differentiation in respect to education and service, and by developing a Central Health Record and communication system to develop and increase comprehensive health services for children and youth residing in the target areas of poverty. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Comprehensive health services, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This report demonstrates graphically how a combination of a health department and a medical school compress to the national average of all Children and Youth projects. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs Comprehensive health services, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This bibliography is a revision and updating of comment series no. 7-9 (4) with the addition new sources and annotations for all sources. This publication supersedes the previous non-annotated bibliography, "Bibliography on Evaluation of Health Programs." This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Bibliographies, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Health services, Program evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This paper is an analogy defining comprehensive health care and how it differs from other types of care. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Bibliographies, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Health services, Program evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This Advisory offers recommendations for supporting the mental health of children, adolescents, and young adults. It describes the various factors that can shape the mental health of young people and explains how action can be taken at various levels to improve health outcomes. Separate sections explain how individuals, families and caregivers, educators, health professionals and health organizations, social media, community organizations, funders and foundations, employers, and goverrnments (federal, state, and local) can each address the mental health needs of young people. Included is a discussion of youth mental health before the pandemic, and the ways in which COVID-19 increased risk factors for children and young adults.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Adolescents, Health promotion, Intervention, Mental health, Mental health services, Risk factors, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This resource guide describes how organizations are using remote services in creative and promising ways to deliver education, training, employment, and mental health services to all young people — regardless of their race, ethnicity, or socioeconomic status. The guide presents six core strategies and identifies key issues, challenges, promising practices and tips for each approach. The strategies are: (1) creating the foundation for success by meeting basic needs first; (2) strengthening organizational and staff capacity to meet new demands; (3) providing services that support mental and emotional health; (4) building community; (5) ensuring instruction is engaging; and (6) adapting experiential and work-based learning to the virtual environment.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent Mental health, Adolescent health, Distance learning, Initiatives, Model programs, Technology, Telecommunications, Telemedicine, Youth services

Annotation: In this video presentation, AMCHP's Evidence and Implementation team discusses practical approaches for incorporating partners, families, and individuals with lived experience into program development and evaluation processes, with careful consideration of organizational resources and capabilities. Featured speaker Becky Burns, who serves as the Statewide Coordinator for Wisconsin Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, shares insights on implementing these engagement strategies effectively while working within the constraints of available organizational capacity.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Youth with special health care needs, Epidemiology, Program evaluation, Staff development, Family support services

Annotation: This brief looks at the rapid rise of advanced analytics and explores the controversies, ethical challenges, and opportunities that it creates for youth- and family-serving agencies. It also presents four principles for identifying effective and equitable advanced analytics tools and includes real-world examples of jurisdictions that are using data science in ways that live up to—or fall short of — the social sector’s quest to develop better and fairer solutions for children, families, and communities.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Community participation, Data analysis, Data collection, Family support services, Initiatives, Model programs, Social services, Youth services

Annotation: This document updates a 2014 profiles report, by (1) categorizing states' intensive care coordination (ICC) efforts into sustainability, implementation or pre-implementation groups; (2) identifying key informants; and (3) expanding the questionnaire template used in surveying the states. This updated profiles report is intended to assist states interested in improving outcomes for children and youth with complex mental and substance use disorders by developing or revamping ICC. includes lessons learned from 40 states and a small number of local jurisdictions that have implemented ICC, with and without high quality Wraparound, and is intended to support innovation around state efforts.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: PEP19-04-01-001..

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Children, Mental disorders, Mental health services, Service coordination, State programs, Substance abuse, Youth

Annotation: This guide provides information, strategies, and resources to help communities support and strengthen families and promote the well-being of children and youth. It focuses on protective factors that build on family strengths and promote optimal child and youth development. Topics include implementing a protective factors approach, working with families using protective factors, and using protective factors as a framework for community partnerships. Contents include tools and strategies to assist service providers in integrating protective factors into community programs and systems. Tips sheets for parents and caregivers are provided.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Community programs, Consumer education materials, Families, Program improvement, Protective factors, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Systems development, Youth

Annotation: This toolkit models how to frame the juvenile justice system and related issues as important policy fields and matters of public concern. Topics include the science of adolescent development and the need to incorporate a developmental perspective into criminal justice policies designed for youth; why the current approaches to juvenile crime aren't working; and age-appropriate treatments and interventions that improve outcomes for those already in the system and preventive programs that divert more youth away from juvenile detention and towards programs that better serve their needs. Contents include sample "ready to go" communications that can be used as is or adapted and repurposed for an organization's needs, communications examples that demonstrate the "do's and don'ts" of the framing recommendations, graphics that model the key concepts of the recommendations, and annotations that explain the framing strategies being illustrated.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link
• FrameWorks MessageMemo

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Communication, Interdisciplinary approach, Intervention, Juvenile delinquency, Juvenile justice, Policy development, Prevention, Public awareness materials, Systems development, Youth services

Annotation: This report summarizes existing evidence on family intervention strategies for youth experiencing or at risk of homelessness. The report includes a summary of common elements of effective interventions and a discussion of gaps in the evidence base. Key implementation lessons and challenges of implementing family intervention models are also included. The appendices contain information abuot the literature review methodology; key informants; and program descriptions including evidence-based, evidence-informed, promising, and emerging interventions as well as interventions of interest and those with mixed findings.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family support services, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Interventions, Model programs, Youth services

Annotation: This document for physical educators provides guidance on ensuring that students in community-based transition programs receive physical education services in community settings, and that those services are developed and implemented by certified adapted physical education teachers. Contents include background, reasons for concern, clarification from the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs, a call to action, and best practices and recommendations for providing meaningful physical education services in secondary special education transition programs.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community action, Community based services, Disabilities, Models, Nutrition education, Physical activity, Physical education, Students, Teaching, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This fact sheet for Title V programs, clinicians, and family leaders provides information about the potential effect of Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care on children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and their families. Topics include requirements for managed care organizations in CHIP and opportunities to mitigate potential unintended negative consequences of Medicaid managed care for CYSHCN and their families. Promising practices and strategies from states are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Contract services, Enrollment, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Medicaid managed care, Medical home, Model programs, Primary care, Service delivery systems, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Youth

Annotation: This webinar slide deck describes how health care providers can effectively reach out to adolescents and young adults to schedule and attend their annual wellness visit.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health screening , Prevention, Preventive health services, Youth

Annotation: This toolkit contains workshop materials to build the capacity of schools, youth-serving organizations, and suicide prevention programs, with the larger goal of reducing suicidal behavior among LGBT youth. The leader's guide contains information about the history of the workshop; goals and objectives; intended audience; co-leaders; an overview of the workshop kit; instructions on workshop preparation, implementation, and follow-up; and a sample agenda, attendance sheet, exercise, certificate of attendance, and leader feedback form. The toolkit also includes handouts and presenter slides and notes.

Contact: Suicide Prevention Resource Center, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (877) 438-7772 Secondary Telephone: (617) 964-5448 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sprc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Cultural competence, Homosexuality, Injury prevention, Mental health services, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, Self injurious behavior, Suicide prevention, Training materials, Youth

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS Pub. no. PEP14-LGBTKIDS .

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Child health, Family support services, Homosexuality, Parent support services, Training materials, Youth

Annotation: This document provides information for policymakers and advocates on using statistical data to illustrate issues of coverage and financing of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) to inform effective decision making. Topics include types of data, sources of data, and tips for using and different data types and sources. The document also outlines steps for collecting and communicating data and family stories. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Children, Communication, Data sources, Decision making, Financing, Health insurance, Program improvement, Special health care services, Statistical data, Youth

Annotation: This report summarizes agency efforts to provide health care services for Native youth and their lessons learned. Topics include health issues Native youth commonly face, ways youth use health services, youth-friendly services and ways to provide them, and integrating Native culture and traditional practices with medical practice. The report concludes with a discussion of areas and issues that need to be addressed in order to increase the number of youth accessing services, as well as suggestions for other agencies and clinics trying to establish health services for Native youth.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Service integration, Youth