Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reports a Children and Youth Project conducted by combining the forces of a medical school and a health department, by maintaining role differentiation in respect to education and service, and by developing a Central Health Record and communication system to develop and increase comprehensive health services for children and youth residing in the target areas of poverty. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Comprehensive health services, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This report demonstrates graphically how a combination of a health department and a medical school compress to the national average of all Children and Youth projects. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs Comprehensive health services, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This tool provides guidance to support state and local decision makers, administrators, providers, and youth and family advocates in building and enhancing a trauma-informed work force. Contents include eight modules on the following topics: understanding the impact of trauma, trauma-informed child-serving systems, creating trauma-informed provider organizations, evidence-based treatments addressing trauma, public health approach and cost-benefits of trauma-informed care, youth and family perspectives on trauma-informed care, trauma-informed efforts in eight states, and research and practice in trauma-informed care. Each module contains an issue brief, video interviews with individuals in the field, and lists of resources.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Fact Sheet

Keywords: Case studies, Children, Evidence based medicine, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Mental health, Models, Organizational change, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Trauma care, Work force, Youth, Youth agencies

Annotation: This fact sheet for families provides information about how foster parents can support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. The fact sheet provides background information about LGBTQ youth and discusses LGBTQ youth and the child welfare system, creating a welcoming home for youth, and supporting youth in the community.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Bullying, Child welfare agencies, Community programs, Foster children, Foster parents, Homosexuality, Parent support services, Prevention, Schools, Social services, Youth, Youth development

Annotation: This report, the second of five special reports, is based on a forum convened by the National Center for Children in Poverty with support from the Annie E. Casey Foundation. The forum brought together a cross-section of policymakers, researchers, community leaders, family members, youth, and practitioners in trauma-related areas. The aims were to explore (1) the current state of service delivery and supports for children, youth, and their families exposed to trauma and (2) ways to advance a more coherent trauma-informed policy agenda, particularly through mental health agencies. The report is organized into six sections. Section 1 sets the context, section 2 describes the policy response, section 3 defines the core components of trauma-informed practice, section 4 provides examples of efforts to promote trauma-informed practice in communities, section 5 sets forth recommendations, and section 6 includes case studies. The report also includes three appendices: (1) a list of meeting participants, (2) a list of case study respondents, and (3) two charts that list state-by-state information on trauma-informed services and infrastructure supports.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Children, Community programs, Families, Family support services, Health services delivery, Mental health, Mental health agencies, Public policy, Trauma, Youth

Annotation: This report on findings from the Youth and Racial Equity Project focuses on a sample of 16 youth development and youth organizing groups that address structural racism (defined as the history, public policies, institutional practices, and cultural stereotypes and norms that together maintain racial hierarchies and inequitable racial group outcomes) as part of their work. The report, which includes an executive summary, is divided into the following main sections: (1) what is the Youth and Racial Equity Project?, (2) findings, (3) recommendations, and (4) appendices (which consist of participant lists). Some of the information is presented in figures, tables, and boxes.

Contact: Philanthropic Initiative for Racial Equity, 1720 N Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 375-7770 Fax: (202) 375-7771 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.racialequity.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cultural factors, Outcomes, Public policy, Racial factors, Racism, Youth agencies, Youth development

Annotation: This report discusses the fiscal year budget for the District of Columbia, emphasizing the funding available for programs to benefit children, youth, and families. The report begins with background information including a historical timeline on the budget process. It explains how to advocate for children, youth, and families. Subsequent chapters provide detailed information on programs and budget in the following areas: welfare and other government benefit programs, child welfare, early childhood development, juvenile delinquency and crime prevention, homelessness, recreation, maternal and child health, mental health, the Children and Youth Investment Fund, and the Tobacco Settlement Trust Fund. A glossary, a list of city government officials and agencies, and a list of other important addresses and phone numbers are included at the end.

Contact: DC Action for Children, 1616 P Street, N.W., Suite 420, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 234-9404 Fax: (202) 234-9108 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dcactionforchildren.org/ Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Budgets, Budgets, Child health, Child welfare, Children, City agencies, District of Columbia, Early childhood development, Families, Homelessness, Juvenile delinquency, Maternal health, Mental health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Recreation, Tobacco, Welfare programs, Youth

Annotation: This book shows how community groups, organizations, and local governmental agencies can work together to identify the strengths of the community and to use them to solve local problems; it relies on the idea of asset-based community development. The idea focuses on assessing the social needs of the individual families and the community as a whole and their strengths and using those assets to solve local problems. The introduction provides an overview of the concepts; subsequent chapters focus on involving individuals (including youths, seniors, persons with special health needs, and individuals with low incomes), local associations, organizations, and institutions; rebuilding the community's economy; summarizing the asset-based community development process; and outlining ways to build support for the process. A videotape training program which introduces the idea of asset-based community development is also available.

Contact: ACTA Publications, 5559 W. Howard Street, Shokie, IL 60077, Telephone: (800) 397-2282 Fax: (800) 397-0079 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.actapublications.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-87946-108-x.

Keywords: Agencies, Communities, Community organizations, Community participation, Development, Inclusion, Low income groups, Outreach, Planning, Problem solving, Senior citizens, Services, Social problems, Special health care needs, Youth

Annotation: This paper, presented at the 97th annual meeting of the American Public Health Association in Philadelphia, focuses on the authorization in the Children and Youth Program to appropriate federal funds directly to medical schools and teaching hospitals as well as to health departments. This is part of a series to document and asses the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Hospitals, Interagency cooperation, Medical schools, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This publication was developed to provide guidance to states in their supervision of child welfare agencies. Issues of organization, staffing, cooperative relationships with other agencies, and standards of care, and licensing are addressed. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child protective services, Guidelines, State social service agencies, State youth agencies, Supervision

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: --, Adolescent males, Male children, Correctional institutions, Incarcerated youth, Institutionalization, Juvenile delinquents, State youth agencies